Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on Aug. 15, 2025, and claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-8 have been considered on the merits and all arguments were considered fully.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted as a product-by-process with no structural feature(s) expressly recited or implied in the claim that would distinguish the claimed composition made by another process, e.g., using epithelial cells not cultured in a plate culture, epithelial cells not cultured with a thermoreversible gelation polymer, and/or without a step of combing different cultured epithelial cells prior to use, such as for administering to a subject. See MPEP 2113.
In the claims, the term “block” is interpreted as commonly used in the prior art as meaning a portion of a polymer molecule in which each monomeric unit has at least one constitutional or configurational feature absent from an adjacent portion of the polymer, such as a block derived from a species of monomer used in making the polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the term “the oral mucosa”, which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim itself or claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claims are interpreted as provided in a previous section.
Claim 1 is directed to a product, not a process of using a product. When the preamble phrase “for repairing damage to an epithelial tissue” in claim 1 is considered, it is determined to merely represent intended use language for the claimed product which does not imply any additional limitation not expressly recited in claim 1. See MPEP 2111.02. Similarly in claim 1, the phrase “combined prior to administering the composition to a subject” is not interpreted to limit the product to a use comprising “administering the composition to a subject.” Thus, in claim 4 wherein “the epithelial tissue to be repaired” is further limited also does not imply any additional limitation not recited in claim 1. As claim 4 merely narrows the intended use of claim 1 and fails to provide or imply any additional limitation to the product of claim 1, then it is an improper dependent claim form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ajuwon (Ajuwon et al., J Nutr Biochem 14: 522-30 (2003)).
The claims are interpreted as provided in a previous section. In claim 1, the preamble phrase “for repairing damage to an epithelial tissue” and “administering the composition to a subject” are not interpreted to limit the claimed product with any implied limitation not expressly recited in the claim as the intended use/purpose does not imply any additional structural limitation.
Ajuwon discloses a composition comprising epithelial cells from the same epithelial tissue (liver) (pg. 524, left col., last para., to right col., 1st para.), e.g., hepatocytes. Claims 1-8 are interpreted as a product-by-process with no structural feature(s) recited in these claims that would distinguish the claimed composition made by another process, e.g., epithelial tissue cells from the same or different epithelial tissues regardless of how the cells are obtained regarding mixing, plate culturing and/or polymer culturing steps.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “cells cultured in plate culture produce insulin-like growth factor 1 (IGF-1)” implies that at least some of the cells in the composition maintain expression of IGF-1 or at least are a type of IGF-1 expressing cell. Ajuwon discloses wherein the composition comprises cells (hepatocytes) secreting IGF-1 (Fig. 2; pg. 527, right col., 1st para.).
Ajuwon anticipates claims 4 and 7-8 by virtue of anticipating claim 1 as set forth above because none of claims 4 and 7-8 imply any additional structural limitation to the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 5, Ajuwon discloses wherein the cells in the compositions are from the same epithelial tissue (liver) (pg. 524, left col., last para., to right col., 1st para.).
Thus, Ajuwon anticipates the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oda (Oda et al., In Vitro Cell Dev Biol Anim 34: 46-52 (1998)).
Oda discloses a composition comprising epithelial cells from the same epithelial tissue (oral or esophageal) (pg. 46, right col., last para., to pg. 47, left col., 3rd para.), such as expressing epithelial markers (Abstract). Claims 1-8 are interpreted as a product-by-process with no structural feature(s) recited in these claims that would distinguish the claimed composition made by another process, e.g., epithelial tissue cells from the same or different epithelial tissues regardless of how the cells are obtained regarding mixing, plate culturing and/or polymer culturing steps.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “cell cultured in a thermoreversible gelation polymer are positive for epithelial cell markers AE1 and AE3” imply that at least some of the cells in the composition maintain expression of AE1 and AE3 after combination to form the claimed composition. Oda discloses wherein the composition comprises epithelial cells positive for AE1 and AE3 (Tables 2-3, Abstract).
Oda anticipates claims 4 and 7-8 by virtue of anticipating claim 1 as set forth above because none of claims 4 and 7-8 imply any additional structural limitation to the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 5, Oda discloses wherein the cells in the compositions are from the same epithelial tissue (pg. 46, right col., last para., to pg. 47, left col., 3rd para.).
Regarding claim 6, Oda discloses wherein all of the cells in the composition are derived from an oral mucosa (pg. 46, right col., last para., to pg. 47, left col., 3rd para.; Table 2).
Thus, Oda anticipates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant traverses lack of novelty by arguing the prior art Kataoka does not disclose, teach or reasonably suggest wherein there are cells cultured in plate culture and cells cultured in the thermoreversible gelation polymer are combined prior to the application to a subject. This is not found persuasive as noted above because the claimed composition product does not reveal the process by which it was made by the presence of any structural feature implied by the process of making recited in current claim 1. Applicant also argues the that claim 1 recites a composition that is a combination of two types of cells with different properties, i.e., cells which have been cultured in plate culture and cells which have been cultured in a thermoreversible gelation polymer. However again this is not how the claims are interpreted as set forth fully above. Instead the composition may comprise the same cell type cultured in plate culture combined with ones cultured in polymer without any indication as to which is which due to its provenance. Furthermore, even if there is a difference, as time passes any difference may completely disappear.
Applicant also argues an unexpected result from said combination of cells in the form of a use of administering to a subject whereby improved engraftment of a composition comprising buccal mucosal squamous epithelial cells at a site of urethral incision where there was a stenosis in comparison to either non-combined cell type. However the claims are not commensurate in scope with this purported unexpected result when the claims encompass any use of the composition. Furthermore, the purported unexpected result is only evidenced with a single type of epithelial tissue (oral buccal mucosal), wherein the polymer is made with N-isopropylacrylamide, n-butyl methacrylate, and polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate, and wherein the epithelial tissue to be repaired is urethral.
Note, for patentability purposes product-by-process claims are treated paramountly as products, while, for patent infringement purposes, product-by-process claims are treated as process claims. See Abbott v. Sandoz, 566 F.3d 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-7 of copending Application No. 17/801,102 (the reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of the reference application discloses compositions comprising cells from an epithelial tissue, such as oral mucosa, corneal, gastrointestinal mucosa, skin, or hepatic tissues.
Regarding instant claim 5, the reference claims teach wherein the cells are from a single epithelial tissue. Regarding instant claim 6, the reference claims teach wherein all the cells are from an oral mucosa tissue. The reference claims render claims 4 and 7-8 obvious by virtue of anticipating claim 1 as set forth above because none of claims 4 and 7-8 imply any additional structural limitation to the claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ERIC J ROGERS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638