Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota ‘645 (JP2002222645A) in view of Kubota ‘144 (JP2001068144A).
Regarding claim 1, Kubota ‘645 discloses an electrode winding device for winding an electrode laminate, comprising: a mandrel (6; Figure 1) for winding the electrode laminate (G), the mandrel (6) having a first end (left side end) and a second end (right side end) opposite the first end, the mandrel (6) being in the shape of a cylindrical rod (Figure 3; page 8, ¶0010, semicircular halves form a circular elongated rod), the mandrel (6) being a single piece member (page 16, ¶0021, integrated structure core having a slit may be used); a first rotation driver (2L) located at the first end of the mandrel (6) to rotate the mandrel (6); and a second rotation driver (2R) located at the second end of the mandrel (6) to rotate the mandrel (6), but fails to teach wherein each the first and second rotation drivers has a hollow having an inner diameter corresponding to an outer diameter of the mandrel such that the mandrel can be inserted into the hollows of the first and second rotation drivers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include a torsion angle of the mandrel due to the rotation of the first and second rotation drivers is 0.004 degrees or less in order to reduce stress and torsion on the mandrel to prevent premature failure of the mandrel and separation of the mandrel halves if a split mandrel is used, and prevent uneven winding of the electrode laminate. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Kubota ‘144 teaches a similar electrode winding device and further teaches wherein each the first and second rotation drivers (2a, 2b; Figure 3) has a hollow (recess within rotating blocks 2a,2b) having an inner diameter corresponding to an outer diameter of the mandrel (1) such that the mandrel (1) can be inserted into the hollows of the first and second rotation drivers (2a, 2b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include the hollows of the first and second rotation drivers as taught by Kubota ‘144 in order to fixedly secure the mandrel into the rotation drivers to prevent slippage and rotational movement of the mandrel relative to the rotation driver.
Regarding claim 2, Kubota ‘645 discloses wherein the first and second rotation drivers (2L, 2R) provide a rotational force to rotate the mandrel (6; page 7, ¶0009 and page 11, ¶0015, core 6 is rotated by the pair of rotating shafts 2L and 2R).
Regarding claim 3, Kubota ‘645 discloses wherein each of the first and second rotation drivers independently rotates the mandrel (6; page 7, ¶0009 and page 11, ¶0015, core 6 is rotated by the pair of rotating shafts 2L and 2R).
Regarding claim 4, Kubota ‘645 discloses wherein the first and second rotation drivers (2L, 2R) operate to rotate the mandrel (6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include wherein the first and second rotation drivers operate at a same rotation speed in order to reduce stress and torsion on the mandrel to prevent premature failure of the mandrel and separation of the mandrel halves if a split mandrel is used, and prevent uneven winding of the electrode laminate.
Regarding claim 7, Kubota ‘645 discloses the above electrode winding device, but fails to teach wherein the first and second rotation drivers are mechanically fastened to the mandrel in a state in which the mandrel is inserted.
Kubota ‘144 teaches a similar electrode winding device and further teaches wherein the first and second rotation drivers (2a, 2b) are mechanically fastened (page 5, ¶0006, fixing bolts) to the mandrel (1) in a state in which the mandrel (1) is inserted (Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include the rotation drivers as taught by Kubota ‘144 in order to fixedly secure the mandrel to prevent slippage and rotational movement of the mandrel relative to the rotation driver.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota ‘645, in view of Kubota ‘144, and in further view of Kashioka (JPH1040925A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kubota ‘645 discloses the above electrode winding device, but fails to teach wherein each of the first and second rotation drivers comprises a motor.
Kashioka teaches a similar electrode winding device and further teaches wherein each of the first and second rotation drivers (4, 5; Figure 8) comprises a motor (¶0003, drivers 4 and 5 are driven to rotate in synchronization with each motor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include the rotation driver motors as taught by Kashioka in order to reduce gear connections and reduce the overall size of the winding device.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kubota ‘645 discloses the above electrode winding device, but is not clear wherein: a maximum stress acting on the electrode laminate by the rotation of the first rotation driver and the second rotation driver is 15 MPa or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winding device of Kubota ‘645 to include a maximum stress acting on the electrode laminate by the rotation of the first rotation driver and the second rotation driver is 15 MPa or less because it is known in the art that the motors of Kashioka are synchronized, regulated, and optimized through repeated experiments accordingly to the tensile strength of the electrode laminate in order to prevent damage and wear to the electrode laminate and drivers to reduce downtime and downtime costs. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654