DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1,3,5 and 6. Claim 2 has been cancelled. New claims 12-20 have been added. Claims 4-10 stand as withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by HE et al. (hereinafter HE) (CN 104901149 A) in view of Konno et al. (hereinafter Konno) (JP 2014120621 A) and Dejima et al. (hereinafter Dejima) (US 20190305517 A1) (Examiner notes attached machine translations will be used for the claim mapping of HE and Konno. See PTO-892 form.)
Regarding claim 1, HE discloses in Fig. 2,
A laser device [Fig. 2] comprising:
a plurality of seed sources [201] (Para. [5]) which emit laser beams with wavelengths [λ1,λn] that are different from each other (Para. [5]);
a plurality of lens portions [203] (Para. [5]) which collimate the laser beams (Para. [5]);
a wavelength dispersion element [205] (Para. [5]) on which the laser beams are incident at angles that are different from each other (Para. [5]), the wavelength dispersion element [205] changing traveling directions of the laser beams according to the wavelengths to generate a combined beam of the laser beams (Para. [5]);
a plurality of first reflective surfaces [bottom pair of mirrors 204] (See Examiners markup below) which cause the laser beams to be incident on the wavelength dispersion element [205] at the angles corresponding to the laser beams (Para. [5]); and
a plurality of second reflective surfaces [top pair of mirrors 204] (See Examiners markup) each of which guide a corresponding one of the laser beams to a corresponding one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces [bottom pair of mirrors 204] (Para. [5]), wherein
the plurality of seed sources [201] (Para. [5]) are arranged in a line [HE Fig. 2],
the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] are spaced apart from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in a first direction in which the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] are arranged [HE vertically Fig. 2];
among the plurality of the first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2], a first reflective surface [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] that is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in the first direction [up and down Fig. 2] is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in a second direction [left and right Fig. 2] orthogonal to the first direction [up and down Fig. 2]
HE fails to disclose,
the plurality of seed sources being semiconductor laser elements and,
among the plurality of second reflective surfaces, a second reflective surface positioned closer to a corresponding one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces is positioned farther from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements.
Konno discloses in Fig. 1,
A plurality of first reflective surfaces [7b,7c,7d] (Para. [0014]) positioned closer to one another than the spacing of a plurality of semiconductor laser elements [1b,1c,1d] (Para. [0015]) incident on a wavelength dispersion element [21 Fig. 3] (Para. [0042]) in a direction away from the semiconductor laser elements [1a-1d] (Para. [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the positional relationships of the first reflective surfaces of Konno with the first reflective surfaces of HE and the position of the wavelength dispersion element of HE away from the seed sources as shown in Konno for the purpose of decreasing the distance between each adjacent light beam and generating light beams with high efficiency and high wavelength selectivity. (Konno Paras. [0015-0018,0044])
Examiner notes when the positional relationship of the first reflective surface of Konno is implemented with the first reflective surfaces of HE, the limitation of “a second reflective surface positioned closer to a corresponding one of a plurality of first reflective surfaces is positioned farther from a plurality of semiconductor laser elements.” Is met as the first reflective surfaces are closer to one another, and therefore the second reflective surface farthest from the seed sources is closer to its respective first reflective surface.
HE in view of Konno fails to disclose,
the plurality of seed sources being semiconductor laser elements and,
Dejima discloses in Fig. 4,
a plurality of semiconductor laser sources [102] (Para. [0022])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the laser sources of Dejima in place of the laser sources of HE for the purpose of having a laser diode configured to emit light in a wavelength range of 350nm to 550nm. (Dejima Para. [0022])
Regarding claim 3, HE in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein two sets [HE set of 202,203,204 and 205 of λ1 and λn Fig. 2] each including at least one of the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [Dejima 102 Fig. 4], at least one of the plurality of lens portions [HE 203 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]), at least one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]), and at least one of the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) are arranged in the first direction, the at least one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE first bottom mirror 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) in a first one [HE set of elements for λ1 Fig. 2] of the two sets [HE λ1 and λn Fig. 2] being adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE second bottom mirror 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) in a second one [HE set of elements for λn Fig. 2] of the two sets [HE set of 202,203,204 and 205 of λ1 and λn Fig. 2] (See Examiners markup below).
Regarding claim 11, HE in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 2 of HE,
wherein the wavelength dispersion element [205] is a diffraction grating (HE Para. [5]).
Regarding claim 12, HE in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) do not face the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2], and the plurality of first reflective surfaces face the wavelength dispersion element [See Konno Figs. 1 and 3].
Regarding claim 13, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2] (Para. [5]) is disposed farther from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) than the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] in the second direction [See Konno 7b-7d and 21 Figs. 1 and 3].
Regarding claim 14, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein the laser beams emitted from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) are first incident on the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) and then incident on the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2], respectively.
Regarding claim 15, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2] (position of Konno 21 Fig. 3) (Konno Para. [0044]) is disposed farther from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) than the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) [See Konno 21 Fig. 3] in the second direction.
Regarding claim 16, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein, in a second direction, the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (position of Konno 7b-7d Fig. 1), the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]), and the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2] (position of Konno 21 Fig. 3) (Konno Para. [0044]) are disposed in order of increasing distance from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]).
Regarding claim 17, HE discloses in Fig. 2,
A laser device [Fig. 2] comprising:
a plurality of seed sources [201] (Para. [5]) which emit laser beams with wavelengths [λ1,λn] that are different from each other (Para. [5]);
a plurality of lens portions [203] (Para. [5]) which collimate the laser beams (Para. [5]);
a wavelength dispersion element [205] (Para. [5]) on which the laser beams are incident at angles that are different from each other (Para. [5]), the wavelength dispersion element [205] changing traveling directions of the laser beams according to the wavelengths to generate a combined beam of the laser beams (Para. [5]);
a plurality of first reflective surfaces [bottom pair of mirrors 204] (See Examiners markup below) which cause the laser beams to be incident on the wavelength dispersion element [205] at the angles corresponding to the laser beams (Para. [5]); and
a plurality of second reflective surfaces [top pair of mirrors 204] (See Examiners markup) each of which guide a corresponding one of the laser beams to a corresponding one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces [bottom pair of mirrors 204] (Para. [5]), wherein
the plurality of seed sources [201] (Para. [5]) are arranged in a line [HE Fig. 2],
the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] are spaced apart from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in a first direction in which the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] are arranged [HE vertically Fig. 2];
among the plurality of the first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2], a first reflective surface [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] that is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in the first direction [up and down Fig. 2] is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in a second direction [left and right Fig. 2] orthogonal to the first direction [up and down Fig. 2]
among the plurality of the first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2], a first reflective surface [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] that is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in the first direction [up and down Fig. 2] is (1) positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources [HE 201 Fig. 2] in a second direction [left and right Fig. 2] orthogonal to the first direction
HE fails to disclose,
the plurality of seed sources being semiconductor laser elements and,
among the plurality of second reflective surfaces, a second reflective surface positioned closer to a corresponding one of the plurality of first reflective surfaces is positioned farther from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements and
among the plurality of the first reflective surfaces, a first reflective surface that is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources in the first direction is (1) positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and (2) positioned closer to the wavelength dispersion element.
Konno discloses in Fig. 1,
A plurality of first reflective surfaces [7b,7c,7d] (Para. [0014]) positioned closer to one another than the spacing of a plurality of semiconductor laser elements [1b,1c,1d] (Para. [0015]) incident on a wavelength dispersion element [21 Fig. 3] (Para. [0042]) in a direction away from the semiconductor laser elements [1a-1d] (Para. [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the positional relationships of the first reflective surfaces of Konno with the first reflective surfaces of HE and the position of the wavelength dispersion element of HE away from the seed sources as shown in Konno for the purpose of decreasing the distance between each adjacent light beam and generating light beams with high efficiency and high wavelength selectivity. (Konno Paras. [0015-0018,0044])
Examiner notes when the positional relationship of the first reflective surface of Konno is implemented with the first reflective surfaces of HE, the limitation of “a second reflective surface positioned closer to a corresponding one of a plurality of first reflective surfaces is positioned farther from a plurality of semiconductor laser elements.” Is met as the first reflective surfaces are closer to one another, and therefore the second reflective surface farthest from the seed sources is closer to its respective first reflective surface.
Further, when the wavelength dispersion element of HE takes the same position shown in Konno, a first reflective surface that is positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources in the first direction is (1) positioned farther from the plurality of seed sources in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and (2) positioned closer to the wavelength dispersion element.
HE in view of Konno fails to disclose,
the plurality of seed sources being semiconductor laser elements and,
Dejima discloses in Fig. 4,
a plurality of semiconductor laser sources [102] (Para. [0022])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the laser sources of Dejima in place of the laser sources of HE for the purpose of having a laser diode configured to emit light in a wavelength range of 350nm to 550nm. (Dejima Para. [0022])
Regarding claim 18, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 17 above further discloses
wherein the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) do not face the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2], and the plurality of first reflective surfaces face the wavelength dispersion element [See Konno Figs. 1 and 3].
Regarding claim 19, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 17 above further discloses
wherein the wavelength dispersion element [HE 205 Fig. 2] (position of Konno 21 Fig. 3) (Konno Para. [0044]) is disposed farther from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) than the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) [See Konno 21 Fig. 3] in the second direction.
Regarding claim 20, He in view of Konno and Dejima as applied to claim 17 above further discloses
wherein the laser beams emitted from the plurality of semiconductor laser elements [HE 201 Fig. 2] (Para. [5]) (Dejima Para. [102]) are first incident on the plurality of second reflective surfaces [HE top pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2] (HE Para. [5]) and then incident on the plurality of first reflective surfaces [HE bottom pair of mirrors 204 Fig. 2], respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828