DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-45, 47, and 48 have been cancelled. Claims 55, 58, 71-90, and 92 have been withdrawn. Claims 46, 49, and 91 have been amended.
Claims 46, 49-54, 56, 57, 59-70, and 91 are under examination.
2. All rejections pertaining to claims 47 and 48 are moot because the claims were cancelled with the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
The objection to claim 49 is withdrawn in response to the amendment filed on 08/03/2026.
The rejection of claim 49 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn in response to the amendment to make the claim dependent upon claim 46 and to delete the recitation that the sequence of (3) contains the stop codon.
The obviousness-type rejections set forth in the non-final rejection mailed on 04/02/2026 are withdrawn in view of the argument/evidence that the mutated luciferase cDNA of Czochor et al. does not comprise a stop codon. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Specification
3. The claim listing is objected to because the cancelled claims 1-45 are not listed are no listed as “cancelled”.
Claim Objections
4. The following amendment to claims 46 and 91 is suggested:
“(2) a mutant gene sequence encoding a protein, wherein the mutant gene comprises a cleavage site in the protein coding region and a stop codon upstream of the cleavage site”.
5. The following amendment to lines 11-12 in claim 70 is suggested:
“wherein the protein encoded by the gene sequence is a protein whose intracellular expression is detectable”.
New Rejections
Double Patenting
7. Claims 46, 49-54, 56, 57, 59-70, and 91 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 15-17, 24, and 26 of copending Application No. 18/684,590 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to (1) the same linear nucleic acid construct; and (2) the same method of using the linear nucleic acid construct for measuring HR in cells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
9. Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
By reciting that the nucleic acid construct is circular, claim 54 broadens the subject matter of the parent claim 46, which is limited to a linearized nucleic acid construct.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 46, 49-51, 53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 61-70, and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce et al. (Genes & Development, 1999, 13: 2633-2638), in in view of Czochor et al. (Mol. Cancer Res., 2016, 14: 363-373), as evidenced by the attached NEB Data Sheet.
Pierce et al. teach a circular plasmid comprising a construct containing in 5’ to 3’ order: a promoter, operably linked to a GFP cDNA mutated to comprise (1) the I-SceI site within the GFP coding region and a stop codon upstream of the I-SceI site which inactivates GFP by terminating its translation; and (2) a donor template consisting of a promoterless continuous partial GFP sequence having a length of 812 bp and which overlaps with the I-SceI site. Pierce et al. teach using the construct in a method for measuring HR activity in test cells, the method comprising transiently introducing the circular plasmid together with a plasmid encoding the I-SceI restriction enzyme into the test and control cells, where I-SceI linearizes the plasmid inside the cells; determining HR activity by measuring and comparing the GFP levels in the test cells and HR-proficient control cells; a lower GFP expression in the test cells compared to the control cells indicates that the test cells have lower HR activity (claim 46, 50, 53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 61, 70, and 91) (see p. 2634-2635).
Pierce et al. disclose that the I-SceI site has the sequence:
, where the underlined nucleotides represent termination codons (see Fig. 1). As evidenced by the NEB Data Sheet, I-SceI cleaves at the sites indicated by the arrowheads:
(see p. 1). Thus, the mutated GFP cDNA taught by Pierce et al. comprises a stop codon upstream of the cleavage site.
Since the continuous 812 bp GFP cDNA sequence overlaps with the stop codon and the I-SceI site (see Fig. 1), one of skill in the art would have readily understood that it comprises upstream and downstream regions adjacent to the stop codon and the cleavage site, respectively (claim 49).
Pierce et al. do not teach linearizing the plasmid with I-SceI before its introduction into cells (claims 46, 70, and 91). Czochor et al. teach a plasmid comprising a similar construct for measuring HR activity. Czochor et al. teach linearizing the plasmid by cleaving it with I-SceI before introducing it into test and control cells to determine HR activity in the test cells (see p. 365, column 2, second full paragraph; p. 368, column 2, last paragraph; p. 369). One of skill in the art would have found obvious to modify the method of Pierce et al. by linearizing the plasmid before introducing it into cells, to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition suitable for measuring HR activity. By doing so, one of skill in the art would have obtained a linear nucleic acid as recited in claims 46, 70, and 91.
With respect to claim 51, the 182 bp fragment of the GFP cDNA necessarily has homologous sequences having a length of at least 20 nucleotides.
The limitations recited on claims 62-69 only represent an intended use which does not state any distinct limitation differentiating the claimed composition from the composition taught by the prior art. The intended use is of no significance to the composition structure and therefore, it is of no significance to claim construction.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
12. Claims 46, 49-54, 56, 57, 59, 61-70, and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce et al. taken with Czochor et al., as evidenced by the attached NEB Data Sheet, in further view of Klauer et al. (Wiley Interdiscip. Rev. RNA, 2012, 3: 1-16).
The teachings of Pierce et al. and Czochor et al. are applied as above for claims 46, 49-51, 53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 61-70, and 91. Pierce et al. and Czochor et al. do not specifically teach a polyA downstream of the mutated luciferase gene (claim 52). Klauer et al. teach that the absence of a polyA tail leads to mRNA degradation (see p. 2, first paragraph). Thus, including a polyA tail downstream of the mutated luciferase gene to achieve the predictable result of expressing the luciferase reconstituted upon HR.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
13. Claims 46, 49-51, 53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 60-70, and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce et al. taken with Czochor et al., as evidenced by the attached NEB Data Sheet, in further view of Ahren (The Scientist, 1995).
The teachings of Pierce et al. and Czochor et al. are applied as above for claims 46, 49-51, 53, 54, 56, 57, 59, 61-70, and 91. Pierce et al. and Czochor et al. do not teach a kit (claim 60). However, the limitation of a kit is not innovative over the prior art; kits containing nucleic acid constructs and instructions for introducing them into cells have been used before the invention was made. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to assemble a kit, i.e., put the reagents in a box containing instructions how to use the reagents, because they are convenient to use and save time (see Ahren, p. 20, the paragraph entitled “The Kit Concept”).
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
It is noted that none of the arguments pertains to the new rejections.
14. No claim is allowed. No claim is free of prior art.
/ILEANA POPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633