DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, et. al. (US20190094003A1), in view of Pavlik, et. al. (US 20090123784 A1), McMaster-Carr, Easy-Install Slotted Washers, Published 10-20-2018 (https://www.mcmaster.com/products/split-spacers/washer-type~split/washer-type~slotted/easy-install-slotted-washers-1~~/), and Harrison, et. al. (US 20200251767 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches a method of measuring a volume of a battery cell, comprising interposing the battery cell in the battery cell jig according to claim 1 (see below), and measuring weights before and after a volume change of the battery cell, respectively (“[0078] The variable measurement member 124 may be interposed in the space between the variable base member 123 and the variable lower jig 122 . . . may measure the reaction force caused by the swelling of secondary battery C . . . [0114] Referring to FIG. 8, the deriving unit 130 may set a coordinate plane where the x-axis represents the thickness change amount of the secondary battery and the y-axis represents the reaction force of the secondary battery. Here, the x-axis may be in the unit of length, for example ‘mm’, and the y-axis may be in the unit of force or weight, for example ‘kgf’ [indicating that “measuring weights” is occurring].” ; the description of “T1” and T0 indicate the measurement before and after a volume change). Kim at [0078-80, 114-15], Fig. 4, 5, 8.
Kim does not teach the entirety of the battery cell jig as claimed in Claim 1, however. The following analysis covers the contents of Claim 1:
Kim teaches a battery cell jig (fixed jig 110) comprising: first and second plates (fixed upper jug 111, fixed lower jig 112 respectively); a bolt (bolts L) and a nut (nuts N) which fix the first and second plates in a state that a battery cell is interposed between the first and second plates. Kim at Fig. 4.
Fig. 4 and 5 of Kim.
However, Kim is silent as to a spacer laminate.
Pavlik teaches a bolt and nut assembly for fixing cathode plates 5 and anode plates 3 of a fuel cell, wherein plastic washers 8a are utilized to ensure the plates are “electrically isolated.” Pavlik at [0053]. Pavlik at least suggests via Fig. 1 and 2 that these washers provide the benefit of controlling the amount of compression upon the plates while ensuring a secure fit. Id. at Fig. 1 and 2.
Fig. 1 and 2 of Pavlik.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a laminate includes a material composed of plastic or having a layer of plastic or some other protective material, indicating that a plastic washer is a “spacer laminate.” Pavlik depicts eight washers within Fig. 2. Id. at Fig. 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to modify Kim such that its bolt is secured by the nonconductive washers of Pavlik, such that it comprises “a spacer laminate which is positioned between the first plate and the second plate to designate a separation distance, and comprises n spacers laminated and having a structure of surrounding a bolt, wherein n is an integer equal to or greater than 2,” because Pavlik teaches a benefit to electrical isolation while ensuring secure and safe compression.
However, modified Kim is silent as to a spacer laminate wherein each of the spacers includes a slit unit which is opened along a longitudinal direction of the spacer.
McMaster-Carr teaches an easy-install slotted washer, and teaches “Slip these washers under screw heads and nuts to quickly install them without having to disassemble your joint. They take the pressure off fasteners to protect mounting surfaces.” McMaster-Carr at p.1. However, McMaster-Carr teaches these washers are metal.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to modify the spacer laminates of modified Kim to comprise the slotted washers of McMaster-Carr, such that “each of the spacers includes a slit unit which is opened along a longitudinal direction of the spacer” because McMaster-Carr teaches a benefit to easy installation and protection of mounting surfaces.
As amended, Claim 11 now substantially comprises the limitations of Claim 1, namely, “wherein the battery cell jig comprising: first and second plates: a bolt and a nut which fix the first and second plates in a state that a battery cell is interposed between the first and second plates: and a spacer laminate which is positioned between the first plate and the second plate to designate a separation distance, and comprises n spacers laminated and having a structure of surrounding a bolt, wherein n is an integer equal to or greater than 2, and wherein each of the spacers includes a slit unit which is opened along a longitudinal direction of the spacer”. Modified Kim already teaches these limitations. However, modified Kim is silent as to the height of the spacer laminate.
Harrison teaches a battery cell, as well as a Belleville washer (i.e., a sloped washer). Harrison at [0005, 17, 0032]. Harrison teaches that for a washer, “[0032] compression force drastically affects lithium plating and stripping during cycling . . . the force range that can be achieved with the washer varies with thickness, diameter, and height.” Id. at [0032]. In other words, the height of a washer or a spacer is a result effective variable, which when modified increases or decreases compressive force.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the method of Kim, such that it comprises the use of a spacer laminate wherein a height of the spacer laminate corresponds to a height of a battery cell, because the height of a washer or spacer is a result effective variable which would be modified to arrive at the claimed height as a matter of routine optimization.
Claim 11 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Modified Kim teaches a slit unit, but is silent as to the degree of the slit opened from a center of an axis. More specifically, when presented within McMaster-Carr, the slit forms an opening which is slightly angled but which is not specified within the reference.
Excerpt from p.1 of McMaster-Carr, previously attached with the Non-Final Action.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the method of modified Kim, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed would not perform differently from the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct. Here, the lower bound for the opening angle is 10 degrees, which presents a slit which would have a similarly narrow opening to that of the excerpt above; consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would not expect the two spacers to perform differently.
Claim 16 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Pavlik and McMaster-Carr, and further in view of Mendez, et. al. (US2019252722A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Mendez teaches a method of conducting volume measurements, wherein “initial volume measurements carried out via Archimedes measurements in water at ambient temperature,” and “volume measurements after cycling were carried out via Archimedes measurements in water at ambient temperature.” Menendez at [0115 – 16]. Archimedes measurements are “ measuring the [an object] in the air, accommodating [an object] in a water tank where liquid has been accommodated, and measuring the weight of the battery cell jig in the liquid; and calculating a volume change amount of [an object] by Formula 1:
wherein, in Formula 1, V denotes the volume change amount of [the object], W1 denotes a weight of the battery cell jig in the air, W2 denotes a weight of the [the object] accommodated in the liquid, and p denotes a density of the liquid.” To support this interpretation of Mendez’s disclosure, the instant specification at p. 22 describes the volume measurement as “measuring the volume of the battery cell using Archimedes principle.” Instant specification at [0010], p. 22. Mendez at least suggests this volume measurement provides the benefit of measuring volume while holding temperature constant in order to determine cycle characteristics. Id. at [0116], Table 4.
One of ordinary skill in the art effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify modified Kim with the Archimedes measurement of Mendez, because Mendez at least suggests a benefit to measuring volume of measuring volume while holding temperature constant in order to determine cycle characteristics.
Claim 12 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik and McMaster-Carr, and further in view of Mendez.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 12. Claim 12 is obvious over modified Kim.
Mendez teaches carrying out Archimedes temperatures measurement in water at ambient temperature. I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art before the effective filing date would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. MPEP 2144.01. Archimedes measurements rely upon the density of the liquid being utilized, and the density of water changes as temperature increases or decreases. As such, the disclosure of ambient temperature, which is taken to include room temperature or laboratory temperatures, necessarily implies a constant temperature, maintained by controlling the temperature of the water tank / receptacle. This includes cooling or heating. As such, modified Mendez teaches the liquid to a predetermined temperature during the measuring of the weight of the battery cell jig in the liquid.
Claim 14 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik and McMaster-Carr, and further in view of Mendez.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified Kim.
Mendez teaches carrying out Archimedes temperatures measurement in water at ambient temperature. I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art before the effective filing date would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. MPEP 2144.01. Archimedes measurements rely upon the density of the liquid being utilized, and the density of water changes as temperature increases or decreases. This means the calculating of the volume change amount of the battery cell includes calculating a volume change of the battery cell according to a temperature of the liquid. Claim 15 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik and McMaster-Carr, and further in view of Mendez.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Mendez, further in view of Sano, et. al. (US 20130260226 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 12. Claim 12 is obvious over modified Kim.
Kim is silent as to charging during measuring. Kim teaches its cycling step includes discharging at a constant current of 0.2 C to a voltage of 3.0 V.
Sano teaches “[0070] Constant current-constant voltage charging of a cell was performed to 4.15 V with a current rate of 0.1 C. An amount of gas generation in a charging state was acquired by the following method. In measurement of the amount of gas generation, Archimedes method was used. In detail, a cell was dropped in pure water, buoyance was measured, and an amount of gas generation was acquired from volume of the pushed water.” This reads upon “charging the battery cell during the measuring of the weight of the battery cell jig in the liquid.” Sano teaches a benefit to measuring “gas generation in a charging state.” Taken together with Kim’s disclosure of discharge measurement cycling, this also provides a suggestion that gas generation could be measured during discharge.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify modified Kim with the Archimedes measurement of Sano, because Sano at least suggests a benefit to measuring volume of measuring volume while charging or discharging.
Claim 13 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Mendez, further in view of Sano.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison, as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of Struik, et. al. Bolt Tension Control with a Direct Tension Indicator, Engineering Journal 10.1 (1973): 1-5.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Modified Kim is silent as to a protrusion or indentation portion.
Struik teaches a coronet load indicator, or a direct tension indicator (hereinafter, “DTI” will be used for later discussion), presents a spacer wherein one end of the spacer has a protrusion or an indentation portion which has a central region which has been protruded or indented in a stepped structure, and wherein other end of the spacer has a protrusion or an indentation portion which has a central region which has been protruded or indented in a stepped structure. Struik at p.1, Fig. 1.
Fig. 1 of Struik.
A DTI provides a benefit to visual inspection, wherein “upon tightening, the protrusions are flattened and the gap is reduced . . . bolt tension is evaluated from measurements of the residual gap.” This indicates a similarly situated spacer having such protrusions would allow for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to inspect the measurements and determine the tensioning of a jig apparatus.
Fig. 2 and 3 of Struik.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the method of modified Kim, such that it comprises a spacer wherein one end of the spacer has a protrusion or an indentation portion which has a central region which has been protruded or indented in a stepped structure, and wherein other end of the spacer has a protrusion or an indentation portion which has a central region which has been protruded or indented in a stepped structure, in this case having the DTIs of Struik, because Struik teaches a benefit to inspecting bolt tension.
Claim 17 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison, as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of Struik.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Pavlik teaches a series of laminated spacers, which represent a kth spacer (the first spacer) and a second spacer (the k+1th spacer). Pavlik at Fig. 1-2.
Struik teaches a spacer wherein DTIs present protruding portions which are used in inspect bolt tension. Struik at Fig. 1.
Here, “corresponding,” under the broadest reasonable interpretation does not require two devices to interlock, and would include a series of washers having protruding portions in alignment with one another.
Modified Kim teaches one end of a kth spacer has a protrusion or an indentation portion, and the other end of a (k+1)th spacer has an indentation portion or a protrusion corresponding to the protrusion or the indentation portion of the kth spacer, and wherein k is an integer equal to or greater than 1 and equal to or less than n-1.
Claim 18 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison, as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of Struik.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Struik teaches a spacer wherein DTIs present protruding portions which are used in inspect bolt tension. Struik at Fig. 1.
Modified Kim teaches one end of the spacer has a bump or a groove, and wherein the other end of the spacer has a groove or a bump.
Claim 19 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison, as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of Struik.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kim.
Pavlik teaches a series of laminated spacers, which represent a kth spacer (the first spacer) and a second spacer (the k+1th spacer). Pavlik at Fig. 1-2.
Struik teaches a spacer wherein DTIs present protruding portions which are used in inspect bolt tension. Struik at Fig. 1.
Harrison teaches that for a washer, “[0032] compression force drastically affects lithium plating and stripping during cycling . . . the force range that can be achieved with the washer varies with thickness, diameter, and height.” Harrison at [0032]. In other words, the height of a washer or a spacer is a result effective variable, which when modified increases or decreases compressive force.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the method of Kim, such that it comprises the use of a jig wherein each of the n spacer has different heights from each other, because the height of a washer or spacer is a result effective variable which would be modified to arrive at the claimed height as a matter of routine optimization to achieve the desired compressive force.
Claim 20 is obvious over Kim, in view of Pavlik, McMaster-Carr, and Harrison, as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of Struik.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725