DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN109824659A) (Tang).
In reference to claims 1 and 4-5, Tang teaches an organic EL device comprising an anode layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, a cathode layer and a capping layer (Tang Fig 1, [0070]) wherein the capping layer can comprise a compound 133 as shown below and exemplifies that such a layer has a thickness of 70 nm that is prepared through a process as described therein (Tang [0105] to [0110]; table 4) that meets the instant claims. Compound 133 is identical to compound 1-1 and therefore is expected to have a refractive index within the claimed range as such a property is inherent to the material.
Tang exemplifies a material HT-1 as a possible material for the hole transport layer but does not limit the material in the hole transport layer in any way and does not specifically point to a material as instantly claimed that comprises an arylamine compound having two triphenylamine structures in a molecule and having a structure in which the two triphenylamine structures are linked by a single bond or a divalent group not containing a heteroatom.
With respect to the difference, Kim teaches, in analogous art, organic EL devices and structures and compositions thereof including hole transport layers and teaches known materials for hole transport layers that include both monoamines (such as the HT-1 of Tang) and diamines for example compound TPD as shown below.
That is, the substitution of the TPD of Kim for the HT-1 of Tang, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result forming a hole transport layer. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to claims 1 and 4-5, Applicant argues that the Tang does not teach that the capping layer of the device includes the claimed materials. However, Tang specifically teaches compound 133 that is identical to compound 1-1 of the instant claims. While Tang does not exemplify this exact device, it is specifically taught therein and would be immediately obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to use a preferred compound in a taught device structure. Further, the prior art is not limited only to examples.
Applicant further argues that Tang does not teach the inclusion of a hole transport layer material as claimed that comprises an arylamine compound having two triphenylamine structures in a molecule and having a structure in which the two triphenylamine structures are linked by a single bond or a divalent group not containing a heteroatom.
This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least the following reasons. Tang does not make any teaching requiring specific materials in a hole transport layer but only exemplifies one material for this layer. The prior art in this art area teaches many materials that are commonly used in hole transport layers such as tetraphenyl benzidines such as TPD shown above. In the absence of unexpected results, the use of a known material for its known function ion the device of Tang would be obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Applicant argues that the device 14 as described in the instant specification demonstrates unexpected results from the use of the claimed device. This argument is not convincing at least because device 14 is not a device of the instantly claimed invention. That is, the hole transport layer material of chemical formula 17 is not a claimed material that comprises an arylamine compound having two triphenylamine structures in a molecule and having a structure in which the two triphenylamine structures are linked by a single bond or a divalent group not containing a heteroatom. Chemical formula 17 has one triphenylamine structure and a biphenyl, fluorenyl amine structure and not two triphenylamine structures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786