DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN109824659A) (Tang) in view of Kim (US 2015/0318511) (Kim).
In reference to claims 1 and 4-5, Tang teaches an organic EL device comprising an anode layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, a cathode layer and a capping layer (Tang Fig 1, [0070]) wherein the capping layer can comprise a compound 133 as shown below and exemplifies that such a layer has a thickness of 70 nm that is prepared through a process as described therein (Tang [0105] to [0110]; table 4) that meets the instant claims.
Compound 110 is identical to compound 1-7 as described in the instant specification to meet the refractive index requirements (See e.g instant spec table 1) and therefore is expected to have a refractive index within the claimed range as such a property is inherent to the material. Further, Compound 110 is a positional isomer of the instantly claimed compound 1-6. Furthermore, it is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Tang exemplifies a material HT-1 as a possible material for the hole transport layer but does not limit the material in the hole transport layer in any way and does not specifically point to a material as instantly claimed that comprises an arylamine compound having two triphenylamine structures in a molecule and having a structure in which the two triphenylamine structures are linked by a single bond or a divalent group not containing a heteroatom.
With respect to the difference, Kim teaches, in analogous art, organic EL devices and structures and compositions thereof including hole transport layers and teaches known materials for hole transport layers that include both monoamines (such as the HT-1 of Tang) and diamines for example compound TPD as shown below.
That is, the substitution of the TPD of Kim for the HT-1 of Tang, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result forming a hole transport layer. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to claims 1 and 4-5, Applicant argues that the Tang does not teach that the capping layer of the device includes the claimed materials. However, Tang specifically teaches compound 110 that is identical to compound 1-7 of the instant specification and a positional isomer of compound 1-6 as instantly claimed. While Tang does not exemplify this exact device, it is taught therein (see e.g. formula I-1 that allows for a variety of positional isomers) and would be immediately obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to use a preferred compound in a taught device structure. Further, the prior art is not limited only to examples.
Applicant argues that the inclusion of dibenzofuran and instead of dibenzothiophene and the specific positional isomers is not obvious and results in unpredictable superior properties beyond the level of routine optimization. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing. Initially, Tang specifically teaches dibenzofuran compounds as pointed to herein above. The only difference between the capping layer materials of the instant claims and those of Tang is the selection of a specific positional isomer. Such a change is expected to result in sufficiently similar properties that those selections are obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan. The data in the instant specification seems to support such a finding. Tables 1 and 2 of the instant specification provide refractive index values for both positional isomers 1-6 (currently claimed) and 1-7 (compound 110 of Tang) that demonstrate that they are functionally comparable. Further, device data (in unclaimed devices) described in table 3 demonstrates that the resulting devices comprising these materials have very similar properties in terms of driving voltage, luminance, efficiency and lifetime. Taken together, the difference between the positional isomers appears to be sufficiently similar to be an obvious modification.
Applicant argues that devices 12 and 13 in table 3 as described in the instant specification demonstrate unexpected results from the use of the claimed device. This argument is not convincing at least because the devices in table 3 are not a device of the instantly claimed invention. That is, the hole transport layer material of chemical formula 17 is not a claimed material that comprises an arylamine compound having two triphenylamine structures in a molecule and having a structure in which the two triphenylamine structures are linked by a single bond or a divalent group not containing a heteroatom. Chemical formula 17 has one triphenylamine structure and a biphenyl, fluorenyl amine structure and does not comprise, as required in claim 1, two triphenylamine structures. That is, the data is not data corresponding to the claimed invention. This was previously mentioned in the final office action mailed 03/09/2026 but Applicant has not addressed this issue.
Applicant is further advised that for a finding of unexpected results, the results presented need to be of both statistical and practical significance and be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed (See MPEP 716.02).
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786