DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9-12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harasaka (US 2011/0115872 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Harasaka discloses a light emitting element ([0092]) comprising:
a laminated structure (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”) in which a first compound semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0093], Figure 3A, element 104, “a lower spacer layer”; [0097]: “the lower spacer layer 104 is formed of a non-doped layer made of (Al0.1Ga0.9)0.5In0.5P”),
an active layer facing the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 105, “active layer”), and
a second compound semiconductor layer having a first surface facing the active layer and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Fig 3A, 111; SiN is a wide-bandgap compound semiconductor. 111 has a first surface facing the active layer (see the portion in Figure 3A adjacent to element 109) and a second surface opposing said surface.) are laminated (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”);
a first light reflecting layer formed on the first surface side of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 103, “lower semiconductor DBR”), such that the first compound semiconductor layer is between the first light reflecting layer and the active layer (Figure 3A shows the first compound semiconductor layer (104 in Harasaka) between the first light reflecting layer (103 in Harasaka) and the active layer (105 in Harasaka).);
a second light reflecting layer formed on the second surface side of the second compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”);
a first electrode electrically connected to the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 114, “an n-side electrode”); and
a second electrode electrically connected to the second compound semiconductor layer, the second light reflecting layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”) being formed on the second electrode ([0093], Figure 3A, element 113, “a p-side electrode”; [0106]: “The contact layer 109 is stacked on a surface of the upper semiconductor DBR 107 in the +Z direction and is made of p-GaAs.”; Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of electrode, the contact layer and electrode of Harasaka are taken to comprise an electrode. Under this interpretation, the electrode makes contact with the second light reflecting layer.) such that the second electrode is sandwiched between the second light reflecting layer and the second compound semiconductor layer, ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Figure 3A shows that the protection layer 111 is also deposited onto the electrode. Given that the second electrode of Harasaka is between layers 111 and 107, the examine takes this as evidence that the electrode is sandwiched between them.), wherein a current confinement region that controls an inflow of a current to the active layer is provided ([0114]: “an oxide confined structure is formed to restrict a path for allowing the drive current of the light-emitting portion to pass through to a central portion of the mesa.”), and
when an axis in a thickness direction of the laminated structure passing through a center of a current injection region surrounded by the current confinement region ([0014]: “an oxide confined structure is formed to restrict a path for allowing the drive current of the light-emitting portion to pass through to a central portion of the mesa. The non-oxidized region 108b is the current passage region ( current injection region)” is defined as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis is defined as an X direction, and a direction orthogonal to the X direction and the Z axis is defined as a Y direction, the current injection region has an elongated planar shape in which a longitudinal direction extends in the Y direction ([0111]: “A quadrilateral resist pattern is formed on the surface of the stacked product. In this example, the quadrilateral resist pattern has a length of 25.3 μm in an X-axis direction, and a length of 24.7 μm in a Y-axis direction”).
Regarding Claim 4, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka further discloses wherein a planar shape of the first light reflecting layer is a shape approximating the planar shape of the current injection region (Based on, for example, Figure 3A the first light reflecting layer and the current injection region both have a planar shape).
Regarding Claim 6, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka further discloses wherein a planar shape of the current injection region is an oval shape (Figure 30 discloses a current passage region with an oval shape).
Regarding Claim 7, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka further discloses wherein a planar shape of the current injection region is a rectangular shape ([0132], Figure 16 discloses a rectangular current passage region).
Regarding Claim 9, which depends from rejected Claim 6, Harasaka further discloses wherein a side parallel to the Y direction of the current injection region includes a line segment or a curve (Figure 11, for example, shows a side of the emission region in the Y direction parallel to a side of the current passage region. Note that the claim is drafted such that ‘a side’ could refer to a side of the current passage region or any other side on the device, and that Figure 11, for example, would cover both interpretations).
Regarding Claim 10, Harasaka discloses a light emitting element ([0092]) comprising:
a laminated structure (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”) in which a first compound semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0093], Figure 3A, element 104, “a lower spacer layer”; [0097]: “the lower spacer layer 104 is formed of a non-doped layer made of (Al0.1Ga0.9)0.5In0.5P”),
an active layer facing the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 105, “active layer”), and
a second compound semiconductor layer having a first surface facing the active layer and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Fig 3A, 111; SiN is a wide-bandgap compound semiconductor. 111 has a first surface facing the active layer (see the portion in Figure 3A adjacent to element 109) and a second surface opposing said surface.) are laminated (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”)
a first light reflecting layer formed on the first surface side of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 103, “lower semiconductor DBR”), such that the first compound semiconductor layer is between the first light reflecting layer and the active layer (Figure 3A shows the first compound semiconductor layer (104 in Harasaka) between the first light reflecting layer (103 in Harasaka) and the active layer (105 in Harasaka).);
a second light reflecting layer formed on the second surface side of the second compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”);
a first electrode electrically connected to the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 114, “an n-side electrode”); and
a second electrode electrically connected to the second compound semiconductor layer, the second light reflecting layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”) being formed on the second electrode ([0093], Figure 3A, element 113, “a p-side electrode”; [0106]: “The contact layer 109 is stacked on a surface of the upper semiconductor DBR 107 in the +Z direction and is made of p-GaAs.”; Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of electrode, the contact layer and electrode of Harasaka are taken to comprise an electrode. Under this interpretation, the electrode makes contact with the second light reflecting layer.) such that the second electrode is sandwiched between the second light reflecting layer and the second compound semiconductor layer, ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Figure 3A shows that the protection layer 111 is also deposited onto the electrode. Given that the second electrode of Harasaka is between layers 111 and 107, the examine takes this as evidence that the electrode is sandwiched between them.), wherein a current confinement region that controls an inflow of a current to the active layer is provided ([0114]: “an oxide confined structure is formed to restrict a path for allowing the drive current of the light-emitting portion to pass through to a central portion of the mesa.”), and
a planar shape of the current injection region surrounded by the current confinement region includes at least one type of shape selected from a group consisting of an annular shape, a partially cut annular shape, a shape surrounded by a curve, a shape surrounded by a plurality of line segments, and a shape surrounded by a curve and a line segment (Figure 31, for example, shows a current injection region with an oval shape surrounded by a curve. In this case the curve is that of a low refractive index region. Note that the claim is drafted to admit a broadest reasonable interpretation that the shape of the current injection region can be surrounded by any curve).
Regarding Claim 11, which depends from rejected Claim 10, Harasaka discloses wherein the planar shape of the current injection region includes figures (Figure 31, for example, shows a current injection region with an oval shape. Here the examiner has reasonably used the common drafting definition of figure, which is simply a geometric shape).
Regarding Claim 12, Harasaka discloses a light emitting element unit including a plurality of light emitting elements ([0176]: “Further, the light source 14 may include a surface emitting laser array 100M illustrated in FIG. 42 in place of the surface-emitting laser element 100 according to the above embodiment.”), wherein each light emitting element includes:
a laminated structure (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”) in which a first compound semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0093], Figure 3A, element 104, “a lower spacer layer”; [0097]: “the lower spacer layer 104 is formed of a non-doped layer made of (Al0.1Ga0.9)0.5In0.5P”),
an active layer facing the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 105, “active layer”), and
a second compound semiconductor layer having a first surface facing the active layer and a second surface opposing the first surface ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Fig 3A, 111; SiN is a wide-bandgap compound semiconductor. 111 has a first surface facing the active layer (see the portion in Figure 3A adjacent to element 109) and a second surface opposing said surface.) are laminated (throughout Harasaka the layers are described as being ‘stacked’”);
a first light reflecting layer formed on the first surface side of the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 103, “lower semiconductor DBR”), such that the first compound semiconductor layer is between the first light reflecting layer and the active layer (Figure 3A shows the first compound semiconductor layer (104 in Harasaka) between the first light reflecting layer (103 in Harasaka) and the active layer (105 in Harasaka).);
a second light reflecting layer formed on the second surface side of the second compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”);
a first electrode electrically connected to the first compound semiconductor layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 114, “an n-side electrode”); and
a second electrode electrically connected to the second compound semiconductor layer, the second light reflecting layer ([0093], Figure 3A, element 107, “an upper semiconductor DBR”) being formed on the second electrode ([0093], Figure 3A, element 113, “a p-side electrode”; [0106]: “The contact layer 109 is stacked on a surface of the upper semiconductor DBR 107 in the +Z direction and is made of p-GaAs.”; Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of electrode, the contact layer and electrode of Harasaka are taken to comprise an electrode. Under this interpretation, the electrode makes contact with the second light reflecting layer.) such that the second electrode is sandwiched between the second light reflecting layer and the second compound semiconductor layer, ([0115]: “A protection layer 111 made of SiN is formed over the entire surface of the stacked product by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as illustrated in FIG. 6B.”; Figure 3A shows that the protection layer 111 is also deposited onto the electrode. Given that the second electrode of Harasaka is between layers 111 and 107, the examine takes this as evidence that the electrode is sandwiched between them.), wherein a current confinement region that controls an inflow of a current to the active layer is provided ([0114]: “an oxide confined structure is formed to restrict a path for allowing the drive current of the light-emitting portion to pass through to a central portion of the mesa.”), and
when an axis in a thickness direction of the laminated structure passing through a center of a current injection region surrounded by the current confinement region ([0014]: “an oxide confined structure is formed to restrict a path for allowing the drive current of the light-emitting portion to pass through to a central portion of the mesa. The non-oxidized region 108b is the current passage region ( current injection region)” is defined as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis is defined as an X direction, and a direction orthogonal to the X direction and the Z axis is defined as a Y direction, the current injection region has an elongated planar shape in which a longitudinal direction extends in the Y direction ([0111]: “A quadrilateral resist pattern is formed on the surface of the stacked product. In this example, the quadrilateral resist pattern has a length of 25.3 μm in an X-axis direction, and a length of 24.7 μm in a Y-axis direction”).
the plurality of light emitting elements is arranged apart from each other in the X direction (Figure 42 shows the light emitting elements arranged apart from each other in the X direction).
Regarding Claim 17, Harasaka teaches an electronic device comprising the light emitting element unit according to Claim 12 ([0067]-[0076] describes the inclusion of the light emitting element into a laser printer with an optical scanner device. A laser printer is an electronic device; Figure 2 shows the light emitting element 14 incorporated into an optical scanner device 1010.; [0176]: “the light source 14 may include a surface emitting laser array l00M illustrated in FIG. 42,” which represents the embodiment of Claim 12. See the rejection of Claim 12 above and the arguments therein.)
Regarding Claim 18, Harasaka discloses light emitting device comprising the light emitting element unit according to Claim 12 (Figure 2 shows the light emitting element 14 incorporated into an optical scanner device 1010.; [0176]: “the light source 14 may include a surface emitting laser array l00M illustrated in FIG. 42,” which represents the embodiment of Claim 12. See the rejection of Claim 12 above and the arguments therein.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Sakamoto (JP H1065266 A).
Regarding Claim 2, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka does not teach and Sakamoto does teach wherein the ratio Lmax-y/Lmin-x of the current injection region is greater than 3 (Figure 2 shows a current injection region which is tall and narrow with a ratio greater than three.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Sakamoto to have a relatively narrow current injection region with ratio greater than three. It is well-known in the art that the current injection region defines the active area of a laser in which light is generated, and one of ordinary skill in the art could adjust the shape of this region with predictable results in the mode structure and power density of the laser.
Regarding Claim 13, which depends from rejected Claim 12, Harasaka does not teach and Sakamoto does teach wherein the ratio Lmax-y/Lmin-x of the current injection region is greater than 3 (Figure 2 shows a current injection region which is narrow with a ratio greater than three.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Sakamoto to have a relatively narrow current injection region with ratio greater than three. It is well-known in the art that the current injection region defines the active area of a laser in which light is generated, and one of ordinary skill in the art could adjust the shape of this region with predictable results in the mode structure and power density of the laser.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Park (US 2002/0105988 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, which depends from rejected Claim 2, Harasaka does not teach and Park does teach wherein the first light reflecting layer has a convex shape toward a direction away from the active layer, and the second light reflecting layer has a flat shape (Figure 2; [0037]: “The laser output window 48b is capped by a second DBR layer 52. Like the first DBR layer 49, the second DBR layer 52 is formed of a high-reflectivity material layer including multiple dielectric layers having a predetermined dielectric constant.”; [0036]: “For example, the laser output window 48b may have a lens shape, e.g., a convex lens shape”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka to incorporate the teaching of Park to have one light reflecting layer with a convex shape. This convex shape can be used to concentrate light more effectively on the active region and therefore more easily induce laser oscillation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Inoue (JP 05236214 A).
Regarding Claim 5, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka does not teach and Inoue does teach wherein an emission angle of light in a YZ virtual plane is 2 degrees or less ([0023]: “the divergence angle of the laser beam is very small, and it is possible to make the full angle at half maximum less than 2 degrees”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Inoue to have an emission angle of the laser be 2 degrees or less. Inoue notes in [0030] that “Furthermore, if the divergence angle can be further reduced, the collimator lens itself can be eliminated, which allows for further cost reduction and at the same time increases reliability.”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Hayakawa (US 2018/0047882 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Harasaka does not teach and Hayakawa does teach wherein an end surface including a side parallel to the X direction of the current injection region is in contact with a layer in which a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer are alternately arranged in the Y direction ([0061]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka to incorporate the teaching of Hayakawa to have a dielectric coating on the side surface of the emitter. Hayakawa notes in [0064] than “by providing the dielectric multilayered film on the lateral surface of the mesa M1 of the light emitting part 50 as well, the influence of leaking light, which leaks directly from the light emitting part 50, is prevented.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Boudreau (US 2011/0226962 A).
Regarding Claim 14, which depends from rejected Claim 12, Harasaka does not teach and Boudreau does teach wherein in the entire light emitting element unit, an emission angle of light in a YZ virtual plane is 2 degrees or less and an emission angle of light in an XZ virtual plane is 0.1 degrees or less ([0098]: “that produces a 1 mm diameter (at 1/e2) diffraction limited beam 1 with a divergence angle of less than 0.1 mrad”; This is approximately 0.06 degrees, and defines the maximum divergence of the beam in any plane.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Boudreau to have an emission angle of the laser be 0.1 mrad or less. Small, diffraction limited beams are beneficial in many applications given that they yield the highest achievable resolution possible in a system.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Nishida (US 2008/0240196 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, which depends from rejected Claim 12, Harasaka does not teach and Nishida does teach wherein the first electrode is common to the plurality of light emitting elements ([0052]: “The second electrode 108 and the first mirror 102 can function as an electrode and a mirror that are common to each of the surface emitting lasers.”), and the second electrode is individually provided in each light emitting element ([0062], [0065], etc. describe individual ‘first electrodes’ for each of the lasers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Nishida to have a common electrode for all lasers on one side and individual electrodes for each laser on the other side. Such a wiring configuration is well-known in the art, and choosing to use it in the device of Harasaka would have predictable results.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Takigawa (JP 2016146417 A).
Regarding Claim 16, which depends from rejected Claim 12, Harasaka does not teach and Takigawa does teach wherein the first electrode is common to the plurality of light emitting elements, and the second electrode is common to the plurality of light emitting elements ([0021: “As shown in FIG. 2, the p-type contact layers 5 corresponding to the VCSELs 10 in the same column are electrically connected to a common p-side electrode 7 .”; [0025]: “An n-side common electrode 13 is formed on the lower surface of the substrate 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Takigawa to have a common electrode for all lasers on one side and another common electrode for all lasers on the other side. Such a wiring configuration is well-known in the art, and choosing to use it in the device of Harasaka would have predictable results.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaka in view of Yoshikawa (US 2011/0182314 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Harasaka discloses a device comprising:
a light exit device including the light emitting element unit according to Claim 12 (Figure 2 shows the light emitting element 14 incorporated into an optical scanner device 1010. Figure 2 also shows an aperture (exit) in the housing 30 of the device allowing light to exit the device; [0176]: “the light source 14 may include a surface emitting laser array l00M illustrated in FIG. 42,” which represents the embodiment of Claim 12. See the rejection of Claim 12 above and the arguments therein.);
Harasaka does not teach and Yoshikawa does teach a light sensing device ([0005]: ‘image forming device’) including a light receiving device that receives light emitted from the light exit device ([0045]: “The optical transmission device 400 can also include a receiving function to receive an optical signal through the optical fiber 440.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Yoshikawa to include a receiving function. As is well-known by workers skilled in the art, a built in receiving device can allow for feedback during the sensing operation.
Regarding Claim 20, Harasaka discloses a device comprising:
a light exit device including the light emitting element unit according to Claim 10 (Figure 2 shows the light emitting element 14 incorporated into an optical scanner device 1010. Figure 2 also shows an aperture (exit) in the housing 30 of the device allowing light to exit the device; [0148]: “The optical scanner device 1010 according to the embodiment includes the light source 14 having the surface emitting laser elements 100.” which represents the embodiment of Claim 10. See the rejection of Claim 10 above and the arguments therein.);
Harasaka does not teach and Yoshikawa does teach a communication device ([0005]: “communication device”) including a light receiving device that receives light emitted from the light exit device. ([0045]: “The optical transmission device 400 can also include a receiving function to receive an optical signal through the optical fiber 440.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harasaka with the teaching of Yoshikawa to include a receiving function. As is well-known by workers skilled in the art, a built in receiving device can allow for feedback during the sensing operation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.W.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645