DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer (20040092329) in view of Calapp (5865696), Kratzer (20190375185), Iwata (20170274603), and Cecka (4157181).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches a golf club shaft (Fig. 1-2, Part No. 12), comprising: a butt end (See fig. 1-2); a tip end (See fig. 1-2), wherein the golf club shaft is tapered between the butt end and the tip end (Para. 0029); a coil of fiber (Fig. 7, Part No. 36) (Para. 0041) wound helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Para. 0041); and one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 7, Part No. 38) (Para. 0043) wrapped around the coils of fiber (36) and disposed radially outwardly of the coils of fiber (36) (See fig. 7).
Meyer does not teach coils of a metal fiber, wherein adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other, and wherein the metal fiber has a circular cross section, the circle having a diameter of less than 15 microns, the coils of metal fiber including at least 5,000 coils, and the metal fiber including a coating of a resin.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21).
Kratzer teaches adjacent ones of the coils (Fig. 1, Part No. 12, 14) directly contact each other (Para. 0034), and the fiber has a circular cross-section (Para. 0035, 0005).
It is noted that the prior art of Kratzer teaches fibers that inherently have a diameter (though a specific value is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination of Meyer and Kratzer with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). As an alternative rejection, the prior art of Iwata is being used to teach “a diameter of less than 15 microns”.
Iwata (Figures 1-26) teaches the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns (Para. 0117).
Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Col. 6, Lines 51-61), and the fiber is coated with a resin (Col. 4, Lines 52-68; Col. 5, Lines 1-23).
It is noted that the combination of Meyer and Cecka teaches a plurality of coils of fibers (See Cecka: Col. 6, Lines 51-61; Fig. 2-3). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with the golf club shaft includes at least five thousand of the coils of fiber as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Meyer with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49), to provide the modified Meyer with adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other as taught by Kratzer as a means of forming a golf club tubular structure from coils in contact with each other so that uniformity of composite strength and consistency of resistance to hoop stress along the tubular article is achieved (Para. 0034, 0069), to provide Meyer with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as taught by Iwata as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), to provide Meyer with coils of fiber wound helically as taught by Cecka as a means of providing a tapered golf shaft with desired longitudinal deflection characteristics by placement of the fibers with continuously varying helical wrapping angles along the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Cecka: Col. 1, Lines 56-66).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches a second one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 7, Part No. 32) (Para. 0033), wherein the coil of fiber (36) (Para. 0041) is wound helically around the second one or more layers of composite material (32), and the second one or more layers of composite material (32) are disposed radially inwardly of the coils of fiber (36) (See fig. 7).
The modified Meyer does not teach coils of metal fiber.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches at least one layer of composite material (38).
The modified Meyer does not teach at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin.
Cecka teaches at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin (Col. 4, Lines 52-68; Col. 5, Lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with at least one layer of composite material includes graphite, an epoxy, and a resin as taught Cecka as a means of providing a golf club shaft with a resin-bonded graphite fiber structure to achieve a unique combination of properties (Cecka: Abstract, Lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 8, Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 7, Part No. 36) (Para. 0041) wound helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Para. 0041).
Meyer does not teach each of the coils is disposed at an angle of between 1 degree and 89 degrees relative to the axis.
Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches the coils (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) s disposed at an angle of between 1 degree and 89 degrees relative to the axis (Col. 6, Lines 51-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with each of the coils is disposed at an angle of between 1 degree and 89 degrees relative to the axis as taught by Cecka as a means of providing a tapered golf shaft with desired longitudinal deflection characteristics by placement of the fibers with continuously varying helical wrapping angles along the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Cecka: Col. 1, Lines 56-66).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten (Para. 0041).
The modified Meyer does not teach coils of metal fiber.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches the golf club shaft is hollow inside of the coil of fiber (36) (Para. 0041).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Calapp, Kratzer, Iwata, and Cecka, further in view of Jackson (20020119830).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches the golf club shaft includes a coil of fiber (36) (Para. 0041) wound helically relative to the axis of the golf club shaft.
The modified Meyer does not teach each of the coils is disposed approximately perpendicular to the axis.
Jackson teaches fibers disposed approximately perpendicular to the axis (Para. 0003, 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with fibers disposed approximately perpendicular to the axis as taught by Jackson as a means of changing the position of fibers of a golf club relative to a longitudinal axis of the golf club (Jackson: Para. 0003), and also as a means of mere rearrangement of parts (See: In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Meyer (Figures 1-14) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 7, Part No. 36) (Para. 0041) wound helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Para. 0041).
Meyer does not teach each of the coils is disposed approximately parallel to the axis.
Jackson teaches fibers disposed approximately parallel to the axis (Para. 0021, 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with fibers disposed approximately parallel to the axis as taught by Jackson as a means of changing the position of fibers of a golf club relative to a longitudinal axis of the golf club (Jackson: Para. 0021), and also as a means of mere rearrangement of parts (See: In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Claims 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calapp (5865696) in view of Kratzer (20190375185), Iwata (20170274603), and Cecka (4157181).
Regarding claim 14, Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches a tubular portion of one of a hockey stick (Col. 4, Lines 36-42), a lacrosse stick, and a baseball bat, the tubular portion comprising: one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 16, 17, 18, 19, 21) (Col. 4, Lines 37-59); and coils of a metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21), the coils wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the tubular portion, wherein one of: the one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 16, 17, 18, 19, 21) are wrapped around the coils of metal fiber (26) and disposed radially outwardly of the coils of metal fiber; and the coils of metal fiber (26) are wrapped around the one or more layers of composite material and disposed radially outwardly of the one or more layers of composite material (See fig. 2, 6).
It is noted that Calapp (Col. 6, Lines 44-49) discloses “as an alternative, certain carbon/glass hybrids can also be utilized as well as filaments or filament combinations other than glass and carbon including quartz, metallic, aramid and various filament hybrids and combinations” so that Calapp discloses coils of metal fiber as claimed. It is noted that the examiner is relying on the alternative position of the reference which teaches using metallic filaments (See Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Calapp does not teach wherein adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other, and wherein the metal fiber has a circular cross section, the circle having a diameter of less than 15 microns, the coils of metal fiber including at least 5,000 coils, and the metal fiber including a coating of a resin.
Kratzer teaches adjacent ones of the coils (Fig. 1, Part No. 12, 14) directly contact each other (Para. 0034), and the fiber has a circular cross-section (Para. 0035, 0005).
It is noted that the prior art of Kratzer teaches fibers that inherently have a diameter (though a specific value is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination of Calapp and Kratzer with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). As an alternative rejection, the prior art of Iwata is being used to teach “a diameter of less than 15 microns”.
Iwata (Figures 1-26) teaches the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns (Para. 0117).
Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Col. 6, Lines 51-61), and the fiber is coated with a resin (Col. 4, Lines 52-68; Col. 5, Lines 1-23).
It is noted that the combination of Calapp and Cecka teaches a plurality of coils of fibers (See Cecka: Col. 6, Lines 51-61; Fig. 2-3). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Meyer with the golf club shaft includes at least five thousand of the coils of fiber as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Calapp with adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other as taught by Kratzer as a means of forming a golf club tubular structure from coils in contact with each other so that uniformity of composite strength and consistency of resistance to hoop stress along the tubular article is achieved (Kratzer: Para. 0034, 0069), to provide Calapp with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as taught by Iwata as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), and to provide Calapp with coils of fiber wound helically as taught by Cecka as a means of providing a tapered golf shaft with desired longitudinal deflection characteristics by placement of the fibers with continuously varying helical wrapping angles along the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Cecka: Col. 1, Lines 56-66).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches the one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 16, 17, 18, 19) are wrapped around the coils of metal fiber (26) and disposed radially outwardly of the coils of fiber, and wherein the tubular portion further includes a second one or more layers of composite material (21), wherein the coils of metal fiber are wound helically around the second one or more layers of composite material (21), and the second one or more layers of composite material (21) are disposed radially inwardly of the coils of metal fiber (26) (See fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches the coils of metal fiber (26) are wrapped around the one or more layers of composite material (21) and disposed radially outwardly of the one or more layers of composite material (See fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches a method of forming tubular sports equipment, the method comprising: winding coils of metal fiber (26) ((Col. 6, Lines 44-49); Col. 5, Lines 13-21) adjacent to each other helically around a tubular member; and wrapping one or more layers of composite material (16, 17, 18, 19) around the coils of metal fiber (26) such that the one or more layers of composite material are disposed radially outwardly of the coils of metal fiber (See fig. 2).
It is noted that Calapp (Col. 6, Lines 44-49) discloses “as an alternative, certain carbon/glass hybrids can also be utilized as well as filaments or filament combinations other than glass and carbon including quartz, metallic, aramid and various filament hybrids and combinations” so that Calapp discloses coils of metal fiber as claimed. It is noted that the examiner is relying on the alternative position of the reference which teaches using metallic filaments (See Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Calapp does not teach wherein adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other, and wherein the metal fiber has a circular cross section, the circle having a diameter of less than 15 microns, the coils of metal fiber including at least 5,000 coils, and the metal fiber including a coating of a resin.
Kratzer teaches adjacent ones of the coils (Fig. 1, Part No. 12, 14) directly contact each other (Para. 0034), and the fiber has a circular cross-section (Para. 0035, 0005).
It is noted that the prior art of Kratzer teaches fibers that inherently have a diameter (though a specific value is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination of Calapp and Kratzer with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). As an alternative rejection, the prior art of Iwata is being used to teach “a diameter of less than 15 microns”.
Iwata (Figures 1-26) teaches the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns (Para. 0117).
Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Col. 6, Lines 51-61), and the fiber is coated with a resin (Col. 4, Lines 52-68; Col. 5, Lines 1-23).
It is noted that the combination of Calapp and Cecka teaches a plurality of coils of fibers (See Cecka: Col. 6, Lines 51-61; Fig. 2-3). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Calapp with the golf club shaft includes at least five thousand of the coils of fiber as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Calapp with adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other as taught by Kratzer as a means of forming a golf club tubular structure from coils in contact with each other so that uniformity of composite strength and consistency of resistance to hoop stress along the tubular article is achieved (Kratzer: Para. 0034, 0069), to provide Calapp with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as taught by Iwata as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), to provide Calapp with coils of fiber wound helically as taught by Cecka as a means of providing a tapered golf shaft with desired longitudinal deflection characteristics by placement of the fibers with continuously varying helical wrapping angles along the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Cecka: Col. 1, Lines 56-66).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calapp in view of Kratzer, Iwata, Cecka, further in view of Filice (5863269).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches one of the one or more layers of composite material (16, 17, 18, 19).
The modified Calapp does not teach at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin.
Filice teaches at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin (Col. 1, Lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Calapp with at least one layer of composite material includes graphite, an epoxy, and a resin as taught Filice as a means of providing a hockey stick with advantages in weight and balance of the hockey stick and in its flexural properties (Filice: Col. 1, Lines 20-27).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calapp in view of Kratzer, Iwata, Cecka, further in view of Kunisaki (6117029).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21) wound helically relative to an axis of the tubular portion.
The modified Calapp does not teach the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten.
Kunisaki (Figures 1-5) teaches the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten (Col. 3, Lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Calapp with the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten as taught by Kunisaki as a means of providing fiber layers of a hockey stick shaft with fibers made of tungsten to provide reinforcement to the hockey stick shaft (Kunisaki: Col. Col. 3, Lines 1-17).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kultala (20180117431) in view Calapp (5865696), Kratzer, Iwata, and Cecka.
Regarding claim 14, Kultala (Figures 1-5) teaches a tubular portion of one of a hockey stick (Para. 0063), a lacrosse stick, and a baseball bat, the tubular portion comprising: one or more layers of composite material (Fig. 4, Part No. 58) (Para. 0030); and fiber (Para. 0031) wound relative to an axis of the tubular portion, wherein one of: the one or more layers of composite material (58) are wrapped around the fiber and disposed radially outwardly of the fiber; and the fiber (58) are wrapped around the one or more layers of composite material and disposed radially outwardly of the one or more layers of composite material (Para. 0030-0031).
Kultala does not teach coils of a metal fiber, the coils wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the tubular portion, wherein adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other, and wherein the metal fiber has a circular cross section, the circle having a diameter of less than 15 microns, the coils of metal fiber including at least 5,000 coils, and the metal fiber including a coating of a resin.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the tubular portion.
Kratzer teaches adjacent ones of the coils (Fig. 1, Part No. 12, 14) contact each other (Para. 0034), and the fiber has a circular cross-section (Para. 0035, 0005).
It is noted that the prior art of Kratzer teaches fibers that inherently have a diameter (though a specific value is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination of Kultala and Kratzer with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). As an alternative rejection, the prior art of Iwata is being used to teach “a diameter of less than 15 microns”.
Iwata (Figures 1-26) teaches the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns (Para. 0117).
Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Col. 6, Lines 51-61), and the fiber is coated with a resin (Col. 4, Lines 52-68; Col. 5, Lines 1-23).
It is noted that the combination of Meyer and Cecka teaches a plurality of coils of fibers (See Cecka: Col. 6, Lines 51-61; Fig. 2-3). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination of Kultala and Cecka with the golf club shaft includes at least five thousand of the coils of fiber as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kultala with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49), to provide Kultala with adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other as taught by Kratzer as a means of forming a golf club tubular structure from coils in contact with each other so that uniformity of composite strength and consistency of resistance to hoop stress along the tubular article is achieved (Para. 0034, 0069), to provide Kultala with the fiber has a diameter of less than 15 microns as taught by Iwata as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), to provide Kultala with coils of fiber wound helically as taught by Cecka as a means of providing a tapered golf shaft with desired longitudinal deflection characteristics by placement of the fibers with continuously varying helical wrapping angles along the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Cecka: Col. 1, Lines 56-66).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Kultala (Figures 1-5) teaches the one or more layers of composite material (58) (Para. 0030) are wrapped around the fiber and disposed radially outwardly of the fiber (58) (Para. 0030), and wherein the tubular portion further includes a second one or more layers of composite material (58) (Para. 0030), wherein the fiber are wound around the second one or more layers of composite material (58) (Para. 0030), and the second one or more layers of composite material are disposed radially inwardly of the fiber (58) (Para. 0030).
The modified Kultala does not teach coils of metal fiber wound helically.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21) wound helically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Kultala coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Kultala (Figures 1-5) teaches the fiber (58) (Para. 0030) are wrapped around the one or more layers of composite material (58) (Para. 0030) and disposed radially outwardly of the one or more layers of composite material (58) (Para. 0030).
The modified Kultala does not teach coils of metal fiber.
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kultala with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kultala in view Calapp, Kratzer, Iwata, and Cecka, further in view of Filice (5863269).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Kultala (Figures 1-5) teaches at least one of the one or more layers of composite (58) (Para. 0030) material include a resin (Para. 0030).
The modified Kultala does not teach at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin.
Filice teaches at least one of the one or more layers of composite material include graphite, an epoxy, and a resin (Col. 1, Lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Kultala with at least one layer of composite material includes graphite, an epoxy, and a resin as taught Filice as a means of providing a hockey stick with advantages in weight and balance of the hockey stick and in its flexural properties (Filice: Col. 1, Lines 20-27).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kultala in view Calapp, Kratzer, Iwata, and Cecka, further in view of Kunisaki (6117029).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Kultala (Figures 1-5) teaches a tubular portion comprising: fiber (Para. 0031) wound relative to an axis of the tubular portion.
The modified Kultala does not teach the metal fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten.
Kunisaki (Figures 1-5) teaches the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten (Col. 3, Lines 1-17).
Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Kultala with the fiber is selected from a group consisting of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten, and an alloy of one of steel, titanium, aluminum, copper, tungsten as taught by Kunisaki as a means of providing fiber layers of a hockey stick shaft with fibers made of tungsten to provide reinforcement to the hockey stick shaft (Kunisaki: Col. Col. 3, Lines 1-17), and to provide the modified Kultala with coils of metal fiber as taught by Calapp as a means of selecting a known material (metallic fibers) based on its suitability for its intended use (construction of the shaft of a sports implement) (See: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)) (Calapp: Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the recitation in claim 1 of “coils of a metal fiber, the coils wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft; adjacent ones of the coils directly contact each other, and wherein the metal fiber has a circular cross section, the circle having a diameter of less than 15 microns, the coils of metal fiber including at least 5,000 coils, and the metal fiber including a coating of a resin”, this is not found persuasive because claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer (20040092329) in view of Calapp (5865696), Kratzer (20190375185), Iwata (20170274603), and Cecka (4157181). Meyer teaches a coil of fiber (Fig. 7, Part No. 36) (Para. 0041) wound helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Para. 0041). Calapp (Figures 1-7) teaches coils of metal fiber (26) (Col. 6, Lines 44-49; Col. 5, Lines 13-21). Kratzer teaches adjacent ones of the coils (Fig. 1, Part No. 12, 14) directly contact each other (Para. 0034), and the fiber has a circular cross-section (Para. 0035, 0005). Cecka (Figures 1-13) teaches coils of fiber (Fig. 2-3, Part No. 12, 13) wound adjacent to each other helically relative to an axis of the golf club shaft (Col. 6, Lines 51-61). The combination of references teach the claimed invention under 35 USC 103 because the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Applicant is arguing the references individually as opposed to the combined teaching of the references (under 35 USC 103). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711