DETAILED ACTION
Claims 12-26 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streckert Michael et al DE 102015105617 A (“Michael”) in view of Watson.
Regarding claim 12, Michael teaches a system to control multiple seats and an environment in a cabin of a transportation vehicle [SEE fig. 1], the transportation vehicle comprising:
a local network [SEE fig. 1] operating in the cabin of the transportation vehicle having a plurality of passengers, the multiple seats and an on-board crew,
The 1 to 4 show a system according to the invention. The system includes an aircraft device 10, 1 shows a part of an aircraft with an aircraft device 10, The aircraft device 10 is designed as a part of the aircraft. The aircraft device 10 includes a communication module 12, The communication module 12 includes a wiring 14, The wiring 14 is made up of Ethernet cables that control the various elements of the aircraft device to be controlled in the aircraft cabin 10 tie. The wiring 14 is part of an in-flight entertainment system. The wiring 14 forms an IFE Ethernet backbone. The communication module 12 includes a control unit 46, The control unit 46 is also part of the in-flight entertainment system. The control unit 46 is intended to be a network in the aircraft device 10 build up and process relevant information and forward it to the appropriate elements. The communication module 12 includes a communication unit 16, The communication unit 16 is intended to provide a wireless network in the aircraft cabin. The communication unit 16 provides a Wi-Fi network. This is indicated by the communication unit 16 a non-illustrated control unit and not shown antennas, via which the WLAN network can be established in the aircraft cabin. The communication unit 16 is to the wiring 14 connected. As a result, all the elements to be controlled in the aircraft cabin are connected to the wiring 14 connected via the communication unit 16 to reach.
each seat comprising a functional controller [38] connected to an electric controller [26] to activate at least one of an electric actuator and an effector of said each seat,
The system includes several passenger cabinets 18, 20, 22, Exemplary are in the 1 three passenger seating units 18, 20, 22 shown. In the aircraft cabin further, not shown passenger seat units are arranged, which may be the same configuration as the passenger seat units shown 18, 20, 22, In principle, it is also conceivable that further passenger seat units are configured differently than the passenger seat units shown 18, 20, 22, In the following, only the passenger compartment unit 18 be described in more detail. The passenger seat unit 18 includes a passenger seat 24, The passenger seat 24 is intended to allow a passenger, especially during a flight, to sit on it. The passenger seat 24 includes a seat bottom, a backrest pivotally adjustable to the seat bottom and a pivoting footrest. The passenger seat 24 has an upright sitting position, which is formed as a TTL position, and a reclining position. Between the upright sitting position and the lying position of the passenger seat 24 be adjusted continuously. To adjust in the various seating positions, the seat bottom, the backrest and the footrest of the passenger seat 24 adjusted according to each other. To adjust the passenger seat 24 indicates the passenger seat 24 an actuator module 26 on. The actuator module 26 includes a plurality of individually controllable actuators that are connected to the seat bottom, the backrest and the footrest to move them.
The passenger seat unit 18 also has a light module 28 on. The light module 28 includes several lighting elements. The lighting elements are provided to the seating area of the passenger seat unit 18 to illuminate.
The passenger seat unit 18 further includes a comfort module. The comfort module includes a massage unit that includes massage elements that fit into the passenger seat 24 are integrated. The comfort module further comprises a heat unit, which is intended to the passenger seat 24 to heat. In principle, it is also conceivable that the passenger compartment unit 18 and / or the passenger seat 24 have further adjustable elements, such as a headrest, an armrest, a privacy divider or other, the expert appears to be useful adjustable elements. [page 8]
The passenger seat unit 18 includes a control unit 38, The control unit 38 is intended to the passenger cabin unit 18 to control. This is the control unit 38 electronically with the actuator module 26, the light module 28, the comfort module and the IFE control unit 48 of the entertainment module 32 the passenger seat unit 18 connected. The control unit 38 the passenger seat unit 18 is via the IFE control unit 48 to the communication module 12 the aircraft device 10 tethered. Information between the communication module 12, in particular the control unit 46 of the communication module 12, and the control unit 38 the passenger seat unit 18 be exchanged via the IFE control unit 48 transfer. The IFE control unit 48 forms a gateway between the control unit 38 and the communication module 12 the aircraft device 10 out. In principle, it would also be conceivable that the control unit 38 directly over the wiring 14 to the communication module 12 connected. In principle, it would also be conceivable that the control unit 38 the passenger seat unit 18 and the IFE control unit 48 are integrally formed with each other. The control unit 38 is intended to provide control signals to the appropriate modules 26. 28. 32 to make appropriate adjustments to the passenger seat unit 18 make. The passenger seat unit 18 includes a control module 60, Via the operating module 60 can the various functions of the passenger unit 18 via the control unit 38 to be controlled. The operating module 60 has several controls over which a passenger can make inputs. In principle, it is also conceivable that the operating module 60 only one control element, for example in the form of a touch screen, has. The operating module 60 gives control signals to the control unit when entered by the operator 38 which processes these and then appropriate control signals to the appropriate modules 26. 28. 32 outputs. So a passenger can the passenger seat unit 18 via the operating module 60 Taxes. [page 9]
at least one portable electronic device [PED 40] uniquely associated with a passage occupying a seat of the transportation vehicle, and comprising a dedicated computer interface [44],
The system according to the invention comprises a PED 40, The PED 40 is designed as a personal electronic device. The PED 40 is designed as a smartphone for the purpose of the description. The PED 40 is preferably designed as a brought by the passenger electronic device. The PED 40 has a not-shown communication module, which is intended to the PED 40 wirelessly connect to other devices. The communication module comprises different communication units via which the PED 40 can communicate wirelessly. [pages 9-10]
each functional controller comprises a wireless communication module [48] configured to establish a wireless link with said at least one portable electronic device associated with the passenger occupying the seat associated with said each functional controller and to communicate on the local network [12] of the transportation vehicle,
The IFE control unit 48 forms a gateway between the control unit 38 and the communication module 12 the aircraft device 10 out. [page 9]
Here is the operating program of the PED 40 provided via the communication module 12 only with one of the passenger seating units 18. 20. 22 to communicate. At the same time, the operating program can only be used with one of the passenger seating units 18. 20. 22 be coupled. For unambiguous assignment of the PED 40 to the corresponding desired passenger seat unit 18 is the operating program of the PED 40 provided by a unique pairing operation of
a single passenger seat unit 18 to be assigned. [page 10]
By means of the Operational program, the passenger can use the PED 40 various functions of the passenger compartment unit 18 Taxes. This is the control unit 38 intended to provide control signals from the PED 40 for controlling the passenger seat unit 18 to receive. The of the control unit 38 received control signals from the PED 40 go out, which is operated by the passenger are from the control unit 38 processed and the control unit 38 gives appropriate control signals to the appropriate modules 26. 28. 32 the passenger seat unit 18 out.
The PED 40 is about the communication unit 16 the aircraft device 10 with the aircraft device 10 coupled. The PED 40 connects via its WLAN communication unit with that of the communication unit 16 provided wireless network. It goes the PED 40 a secure connection with that of the communication unit 16 provided Wi-Fi network. There are several PEDs at the same time 40 about that of the communication unit 16 provided WLAN network with the aircraft device 10 coupled. The operating program of the PED can be accessed via the WLAN network 40 via the communication module 12 with the passenger seating units 18. 20. 22 communicate. [page 10]
Are the operating program of the PED 40 and the IFE control unit 48 coupled to each other by means of the encrypted connection, records can be encrypted between the operating program and the control unit 38 be replaced. A connection between the operating program of the PED 40 and the control unit 38 is designed as an option, encrypted end-to-end communication with optional bus protocol converter. By encrypting the data between the control unit 46 of the communication module 12 the aircraft device 10 and the IFE control unit 48 of the entertainment module 32 the passenger seat unit 18 can be a secure connection over the actually unsecured data connection, which is the wiring 14 of the in-flight entertainment system. This allows for communication between the operating program of the PEDs 40 and the control unit 38 the passenger seat unit 18 advantageous in aircraft devices 10 Usually existing structure, namely that of the in-flight entertainment system can be used easily and advantageously. In principle, it would also be conceivable that the operating program of the PEDs 40 directly with the control unit 38 the passenger seat unit 18 or the IFE control unit 48 is coupled. This would be the passenger cabin unit 18 comprise a separate communication module, which is designed as a WLAN module, a Bluetooth module, an NFC module or another, the expert appears reasonable, provided for wireless transmission module. It would be to directly connect the operating program of the PEDs 40 with the passenger seat unit 18 Nevertheless, a pairing process makes sense, which could correspond to the pairing process described above. [page 12]
said at least one portable electronic device associated with the passenger enables the passenger, by means of the dedicated computer interface, to control said at least one of the electric actuator and the effector of the seat occupied by the passenger,
The operating program of the PED 40 is intended to be a light control unit of the corresponding passenger unit 18 to control The light control unit is part of the control unit 38 educated. In principle, it is also conceivable that the light control unit is designed as an independent control unit. The light control unit is provided to the light module 28 the passenger seat unit 18 to control. About the operating program, the light module 28 the passenger seat unit 18 be controlled and so lighting within the passenger cabin unit 18 be managed. For controlling the light module 28 of the Passenger seating unit 18 For example, the operating program has a light control user interface, which can preferably be selected directly from one of the submenu buttons from the main user interface. In the light control control surface are for light elements of the light module 28 , which are controllable via the light control unit, provided buttons, via which the light elements each on and off, dimmed and / or can be changed in their color.
The operating program of the PED 40 is intended to a seat position control unit of the corresponding passenger seat unit 18. 20. 22 head for. The seat position control unit is part of the control unit 38 educated. In principle, it is also conceivable that the seat position control unit is designed as an independent control unit. The seat position control unit is provided to the actuator module 26 of the passenger seat 24 to control. About the operating program, the actuator module 26 of the passenger seat 24 be controlled and so an adjustment of the seating position of the passenger seat 24 be made. For controlling the actuator module 26 of the passenger seat 24 For example, the operating program has a seat adjustment user interface, which preferably can be selected directly from one of the submenu buttons from the main menu user interface. In the seat adjustment control surface are for adjustable elements of the passenger seat 24 , in particular, backrest and footrest, provided buttons over which the adjustable elemets can be controlled. The seat adjustment control panel also provides a button over which the entire passenger seat 24 can be adjusted continuously between an upright TTL sitting position and the lying position. It is conceivable that the seat adjustment control surface forms a virtual slider over which a passenger can adjust the seating position continuously. It is also conceivable that the passenger can enter special seat angles via an input field in the seat adjustment control surface. For quick alignment of the passenger seat 24 in various basic positions, such as in particular the upright sitting position, the reclining position or a comfort position, the seat adjustment control surface has buttons on which these sitting positions are set directly.
The operating program of the PED 40 is provided, a comfort control unit and an entertainment control unit of the corresponding passenger seat unit 18 head for. The comfort control unit and the entertainment control unit are each as part of the control unit 38 educated. [page 12-13]
[READ further page 14]
wherein a functional controller of the seat occupied by the passenger is further configured to continue operating via local manual commands while receiving commands transmitted via said wireless link, so that the passenger can use either manual input via the functional controller of the seat occupied by the passenger or said at least one portable electronic device associated with the passenger to control said at least one of the electric actuator and the effector to change a position of the seat occupied by the passenger.
Furthermore, it is proposed that the passenger seat unit comprises at least one operating module which is provided to output control signals to the control and / or regulating unit, the control signals of the operating module overwriting control signals of a PED coupled to the passenger seat unit. A "control module" is to be understood in particular as a module which comprises a plurality of control elements which are provided for the direct control of the passenger seat unit and are arranged to be accessible to a passenger on the passenger seat unit. In this context, "overwriting" should be understood in particular to mean that the control signals of the operating module of the passenger seat unit have a higher priority, whereby control signals of the passenger seat unit entered by the operating module are processed primarily by the control and / or regulating unit and any control signals of the operating program of the PED be transmitted to the control unit in a similar period of time. Adjustments to the passenger seat unit which have been triggered by control signals of the operating program of the PED and which are negated by control signals of the control module are terminated immediately and the corresponding control signals of the control module are converted by the control and / or regulating unit. This can advantageously be achieved that an adjustment of the passenger seat unit can be determined in the end always by the person sitting on the passenger seat passenger. [page 7]
Michael does not expressly teach said at least one portable electronic device associated with the passenger enables the passenger, by means of the dedicated computer interface to communicate with the on-board crew on the local network.
Watson teaches another system to control multiple seats and an environment in a cabin of a transportation vehicle [aircraft – SEE fig. 1], the transportation vehicle comprising:
[0009] In one embodiment, the present invention is directed to an innovative system for pairing a passenger's personal electronic device with a seat in a vehicle for controlling seat functions for the passenger using the personal electronic device. The passenger seat may be in any type of vehicle, but typically a common carrier vehicle such as a commercial airplane, passenger train, bus, ship, ferry, etc. The personal electronic device may be any suitable electronic device, such as a mobile/cellular phone, mobile/cellular smart phone, tablet computer, personal computer, laptop computer, or other portable handheld or other suitable portable electronic device. Smart phones are particular well-suited because they are commonplace, especially with travelers, and they typically have a great deal of functionality.
a local network [SEE fig. 1] operating in the cabin of the transportation vehicle having a plurality of passengers, the multiple seats [130a…d] and an on-board crew [144 – pilot, attendant…],
[0039] Alternatively, the vehicle wireless communication module 114 may comprise a plurality of wireless communication modules, such as a plurality of Wi-Fi modules, NFC modules or Bluetooth modules distributed throughout the vehicle 101. For instance, an NFC module may be provided at each passenger seat 130 within the vehicle 101, or several Wi-Fi or Bluetooth modules may be spaced about the vehicle 101 to provide adequate signal strength to communicate with personal electronic devices 120 located throughout the vehicle. Aircraft frequently include one or more wireless access points (WAPs). The plurality of vehicle wireless communication modules 114 are each in operable communication with the server 104, such as through a local area network or other suitable network.
each seat comprising a functional controller [140] connected to an electric controller [150] to activate at least one of an electric actuator and an effector of said each seat,
[0048] The device pairing software application 126 is also configured to program the personal electronic device 120 to control the passenger seat functions 140. As described more fully below, the passenger seat functions 140 are associated with a passenger seat 301 and may include such functions as an entertainment system 141, a smart monitor 142, a lighting system 143, an attendant call system 144, a seat adjustment system 145, a food service system 146, telephony service 147, an air conditioning system 148, or other comfort or convenience function for a passenger.
[0052] Each of the seat functions 140 may be operably coupled to a respective seat function controller 150, which controls the seat function 140. For example, the system 102 may have an entertainment system controller 151, a lighting system controller 152, a smart monitor controller 153, a seat adjustment controller 154, an attendant call controller 155, a food service controller 156, a telephony system controller 157, an air conditioning system controller 158, and other controllers 150 for any other seat functions 140. Each seat function 140 may have a dedicated seat function controller 150, or multiple, or even all, seat functions 140 may be controlled by a single seat function controller 150. In other words, two or more seat function controllers 150 may be integrated into a single seat function controller 150. For instance, a passenger services system 161 may be a seat function controller 150 for a plurality of seat functions 140, such as attendant call 144, food service 146, and entertainment system 149.
At least one portable electronic device [personal electronic device 120 - mobile/cellular smart phone] uniquely associated with a passage occupying a seat of the transportation vehicle, and comprising a dedicated computer interface,
[0053] As explained above, the personal electronic device 120 is not necessarily an element of the system 100, but in certain embodiments it may be an element of the system 100. The personal electronic device 120 may be any suitable electronic device which is sufficiently portable that a passenger may carry it onto the vehicle and utilize it while at the passenger's seat 301. The electronic device 120 must also be configured for wireless communication with the on-board management system 102, and/or in some embodiments, the seat functions 140 and/or seat function controllers 150 using a wireless communication module 124. As some examples, the personal electronic device 120 may be a mobile/cellular phone, smart phone, tablet computer, personal computer, laptop computer, or other suitable handheld or portable electronic device. The personal electronic device 120 comprises a processor 128, memory 160 (e.g., RAM, DRAM, ROM, etc.), a storage device 162 (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, SSD, etc.), and a display 127 (e.g., LCD display, LED display, OLED display, etc.), input device(s) 127 (e.g., touchscreen, mouse, touchpad, keypad, buttons, etc.). The personal electronic device 120 may also include wireless communication modules 164 in addition to the wireless communication module 124, such as an NFC module, Bluetooth module, cellular base module, Wi-Fi module, etc. The personal electronic device 120 is configured and programmable by the device pairing software application 126 to perform the functions as described herein.
Specifically, Watson teaches said at least one portable electronic device associated with the passenger enables the passenger, by means of the dedicated computer interface, to communicate with the on-board crew on the local network.
[0048] The device pairing software application 126 is also configured to program the personal electronic device 120 to control the passenger seat functions 140. As described more fully below, the passenger seat functions 140 are associated with a passenger seat 301 and may include such functions as an entertainment system 141, a smart monitor 142, a lighting system 143, an attendant call system 144, a seat adjustment system 145, a food service system 146, telephony service 147, an air conditioning system 148, or other comfort or convenience function for a passenger. The device pairing application 126 includes a seat function control module which allows the passenger to select a particular seat function 140 from a menu of seat functions 140 to control. Upon selection of the desired seat function 140, the application 126 displays a user interface for the selected seat function 140.
[claim 6] wherein the at least one seat function comprises at least two or more of the following: an on-board entertainment system, an air conditioning system, a lighting system, a telephony communication system, an on-board drink or meal service request system, an attendant call system, a passenger status system, and a seat adjustment system.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the passenger, by means of the dedicated computer interface, to communicate with the on-board crew on the local network of Watson. The motivation for doing so would has been the further improve service efficiency and enhances passenger convenience by allowing requests to be transmitted electronically without required physical interaction. Thus, further user comfort and experience.
Regarding claim 13, Both Michael and Watson teach wherein the local network is a WIFI network [pages 8 and 10 of Micheal; par. 0012, 0038-0040 of Watson].
Regarding claim 14, Both Michael and Watson teach wherein the local network is a Bluetooth network [page 10 and 12 of Michael, par. 000038-0040 of Watson].
Regarding claim 15, Both Michael and Watson teach the wireless communication module comprises a low-energy Bluetooth BLE module comprising a BLE antenna coupled to an electronic board [page 10 and 12 of Michael, par. 000038-0040 of Watson].
Regarding claim 16, Michael teaches said at least one portable electronic device is selected from a group consisting of a smartphone, a touch digital tablet, and a laptop computer [page 2].
Regarding claim 17, Michael in view of Watson teaches said at least one of the electric actuator and the effector is selected from a group consisting of an electric motor to change a position of the seat, a personal lamp, a personal fan, an entertainment device, and an on-board crew call device [SEE cited passages in claim 12; Specifically, SEE fig. 1 of Watson].
Regarding claim 18, Both Michael and Watson teach wherein the dedicated computer interface is comprised in an application program installed on said at least one portable electronic device [SEE fig. 4 of Michael and SEE par. 0048-0049 of Watson].
Regarding claim 19, Watson teaches wherein the dedicated computer interface is comprised in a web page accessible via the local network [SEE par. 0003 and 0036].
Regarding claim 20, Both Michael and Watson teach the application program is a mobile application to directly control said at least one the electric actuator and the effector [SEE pages 12-13 of Michael and 0052 of Watson].
Regarding claim 21, Micheal teaches said at least one portable electronic device comprising a mobile phone, a notebook, a tablet, a laptop or any other similar device [page 4].
Regarding claim 22, Both Michael and Watson teach teaches a secure pairing step to connect said at least one portable electronic device with the functional controller; a step of accessing a main menu of the application program, the main menu being displayed on the dedicated computer interface; and a step of controlling a functionality of the seat, associated with the electric actuator, directly on the dedicated computer interface [SEE fig. 2 and 4 of Michael and par. 0048 of Watson].
Regarding claim 23, Micheal in view Watson teaches the secure pairing step comprises an action selected from the group consisting of reading a QR with the camera, obtaining a code information and filling out a passenger identification; and further comprising synchronizing the application program with another computer program comprising an identification number of the seat of the passenger [SEE pages 4-5, 10-12 of Michael and par. 0045-0048, 0058, 0064].
Regarding claim 24, Micheal teaches the secure pairing step comprises reading of a QR code located on the seat by the camera [SEE pages 10-11 of Michael].
Regarding claim 25, Michael teaches the transportation vehicle is a commercial aircraft comprising a first-class cabin and the seat is a convertible chair located in the first-class cabin [SEE fig. 1 and 2].
Regarding claim 26, Michael in view of Watson teaches the functional controller of the seat and said at least one portable device enables the passenger to operate a personal lamp, a personal fan, an entertainment device, and an on-board crew call device [SEE fig. 4 of Michael and Fig. 1 of Watson].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115