DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on November 20, 2025, amended claims 1-3 and 5-7 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the rejections under U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered, and were persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections raised in the previous office action were fully considered, but are moot in view of the current combination of references that were necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art section below for more detail, updated citations (Huang and Buck references), and updated obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoss et al. (US20100230285A1, hereinafter known as “Hoss”) in view of Gottlieb et al. (US20110319734A1; hereinafter known as “Gottlieb”) and Huang et al. (US20210030316 A1, hereinafter known as “Huang”).
Hoss and Gottlieb were applied in the previous office action Regarding claim 1, Hoss teaches a sensor that measures an analyte (See Hoss abstract continuous analyte monitoring device), comprising: a probe that is to be inserted into a living body (See Hoss [0068], distal section used for position within the skin), wherein the probe includes: a substrate (See Hoss [0074], substate 102), an electrode that is formed on or above the substrate (See Hoss [0074-0076] and Figure 3A and 3B, electrode 121a is on the substrate, also see [0074], the working electrode 121a can be any electrode, the sensing material can be applied to one or more electrodes), and a reference layer that is formed (See Hoss [0076], layer 116), and the reference layer has an upper surface covered with a film and has a side surface exposed (See Hoss Figure 3B and [0077]-[0079], film 112 and coverlay material 118 are on the working electrode or can be disposed on one or more electrodes, therefore the side surface would be exposed if the coverlay material is not implemented since Hoss says that the coverlay material is optional ([0077]: “a coverlay material 118 may be applied…”)). Hoss is silent with respect to the reference layer being formed on or above the electrode. Gottlieb teaches a reference layer formed on or above the electrode (See Gottlieb Figure 2A, [0075], the electrodes are coated with layers, 104 is the conductive layer which is equivalent to the reference layer and the base plate is a metal substrate which is equivalent to the electrode, the conductive layer is located above the base plate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to form the reference layer of Hoss on or above the electrode, as taught by Gottlieb, to modulate the material properties of the electrodes (See Gottlieb [0075]).
Hoss is silent with respect to only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe. Huang teaches only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe [par. 0153]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to form the reference layer of Hoss with only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe, as taught by Huang, so that it may cooperate with the first working electrode 2 and the counter electrode 4 to conduct the measurement (See Huang [0153]). Regarding claim 2, Hoss teaches the reference layer has a shape narrowed in a direction from the side surface toward inside of the reference layer when seen from the upper surface (See Hoss Figure 1, 3A, and 3B the reference layer 116 is on top of 121a which narrows [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Hoss teaches a shape of the reference layer in a direction from the side surface toward inside of the reference layer is an arc shape, an elliptical arc shape, or a triangular shape (See Hoss Figure 3A, the reference layer would be above the electrode which is represented by 121a therefore would arc like shape due to the rounded edges). Regarding claim 4, Hoss teaches the reference layer has a plurality of the arc shapes, a plurality of the elliptical arc shapes, or a plurality of the triangular shapes(See Hoss Figure 3A, the reference layer would be above the electrode which is represented by 121a therefore would arc like shape due to the rounded edges ). Regarding claim 5, Hoss teaches the side surface of the reference layer is exposed to the analyte (See Hoss Figure 3B and [0079], overlay material 118 are on the working electrode or can be disposed on one or more electrodes, therefore the side surface would be exposed if the coverlay material is not implemented since Hoss says that the coverlay material is optional ([0077]: “a coverlay material 118 may be applied…”), the reference layer is disposed on the electrode [0074-0076] which measures the analyte). Regarding claim 7, Hoss teaches a sensor that measures an analyte ((See Hoss abstract continuous analyte monitoring device), comprising: a probe that is to be inserted into a living body (See Hoss [0068], distal section used for position within the skin), wherein, in the probe, an electrode is formed on or above a sheet-shaped substrate (See Hoss [0074-0076] and Figure 3A and 3B, electrode 121C is on the substrate 102), a reference layer is formed (See Hoss [0076], layer 116), a film is disposed on or above the reference layer (See Hoss Figure 3B and [0079], film 112 and coverlay material 118 are on the working electrode or can be disposed on one or more electrodes, therefore the side surface would be exposed if the coverlay material is not implemented since Hoss says that the coverlay material is optional ([0077]: “a coverlay material 118 may be applied…”)), the substrate is formed by being cut into a probe shape (See Hoss Figure 1), and as the reference layer, a paste-form material ejected from a nozzle is applied to the electrode to cross over a cut line (See Hoss [0075], using a sputtering processes layers the electrodes with various materials.
Although Hoss does not explicitly teach the reference layer being flush with a cut edge of the substrate, this would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed since Hoss also suggests other layers extending to the edge of the substrate [par. 0093, 0097, 0100]. Therefore, incorporating the reference layer being flush with a cut edge of the substrate would only involve routine skill in the art. Hoss is silent with respect to the reference layer being formed on or above the electrode. Gottlieb teaches the reference layer that is formed on or above the electrode (See Gottlieb Figure 2A, [0075], the electrodes are coated with layers, 104 is the conductive layer which is equivalent to the reference layer and the base plate is a metal substrate which is equivalent to the electrode, the conductive layer is located above the base plate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to form the reference layer of Hoss on or above the electrode, as taught by Gottlieb, to modulate the material properties of the electrodes (See Gottlieb [0075]).
Hoss is silent with respect to wherein the reference layer has only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe. Huang teaches wherein the reference layer has only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe [par. 0153]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to form the reference layer of Hoss with only one side surface which is exposed, the only one side surface being a surface which faces in a width direction of the probe, as taught by Huang, so that it may cooperate with the first working electrode and the counter electrode to conduct the measurement (See Huang [0153]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoss and Gottlieb in view of Buck et al. (US20190254574A1; hereinafter known as “Buck”).
Regarding claim 6, Hoss teaches the side surface of the reference layer is covered with a protective film through which the analyte is transmitted (See Hoss [0074], biocompatible membrane 114). Hoss is silent with respect to the protective film having a hole through which the analyte is to be transmitted, the only one side surface of the reference layer being configured to be exposed to the analyte via the hole in the protective film. Buck teaches the protective film having a hole through which the analyte is to be transmitted, the only one side surface of the reference layer being configured to be exposed to the analyte via the hole in the protective film (See Buck, [0039, 0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to form the reference layer and protective film of Hoss having a hole through which the analyte is to be transmitted, the only one side surface of the reference layer being configured to be exposed to the analyte via the hole in the protective film, as taught by Buck, for exposing the opening to body fluid (See Buck [0067]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791