DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/3/2025.
Claims 9-13 were added. Claims 1-13 are now pending. Claims 5-8 were previously withdrawn due to a restriction requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Munif et al. (US 2012/0161358 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Al-Munif et al. disclose a polyester resin comprising titanium in the amount of 0.5 to 20 ppm of metal and zinc in the amount of 20 to 70 ppm of metal based on the PET and the intrinsic viscosity of the polyester resin is at least 0.7 dL/g [Claims 1-8; Examples 1-2; 0028-0030, 0038-0040, 0051-0075]. Since the polyester resin meets the limitations of the instant claim 1 for titanium and zinc content, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the number of foreign bodies of 15 or less per 5g of polyester resin would be met.
In regards to claim 2, Al-Munif et al. disclose zinc catalyst and the polyester of PET formed from terephthalic acid and ethylene glycol, therefore any residual Zn catalyst would form a salt with the terephthalic acid to form the foreign bodies.
In regards to claim 3, Al-Munif et al. disclose an intrinsic viscosity of 0.63 dL/g in Examples 1 and 2, and have similar polycondensation times to the comparative examples, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious that they would have similar COOH amounts which correspond to acid values.
In regards to claim 4, Al-Munif et al. do not disclose trimellitic anhydride therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious that the content would be less than 1,000 ppm by mass.
In regards to claim 9, Al-Munif et al. teach in some examples there is no antimony (Table 1, CE A-c, A-d, A-e, etc.) thereby reading on the claimed range of 1 ppm or less.
In regards to claim 10-11 and 13, Al-Munif et al. teach the copolyester resin as set forth above. Regarding claim 13, Al-Munif et al. teach the intrinsic viscosity of the polyester resin is at least resin is at least 0.756 dL/g [Claim 1; Examples 1, 2, 7, and 9; Col. 4, lines 12-14] thereby reading on the claimed range of 0.10 dl/g or more.
Regarding claim 10, Al-Munif does not teach a method of measuring the number of foreign bodies. Regarding claim 11, Al-Munif does not teach the major axis of the foreign bodies. Regarding claim 13, Yau does not teach the acid value.
The number of foreign bodies determined by the claimed method, the axis of the foreign bodies and the acid value of the composition are functions of the copolyester resin and the method of making the copolyester resin composition. Al-Munif et al. teach the same copolyester resin as required by the instant claim as set forth above. Al-Munif et al. teach the same process of making the copolyester resin as set forth in the instant specification via the catalyst present during the esterification step. Al-Munif are silent regarding “zinc salts” which are given as an example of the foreign bodies in the instant specification. Therefore, the number of foreign bodies determined by the claimed method, the axis of the foreign bodies and the acid value of the composition of Al-Munif et al. is expected to be the same as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Regarding claim 12, Yau et al. teach zinc in the amount of 20 to 70 ppm of metal based on the PET and since the polyester resin overlaps the limitations of the instant claim 1 for titanium and zinc content, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the number of foreign bodies of 12 or less per 5g of polyester resin would be met.
Claims 1-4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yau et al. (US 5,385,773).
Regarding claim 1, Yau et al. disclose a copolyester resin comprising titanium in the amount of 5 to 20 ppm of metal and zinc in the amount of 50 to 150 ppm of metal based on the PET and the intrinsic viscosity of the polyester resin is at least 0.756 dL/g [Claim 1; Examples 1, 2, 7, and 9; Col. 4, lines 12-14]. Since the polyester resin meets the limitations of the instant claim 1 for titanium and zinc content, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the number of foreign bodies of 15 or less per 5g of polyester resin would be met.
In regards to claim 2, Yau et al. disclose zinc catalyst is preferably a salt such as zinc acetate, zinc citrate, zinc lactate, and zinc glycolate [Col. 3, lines 44-47], therefore any residual Zn catalyst would be in the form a salt to form the foreign bodies.
In regards to claim 3, Yau et al. disclose an inherent viscosity of 0.756 dL/g in Examples 1 and 2, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious that they would have similar COOH amounts which correspond to acid values.
In regards to claim 4, Yau et al. do not disclose trimellitic anhydride therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious that the content would be less than 1,000 ppm by mass.
In regards to claim 9, Yau et al. teach in some examples there is no antimony (Examples 4-9, col. 4 line 65) thereby reading on the claimed range of 1 ppm or less.
In regards to claim 10-11 and 13, Yau et al. teach the copolyester resin as set forth above. Regarding claim 13, Yau et al. teach the intrinsic viscosity of the polyester resin is at least resin is at least 0.756 dL/g [Claim 1; Examples 1, 2, 7, and 9; Col. 4, lines 12-14] thereby reading on the claimed range of 0.10 dl/g or more.
Regarding claim 10, Yau does not teach a method of measuring the foreign bodies. Regarding claim 11, Yau does not teach the major axis of the foreign bodies. Regarding claim 13, Yau does not teach the acid value.
The number of foreign bodies determined by the claimed method, the axis of the foreign bodies and the acid value of the composition are functions of the copolyester resin and the method of making the copolyester resin composition. Yau et al. teach the same copolyester resin as required by the instant claim as set forth above. Yau et al. teach the same process of making the copolyester resin as set forth in the instant specification via the catalyst present during the esterification step. Therefore, the number of foreign bodies determined by the claimed method, the axis of the foreign bodies and the acid value of the composition of Yau et al. is expected to be the same as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Regarding claim 12, Yau et al. teach a copolyester resin comprising zinc in the amount of 50 to 150 ppm of metal based as set forth above for claim 1. Since the polyester resin meets the limitations of the instant claim 1 for titanium and zinc content, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the number of foreign bodies of 12 or less per 5g of polyester resin would be met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 103 rejections over Al-Munif and Yau, Applicant states “the zinc catalyst is apt for forming a salt with an unreacted polycarboxylic acid, and foreign bodies containing a zinc salt of the polycarboxylic acid is apt to be generated. However, the generation of foreign bodies can be suppressed by adding a predetermined amount of zinc catalyst in the polycondensation step.”
In response, attention is drawn to the claim 1, wherein the claim 1 reads “a number of foreign bodies contained in the polyester resin is 15 or less per 5 g of the polyester resin.” There is no explicit definition that the zinc salts are the foreign bodies. There is no specific definition of “foreign bodies” present in the application. Absent a specific definition of “foreign bodies” in the instant specification, the term “foreign bodies” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation which includes many other components other than zinc salts.
In further response, attention is directed to the disclosure of Al-Munif et al., wherein Al-Munif et al. teach “In addition to Sb-, Zn- and Ti-compounds there may be also other metal components present in the process according to the invention, which could act as a catalyst, but then at such low concentrations that their influence is hardly noticeable” [0036]. This teaching implies that other metal components (which read on “foreign bodies”) are at low concentrations. Al-Munif et al. are silent on the presence of zinc salts as well.
Since the polyester resin compositions of Al-Munif and Yau contain the same amounts of zinc and titanium catalysts as recited in the claims, and the polyester resins are produced in substantially similar methods, the presence of the broadly claimed “foreign bodies” in the polyester resins of Al-Munif and Yau are considered to be the same. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments (such as detection of foreign bodies), the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ594 (CCPA 1980).)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764