DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 10/3/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1-25 and 27 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 9, 17 and 23 being independent. Claims 3 and 11 have been amended. Claim 26 has been cancelled. Claim 27 has been added. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered. The arguments are persuasive, regarding the Ganesan reference. However, after further consideration, the Crawley reference teaches the claim limitations previously stated as not being taught, for the reasons explained below.
Regarding the rejection using the Crawley reference:
Crawley teaches the limitation of “selecting from a user interface of the
gateway/access point apparatus, a trigger service set identifier (SSID) among a plurality of available onboarding trigger SSIDs”. As explained in [0026] in step 710 of Fig. 4, a button on AP 110 is pressed, where, when the button is pressed, a specific SSID is chosen/selected. Also, a special button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection. Therefore, Crawley teaches this limitation.
Crawley teaches the limitation of “each onboarding trigger SSID corresponding to
a different wireless network among the one or more wireless networks”. As explained in [0039], when pairing using an SSID succeeds between the AP and wireless device/station, the wireless device/station and the AP exchange data over by communicating over a WLAN/network. In addition, as explained in [0040], other possible network connections are included. Therefore, Crawley teaches this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 17-19 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawley (US PG Publication 2017/0273123).
Regarding claim 1, Crawley teaches
a method for onboarding one or more wireless devices in a wireless system
([0005] A method for pairing a wireless device with an access point includes receiving a request at an access point to join a wireless network),
the wireless system including one or more wireless networks, a gateway/access point apparatus and one or more wireless devices
([0018] Stations 130 and 140 are example remote terminals or stations (STA) that can wirelessly connect to the AP 110 via WLAN 120 to gain access to AP system resources such as network 160),
the method comprising:
selecting from a user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus, a trigger service set identifier (SSID) among a plurality of available onboarding trigger SSIDs
([0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection),
each onboarding trigger SSID corresponding to a different wireless network among the one or more wireless networks
([0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services);
transmitting from the gateway/access point apparatus, the onboarding trigger SSID to a wireless device among the one or more wireless devices
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720);
initiating between the wireless device and the gateway/access point apparatus, an onboarding procedure using an onboarding protocol based on the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110); and
establishing a network connection between the wireless device and a wireless network among the one or more wireless networks based on the onboarding procedure, the wireless network corresponding to the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
[0028] As a result of the pairing key exchanges 735 the AP 110 is able to finish the pairing to the STA 130 at activity 740. After the pairing is established, the pairing process is considered complete. Data exchanges between the AP 110 and the newly paired STA 130 may now take place as example data exchanges 750
(Data exchanges between the AP and the newly paired STA now take place, indicating network connection established based on the paired SSID transmitted by AP via signal 720)),
wherein the selecting, the transmitting, the initiating, and the establishing are performed for each of the one or more wireless devices for establishing a network connection to a different one of the one or more wireless networks using a corresponding onboarding trigger SSID selected from the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
(The selecting:
[0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection
The transmitting:
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
The initiating:
[0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110
The establishing:
[0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services).
Regarding claim 2, Crawley teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more wireless networks includes
a guest network,
a backhaul network,
a private network
([0036] The AP attempts pairing with the wireless device. Pairing signal exchanges include private encryption key exchanges
(Private network)),
an iControl network, or
an IoT network.
Regarding claim 3, Crawley teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the selecting of the trigger SSID includes pressing one or more physical or virtual buttons on the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
([0026] A physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen).
Regarding claim 9, Crawley teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in a gateway/access point apparatus for onboarding one or more wireless devices in a wireless system
([0005] A method for pairing a wireless device with an access point includes receiving a request at an access point to join a wireless network
[0044] The methods may be implemented by instructions being performed by a processor, and such instructions may be stored on a processor or computer-readable media such as, for example, a storage device such as, for example, a hard disk, a compact diskette (“CD” or “DVD”), a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”). The instructions may form an application program tangibly embodied on a computer-readable medium such as any of the media listed above or known to those of skill in the art. The instructions thus stored are useful to execute elements of hardware and software to perform the steps of the method described herein),
the wireless system including one or more wireless networks, the gateway/access point apparatus and the one or more wireless devices
([0018] Stations 130 and 140 are example remote terminals or stations (STA) that can wirelessly connect to the AP 110 via WLAN 120 to gain access to AP system resources such as network 160),
the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing one or more programs which when executed by a hardware processor performs steps comprising:
selecting from a user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus, a trigger service set identifier (SSID) among a plurality of available onboarding trigger SSIDs
([0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection),
each onboarding trigger SSID corresponding to a different wireless network among the one or more wireless networks
([0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services);
transmitting from the gateway/access point apparatus, the onboarding trigger SSID to a wireless device among the one or more wireless devices
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720);
initiating between the wireless device and the gateway/access point apparatus, an onboarding procedure using an onboarding protocol based on the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110); and
establishing a network connection between the wireless device and a wireless network among the one or more wireless networks based on the onboarding procedure, the wireless network corresponding to the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
[0028] As a result of the pairing key exchanges 735 the AP 110 is able to finish the pairing to the STA 130 at activity 740. After the pairing is established, the pairing process is considered complete. Data exchanges between the AP 110 and the newly paired STA 130 may now take place as example data exchanges 750
(Data exchanges between the AP and the newly paired STA now take place, indicating network connection established based on the paired SSID transmitted by AP via signal 720)),
wherein the selecting, the transmitting, the initiating, and the establishing are performed for each of the one or more wireless devices for establishing a network connection to a different one of the one or more wireless networks using a corresponding onboarding trigger SSID selected from the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
(The selecting:
[0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection
The transmitting:
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
The initiating:
[0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110
The establishing:
[0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services).
Regarding claim 10, Crawley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 9,
wherein the one or more wireless networks includes
a guest network,
a backhaul network,
a private network
([0036] The AP attempts pairing with the wireless device. Pairing signal exchanges include private encryption key exchanges
(Private network)),
an iControl network, or
an IoT network.
Regarding claim 11, Crawley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 9,
wherein the selecting of the trigger SSID includes pressing one or more physical or virtual buttons on the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
([0026] A physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen).
Regarding claim 13, Crawley teaches non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 9,
wherein the onboarding procedure using an onboarding protocol is implemented using a wireless protected setup (WPS) procedure
([0018] The AP 110 has a physical push button 150 that allows for WiFi™ Protected setup (WPS) Push Button Configuration (PBC) functionality).
Regarding claim 17, Crawley teaches
a gateway/access point apparatus for onboarding one or more wireless devices in a wireless system
([0005] A method for pairing a wireless device with an access point includes receiving a request at an access point to join a wireless network),
the wireless system including one or more wireless networks, the gateway/access point apparatus and one or more wireless devices
([0018] Stations 130 and 140 are example remote terminals or stations (STA) that can wirelessly connect to the AP 110 via WLAN 120 to gain access to AP system resources such as network 160),
the gateway/access point apparatus comprising
([0040] FIG. 8 AP, such as that shown in FIG. 1, item 110):
a user interface
([0041] The user interface 618);
a hardware processor
([0040] FIG. 8 AP 110 Such network management and other programs are under the control of controller/processor 608);
a non-transitory memory storing one or more programs
([0044] The methods may be implemented by instructions being performed by a processor, and such instructions may be stored on a processor or computer-readable media such as, for example, a storage device such as, for example, a hard disk, a compact diskette (“CD” or “DVD”), a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”). The instructions may form an application program tangibly embodied on a computer-readable medium such as any of the media listed above or known to those of skill in the art. The instructions thus stored are useful to execute elements of hardware and software to perform the steps of the method described herein); and
a network interface for connecting to the one or more wireless devices
([0039] The wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0042] AP 110 has a wireless network interface 612 which allows access to and from regular users to the resources of the core network 160),
wherein the hardware processor executes the one or more programs to:
(a) select, using the user interface, a trigger service set identifier (SSID) among a plurality of available onboarding trigger SSIDs
([0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection),
each onboarding trigger SSID corresponding to a different wireless network among the one or more wireless networks
([0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services);
(b) transmit, using the network interface, the onboarding trigger SSID to a wireless device among the one or more wireless devices
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720);
(c) initiate between the wireless device and the gateway/access point apparatus and using the network interface, an onboarding procedure using an on boarding protocol based on the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110); and
(d) establish a network connection between the wireless device and a wireless network among the one or more wireless networks based on the onboarding procedure, the wireless network corresponding to the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
[0028] As a result of the pairing key exchanges 735 the AP 110 is able to finish the pairing to the STA 130 at activity 740. After the pairing is established, the pairing process is considered complete. Data exchanges between the AP 110 and the newly paired STA 130 may now take place as example data exchanges 750
(Data exchanges between the AP and the newly paired STA now take place, indicating network connection established based on the paired SSID transmitted by AP via signal 720)),
wherein the (a) select, (b) transmit, (c) initiate, and (d) establish operations are performed by the gateway/access point apparatus for each of the one or more wireless devices for establishing a network connection to a different one of the one or more wireless networks using a corresponding onboarding trigger SSID selected from the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
(The select:
[0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection
The transmit:
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
The initiate:
[0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110
The establish:
[0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services).
Regarding claim 18, Crawley teaches the apparatus according to claim 17,
wherein the one or more wireless networks includes
a guest network,
a backhaul network,
a private network
([0036] The AP attempts pairing with the wireless device. Pairing signal exchanges include private encryption key exchanges
(Private network)),
an iControl network, or
an IoT network.
Regarding claim 19, Crawley teaches the apparatus according to claim 17,
wherein the user interface includes one or more physical or virtual buttons for selecting the trigger SSID
([0026] A physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen).
Regarding claim 23, Crawley teaches
a system for onboarding one or more wireless devices in a wireless system
([0005] A method for pairing a wireless device with an access point includes receiving a request at an access point to join a wireless network),
the system comprising:
a gateway/access point apparatus including
([0040] FIG. 8 AP, such as that shown in FIG. 1, item 110)
a user interface
([0041] The user interface 618),
a network interface
([0042] AP 110 has a wireless network interface 612),
a hardware processor
([0040] FIG. 8 AP 110 Such network management and other programs are under the control of controller/processor 608), and
a non-transitory memory storing one or more programs
([0044] The methods may be implemented by instructions being performed by a processor, and such instructions may be stored on a processor or computer-readable media such as, for example, a storage device such as, for example, a hard disk, a compact diskette (“CD” or “DVD”), a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”). The instructions may form an application program tangibly embodied on a computer-readable medium such as any of the media listed above or known to those of skill in the art. The instructions thus stored are useful to execute elements of hardware and software to perform the steps of the method described herein),
one or more wireless devices, each wireless device including a hardware processor
([0018] Stations 130 and 140 are example remote terminals or stations (STA)
[0043] Implementation can be accomplished via a hardware apparatus. The methods may be implemented in, for example, an apparatus such as, for example, a processor, which refers to any processing device),
a non-transitory memory storing one or more programs
([0044] The methods may be implemented by instructions being performed by a processor, and such instructions may be stored on a processor or computer-readable media such as, for example, a storage device such as, for example, a hard disk, a compact diskette (“CD” or “DVD”), a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”). The instructions may form an application program tangibly embodied on a computer-readable medium such as any of the media listed above or known to those of skill in the art. The instructions thus stored are useful to execute elements of hardware and software to perform the steps of the method described herein), and
a network interface
([0029] Interface on the STA 130 requesting access to the WLAN 120 via the AP 100); and
one or more wireless networks, each wireless network being configured to establish a wireless network connection with the network interface of each of the one or more wireless devices
([0018] Stations 130 and 140 are example remote terminals or stations (STA) that can wirelessly connect to the AP 110 via WLAN 120 to gain access to AP system resources such as network 160
[0028] Data exchanges between the AP 110 and the newly paired STA 130 may now take place as example data exchanges 750),
wherein the respective hardware processors in the gateway/access point apparatus and the one or more wireless devices execute their respective one or more programs to cause the system to:
(a) select, using the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus, a trigger service set identifier (SSID) among a plurality of available onboarding trigger SSIDs
([0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection),
each onboarding trigger SSID corresponding to a different wireless network among the one or more wireless networks
([0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services);
(b) transmit, using the network interface of the gateway/access point apparatus, the onboarding trigger SSID to a wireless device among the one or more wireless devices
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720);
(c) initiate between the network interface of the wireless device and the network interface of the gateway/access point apparatus, an onboarding procedure using an onboarding protocol based on the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110); and
(d) establish a network connection between the network interface of the wireless device and a wireless network among the one or more wireless networks based on the onboarding procedure, the wireless network corresponding to the transmitted onboarding trigger SSID
([0027] The specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
[0028] As a result of the pairing key exchanges 735 the AP 110 is able to finish the pairing to the STA 130 at activity 740. After the pairing is established, the pairing process is considered complete. Data exchanges between the AP 110 and the newly paired STA 130 may now take place as example data exchanges 750
(Data exchanges between the AP and the newly paired STA now take place, indicating network connection established based on the paired SSID transmitted by AP via signal 720)),
wherein the (a) select, (b) the transmit, (c) the initiate, and (d) the establish operations are performed by the system for each of the one or more wireless devices for establishing a network connection to a different one of the one or more wireless networks using a corresponding onboarding trigger SSID selected from the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus
(The select:
[0026] At step 710, a physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed a number of times, such as three times, to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen. In an alternate embodiment, a special physical button is pressed to indicate a specific SSID selection
The transmit:
(Step 720 of Fig. 4, includes transmitting permitted SSID to STA
[0027] At this point, only the specific SSID for pairing with STA 130 is transmitted via signal 720
The initiate:
[0027] The STA 130 is then able to initiate the pairing process at activity 725 by selecting the only available SSID whose identity is transmitted by the AP 110
[0028] At step 730, the STA 130 initiates pairing with the AP 110
The establish:
[0039] At step 820 the AP and wireless device attempt a pairing using the SSID that is broadcast to the wireless station. If the pairing succeeds, the wireless device and the AP then can exchange data as would be normal for a paired AP and wireless device communicating over a WLAN
[0040] The core network 160 connection referred to here may include a connection to the internet or other resources which may include other possible network services).
Regarding claim 24, Crawley teaches the system according to claim 23,
wherein the one or more wireless networks includes
a guest network,
a backhaul network,
a private network
([0036] The AP attempts pairing with the wireless device. Pairing signal exchanges include private encryption key exchanges
(Private network)),
an iControl network, or
an IoT network.
Regarding claim 25, Crawley teaches the system according to claim 23,
wherein the user interface includes one or more physical or virtual buttons on the user interface of the gateway/access point apparatus for selecting the trigger SSID
([0026] A physical button on the AP 110 is pressed. In one embodiment, the physical button is pressed to indicate that a specific SSID is to be chosen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12, 14-16 and 20-22 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaushik, et al (US PG Publication 2018/0287672), hereafter Kaushik, teaches access points periodically send SSIDs (service set identifiers) to advertise network presence to stations within radio range that connect to the SSID and begin exchanging data with the network.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641