DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 8-18-22. Claims 1-8 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the negative effects, the current harmonics, the reactive power, the power drawn, the grid, the required compensation, the measurements, the synthesis, the filtering current and so on.
The claims 1-8 have to be re-written again with proper articles and words like "a/an" and "the".
Please delete all numbers and parentheses in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by 5,343,079 to Mohan et al. (“Mohan”).
Regarding claim 5, Mohan discloses a method, characterized by the following steps in order to provide a cost-effective and easy-to-install solution (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases) which eliminates the negative effects (fig. 1, The SPS system 10 includes harmonic distortion sensor means, such as a harmonic current sensor) of the current harmonics (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases) and balances reactive power; The controller detects when the product is connected to single phase (Col. 12, lines 29-33, The inverter 20 draws power from the AC source 14 and produces the inverter current I c in response to the inverter control signal 80 received from controller 60), two phases or three phases, and generates interleaved carrier signals according to the connection status The symmetrical triangular wave carrier signals take the current and voltage measurements of the controller at zero and peak moments and convert them to digital The control unit carries out the necessary calculations and operations and generates the pulse width modulation (PWM) signals (Col. 2, lines 27-30, During a utility power outage, the static interrupter opens to isolate the load from the utility. The battery bank powers the load through a pulse width modulated (PWM) DC-to-AC inverter) and applies them to the inverter unit The control unit reduces the need for filtering at the output of the inverter thanks to the fact that it produces interleaved carrier signals.
Regarding claim 6, Mohan discloses characterized by the following steps in order to provide a cost-effective and easy-to-install solution (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases) which eliminates the negative effects (fig. 1, The SPS system 10 includes harmonic distortion sensor means, such as a harmonic current sensor) of the current harmonics (Col. 12, lines 36-41, controller 60 controls the inverter 20 in response to the inverter current sensor signal Vic and the load current sensor signal Vi£, by producing the inverter control signal 80, as described further below, to substantially neutralize the undesirable harmonic currents produced by the load 12) and balances reactive power; Inverter-based system, which includes at least 3 phases and at least one neutral connection point (fig. 1), makes asymmetrical two-phase (claim 12, AC side for coupling in parallel with a three-phase four wire AC power source and two phases) operation by connecting two of the phase outputs to one phase and the other one to another phase Inverter-based system, which includes at least 3 phases and at least one neutral connection point (claim 12, controller responsive to the harmonic current sensor for causing the power converter to generate a harmonic neutralizing current, the neutralizing current added to the load current to cancel the harmonic distortion current component), makes single-phase operation by connecting all three phase outputs to the same phase (Col. 1, lines 63-68, Many nonlinear loads operate on single-phase alternating current (AC) power received from an electric utility. During a utility power outage, a battery backup is often required to avoid the loss of critical information, functions or services. A variety of UPS systems have been designed to meet these emergency power needs) The control unit takes the current and voltage measurements and converts them to the digital, and generates PWM by making the necessary calculations The controller unit reduces the need for filtering necessary at the output by using interleaved carrier signals (Col. 12, lines 2-4, The controller 60 then controls the inverter 20 in a conventional manner as a conventional pulse width modulated (PWM) inverter operating in a voltage mode).
Regarding claim 7, Mohan discloses an inverter-based system, characterized by a controller structure (fig. 1) which detects that the product is connected to three phases (Col. 12, lines 29-33, The inverter 20 draws power from the AC source 14 .and produces the inverter current ic in response to the inverter control signal 80 received from controller 60), two phases or single phase (Col. 12, lines 29-33, The inverter 20 draws power from the AC source 14 and produces the inverter current I c in response to the inverter control signal 80 received from controller 60) and accordingly controls each phase output independently (Col. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Mohan discloses the current harmonics drawn from a single phase (Col. 12, lines 29-33, The inverter 20 draws power from the AC source 14 and produces the inverter current I c in response to the inverter control signal 80 received from controller 60), two phases or three phases, compensates for the reactive power, can keep the power factor of the facility at the desired level (Col. 2, lines 49-51, The rectifier/charger and the inverter are each source of these undesirable current harmonics) and perform the load balancing, characterized in that it can perform said functions separately (Col. 2, lines 27-30, During a utility power outage, the static interrupter opens to isolate the load from the utility. The battery bank powers the load through a pulse width modulated (PWM) DC-to-AC inverter) or simultaneously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over 5,343,079 to Mohan et al. (“Mohan”) in view of US 2021/0006178 to Kumar et al. (“Kumar”).
Regarding claim 1, Mohan discloses an inverter-based system (fig. 1), characterized in that in order to provide a cost-effective and easy-to-install solution which eliminates the negative effects (fig. 1, The SPS system 10 includes harmonic distortion sensor means, such as a harmonic current sensor) of the current harmonics (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases), compensates for the reactive power (Col. 12, lines 36-41, controller 60 controls the inverter 20 in response to the inverter current sensor signal Vic and the load current sensor signal Vi£, by producing the inverter control signal 80, as described further below, to substantially neutralize the undesirable harmonic currents produced by the load 12) and balances the power drawn from the phases (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases); it comprises at least one inverter unit (Col. 3, lines 10-12, During an emergency power outage, the SPS system supplies battery power through an inverter to the critical load) based on a semiconductor switching element (fig. 1, 34a-34d) of at least two levels (fig. 1), the semiconductor elements in the inverter unit, at least one passive filter for connecting the inverter (fig. 1, first high frequency filter 35 and second high frequency filter 42, Col. 6, lines 59-60; second filter 42 removes any unwanted frequencies produced by the inverter) unit to the grid (14), DC bus unit (fig. 1) to which each phase from the inverter unit is connected commonly, at least one embedded control system which generates PWM signals (Col. 2, lines 27-30, During a utility power outage, the static interrupter opens to isolate the load from the utility. The battery bank powers the load through a pulse width modulated (PWM) DC-to-AC inverter) by the required compensation of the measurements received from the grid (Col. 17, lines 48-51, A low-frequency AC voltage, e.g., the line frequency of 60 Hz, may be synthesized with a modulation scheme based on an area comparison concept, often called the area-compensation) and/or by the synthesis of the filtering current and at least one pre-charge resistor (Col. 7, lines 16-22, In response to the load current iL, the sensor 50 produces an inverter current sensor signal vL which is the voltage across resistor 58. The resistors 54 and 58, as well as transformers 52 and 56, are coordinated to produce sensor signals having the same relative magnitude as the respective associated current signals which the sensors 50 and 55 monitor) which allows charging the DC bus unit of the inverter unit (fig. 1).
But, Mohan does not discloses at least one cooler and/or at least one fan and/or at least one air tunnel assembly for cooling
However, Kumar discloses at least one cooler and/or at least one fan and/or at least one air tunnel assembly for cooling (para; 0032, lines 7-9, the loads 116 may represent traction motors, fan motors (e.g., blowers), cooling systems)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohan by adding cooling systems as part of its configuration as taught by Kumar, in order to dissipate heat from electronics devices using fan motors (e.g., blowers) that give more time to operate (See Kumar, para; 0032).
Regarding claim 2, Mohan discloses comprises a DC bus unit (fig. 1, inverter 20 charges the battery bank 40 with the DC charging current) in which each active harmonic filter and/or each static compensator (Col. 12, lines 36-41, controller 60 controls the inverter 20 in response to the inverter current sensor signal Vic and the load current sensor signal Vi£, by producing the inverter control signal 80, as described further below, to substantially neutralize the undesirable harmonic currents produced by the load 12) is integrated separately and independently (Col. 11,lines 55-59, While the monitor 90 is shown as an independent component, it is apparent that the source monitoring means may be incorporated within the static interrupter 15 or within the controller 60).
Regarding claim 3, Mohan discloses comprises a single DC bus unit (Col. 3, lines 43-47, three phase, four wire power supply system, such as the service used to supply large residential, commercial and office buildings, the phase to neutral voltages are distributed to the various building floors in an attempt to balance the load on each of the phases) value than the current through capacitor bank 430) or a separate DC bus unit can be used since the phase outputs in the product (Col. 12, lines 29-33, The inverter 20 draws power from the AC source 14 .and produces the inverter current I c in response to the inverter control signal 80 received from controller 60) can be flexibly connected to the desired phase up to the desired power (Col. 12, lines 36-41, controller 60 controls the inverter 20 in response to the inverter current sensor signal Vic and the load current sensor signal Vi£, by producing the inverter control signal 80, as described further below, to substantially neutralize the undesirable harmonic currents produced by the load 12).
Regarding claim 4, Mohan discloses can be realized by a topology of at least two levels that allows to increase the effective switching frequency (Col. 17, lines 10-11, an operating frequency of the HF-link SPS system 100 on the order of20 kHz is above the audible frequency range) and to reduce the size of the passive filter which is necessary for the network connection (Col. 17, lines 42-44, This advantageously allows for minimizing the size of the switch assemblies used, thus providing a more economical HF-link SPS system 100).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rozman US 7,099,165 Bl- An active filtration or harmonic scrubber system for power systems that convert AC power on an AC bus to DC power that cancels or reduces harmonic current injected by nonlinear loads onto the AC bus using high-bandwidth pulse width modulation (PWM) inverters.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836