Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-13, 16-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 16, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) in view of Emamjomeh et al. (US 2018/0022923), and further as evidenced by Huang et al. (WO 2018/199998).
Regarding claim 1, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1-3, 5, 8, a method of manufacturing a 3D printed object (as shown in Figs. 1-3, items 9, 11 ([0021], lines 1-5) and 40 ([0027], lines 1-4)), said method comprising:
selectively applying a fusing agent (Fig. 1, item 16 ([0021], lines 7-8)) onto powder bed material (as shown in Fig. 1, item 13 ([0021], lines 11-12 (i.e., deposits layers 12 of powdered material 26 onto the working surface 13)));
exposing at least part of the powder bed material to radiation (as shown in Fig. 8, item 128 ([0041], lines 1-4 from bottom (i.e., the printed strategic sections 9 may be exposed to heat, light, …))) to fuse at least part of the powder bed material to form a layer (e.g., item 9) of the 3D printed object;
repeating the selectively applying and exposing with respective layers of the polymer powder bed material to form the 3D printed object (i.e., as shown in Fig. 1, multiple layers 12 ([0021], line 11) are formed on the working surface 13 ([0021], lines 6-7)), wherein the fusing agent and/or a detailing agent is selectively applied to the powder bed material in a predetermined arrangement (as shown in Fig. 1, item 9) to form a porous region (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2, item 48 (i.e., an internal feature 48 in the form of an internal passage or channel 50 extending through the part 40 ([0027], lines 7-9); [0018], lines 6-9 (as used herein, the term “internal feature” refers to a cavity, void, hollow, passage, or channel that is defined in an interior volume of a part and that may or may not be in fluid communication with the exterior of the consolidated part))) in the 3D printed object and
treating the 3D printed object with a modifying agent (Fig. 1, item 36 ([0025], lines 7-10)), such that the modifying agent at least partially permeates the porous region of the 3D printed object (Fig. 5, items 9, 11). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the printed strategic sections 9 or 11 are from the multiple layers 12 (layer by layer). In Fig. 1, it shows 3 layers (12).
Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the inclusion of the powdered material 26 may provide a gradient material for a smoother transition when different strategic sections 9 of a part 40 are printed using different powdered materials ([0025], lines 1-5 from bottom). It is noticed that, at least, applying the modified binders to the different powdered materials will provide the powder bed for changing the mechanical and/or chemical properties of the powder bed, such its porosity.
Because Bonilla Gonzalez discloses a ‘working surface’ (for example, as shown in Fig. 1, item 13) is intended to denote a surface onto which a powder bed layer (It is noticed that, by inherence, each powder bed layer itself has porous structures) is deposited during binder jetting processes ([0018], lines 1-3), each powder layer may also have ‘internal feature’ such as cavities, voids, hollow, passage, or channels defined in an interior volume of each layer ([0018], lines 7-9) and at least these areas with the internal features (either voids, cavities, hollow, passages, or channels) can be considered as forming the porous regions of the printed strategic sections 9 or 11 of the 3d object.
It is noticed that, in independent claims 1, 10, and 15 of Bonilla Gonzalez’s application, only internal feature(s) (i.e., including cavities, voids, hollow, passage, or channels) of the multi-sectional part(s) are claimed. The specific feature of ‘passages’ or ‘channels’ illustrated in Figs. 2-5 are examples or embodiments claimed in the related dependent claims.
It is noticed that, the modified binder 36 may substantially cover the exposed surface 112, the exposed surface 114, or both. The modified binder 36 is not applied to the surfaces of the internal features 48 ([0035], lines 6-9 from bottom). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, after applying the modified binder 36 onto the surfaces 66, the binders may at least partially penetrate or permeate the porous region through the openings (such as the openings 85, 89 (see label in attached annotated Figure I). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 4, there are openings 86, 88 disposed on the outer portion of the part 40 to its inner portion ([0032]).
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the use of fusing in example 3d printing process to accurately control the porosity of diffusion controlled release device enables control over the release profiles of active ingredients, such as free powder material having no fusing having on the order of 50% porosity, partially fused powder having the order of 10% porosity, and fully fused powder having 0% porosity (page 26, [0042], lines 1-7 from bottom). Thus, Huang discloses that, the porosity of the powder bed can be controlled in the range of 0% to 50% (overlapping the claimed range of porosity of 0 % to 50%).
In the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez, because the fusing agent and/or a detailing agent is selectively applied to the powder bed material in a predetermined arrangement (as shown in Fig. 1, item 9) to form a porous region (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2, item 48 (i.e., an internal feature 48 in the form of an internal passage or channel 50 extending through the part 40 ([0027], lines 7-9); [0018], lines 6-9 ) in the 3D printed object, at least this portion of the 3D printed object also has a porosity of around 0.5 (i.e., at least supported by the teachings of Huang above) due to the existence of unfused powder prior to cleaning.
However, Bonilla Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose applying a detailing agent onto the powder bed material. In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Emamjomeh discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2D, 3, 4, the detailing agent 29 is capable of dying the build material 16 at the edge boundary 27 and preventing curing of the portion 42 of the build material 16, while the fusing agent 28 is capable of enhancing curing of the portion 44 of the build material 16 ([0051], lines 1-7 from bottom).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bonilla Gonzalez to incorporate the teachings of Emamjomeh to provide that the detailing agent 29 is capable of dying the build material 16 at the edge boundary 27 and preventing curing of the portion 42 of the build material 16. Doing so would be possible to prevent coalescence bleed in the powder bed and improve the edge acuity of the 3d printed object, as recognized by Emamjomeh ([0012], [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 5 and in [0018], lines 6-9, as used herein, the term “internal feature” (i.e., item 48 in Fig. 5) refers to a cavity, void, hollow, passage, or channel that is defined in an interior volume of a part and that may or may not be in fluid communication with the exterior of the consolidated part. Here, the internal feature “void” can be considered as “pore”. Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the porous region comprises pores formed from interstices between partially fused and/or unfused particles of powder bed material ([0028], lines 1-6 from bottom).
Regarding claim 3, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the amount of fusing agent and/or a detailing agent that is selectively applied to the powder bed material is controlled (by the control system 28 ([0025], line 4) as shown in Fig. 1) to determine the extent of fusing of the powder bed material that forms the porous region ([0025]).
However, Bonilla Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose applying a detailing agent onto the powder bed material. In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Emamjomeh discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2D, 3, 4, the detailing agent 29 is capable of dying the build material 16 at the edge boundary 27 and preventing curing of the portion 42 of the build material 16, while the fusing agent 28 is capable of enhancing curing of the portion 44 of the build material 16 ([0051], lines 1-7 from bottom).
Regarding claim 4, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the fusing agent and/or a detailing agent is selectively applied to the powder bed material to provide a porosity gradient across the porous region. Thus, by nature of inherence, the porous structure such as the internal features of voids in each strategic section 9 of the multi-sectional binder jet printed part 11 ([0021], lines 1-4) will provide a porosity gradient across the porous region ([0018], lines 6-18).
However, Bonilla Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose applying a detailing agent onto the powder bed material. In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Emamjomeh discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2D, 3, 4, the detailing agent 29 is capable of dying the build material 16 at the edge boundary 27 and preventing curing of the portion 42 of the build material 16, while the fusing agent 28 is capable of enhancing curing of the portion 44 of the build material 16 ([0051], lines 1-7 from bottom).
Regarding claims 6-7, 10, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 4-5, 8, prior to exposing at least part of the powder bed material to radiation (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 8, the curing step 138 is after the step 134 for dispensing a modified binder ([0042], [0043])), the modified binder 36 may include the powdered material 26 ([0025], lines 8-10 from bottom; it is noticed that, the powdered material 26 may include meta, ceramic, and/or polymer particles ([0021], lines )) (related to claim 10 (i.e., the powdered material 26 can be considered as a filler such as ceramic particles)). Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the inclusion of the powdered material 26 may provide a gradient material for a smoother transition when different strategic sections 9 of a part 40 are printed using different powdered materials ([0025], lines 1-5 from bottom). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses the modifying agent comprising a functional component (such as the powdered material 26) to at least a portion of the powder bed material, such that the functional component of the further modifying agent is incorporated in the porous region. As illustrated in Figs. 5, 6 (also see attached annotated Figure I), the modified binder 36 (e.g., a glue, epoxy) is applied along the sectional plane 64 (e.g., rolled, painted, or deposited onto the first surface 66, the second surface 68, or both) before bring the surfaces 66 and 68 into contact with one another to assemble the multi-sectional part 11 ([0030], lines 7-12). It is noticed that, the modified binder 36 may substantially cover the exposed surface 112, the exposed surface 114, or both. The modified binder 36 is not applied to the surfaces of the internal features 48 ([0035], lines 6-9 from bottom). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, after applying the modified binder 36 onto the surfaces 66, the binders may at least partially penetrate the porous region through the openings (such as the openings 85, 89 (see label in attached annotated Figure I) (related to claim 7). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 4, there are openings 86, 88 disposed on the outer portion of the part 40 to its inner portion ([0032]).
Annotated Figure I (based on Fig. 5 in the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez)
Regarding claims 16, 21, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the printed layers may be cured (e.g., via heat, light (i.e., electromagnetic energy), moisture, solvent evaporation, etc.) after printing to bond the particles of each layer together to form a green body part ([0019]).
It is noticed that, after the curing (i.e., cross-linking) of the layer (including the layer being exposed as the exterior portion), its hardness is increased (related to claim 21).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Emamjomeh et al. (US 2018/0022923) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Myerberg et al. (US 2017/0297111).
Regarding claims 11-13, Bonilla Gonzalez does not disclose applying the modifying agent by supercritical carbon oxide. In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, as illustrated in Fig. 5, Myerberg discloses that, the first binder (the first binder and the second binder are disclosed in [0134]) can include a wax extractable from the second binder by supercritical carbon oxide fluid following exposure of the second binder to wavelength of light sufficient to crosslink or polymerize the second binder ([0151], lines 19-23). Thus, the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez and Myerberg discloses that, applying a further modifying agent comprising a functional component to at least a portion of the powder bed material, such that the functional component of the further modifying agent is incorporated in the porous region of the 3D printed object, and treating the 3D printed object by supercritical carbon dioxide deposition to cause the modifying agent to at least partially penetrate the porous region and interact with the functional component of the further modifying agent.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Bonilla Gonzalez to have the 3d printed object as Myerberg teaches that it is known to have applying the modifying agent by supercritical carbon oxide. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Emamjomeh et al. (US 2018/0022923) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Adefris et al. (US 2020/0016725).
Regarding claims 17-18, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the modified binder 36 may be a glue, epoxy, or resin ([0030], lines 7-8). Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, in certain embodiments, one or more curing processes set forth above may be used to cure and increase the strength of the modified binder 36 that adheres together the strategic sections 9 of the multi-sectional part 11 ([0043], lines 1-8 from bottom).
However, Bonilla Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose that the modified binders (i.e., including the further modifying agent and the modifying agent) comprise an amine group. In the same field of endeavor, bonded articles in 3d printing, Adefris discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2A, binder material precursors for resin bond precursor materials generally include one or more organic thermosetting compounds in which Alkaline catalyst used includes organic amine ([0083], lines 1-3; [0084], lines 1-4 from bottom).
Thus, Adefris discloses that binder material precursors for resin bond precursor materials generally include one or more organic thermosetting compounds in which Alkaline catalyst used includes organic amine. Adefris realizes that doing so would be possible to improve the performance of the 3d printed object ([0004]). The claimed the modified binders comprise an amine group is that the substitution of one known element for another is prima facie obvious IF yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, something to do with the binders materials include an amine group comes from Adefris itself.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bonilla Gonzalez to incorporate the teachings of Adefris to provide the modified binders comprise an amine group. Doing so would be possible to improve the consisting performance of the 3d printed article, as recognized by Adefris ([0004]).
Claims 19-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Emamjomeh et al. (US 2018/0022923) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Walther et al. (US 2013/0303804).
Regarding claims 19-20, 22, the combination does not explicitly disclose that the modifier includes the fire retarder such as huntite and the plasticizer such as diethylene glycol. In the similar field of endeavor, process for preparing agent, Walther discloses that flame retardants such as huntite ([0098]) and plasticizers such as diethylene glycol dibenzoate ([0106], line 29) can be applied for the compounds.
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have the 3d printed object as Walther teaches that it is known to have applying the modifying agent including flame retardants such as huntite and plasticizers such as diethylene glycol dibenzoate. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 16, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2018/199998) in view of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484).
Regarding claims 1, 2, Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, free powder material that has experienced no fusing can have on the order of 50% porosity (for example, as shown in Fig. 1 (e), the left side of the powder bed (related to claim 2)), while partially fused powder can have on the order of 10% porosity, and fully fused powder that has been fully melted can have 0% porosity (page 26, [0042], lines 1-7 from bottom). Thus, Huang discloses that, the porous region of the powder bed has a pore volume of about 4 to about 30% by volume (i.e., 0 to 50% porosity overlapping 4 to 30% porosity or a solid volume fraction ranging from 0.5 to less that 1).
Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the liquid solutions can comprise fusing agents, detailing agents ([0019], lines 1-5).
However, Huang does not explicitly disclose that, treating the 3D printed object with a modifying agent at least partially permeates the porous region of the 3D object.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1-3, 5, 8, a method of manufacturing a 3D printed object (as shown in Figs. 1-3, items 9, 11 ([0021], lines 1-5) and 40 ([0027], lines 1-4)), said method comprising:
selectively applying a fusing agent (Fig. 1, item 16 ([0021], lines 7-8)) onto powder bed material (as shown in Fig. 1, item 13 ([0021], lines 11-12 (i.e., deposits layers 12 of powdered material 26 onto the working surface 13)));
exposing at least part of the powder bed material to radiation (as shown in Fig. 8, item 128 ([0041], lines 1-4 from bottom (i.e., the printed strategic sections 9 may be exposed to heat, light, …))) to fuse at least part of the powder bed material to form a layer (e.g., item 9) of the 3D printed object;
repeating the selectively applying and exposing with respective layers of the polymer powder bed material to form the 3D printed object (i.e., as shown in Fig. 1, multiple layers 12 ([0021], line 11) are formed on the working surface 13 ([0021], lines 6-7)), wherein the fusing agent and/or a detailing agent is selectively applied to the powder bed material in a predetermined arrangement (as shown in Fig. 1, item 9) to form a porous region (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2, item 48 (i.e., an internal feature 48 in the form of an internal passage or channel 50 extending through the part 40 ([0027], lines 7-9); [0018], lines 6-9 (as used herein, the term “internal feature” refers to a cavity, void, hollow, passage, or channel that is defined in an interior volume of a part and that may or may not be in fluid communication with the exterior of the consolidated part))) in the 3D printed object and
treating the 3D printed object with a modifying agent (Fig. 1, item 36 ([0025], lines 7-10)), such that the modifying agent at least partially permeates the porous region of the 3D printed object (Fig. 5, items 9, 11). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the printed strategic sections 9 or 11 are from the multiple layers 12 (layer by layer). In Fig. 1, it shows 3 layers (12).
Because Bonilla Gonzalez discloses a ‘working surface’ (for example, as shown in Fig. 1, item 13) is intended to denote a surface onto which a powder bed layer (It is noticed that, by inherence, each powder bed layer itself has porous structures) is deposited during binder jetting processes ([0018], lines 1-3), each powder layer may also have ‘internal feature’ such as cavities, voids, hollow, passage, or channels defined in an interior volume of each layer and at least these internal features can be considered as forming the porous region of the printed strategic sections 9 or 11 of the 3d object.
It is noticed that, after the curing (i.e., cross-linking) of the layer (including the layer being exposed as the exterior portion), its hardness is increased (related to claim 21).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez to provide that treating the 3D printed object with a modifying agent at least partially permeates the porous region of the 3D object. Doing so would be possible to enable effective and efficient creating complex and/or small internal features (for example, cavities, voids, hollow, passage, or channels) in the 3d printed object, as recognized by Bonilla Gonzalez ([0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the amount of fusing agent and/or a detailing agent that is selectively applied to the powder bed material is controlled (by the control system 28 ([0025], line 4) as shown in Fig. 1) to determine the extent of fusing of the powder bed material that forms the porous region ([0025]).
Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the liquid solutions can comprise fusing agents, detailing agents ([0019], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the fusing agent and/or a detailing agent is selectively applied to the powder bed material to provide a porosity gradient across the porous region. Thus, by nature of inherence, the porous structure such as the internal features of voids in each strategic section 9 of the multi-sectional binder het printed part 11 ([0021], lines 1-4) will provide a porosity gradient across the porous region ([0018], lines 6-18).
Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the liquid solutions can comprise fusing agents, detailing agents ([0019], lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 6-7, 10, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 4-5, 8, prior to exposing at least part of the powder bed material to radiation (for example, as illustrated in Fig. 8, the curing step 138 is after the step 134 for dispensing a modified binder ([0042], [0043])), the modified binder 36 may include the powdered material 26 ([0025], lines 8-10 from bottom; it is noticed that, the powdered material 26 may include meta, ceramic, and/or polymer particles ([0021], lines )) (related to claim 10 (i.e., the powdered material 26 can be considered as a filler such as ceramic particles)). Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the inclusion of the powdered material 26 may provide a gradient material for a smoother transition when different strategic sections 9 of a part 40 are printed using different powdered materials ([0025], lines 1-5 from bottom). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses the modifying agent comprising a functional component (such as the powdered material 26) to at least a portion of the powder bed material, such that the functional component of the further modifying agent is incorporated in the porous region. As illustrated in Figs. 5, 6 (also see attached annotated Figure I), the modified binder 36 (e.g., a glue, epoxy) is applied along the sectional plane 64 (e.g., rolled, painted, or deposited onto the first surface 66, the second surface 68, or both) before bring the surfaces 66 and 68 into contact with one another to assemble the multi-sectional part 11 ([0030], lines 7-12). It is noticed that, the modified binder 36 36 may substantially cover the exposed surface 112, the exposed surface 114, or both. The modified binder 36 is not applied to the surfaces of the internal features 48 ([0035], lines 6-9 from bottom). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, after applying the modified binder 36 onto the surfaces 66, the binders may at least partially penetrate the porous region through the openings (such as the openings 85, 89 (see label in attached annotated Figure I) (related to claim 7). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 4, there are openings 86, 88 disposed on the outer portion of the part 40 to its inner portion ([0032]).
Regarding claims 16, 21, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the printed layers may be cured (e.g., via heat, light (i.e., electromagnetic energy), moisture, solvent evaporation, etc.) after printing to bond the particles of each layer together to form a green body part ([0019]).
It is noticed that, after the curing (i.e., cross-linking) of the layer (including the layer being exposed as the exterior portion), its hardness is increased (related to claim 21).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Huang et al. (WO 2018/199998) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Myerberg et al. (US 2017/0297111).
Regarding claims 11-13, the combination does not disclose applying the modifying agent by supercritical carbon oxide. In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, as illustrated in Fig. 5, Myerberg discloses that, the first binder (the first binder and the second binder are disclosed in [0134]) can include a wax extractable from the second binder by supercritical carbon oxide fluid following exposure of the second binder to wavelength of light sufficient to crosslink or polymerize the second binder ([0151], lines 19-23). Thus, the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez and Myerberg discloses that, applying a further modifying agent comprising a functional component to at least a portion of the powder bed material, such that the functional component of the further modifying agent is incorporated in the porous region of the 3D printed object, and treating the 3D printed object by supercritical carbon dioxide deposition to cause the modifying agent to at least partially penetrate the porous region and interact with the functional component of the further modifying agent.
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have the 3d printed object as Myerberg teaches that it is known to have applying the modifying agent by supercritical carbon oxide. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Huang et al. (WO 2018/199998) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Adefris et al. (US 2020/0016725).
Regarding claims 17-18, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the modified binder 36 may be a glue, epoxy, or resin ([0030], lines 7-8). Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, in certain embodiments, one or more curing processes set forth above may be used to cure and increase the strength of the modified binder 36 that adheres together the strategic sections 9 of the multi-sectional part 11 ([0043], lines 1-8 from bottom).
However, both Huang and Bonilla Gonzalez do not explicitly disclose that the modified binders (i.e., including the further modifying agent and the modifying agent) comprise an amine group. In the same field of endeavor, bonded articles in 3d printing, Adefris discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2A, binder material precursors for resin bond precursor materials generally include one or more organic thermosetting compounds in which Alkaline catalyst used includes organic amine ([0083], lines 1-3; [0084], lines 1-4 from bottom).
Thus, Adefris discloses that binder material precursors for resin bond precursor materials generally include one or more organic thermosetting compounds in which Alkaline catalyst used includes organic amine. Adefris realizes that doing so would be possible to improve the performance of the 3d printed object ([0004]). The claimed the modified binders comprise an amine group is that the substitution of one known element for another is prima facie obvious IF yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, something to do with the binders materials include an amine group comes from Adefris itself.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Huang and Bonilla Gonzalez to incorporate the teachings of Adefris to provide the modified binders comprise an amine group. Doing so would be possible to improve the consisting performance of the 3d printed article, as recognized by Adefris ([0004]).
Claims 19-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonilla Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0326484) and Huang et al. (WO 2018/199998) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Walther et al. (US 2013/0303804).
Regarding claims 19-20, 22, the combination does not explicitly disclose that the modifier includes the fire retarder such as huntite and the plasticizer such as diethylene glycol. In the similar field of endeavor, process for preparing agent, Walther discloses that flame retardants such as huntite ([0098]) and plasticizers such as diethylene glycol dibenzoate ([0106], line 29) can be applied for the compounds.
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have the 3d printed object as Walther teaches that it is known to have applying the modifying agent including flame retardants such as huntite and plasticizers such as diethylene glycol dibenzoate. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/3/2025 have been fully considered. They are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments (as amended) in claim 1 that Bonilla Gonzalez or other cited references does not actually teach ‘permeating a modifying agent through the plurality of interconnected pores in the first, exterior portion’ and the surfaces of Bonilla Gonzalez are not exterior features, it is not persuasive.
It is noticed that, in the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez, the modified binder 36 may substantially cover the exposed surface 112, the exposed surface 114, or both. The modified binder 36 is not applied to the surfaces of the internal features 48 ([0035], lines 6-9 from bottom; as shown in Fig. 5). Thus, Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, after applying the modified binder 36 onto the surfaces 66, the binders may at least partially penetrate or permeate the porous region through the openings (such as the openings 85, 89 (see label in attached annotated Figure I). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 4, there are openings 86, 88 disposed on the outer portion of the part 40 to its inner portion ([0032]).
It is noticed that, one of the teachings in Bonilla Gonzalez is to apply fabricating green body strategic sections to yield a brown body multi-sectional part ([0006]). Thus, for each individual green body strategic section, their outer surfaces are exterior for the green body strategic section.
Regarding arguments (as amended) in claim 1 that Bonilla Gonzalez does not disclose that the modifying agent is disposed locally then alter the properties of the first, exterior portion of the 3D printed object, it is not persuasive.
Bonilla Gonzalez discloses that, the inclusion of the powdered material 26 may provide a gradient material for a smoother transition when different strategic sections 9 of a part 40 are printed using different powdered materials ([0025], lines 1-5 from bottom). It is noticed that, at least, applying the modified binders to the different powdered materials will provide the powder bed for changing the mechanical and/or chemical properties of the powder bed, such its porosity.
Regarding arguments in claim 1 that Bonilla Gonzalez does not appear to teach forming” a porous region” of a 3D printed object rather than a single continuous channel, it is not persuasive.
In the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez, the similar technology like the Applicant is used to build 3d objects. If Applicant can have a porous region in the 3d object, Bonilla Gonzalez should be able to do the same. Further, Bonilla Gonzalez defines “internal features” including a cavity, void, hollow, passage, or channel that is defined in an interior volume of a (3d printed) part ([0018], lines 6-9; [0020], lines 1-4 (it is noticed that, these internal features are complex and/or small for each part)). Thus, at least, in the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez, the porous structure/region in the internal volume of the 3d printed object is not prohibited or is required. As illustrated in Fig. 2, 3 or 4 in the teachings of Bonilla Gonzalez, the internal feature of ‘channel or passage’ is illustrated. The other embodiments of the internal features such as ‘cavity’ or ‘void’ are not demonstrated.
Regarding arguments (as amended) in claim 1 that Huang does not disclose ‘a porous region in a first, exterior portion of the 3d object’ and ‘a solid structure in a second, interior portion of the 3d object’, it is not persuasive.
As illustrated in Fig. 2a in the teachings of Huang, the active ingredients 204a, 204b, 206, 208 have been arranged (page 20, [0036], lines 8-9). Thus, at least, the layers of 204a and 204b can be considered as the first, exterior portion of the 3d object (i.e., item 200 (page 19, [0036], lines 3-5)).
Huang discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, free powder material that has experienced no fusing can have on the order of 50% porosity (for example, as shown in Fig. 1 (e), the left side of the powder bed), while partially fused powder can have on the order of 10% porosity, and fully fused powder that has been fully melted can have 0% porosity (page 26, [0042], lines 1-7 from bottom).
As illustrated in Fig. 1e in the teachings of Huang, an example of a portion of a layer of fused material is demonstrated (page 19, [0036], lines 1-2). Thus, this layer of fused material has a lower porosity which can be considered as the second, interior portion of the 3d object.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744