DETAILED ACTION
The previous non-final office action has been withdrawn. A new non-final office action is followed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al. (US 2005/0070139).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kaneko et al. disclose a printed circuit board corner connector (1, Fig. 5) which is configured to connect a first printed circuit board (B), the printed circuit board corner connector (1) comprising a substantially flat contact body (5) from which a first connection end (6) for connecting to the first printed circuit board extends and wherein two soldering pins (4a) protrude from a lateral surface of the contact body, wherein depressions are provided on an another lateral surface located opposite to the lateral surface in positions corresponding to the soldering pins (Fig. 5).
Kaneko et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the pins are configured to form a soldered connection to the second printed circuit board.
This feature is seen to be an inherent teaching since the pins has the exact structural features (two pins formed by depressing one side and protruding on the other). It is inherently capable of being soldered to a Printed Circuit Board, even if the reference's original intent was press-fitting.
Kaneko’s pins had the exact structural features. The recitation of “solder to a printed circuit board” is an intended use or statement of function rather than a structural limitation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneko et al. discloses the soldering pins integrally protrude from a central region of the flat contact body.
Regarding claim 3, Kaneko et al. discloses the flat contact body has a substantially rectangular basic shape.
Regarding claim 5, Kaneko et al. discloses the soldering pins protrude from a central region of the flat contact body in the manner of a crater and form a substantially cylindrical or tapered casing surface.
Regarding claim 6, Kaneko et al. discloses the soldering pins are produced using a pressing process, a stamping process, or a deep-drawing process.
Regarding claim 8, Kaneko et al. disclose the first connection end is formed as a press-in connector consisting of two legs extending next to one another, which legs extend toward one another on end-face ends thereof or are integrally connected to on another at the end-face ends.
Regarding claim 15, Kaneko et al. discloses the two soldering pins are configured as soldering pads.
Regarding claim 17, Kaneko et al. disclose the flat contact body extends in a plane, and wherein the first connection end extends away from the flat contact body in the plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 2005/0070139).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kaneko et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shapes of the flat contact body has a substantially rectangular shape, wherein lateral overhangs or widenings, having a side wall with a somewhat cylindrical shape, and preferably with rounded corners.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the Kaneko et al.’s contact body to the claimed shaped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Kaneko et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention excep the shape of the end face of the soldering pins is substantially flat and the two end-face surfaces lie in a common parallel plane with respect to the lateral surface of the contact body.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the Kaneko et al.’s contact body to the claimed shaped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims and 9-13, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument that “Kaneko does not teach or suggest a printed circuit board corner connector configured to connect a first printed circuit board to a second printed circuit board” and “Kaneko does not disclose soldering pins configured to form a soldered connection to the second printed circuit board”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant invention is the flat contact body connecting to the first and the second printed circuit board. Kaneko disclosed the flat contact body connecting to a printed circuit board and a connector housing.
Kaneko’s flat contact body has the same structure as claimed without the intend to solder it to the second printed circuit board. The patentability of an apparatus claim rests on its structural limitation, not its intended use or functional capabilities. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Kaneko’s flat contact body is entirely capable of being solder to a second printed circuit board should one choose to do so. Therefore, as the structure element of the claimed flat contact body are fully met by Kaneko.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834