Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: While claim 5 is not indefinite, the phrase “the two inner jaws are synchronous” is awkward. The examiner suggests “the movement of the two inner jaws is synchronous”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "unlubricated guide and puck". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one arms cam" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "edge clamps" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7 recites the limitation "wedge clamp’s fasteners". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the fasteners". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-6, 9, and 10 are rejected for their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 12, 13 recites the limitation "the fastening". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Klem (US Patent 4,813,732).
Regarding claim 11, Klem teaches a wedge clamp, suitable for fastening to an end effector capable of handling semiconductor wafers (2), comprising: a housing (11); a cam (15) movably mounted within the housing (Fig 2) and capable of depressing fully into the housing and of decompressing at least partially outside of the housing; a spring (25) loadably pressuring the cam, wherein the spring is fully loaded upon the depressing and is unloaded during the decompressing (Fig 2; Col. 4 ln 8-11). Klem teaches an enclosed housing (11) which restricts a cam to fully depress into the housing (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches wherein the spring (25) is fastened about the fastening (Fig 2). The fastening shown below in the annotated Figure 5 and the spring are both about the same end effector.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches wherein the fastening comprises a screw. Klem teaches screws shown in the annotated Figure 5 below.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the spring loading results from a circumferential edge of the semiconductor wafer (Col. 4 ln 8-11).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the spring loading results from a contraction of the end effector (Col. 4 ln 8-11).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches a cam travel path into which the movable mounting (25) occurs (Fig 2, Col. 4 ln 8-11).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 16 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the cam travel path is sunk within the housing (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 17 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the cam travel path uses an unlubricated guide (Fig 1) and puck (20). While Klem does not positively recite an unlubricated guide, lubrication is not necessary for every sliding guide. The lubrication requirement is based on a host of characteristics of the moving system including but not limited to material, speed and intended longevity.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the cam (15) comprises a puck (20).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the wedge clamp (15 located on top; Fig 2) is paired with a second wedge clamp (15 located on bottom; Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klem (US Patent 4,813,732).
Regarding claim 1, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches an end effector capable of handling a semiconductor wafer (2), comprising: an inner jaw (16) at least mechanically associated with a robotic base (Col. 1 ln 13-15); two outer arms (15) associated with the inner jaw (16) via at least one arms cam (20); a plurality of wedge clamps, wherein one of the plurality of wedge clamps (20) are respectively fastened to an inner jaw (16) proximally to the robotic base (Fig 4), and wherein two of the plurality of wedge clamps (20) are respectively fastened to each of the outer arms (15) distally from the robotic base (Fig 3), and wherein each of at least one of the distal and the proximal wedge clamps comprises: a spring (25); a cam (20) loaded on the spring; and a cam travel path into which the cam is slidably associated (Fig 2; Col. 4 ln 8-11); wherein a contraction of the inner jaw (16) and a consequent arms camming of the outer arms applies pressure to a circumferential edge of the semiconductor wafer such that the circumferential edge depresses each of the cams along its respective cam travel path and against its respective one of the springs, thereby loading the cams to grip the semiconductor wafer within the plurality of edge clamps (Col. 4 ln 8-11). Klem does not teach two inner arms. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the robotic base includes a servo motor (14) to drive at least the two inner jaws (16).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the two inner jaws (16) and the two outer arms in conjunction comprise a fork shape (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches all four of the wedge clamps comprise the spring (25) and the cam (20; Fig 3 & Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the two inner jaws (16) are synchronous (Col. 4 ln 8-11).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches each of the wedge clamps is angled (20; Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches each of the springs (25) is loaded about a respective one of its wedge clamp's fasteners (Fig 2). The fastening shown below in the annotated Figure 5 and the spring are both about the same end effector.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 7 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the fasteners comprise screws. Klem teaches screws shown in the annotated Figure 5 below.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches each of the cam travel paths is sunk within the wedge clamp (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the wafer handling effector of Klem teaches the two outer jaws are capable of being rotated 180 to 360 degrees by the robotic base (Col. 1, ln 34-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 6,540,468 discloses a wafer end effector with four movable arms to grip the wafer.
US Patent 6,283,701 discloses a wafer end effector with a wedge clamping device using springs and pucks to clamp the wafer in place.
US Patent 8,998,561 discloses a wafer gripping device grabbing the rim of a wafer using three arms controlled by motors and springs.
PGPub US 2011/0211936 A1 discloses a wafer end effector with a wedge clamp comprising springs and cams to clamp the wafer end during travel.
JP 11163113 A discloses a wafer end effector with four movable arms to align and pick up wafer pieces.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654 /Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654