DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: retaining feature in claim 1 and mating features in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo US 2017/0011892 (hereinafter Guo).
Re. Cl. 16, Guo discloses: An automated attachment system (Fig. 3a) for attaching a leveling rim (24, 25, Fig. 3a-b) having a retainer ring (25, Fig. 31-b) and a containment rim (24, Fig. 3a) to a semiconductor wafer (22, Fig. 3a), comprising: a chuck (20, Fig. 3a) capable of receiving thereon a semiconductor wafer (see Fig. 3a); a plurality of actuatable wafer guides (27, Fig. 3a and 6) configured to guide the wafer into the retaining ring (see Fig. 3a and 6, as holding 22 above 20 until 20 is raised so that 27 are below the top surface of 20 as shown in Fig. 3a); and a plurality of actuatable ring guides (surfaces of 20 which engage with and hold 25 thereon as shown in Fig. 6, also annotated in figure 3b) to positionally maintain the retainer ring about the chuck as the wafer is guided into the retainer ring (see Fig. 6); and as the containment rim is subjected to removable association with the retainer ring enclosing the wafer circumference therebetween (see Fig. 3a and 6, 24 and 25 are removably connected via the connection shown in Fig. 3b and encloses the wafer 22 therebetween).
Re. Cl. 20, Guo discloses: the removable association comprises an insertion of tabs into slots (see Fig. 3a-b, 242, 252 are formed as tabs and recesses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view Chang US 2006/0272561 (hereinafter Chang).
Re. Cl. 17, Guo discloses that the chuck can be an electrostatic chuck, a mechanical chuck or the like (see Paragraph 0038) but does not specifically disclose a vacuum chuck. Chang discloses a system (Fig. 1) which includes a chuck (220) that can be in the form of a vacuum mechanism, static electricity mechanism, etc. (Paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chuck of Guo to be a vacuum chuck as disclosed by Chang with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve a predictable result. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Watanabe US 20180286717 (hereinafter Watanabe).
Re. Cl. 18, Guo does not disclose how the stage (20) is lifted other than there is a driving mechanism (21) which activates the plurality of ring guides and wafer guides (see Fig. 3a and 6, by moving 20, the annotated surfaces and 27 are activated by mechanism 21) and therefore does not disclose they are actuated by pressure. Watanabe discloses an attachment system (Fig. 2) which includes a driving mechanism (602, Fig. 2) which is activated by pressure (see Paragraph 0043, pneumatic or hydraulic driving mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving mechanism of Guo to be a pressure activator as disclosed by Watanabe with reasonable expectation of success since pressure actuators are known actuators which have a simple and compact design while allowing for high force and speeds.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Yamamoto US 2008/0023149 (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Re. Cl. 19, Guo does not disclose that the wafer alignment to the retainer ring is subject to LED sighting. Yamamoto discloses that it is known to use LED sighting to confirm alignment of the wafer on its mounting stage (Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Guo device to include the LED sighting of Yamamoto with reasonable expectation of success since Yamamoto states that such a modification enables alignment of the wafer to be adjusted as necessary (Paragraph 0091).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15 and 21 are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s amendments and arguments in reference to claim 1 have been considered and are persuasive in overcoming the prior art of record and the previous rejection set forth by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dolechek US 2006/0040086, Kogure US 2011/0159200, and Lee US 2014/0361197 disclose other known wafer supporting arrangements presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632