DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sora (US 2015/0372260 A1, cited by applicant) in view of Mitamura et al. (JP 2002-245993 A, hereinafter Mitamura, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 4. Sora teaches a battery module (Fig. 9, item 2) comprising:
a battery cell stack (item 30) in which a plurality of battery cells (items 10A-10D) are stacked; and
a first L-shaped frame (item 210) and a second L-shaped frame (item 110) that together house the battery cell stack therein,
the first L-shaped frame formed of an upper surface (item 211) and a first side surface (item 212), and
the second L-shaped frame formed of a lower surface (item 111) and a second side surface (item 112),
wherein the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame together surround four surfaces of the battery cell stack (Fig. 9).
Sora fails to teach that a protrusion portion is formed in one of the first or second L-shaped frames, a groove portion is formed at a position corresponding to the protrusion portion another of the first or second L-shaped frames, the first and second L-shaped frames are coupled to one another by an engagement between the protrusion portion and the groove portion, the engagement of the protrusion portion and the groove portion is formed between a plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame, and the plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame are located in portions except for a protrusion-groove coupling structure between the protrusion portion and the groove portion.
The invention of Mitamura encompasses a battery pack. Mitamura teaches that a protrusion portion (Fig. 5, item 2c) is formed in the lower frame (item 2), a groove portion (item 1c) is formed at a position corresponding to the protrusion portion in the upper frame (item 1), the upper and lower frames are coupled to one another by an engagement between the protrusion portion and the groove portion (Fig. 5 & 6), and the engagement of the protrusion portion and the groove portion is formed between a plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first case and the second case (Fig. 5 & 6, P5), and the plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first case and the second case are located in portions except for a protrusion-groove coupling structure between the protrusion portion and the groove portion (P5).
In view of Mitamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Sora to employ a protrusion portion formed in the first L-shaped frame and a groove portion is formed at a position corresponding to the protrusion portion in the second L-shaped frames, form the engagement of the protrusion portion and the groove portion between a plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame, and the plurality of surfaces coupled by welding the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame are located in portions except for a protrusion-groove coupling structure between the protrusion portion and the groove portion, since Mitamura teaches the advantages of using them, which is to achieve desired joint strength (abstract).
Re Claim 5. The combination teaches wherein: the first L-shaped frame has a first raised portion (Sora, Fig. 9, item 213) protruding downward from a side end edge of the upper surface of the first L-shaped frame, the first raised portion being engaged with an upper end portion of the second side surface of the second L-shaped frame (Fig. 2), and the second L-shaped frame has a second raised portion (item 113) protruding upward from a side end edge of the lower surface of the second L-shaped frame, the second raised portion being engaged with a lower end portion of the first side surface of the first L-shaped frame (Fig. 2).
Re Claim 6. The combination teaches wherein: the protrusion portion (Mitamura, Fig. 5, item 2c) is a first protrusion portion protruding from the first raised portion (Sora, Fig. 9, item 213), and the groove portion (Mitamura, Fig. 5, item 1c) is a first groove portion extending into formed on the upper end portion of the second side surface (Sora, Fig. 9, item 112), and the first and second L-shaped frames are coupled to one another while the protrusion portions and the groove portions are coupled to one another (Mitamura, Fig. 5 & 6).
The combination fails to teach that the second raised portion has a second protruding portion protruding therefrom, and the first side surface has a second groove portion extending into the lower end portion of the first side surface, as Tanabe teaches that the protrusions are located on the upper frame and the grooves are located on the lower frame.
However, as Sora teaches that the first and second L-shaped frames have the same shape (para. 43), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Sora in view of Mitamura to employ the second raised portion having a second protruding portion protruding therefrom, and the first side surface having a second groove portion extending into the lower end portion of the first side surface.
Re Claim 7. The combination teaches wherein: the first and second protrusion portions protrude from the outer edge portion of the first and second raised portions, respectively (Mitamura, Fig. 5).
Re Claim 8. The combination teaches each of the first and second protrusion portions includes protrusions extending from a center and opposite sides of the first and second raised portions (Mitamura, Fig. 5), respectively, and each of the first and second groove portions includes grooves located at positions engaged with the respective protrusion portions (Mitamura, Fig. 5).
Re Claim 9. The combination teaches wherein: a lower surface of the first raised portion and an upper end surface of the second side surface, and an upper surface of the second raised portion and a lower end surface of the first side surface are joined by welding, respectively (Mitamura, P5).
Re Claim 16. The combination teaches wherein the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame are identical to each other and have a symmetrical structure to each other (Sora, Fig. 9), and wherein the protrusion portions and the groove portions are located symmetrically about a center of a coupling surface between the first L-shaped frame and the second L-shaped frame (Mitamura, Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied reference, Mitamura addresses the new limitations.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/27/2026