DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The requirement for restriction/election dated 02/18/2025 is upon reconsideration withdrawn. Claims 1-18 are pending in the application and are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding broad to narrow limitation, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the subject has low blood pressure during the surgery” and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the blood pressure is less than 90 mmHg systolic” in line 7, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “O2 is present in an amount of from about 91% to about 99% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 93% to about 97% by volume” in line 10, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “CO2 is present in an amount of from about 1% to about 9% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 3% to about 7% by volume” in line 12, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “O2 is present in an amount of from about 91% to about 99% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 93% to about 97% by volume” in line 8, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “CO2 is present in an amount of from about 1% to about 9% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 3% to about 7% by volume” in line 10, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “wherein the surgery is vascular surgery, the surgery requires relaxed blood vessels, and the surgery involves arterial catheterisation” and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the surgery involves cardiac angiogram, cardiac stent placement, rotablation, and/or intra-arterial balloon tamponading” in lines 3-4, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “before and/or during surgery” and the claim also recites “preferably before surgery, more preferably before both surgery and anaesthesia” in line 3, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “obese” and the claim also recites “preferably having a Body Mass Index (BMI) of greater than 35 kg/m3” in line 3, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “low functional residual lung capacity” and the claim also recites “preferably an FRC of less than 30 mL/kg when measured in the supine position” in lines 5-6, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 10 recites the broad recitation “wherein the use is when the subject is under general anesthesia, or before general anesthesia is administered” and the claim also recites “preferably before general anesthesia is administered” in line 3, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 13 recites the broad recitation “carrier gas” and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the carrier gas comprises nitrogen (N2), helium (He), xenon (Xe), argon (Ar), krypton (Kr) or a mixture thereof” in lines 3-5, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 15 recites the broad recitation “O2 is present in an amount of from about 91% to about 99% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 93% to about 97% by volume” in line 3, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 15 recites the broad recitation “CO2 is present in an amount of from about 1% to about 9% by volume” and the claim also recites “preferably from about 3% to about 7% by volume” in line 5, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 16 recites the broad recitation “carrier gas” and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the carrier gas comprises N2, He, Xe, Ar, Kr or a mixture thereof” in lines 3-5, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the features introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To overcome these rejections, “preferably” language can be removed from the claims.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein it is desirable…” in line 5. This language is indefinite because it is not clear whether the limitations that follow are required features of the claim.
Claim 1 recites “low blood pressure” (line 5), “high blood loss” (line 6) and “relaxed blood vessels” (line 6). This language is indefinite because “low”, “high”, and “relaxed” are relative terms which are not defined in the specification.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "amongst other" renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "amongst others"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 recites “relaxed blood vessels” (line 2). This language is indefinite because “relaxed” is a relative term which is not defined in the specification.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 6 recites “limited blood flow or oxygen” (line 3) and “high blood pressure” (lines 3-4). This language is indefinite because “limited” and “high” are relative terms which are not defined in the specification.
Claim 8 recites “obese” (line 3) and “low functional residual lung capacity” (line 5). This language is indefinite because “obese” and “low” are relative terms which are not defined in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being as being anticipated by Dharmakumar et al. (US 2014/0170069 A1).
Claims 1-11, 15, and 18 are anticipated because Dharmakumar discloses mixtures of carbon dioxide and oxygen, such as “medical grade carbogen” which is 5 vol.% CO2 and 95 vol.% O2 and additional mixtures such as 94 vol.% O2, and 6 vol.% CO2 [0098].
If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03.
The instant claims are directed to a product (composition). The limitations of the use of the composition in the treatment or prevention of at least one complication associated with surgery on a subject (claim 1), the use in the treatment or prevention of at least one complication associated with apnea in a subject during anesthesia (claim 2), a specific surgery type (claims 3-5), the use for a specific complication (claim 6), the use before and/or during surgery (claim 7), the use with an obese subject or one with low functional residual lung capacity (claim 8), the composition being administered under normobaric conditions (claim 9), use when the subject is under general anesthesia (claim 10), administration by inhalation (claim 11), and for use as a medicament (claim 18) are all intended uses of the composition.
The composition as claimed is anticipated by Dharmakumar and the composition of Dharmakumar appears to be capable of meeting the intended use of the instant claims as it is administered to patients by inhalation to alleviate the severity of a disease condition, prevent a disease condition from worsening, or lower the chances of a patient developing a disease (abstract) [0021] [0060] [0062] [0097]. As the composition of Dharmakumar is an inhalable gas for medical use it would be reasonably expected to be able to be used before and/or during surgery or anesthesia for any of the claimed surgeries or patient types under the claimed conditions.
Claim 12 is anticipated because Dharmakumar discloses 5 vol.% CO2 and 95 vol.% O2 [0098].
Claims 14 and 17 are anticipated because Dharmakumar discloses 94 vol.% O2, and 6 vol.% CO2 [0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Dharmakumar et al. (US 2014/0170069 A1) in view of Abraini (US 2010/0278942 A1).
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are anticipated by Dharmakumar as discussed above.
Dharmakumar does not disclose a carrier gas in an amount of greater than 0 to about 8% by volume, as recited in claims 13 and 16.
Abraini teaches an inhalable gas mixture [0016] [0057] (claim 14) (abstract) with helium in an amount between 1 and 40 vol.% [0021]. Abraini teaches that helium is cardioprotective and/or neuroprotective [0009] [0012].
Since Dharmakumar generally teaches an inhalable gas mixture, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include helium in an amount of 1-40 vol.%, within the teachings of Dharmakumar, because Abraini teaches this amount of helium in an inhalable gas. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use helium, in the amount taught by Abraini, for its cardioprotective and/or neuroprotective properties [0009] [0012].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/ Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/FREDERICK F KRASS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1612