Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Jan. 27, 2026. Claims 2-11, 13-18, 20, 22, 26-28 and 59-61 are pending and currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, 13-18, 20, 22, 26-28 and 59-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide et al. (Journal of Controlled Release 228 (2016) 1-8), Es et al. (Colloids and Surfaces A 555 (2018) 280-289), and Sayour et al. (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2018, 19, 2890), in view of Colombo et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, 2015, 201: 22–31), and further in view of Rao et al. (Ann Transl Med 2017;5(23):468).
Base claim 2, as amended, is directed to a method of treating a subject with an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)-resistant tumor, comprising systemically administering to the subject (i) a composition comprising a nanoparticle comprising a positively-charged surface and an interior comprising (a) a core and (b) at least two nucleic acid layers, wherein each nucleic acid layer is positioned between cationic lipid bilayers, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a zeta potential of +40 mV to +60 mV, comprises a diameter of about 250 nm to about 500 nm, and does not comprise a neutral lipid, and the core of the nanoparticle comprises a cationic lipid bilayer or is empty, and (ii) an ICI.
Base claim 30 is directed to a method of increasing the number of activated plasmacytoid dendritic cells (pDCs) in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising a nanoparticle comprising a positively-charged surface and an interior comprising (i) a core and (ii) at least two nucleic acid layers, wherein each nucleic acid layer is positioned between a cationic lipid bilayer, optionally, wherein the nanoparticle is systemically administered to the subject.
Koide teaches that the authors report a simple, only one step, and efficient method for siRNA encapsulation into a lipidic nanocarrier by freeze-thawing: siRNA was entrapped between the lipid layers of multi-layer liposomes by freeze-thawing of lipoplexes composed of polycation liposomes (PCLs) and siRNA. They found that the lipoplex formed a “packed multi-layer” structure after the freeze-thawing of “single-layer” PCL and siRNA complex, suggesting that siRNA exists between the lipid layers working as a binder. PEGylated freeze-thawed lipoplexes delivered a higher amount of siRNA to a tumor in vivo compared with the PEGylated conventional ones. These results provide an attractive strategy for “one-step” encapsulation of siRNA into liposomes by freeze-thawing. See Abstract.
Fig. 2(i)-(l) of Koide shows a schematic presentation of PLC or lipoplex structures, see below:
Fig.2(l) shows lipoplexes comprising a multilayered structure that is indistinguishable from that of the multi-lamellar RNA-NPs shown in Figure 1A of the instant invention.
Koide teaches that Dioleoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DOPE), cholesterol, and dicetylphosphate-diethylenetriamine (DCP-DETA; 1:1:1 as a molar ratio) were dissolved in t-butyl alcohol and freeze-dried. PCLs were produced by hydration of the lipid mixture with DEPC-treated RNase-free water. Liposomes were sized by extrusion 10 times through a polycarbonate membrane filter having 100-nm pores (Nucleopore, Maidstone, UK). Liposomes and siRNA were mixed and incubated for 20 min at room temperature to form liposome/siRNA complexes. To prepare freeze-thawed lipoplex, the complexwas frozen in liquid nitrogen and thawed in a water bath at 43 °C with vortexing. The particle size and ζ-potential of the complexes diluted with 0.5 mM PBS (pH = 7.4) were measured by using a Zetasizer Nano ZS (Malvern, Worcs, UK). For the in vivo study, lipoplexes were decorated with polyethylene glycol (PEG) by incubating them with DSPE-PEG6000 (10 mol% to total lipids) at 40 °C for 10 min. Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), 1,2-dioleoyl-3-trimethylammonium - propane (DOTAP) and dicetyl phosphatetetraethylenepentamine (DCP-TEPA) liposomes (DOPE:cholesterol: DPPC, DOTAP or DCP-TEPA = 1:1:1) were also prepared by same procedure. See page 2, right column, para 2. Koide teaches that the increase of siRNA-encapsulating capacity was also observed in DOTAP- or DCP-TEPA-containing liposomes (Supplementary Fig. 2a,b), but not in DPPC-containing liposomes with neutral surface charge (Supplementary Fig. 2c). Therefore, it is suggested that, in general, cationic liposomes can increase siRNA-encapsulating capacity by the freeze-thawing. See page 4, right column, para 2. These teachings indicate that multilayered lipoplexes with lipid bilayers and RNA molecule layers in between are made, using various cationic lipids.
Koide teaches that to determine the biodistribution of siRNA in tumor-implanted mice, colon26 NL-17 carcinoma cells were subcutaneously implanted into the mice. Twenty days after tumor implantation, PEGylated conventional or freeze-thawed lipoplexes, as well as naked siRNA, were intravenously injected into the mice. Ex vivo imaging showed that siRNA delivered with PEGylated freeze-thawed lipoplexes had not only accumulated in the liver, spleen, and kidneys but also in the tumor at 48 h after the intravenous injection. These results demonstrate that the conventional lipoplex induced efficient knockdown in vitro; however, the most of siRNA were detached from the PCL after the PEGylation. On the other hand, siRNA formulated in freeze-thawed lipoplex showed the characteristic of long-term circulation, except that bound to the outer surface of the lipoplex, and accumulated in the tumor, suggesting that encapsulated siRNA by the freeze-thawing of lipoplex stably holds siRNA during circulation and may induces efficient knockdown in vivo after systemic administration. See page 7, left column, para 4. These teachings indicate that the multilayered RNA-containing lipoplexes made by freeze-thawing are administered to animals in a tumor model.
Es teaches a study on evaluation of siRNA and cationic liposomes complexes as a model for in vitro siRNA delivery to cancer cells. It teaches that controlled release of genetic material such as small interfering RNA (siRNA) using lipid-based non-viral vectors has gained substantial importance in gene therapy applications. Therefore, the interaction between siRNA and these vectors must be well understood. This study aims to investigate the effect of different molar charge ratios (R+/-) between positive charges from microfluidics-produced cationic liposomes (CL) and negative charges from siRNA and on physico-chemical and morphological properties of the lipoplexes (CL/siRNA) as well as their in vitro luciferase silencing effect in HeLa cells. According to Cryo-TEM analysis, the lipoplexes had multi-lamellarity. In vitro transfection efficiency of lipoplexes in HeLa cells was tested at three different siRNA concentrations (10, 25, and 35 nM). Significant knockdown of luciferase by siRNA lipoplexes was observed based on reduced luciferase activity of transfected HeLa cells. See Abstract.
Fig. 3 of Es presents Cryo-TEM images of lipoplexes at molar charge ratios of 2.33, 3.27, and 4.21, showing that multi-lamellar liposome nanoparticles are formed at different R+/- conditions. The scale bars represent 200 nm. Arrows indicate the multilamellar lipoplexes.
Sayour teaches that cancer vaccines may be harnessed to incite immunity against poorly immunogenic tumors. However, poor antigenicity coupled with systemic and intratumoral immune suppression have been significant drawbacks. RNA encoding for tumor associated or specific epitopes can serve as a more immunogenic and expeditious trigger of anti-tumor immunity. RNA stimulates innate immunity through toll like receptor stimulation producing type I interferon, and it mediates potent adaptive responses. Since RNA is inherently unstable, delivery systems have been developed to protect and deliver it to intended targets in vivo. In this review, the authors discuss liposomes as RNA delivery vehicles and their role as cancer vaccines. See Abstract.
Sayour teaches that cancer immunotherapy is a burgeoning field with evidence for anti-tumor activity in several randomized phase III trials. Much of the excitement surrounding this technology is centered on the concept of immune checkpoint blockade where T cell co-inhibitory signals are antagonized with monoclonal antibodies (mAbs). However, immune checkpoint inhibition appears to work predominantly in cancers with high mutational burdens. Evidence suggests that a preexisting T cell response is required for a response to immune checkpoint blockade, which could be enriched in mutation rich tumors. If this is true, the utility of checkpoint inhibitors could be tempered for many cancers with low mutational burdens or immunologically poor tumor microenvironments. To broaden the response to immunotherapy, cancer vaccines may be harnessed to incite response against poorly immunogenic tumors. See page 1, para 1. These teachings suggest that immune check point blockade and cancer vaccines are two treatments that can be used in treating cancers with different advantages.
Sayour teaches that the type of immune response that is elicited by liposomes is often affected by the lipid material’s surface properties. Liposomes may be polar or non-polar. Polar lipids are effective agents for mRNA transfection and are typically composed of hydrophilic head groups that are attached to linker bonds connected with non-polar tails. The non-polar tails from separate molecules join one another so that the positively charged hydrophilic heads (repelled by one another) face along opposite sides. As more liposomes join together, these NPs form micelle-like structures that are composed of a positively charged outer surface, a positively charged inner core, and a lipid layer in between. Positively charged liposomes can simply be mixed with negatively charged nucleic acids (i.e., RNA) for the formation of RNA-liposomes. A proposed schema for RNA-liposome complexation is shown in Figure 1. Briefly after the addition of positively charged liposomes to negatively charged RNA, electrostatic interactions dominate. Negatively charged RNA adheres to the surface of the particle creating a net negative charge that may be enveloped by another positively charged particle. This effectively traps the nucleic acid RNAs between the lipid envelopes, protecting them from degradation. This process can be repeated so that multiple layers of mRNA coat successive outer layers before being enveloped by new liposomes, forming multi-lamellar vesicles. These multi-lamellar vesicles can maintain their small sizes due to the internal electrostatic interactions that keep the particle tightly packaged. See page 3, para 3. Figure 1 of Sayour shows a schematic presentation of multi-lamellar RNA-containing liposomes that can be used as RNA carrier (shown below).
Sayour teaches that while still in the early stages, RNA-liposomes have been tested in human clinical studies. A dose-escalation study explored the safety and activity of tetravalent RNA-lipoplex vaccines (targeting four tumor-associated antigens) in patients with advanced melanomas (clinicaltrials.gov: NCT02410733). Aside from transitory flu-like illnesses, the vaccines have been safe and well tolerated with activity based on the induction of IP-10 and type I interferon. More personalized RNA-liposomal cancer vaccines are currently being investigated in multi-institutional human clinical trials. Phase 1a/1b studies are underway, investigating personalized RNA-loaded liposomes in combination with immune checkpoint inhibitors, atezolizumab (mAbs targeting PD-L1), for patients with refractory solid tumors (clinicaltrials.gov: NCT03289962). See page 8, para 2.
Accordingly, Koide and Es teach construction of multilayered/multi-lamellar cationic liposome nanoparticles loaded with RNA molecules, produced by different methods, and their potential application in cancer therapies; Sayour teaches the concept and practice of delivering RNA molecules by cationic liposome nanoparticles as cancer vaccines as well as immune checkpoint inhibitors as combination therapies for cancers; Sayour further teaches the construction of multilayered RNA-loaded liposome nanoparticles and their pros and cons. Koide further teaches that the lipoplex nanoparticles are administered to subject animals (mice bearing tumor implant) via a tail vein (see page 4, left column, para 2), indicating that the administration is performed systemically.
Regarding the new limitation of nanoparticle size of about 250-500 nm, Koide teaches nanoparticles with various sizes, including sizes in the claimed range. See Table 1. Regarding the new limitation that the core of the nanoparticle comprises a cationic lipid bilayer or is empty, Koide and Sayour teach lipid bilayer nanoparticles with a cationic lipid bilayer core or empty. See Figure 2 of Koide and Figure 1 of Sayour.
However, Koide, Es and Sayour do not teach a multilamellar nanoparticle that comprises a zeta potential of +40 mV to +60 mV and does not comprise a neutral lipid (both Koide and Es teach that the siRNA-containing multilamellar lipid nanoparticles used in the studies contain neutral lipids, e.g., DOPE and/or DPPC, and Sayour is silent on the components of the disclosed multilamellar lipid nanoparticles). Additionally, Koide, Es and Sayour are silent on treating a subject with an immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)-resistant tumor.
Colombo teaches that understanding the delivery dynamics of nucleic acid nanocarriers is fundamental to improve their design for therapeutic applications. The authors investigated the carrier structure–function relationship of lipid–polymer hybrid nanoparticles (LPNs) consisting of poly(DL-lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) nanocarriers modified with the cationic lipid dioleoyltrimethyl-ammoniumpropane (DOTAP). A library of siRNA-loaded LPNs was prepared by systematically varying the nitrogen-to-phosphate (N/P) ratio. Atomic force microscopy (AFM) and cryo-transmission electron microscopy (cryo-TEM) combined with small angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) and confocal laser scanning microscopy (CLSM) studies suggested that the siRNA-loaded LPNs are characterized by a core–shell structure consisting of a PLGA matrix core coated with lamellar DOTAP structures with siRNA localized both in the core and in the shell. Release studies in buffer and serum-containing medium combined with in vitro gene silencing and quantification of intracellular siRNA suggested that this self-assembling core–shell structure influences the siRNA release kinetics and the delivery dynamics. A main delivery mechanism appears to be mediated via the release of transfection-competent siRNA–DOTAP lipoplexes from the LPNs. Based on these results, they suggest a model for the nanostructural characteristics of the LPNs, in which the siRNA is organized in lamellar superficial assemblies and/or as complexes entrapped in the polymeric matrix. See Abstract.
Colombo teaches that the siRNA-loaded LPNs were prepared with the DESE method by emulsifying siRNA solution with DOTAP and PLGA binary mixture. See page 23, left column, para 2. Colombo teaches that different nanoparticle formulations (2a–2e) were prepared with systematically varying the N/P ratio from1–62 by varying the siRNA loading at a constant DOTAP:PLGA weight ratio (15:85, Table 1), that the zeta-potential was significantly affected by the N/P ratio, and an N/P ratio dependent increase in the zeta-potential was observed ranging from−27.0±7.9mV for 2a to+42.6±2.5mV for 2e (p< 0.001). See page 24, right column, para 2. Fig. 8 of Colombo shows the model for the structural characteristics of siRNA-loaded LPNs, indicating that the LPNs comprise multiple layers of lipid bilayers with siRNAs in between. See Fig. 8A.
Accordingly, Colombo teaches the production and application of multilamellar LPNs for the delivery of therapeutic nucleic acid molecules. Its teachings indicate that siRNA-loaded LPNs comprise cationic lipid, DOTAP, and do not comprise a neutral lipid, and that the LPNs can be made to have a zeta potential of +42.6±2.5mV, which is within the range as currently claimed.
Rao reviews about predictors of response and resistance to checkpoint inhibitors in solid tumors. Rao teaches that checkpoint inhibitors (blocking antibodies to PD-1, PD-L1, CTLA-4) have proven effective against several tumor types. Unfortunately, only a minority of tumors within each subtype responds, and checkpoint inhibitors can cause significant toxicity. There is a flurry of activity around determining patient and tumor factors of response and resistance to this class of medication. Rao teaches that Roh et al. examined clinical and correlative characteristics of advanced melanoma patients as their melanoma progressed through treatments with CTLA-4 inhibitors and PD-1 inhibitors. Of an initial cohort of 56 patients, 54 were treated with CTLA-4 inhibitor, and 7 of them responded (1). The non-responders were then treated with the PD-1 inhibitor, and 14 (28%) responded (1). Using serial biopsies, the authors identified several tumor factors that favor response and resistance (1). Of note, their definition of response is either radiographic partial or complete remission or stable disease lasting at least 6 months (1). See page1, left column, para 1 and 2.
Accordingly, teachings of Rao indicate that most tumor types are in certain degree resistant to certain immune checkpoint inhibitor treatments, and that an ICI may be tested and found active to a tumor that is resistant to a different ICI.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Koide, Es, Sayour, Colombo and Rao to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so to substitute the neutral lipid-containing lipid nanoparticles disclosed in Koide and Es with the LPNs disclosed in Colombo, which do not comprise neutral lipids, to evaluate the effect of the LPNs of Colomba in the delivery of therapeutic nucleic acid molecules, such as in studies disclosed in Koide, Es, and/or Sayour. Additionally, such a combination, or a substitution of one element for another known in the field to have the same function, is evidence that the claimed invention may be found obvious. See e.g., KSR International v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, at 1395. Therefore, the instant invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
As to the requirement of administration of an immune checkpoint inhibitor to a subject with ICI-resistant tumor, one would have been motivated to do so to evaluate the effect of combining the multilayered/multilamellar RNA-liposomal nanoparticles with an immune checkpoint inhibitor known to have treatment activity in subjects with tumors, including subjects known to be resistant to treatment of a different ICI, as taught in Rao.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 2-11, 13-18, 20, 22, 26-28 and 59-61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of US Patent 12,514,930 in view of the prior art references cited in the 103 rejection above.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Both sets of claims encompass a method for treating a subject with tumor comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising a liposome comprising a cationic lipid and nucleic acid molecules complexed with the cationic lipid and an immune checkpoint inhibitor. The differences between the two sets of claims include: 1) the reference claims are silent on the multilamellar feature of the nucleic acid-liposomes which is required by the instant claims, 2) the reference claims specify mRNA while the instant claims specify generic nucleic acids, and 3) the instant claims specify that the liposomes do not comprise neutral lipid and have diameter of about 250-500 nm and a zeta potential in the range of +40 to +60 mV which are not required by the reference claims.
As indicated in the art rejection above, it is known in the art to produce therapeutic RNA-loaded multilamellar LPNs that do not comprise a neutral lipid; it is known and studied in the art of cancer therapies to combine the therapeutically effective RNA-loaded cationic liposomes with ICIs in cancer treatment; and it is also known and studied in the art to produce multilayered/multilamellar liposomes loaded with therapeutic RNA molecules for the potential cancer therapeutic effects.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive from the reference claims to the instant claims, based on the teachings of the prior art references cited in the art rejection above.
Accordingly, claims 2-11, 13-18, 20, 22, 26-28 and 59-61 are unpatentable over claims 1-13 of US Patent 12,514,930.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on Jan. 27, 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
To the 103 rejection, Applicant argues on the following two aspects: (1) the Office does not consider the invention as a whole as the Office fails to address the claims element of subjects having ICI-resistant tumors; and (2) the Office has not established that the combination of references render obvious the nanoparticle of the instant claims since the cited references do not point to nanoparticles having the claimed combination of features.
Regarding the aspect (1), it is first noted that the claims are highly general in the ICI-resistant tumor, since there is no indication that the subject must be non-responsive to any ICI at all, or only a certain level of resistance to certain ICI would suffice. Rao teaches that patients non-responsive to a CTLA4 inhibitor responded to treatment with a PD-1 inhibitor. See discussion in the art rejection above.
Regarding the aspect (2), Applicant further argues that Koide, Es and Sayor do not teach the claimed structure features, that the particles of Colombo are structurally different, that the materials and methods of Colombo are centered on formation of a nanoparticle around the PLGA core, and that the reference offers nothing suggesting how to achieve a shelled structure without a core, and that the particles of Colombo do not have the diameter and zeta potential required by the instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. It is first noted that Koide, Sayor, and Es combined teach the claimed structural features except for the lack of a neutral lipid, which is taught in Colombo. Colombo teaches the production and application of multilamellar LPNs for the delivery of therapeutic nucleic acid molecules. Its teachings indicate that siRNA-loaded LPNs comprise cationic lipid, DOTAP, and do not comprise a neutral lipid, and that the LPNs can be made to have a zeta potential of +42.6±2.5mV, which is within the range as currently claimed. The claimed features, such as sizes (diameter) and zeta potentials, as well as the core structure, are associated with either the production technique of nanoparticles or composition of the nanoparticles, the claimed values of them are considered as being obtainable through routine experimental optimization based on experimental needs or conditions, unless there is evidence that these claimed features are critical for the function of the claimed invention.
To the ODP rejection, Applicant argues that the Office has not established that that ‘408 application (i.e., US Patent 12,514,930) claims teach or suggest a nanoparticle having the structure described in the instant claims, that the secondary references do not cure these deficiencies, and that, therefore, the Office has not established a prima facie case of obviousness exists with respect to the claims of the reference application, even if taken with the secondary references.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The instant claims represent a species of the more generic reference claims. As indicated in the discussions above regarding the 103 rejection, the cited prior art references combined suggest a multilamellar lipid nanoparticle as claimed and its potential application in tumor treatment. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for arrive at the instant claims from the reference claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIANXIANG (NICK) ZOU whose telephone number is (571)272-2850. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL ALLEN, on (571) 270-3497, can be reached. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIANXIANG ZOU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671