The 112b rejections of the previous action are withdrawn in view of applicants amendments.
The 103 rejection over JP-2003-206336, Keiichiro et al, is withdrawn in view of applicants amendments.
Claim(s) 1,3,4,7,8,16,19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinichiro-JP 11334010.
Shinichiro discloses a polyester film made from the reaction of (see example 2, 0062):
Terephthalic acid with
A glycol component containing- 75 mol% ethylene glycol; 20 mol% diethylene glycol and 5 mol% triethylene glycol.
Note that it appears that no metal catalysts were used in the reaction.
0042 discloses that the film has haze of 0-5%. Although the film thickness is generally thinner than what is referenced in the claims, since the polyester anticipates the present polyester, it is reasonable to expect the haze values to be exactly the same.
Therefore, the claims are anticipated.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichiro-JP 11334010 in view of Nagano et al-WO 2009/142196.
The disclosure of Shinichiro is disclosed above and applied here as such. The reference does disclose that polymerization catalysts can be used (0013), but no specific ones are mentioned.
The Shinichiro does not disclose the amount of sulfur present in the claims.
Nagano discloses a polyester, and method of making it. Nagano specifically uses a sulfonic acid group containing catalyst in an amount of 300-3000 ppm, over other catalysts, to obtain a polyester with a high melting point, excellent thermal stability and excellent hue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have used the composition disclosed by Shinichiro to make a polymer and to add the use of a sulfonic acid contain catalyst to improve the melting point, thermal stability and hue, as specifically taught by Nagano.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichiro-JP 11334010 in view of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of chemical technology -2004-Forkner-Glycols.
The disclosure of Shinichiro is disclosed above and applied here as such. The reference does not disclose the addition/use of a tetraethylene glycol as part of the glycol component.
Kirk-Othmer discloses, generally, the use of various glycols as constituents for the making of polyesters (page 653-655). The relevant glycols being ethylene, diethylene, triethylene and tetraethylene. Specifically tetraethylene (TEG) can be used when a higher BP, molecular weight or lower hydroscopicity is desired, see page 660.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have used the composition of Shinichiro and to have added tetraethylene glycol to the glycol component, for the purpose of obtaining a polyester having a higher BP, molecular weight or lower hydroscopicity, as specifically taught by Kirk-Othmer. Although , Kirk-Othmer does not teach the mol% of the TEG, this is seen as a result effective variable , wherein the amount used will obvious effect the properties of the final polyester. For example, increasing the amount would increase the BP and molecular weight, while adding small amounts would be expected to improve the flexibility and toughness (correlating to the molecular weight increase). Hence, since the amount is considered a result effective variable, it would be prima facie obvious to select the range of 0.1-0.5 mol% as is claimed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766