DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1). A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the communications module ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10, 12-13, 15, 17-19, 21-23, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) teaches a laser-processing apparatus for forming features in a workpiece (Figure 2, repair welding system 1000), the apparatus comprising:
a laser source operative to generate a beam of laser energy (Paragraph 49, laser head connected to a laser oscillator);
a camera having a field of view and operative to capture imagery of an object within the field of view (Paragraph 54, the shape detection unit 500 acquires shape data for each welding bead based on a detection result and transmits the acquired shape data for each welding bead to the inspection device 3; Paragraphs 55-56, shape detection unit 500 includes a camera 500 to image an imaging region including the periphery of the welded portion);
at least one sensor operative to generate process control data (Paragraph 93, inspection device 3 performs welding inspection on the workpiece for determining defect information; Paragraph 94, said defect information is compared with master data for each defect type), the process control data representing at least one selected from the group consisting of:
a) at least one characteristic of the apparatus either before, during or after the workpiece is processed to form a set of features,
b) at least one characteristic of the workpiece either before, during or after the workpiece is processed to form a set of features (after; Paragraph 76, inspection device inspects and determines the welded portion of the workpiece Wk based on the shape data of the welding bead for each welded portion acquired by the shape detection unit 500; Paragraph 54, shape detection unit 500 detects a shape of a welding bead in the welded portion based on the control signal received from the robot control device 2, and acquires shape data for each welding bead based on a detection result), and
c) at least one characteristic of an ambient environment in which the apparatus is located either before, during or after the workpiece is processed to form a set of features; and
a controller (Figure 2, inspection device 3, robot control device 2, and/or host device 1) communicatively coupled to the camera (Paragraph 55, shape detection unit 500 is a camera which transmits to the inspection device 3) and one or more databases (Figure 2 Paragraph 57, host device comprises a memory 12) in which process control data is stored in association with auxiliary information (Paragraph 96, the welding line ID, a start position and an end position of a defective portion, a defect type, information indicating whether repair welding is possible, and the like are associated with each other),
wherein the auxiliary information represents a location of each feature to be formed in the workpiece (Paragraph 117, the welding line ID includes a plurality of information including shape and the dimension of the welded portion, the mode of the joint, and the like; Paragraph 41, robot control device 2b receives position information of a welded portion related to a welded portion welded by the main welding; Paragraph 101, welding program includes a welding start point and welding end point for each welded portion; would have been obvious to have the welding ID line to also include the start and end positional information of the welding line such as to physically identify where the welding line is on the workpiece)1, and wherein the controller is operative to execute, or facilitate execution of, a candidate feature selection process (Figure 3 Paragraphs 93-97, steps ST102-ST104 wherein the information on defection portions for each welding line is collected and an additional inspection step is performed after a repair attempt for each defective portion) whereby:
process control data is processed to estimate which the features formed in the workpiece are defective (Paragraph 96, information on defective portions for each welding line is collected);
the location of any feature estimated to be defective is identified (Paragraph 88, determination unit 37 measures a position of the defective portion including a start and end position of the defective portion; Paragraph 96, defect information is stored in associated with a welding line and its welding ID),
wherein, after the location of any feature estimated to be defective is identified, the controller is operative to direct the camera to the identified location to capture image data of each feature estimated to be defective, and to analyze the image data, generated by the camera, to determine if the feature is defective (Paragraph 96, a repair welding is performed by the welding machine on the defective portion; Paragraph 109, welding inspection is performed again to re-inspect the welding bead after the repair welding; Paragraphs 76-80, inspection process involves capturing an image of the welded portion; Paragraph 94, said images are analyzed to determine defects in the welding), and
wherein the controller is operative to direct the camera to capture image data only of each feature estimated to be defective such that any feature formed in the workpiece that is not estimated to be defective is not inspected by the camera (Paragraph 128, welding inspection is performed again to re-inspect the welding bead previously estimated to be defective after the repair welding; the welding inspection after repair welding is limited to only the welding bead which is a subset of a feature/welding line/welding portion and thus the camera would not capture data of welding lines not estimated to be defective).
While the Office does not concede the fact, the applicant may argue that MOHRI does not teach limiting the camera to only capturing features not estimated to be defective as it firstly captures images of feature formed in the workpiece that is not estimated to be defective while it acts as the at least one sensor operative to generate process control data, and secondly does not explicitly exclude capturing only the welding bead and/or feature wherein the defect is estimated after the feature is estimated to be defective. Regarding the first point, WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1) teaches a system and method for assuring and improving process quality wherein a plurality of sensing techniques such as in-situ X-ray, neutron radiography, terahertz spectroscopy, or an array detector such as an ultrasound array (WILLETT Paragraph 41) can be used to evaluating at least one state of a laser welding process (WILLETT Paragraph 42) wherein specific states correspond to physical defects (WILLETT Paragraphs 102 and 116), and wherein the segment where the defect is located can be identified (WILLETT Paragraph 25). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with WILLETT and used a plurality of other sensing techniques to perform the initial defect detection. This would have been done such as to use different sensors to perform different strategies for detecting different defect types (WILLETT Paragraph 18), and because using additional sensors to detect defects and their locations within a laser welding process is known in the art and would have been performed as matter of obvious engineering choice. The Office further notes that the use of sensors in addition to cameras to detect defects in laser welding is well known in the art as evidenced by Albrecht (US 20100314362 A1). Regarding the second point, KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A) teaches a laser machining apparatus and laser machining method, comprising detecting the location of a crack before a repair is performed (KOYAMA Paragraph 51) and redetecting only the location of said crack after the repair is performed to check if it is still defective (KOYAMA Paragraphs 55 and 66). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with KOYAMA and limit the detection after repair to only the weld bead and/or weld line wherein the repair was performed. This would have been done to reduce the time for detection (KOYAMA Paragraph 71).
MOHRI fails to teach:
a scan lens arranged operative to focus the beam of laser energy such that the focused beam of laser energy is deliverable to the workpiece;
at least one beam positioner arranged between the laser source and the scan lens, the at least one beam positioner operative to scan the focused beam of laser energy relative to the workpiece within a scanning range projected onto the workpiece by the scan lens;
at least one stage operative to impart relative movement between the workpiece and at least one selected from the group consisting of the scan lens and the camera;
a controller communicatively coupled to the at least one stage
GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1) teaches a laser welding head, wherein:
a scan lens (focus lens 142) arranged operative to focus the beam of laser energy such that the focused beam of laser energy is deliverable to the workpiece (Paragraphs 37, focusing and delivering a focused laser beam onto the workpiece);
at least one beam positioner arranged between the laser source and the scan lens (Figure 1 Paragraphs 37-38, movable mirrors 132 and 134 are located between the laser 112 and the lens 142), the at least one beam positioner operative to scan the focused beam of laser energy relative to the workpiece within a scanning range projected onto the workpiece by the scan lens (Paragraph 38, movable mirrors 132 and 143 are pivotable about different axis to cause the laser beam 116 to move relative to the workpiece 102 in two different perpendicular axes);
at least one stage operative to impart relative movement between the workpiece and at least one selected from the group consisting of the scan lens and the camera (Paragraph 35, motion stage 114 for translating the welding head 110 relative to the workpiece; Paragraphs 44 and 59, camera 150 is coupled to the welding head; Figure 1, lenses 142 are located within welding head);
a controller communicatively coupled to the at least one stage (Paragraph 43, control system 160 for controlling the motion stage)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with GRAPOV and have a controller control a stage and beam positioner. This would be done to move the welding head and workpiece relative to each other in the direction of the welding seam (GRAPOV Paragraph 35) to correct the focus position of the laser along a seam (GRAPOV Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 2, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the controller is operative to execute at least a portion of the candidate selection process (Paragraphs 93-97, inspection device 3/robot control device 2/host device 1 performs at least a part of the method of detecting defects).
Regarding claim 3, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
a communications module communicatively coupled to the controller and operative to transmit data (Figure 2 Paragraphs 57, 64, and 77, communication units 30/20/10 used to transmit data; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network).
Regarding claim 4, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the controller is operative to transmit an output of the candidate selection process to a remote system through the communications module (Paragraph 64, communication unit 20 is connected to the host device 1; Paragraph 32, host device may comprise a remote system such as a smartphone; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network).
Regarding claim 5, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein
the remote system is a remote inspection system (Paragraph 64, communication unit 20 is connected to the host device 1; Paragraph 32, host device may comprise a remote system such as a smartphone; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network) and wherein the output of the candidate selection process is in a format readable by the remote inspection system (Paragraph 26, remote devices include a server, a PC, various sensor devices, and the like; Paragraph 35, inspection results can be displayed on the monitor and thus reasonably the data received by the monitor would be in a format readable by said monitor).
Regarding claim 6, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the controller is operative to facilitate execution of the candidate feature selection process by transmitting at least a portion of the process control data to a remote system through the communications module (Paragraph 64, communication unit 20 is connected to the host device 1; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network; Paragraph 35, inspection results can be displayed on the monitor).
Regarding claim 7, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the remote system includes at least one computing system (Paragraph 64, communication unit 20 is connected to the host device 1; Paragraph 32, host device may comprise a remote system such as a smartphone; Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network which includes computers).
Regarding claim 8, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein
the communications module is operative to receive data (Paragraph 64, communication unit 20 receives a control signal for executing welding) and wherein the controller is operative to receive an output of at least a portion of the candidate feature selection process from the remote system through the communications module (Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network which includes various sensor devices or computing devices; Paragraph 35, host device 1 collects an inspection result from a remote inspection device 3 and displays said result on a monitor; host device would be fully capable of receiving any data including candidate feature selection data from a remote system).
Regarding claim 9, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
at least one of the one or more databases (Paragraph 117, the robot control device 2 may extract information indicating the shape and the dimension of the welded portion wherein a storage location of the table or the database may be the memory 22 of the robot control device 2, the memory 12 of the host device 1, an external server capable of communicating with the robot control device 2, and the like).
Regarding claim 10, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the controller is operative to transmit at least a portion of the process control data to at least one of the one or more databases through the communications module (Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network; Paragraph 117, database is on an external server capable of communicating with the robot control device 2).
Regarding claim 12, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
GRAPOV further teaches:
the field of view of the camera is at least partially outside a scan field projectable by the scan lens onto the workpiece (Paragraphs 44 and 49, camera 150 is used to detect the seam 104)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
GRAPOV further teaches:
a frame arranged to support the scan lens relative to the workpiece (Paragraph 37, focus lens 142 is provided in separate modules 140 within welding head 110 which is positioned relative to the workpiece), wherein the scan lens is coupled to the frame (Paragraph 37, focus lens 142 is provided in separate modules 140 within welding head 110).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
GRAPOV further teaches:
the camera is coupled to the scan lens (Paragraph 35, motion stage 114 for translating the welding head 110 relative to the workpiece; Paragraph 59, camera is coupled to the welding head; Figure 1, lenses 142 are located within welding head; both the camera and the scan lens are connected through the welding head)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. In this case, having the camera be coupled to the scan lens would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice.
Regarding claim 17, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
GRAPOV further teaches:
the camera is coupled to the frame (Paragraph 35, motion stage 114 for translating the welding head 110 relative to the workpiece; Paragraph 59, camera is coupled to the welding head; Figure 1, lenses 142 are located within welding head; both the camera and the scan lens are connected through the welding head).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. In this case, having the camera be coupled to the frame would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice.
Regarding claim 18, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
GRAPOV further teaches:
an inspection support (welding head 110) arranged to support the camera relative to the workpiece, wherein the camera is coupled to the inspection support (Paragraph 35, motion stage 114 for translating the welding head 110 relative to the workpiece; Paragraph 59, camera is coupled to the welding head; Figure 1, lenses 142 are located within welding head; both the camera and the scan lens are connected through the welding head).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
GRAPOV further teaches:
a stage coupled to the inspection support (Paragraph 35, welding head 110 is located in a motion stage 114) and operative to the move inspection support relative to the workpiece (Paragraph 35, motion stage 114 for translating the welding head 110 relative to the workpiece; Paragraph 59, camera is coupled to the welding head; Figure 1, lenses 142 are located within welding head; both the camera and the scan lens are connected through the welding head).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
GRAPOV further teaches:
the controller is further operative to control an operation of the at least one stage to effect an inspection operation of each identified location (Paragraphs 44 and 49, camera 150 is used to detect the seam 104 in which the control system moves the position of the beam such as to follow the seam to perform the weld; Paragraph 35, motion stage 108 is used for moving the workpiece 102 relative to the laser welding head 110).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
WILLETT further teaches:
the controller is further operative control an operation of the at least one stage and the camera based on user input received at the user interface to effect an inspection operation of each identified location (camera; Paragraph 99, user controls the parameters to be applied to each sensor).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with WILLETT and have the user input received at the user interface to effect an inspection operation of each identified location. This would have been done to enable the user to choose from a selection of image analysis algorithms (WILLETT Paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 23, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the controller is further operative control an operation based data received from a remote system through the communications module to effect an inspection operation of each identified location (Paragraph 26, host device includes a communication interface that performs communication with an external network which includes a personal computer or a server; Paragraph 32, terminal device for user input can include a smartphone).
WILLETT further teaches:
the controller is further operative control an operation of the at least one stage and the camera based data (camera; Paragraph 99, user controls the parameters to be applied to each sensor).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with WILLETT and have the user input received at the user interface to effect an inspection operation of each identified location. This would have been done to enable the user to choose from a selection of image analysis algorithms (WILLETT Paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 26, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the at least one sensor includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a camera (Paragraph 55, shape detection unit 500 comprises a camera), a laser displacement sensor (Paragraph 55, shape detection unit 500 comprises a laser light source), a confocal laser sensor, an interferometers, an inductive coating thickness gauge, a stylus profilometer and a touch probe.
Regarding claim 27, MOHRI as modified the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the candidate feature selection process is applied to the process control data stored in the one or more databases and to the auxiliary information stored in association with the process control data (Paragraph 94, a defect type of the defective portion is compared with the shape data with shape data recorded in the memory and this comparison is used to determine the defect type in the welding bead; Paragraph 96, defect information is stored in associated with the a welding line and its welding ID; Paragraph 119, data items serving as search keys in the logic table of the processor include the defect type of the welding defect that frequently occurs at the welded portion such as to determine a repair welding program), to generate an output identifying, as the features estimated to be defective, a subset of the features formed in the workpiece, the subset including fewer than all of the features formed in the workpiece (Paragraph 119, a defect type along with associated information is stored in a logic table along with acceptable repair welding programs; Paragraph 120, processor calculates a matching score for a welded portion for each repair welding program and chooses an appropriate program to perform the repair; subset of features can reasonably consist of a single defect in its unique position which results in having a unique repair and subsequent verification), and the controller is operative to direct the camera to capture image data of each feature of the subset (Paragraph 128, welding inspection is performed again to re-inspect the welding bead after the repair welding; Paragraph 107, processor 21 can specify each welded portion to be subjected to the repair welding and exclude certain welded portions to not be subjected to repair welding; Paragraph 111, a suitable repair welding program is selected for each welded portion to perform repair welding; Paragraph 110, welding inspection is performed to re-inspect the welding beads which were repaired after the repair welding; Paragraphs 55 and 66, redetecting only the location of said crack after the repair is performed to check if it is still defective; a reverification after an appropriate program of repair for a welded portion would reasonably include directing the camera to capture image data of said welded portion).
The Office further notes that attributing specific welding types with repair welding parameters is known in the art as evidenced by Huonker (US 20060006156 A1).
Regarding claim 28, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the controller is operative to execute, or facilitate execution of, the candidate feature selection process after the workpiece has been processed to form the features in the workpiece (Figure 3 Paragraphs 92-96, steps ST102-ST104 occur after St101 wherein the main welding occurs and the workpiece has been processed and the welding lines have been formed).
Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pfitzner (US 20140175071 A1).
Regarding claim 11, MOHRI as modified the apparatus of claim 1.
MOHRI as modified fails to teach:
the field of view of the camera is within a scan field projectable by the scan lens onto the workpiece.
Pfitzner (US 20140175071 A1) teaches a method for detecting defects during a laser-machining process, wherein:
the field of view of the camera is within a scan field projectable by the scan lens onto the workpiece (Figure 1 Paragraph 48, camera 38 is arranged in the scan head wherein the detector is oriented coaxially with the laser beam; Paragraph 47, detection beam path coincides with the laser beam path between the focusing lens 30 and the bean splitter 20).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with Pfitzner and have a detector be oriented coaxially with the laser beam such that the field of view of a camera is within a scan field projectable by the scan lens onto the workpiece. This would have been done to detect defects in the weld seam (Pfitzner Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 25, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
MOHRI as modified fails to teach:
the at least one sensor includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor.
Pfitzner (US 20140175071 A1) teaches a method for detecting defects during a laser-machining process, wherein:
the at least one sensor includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a temperature sensor (temperature sensor; Paragraph 33, thermal camera is used to monitor the area such as to detect defects in the welding) and a humidity sensor.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with Pfitzner and have the sensor be a temperature sensor in the form of a thermal camera. This would have been done to detect defects in the weld seam (Pfitzner Paragraph 49).
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of NOMARU (US 20210094128 A1).
Regarding claim 14, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
MOHRI as modified fails to teach:
a stage coupled between the frame and the scan lens, wherein the stage is operative to move the scan lens.
NOMARU (US 20210094128 A1) teaches a laser processing apparatus, comprising:
a stage (condensing moving mechanism 43) coupled between the frame (Figure 2 Paragraph 25, optical system including the laser beam applying unit accommodated inside the horizontal wall section 262 of the frame body wherein a condenser 42 is disposed on a lower surface side of the horizontal wall section 262) and the scan lens (Figure 2, condensing moving mechanism 43 is located between condenser 42 and the lower portion of the frame body 26), wherein the stage is operative to move the scan lens (Paragraph 33, condenser moving mechanism moves the condenser 42 in the z-axis direction wherein the condenser 42 contains a condenser lens 42a).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with NOMARU and used a condensing moving mechanism to move the scan lens. This would have been done to move the condensing point of the laser to the intended condensing position of the laser (NOMARU Paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 16, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 14.
GRAPOV further teaches:
the camera is attached to the scan head frame (Paragraph 47, camera is coupled to the welding head)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 14.
NOMARU further teaches:
the stage is attached to the frame (Figure 2 Paragraph 25, optical system including the laser beam applying unit accommodated inside the horizontal wall section 262 of the frame body wherein a condenser 42 is disposed on a lower surface side of the horizontal wall section 262; Figure 2, condensing moving mechanism 43 is located between condenser 42 and the lower portion of the frame body 26)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 14.
Since both the camera and the stage are attached to the frame/scan head, the two would reasonably be considered to be coupled to one another.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Seki (US 20040124227 A1).
Regarding claim 20, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
MOHRI as modified fails to teach:
a stage coupled between the inspection support and the camera, wherein the stage is operative to move the camera relative to the inspection support.
Seki (US 20040124227 A1) teaches a welding condition monitoring device, comprising:
a stage (supporting member 9) coupled between the inspection support and the camera (Paragraph 137, supporting member 9 integrally attaches the CMOS camera 2 with the outside of the welding head 1), wherein the stage is operative to move the camera relative to the inspection support (Paragraphs 137-138, the camera is moved relative to the welding head by means of supporting member 9).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with Seki and have a supporting member be attached to and move the camera relative to the welding head. This would have been done to adjust the position of the camera relative to the welding head (Seki Paragraphs 137-138).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOHRI (US 20220118559 A1) in view of WILLETT (US 20160139593 A1), KOYAMA (JP 2007245235 A), and GRAPOV (US 20200376594 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toci (US 20140149075 A1).
Regarding claim 24, MOHRI as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
MOHRI as modified fails to teach:
the at least one sensor includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a laser power meter and a beam characterization tool.
Toci (US 20140149075 A1) teaches a laser welding process wherein flaws are detected, wherein:
the at least one sensor includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a laser power meter and a beam characterization tool (laser power meter; Paragraph 72, spectroscopic sensor 8 is constituted by a spectrometer comprising a plurality of radiation power measurers; Paragraph 128, specta acquired by sensor during welding are analyzed and are used to obtain information on the type of possible occurrence of flaws; power measurers are capable of measuring a laser power).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MOHRI with Toci and used a spectroscopic sensor 8 which is constituted by a spectrometer comprising a plurality of radiation power measurers. This would have been done to detect and reduce welding flaws (Toci Paragraph 11).
The Office further notes that having a power meter directly measure a laser radiation is known in the art as evidenced by REITEMEYER (US 20100276403 A1).
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that having a database store the start and end geometric positions of a weld for future reference is well known in the art as evidenced by Daniel (US 20170053557 A1).