DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because the "FIG. 1" label of the single viewing cannot appear in the sheet. See 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification refers to the single view drawing as "FIG. 1.” However, all instances of "FIG. 1" should be replaced by "The FIGURE" or "the FIGURE" as numbered abbreviations are not allowed as there is only one single viewing. See 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). Furthermore, the “FIG. 1” label in the Drawings should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim, which depends on Claim 1, recites “99.9 to 90 wt% of the hosts and 0.1 to 10 wt% of the light-emitting dopant are contained” which renders the exact scope of claim indefinite as it is not clear the weight percentage references of the hosts and dopant materials in the device. The Office has interpreted the weight percentages to refer to percentages of the “at least one of the light emitting layers” for the purpose this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2021/0143340 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/198844 A1 (herein referred to as “Ogawa et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2020/0190115 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/212169 A1 (herein referred to as “Hatakeyama et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Ogawa et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (1), anode (2), hole-injecting layer (3), hole-transporting layer (4), light-emitting layer (5), electron-transporting layer (6), and cathode (7) (Fig. 1; [0053]); at least one of a plurality of light-emitting layers comprises a first host of formula (1), a second host of formula (2), and dopant material (Abstract; [0032]). The weight proportion of the first host is from 20-60%, including 40-50% ([0051]). Dopant materials include fluorescent materials, including thermally activated delayed fluorescence materials at 0.1-20 wt% (including 1-10 wt%) relative to the weight of host materials ([0072]). Ogawa et al. discloses the following embodiments for the first and second hosts, respectively:
(page 5) (second host) such that f = 1, Z3 = formula (3a) (with h = i = 0 and ring A = formula (3b) (with j = 0 and L31 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl))), L3 = substituted aromatic heterocyclic group having 3 carbon atoms (substituted triazinylene), g = 1, and Ar3 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 carbon atoms (biphenyl) of Applicant’s formula (3) and
(page 29) (first host) such that a = b = 0, Ar1 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 carbon atoms (biphenyl), and Y1 = N-Ar1 (with Ar1 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl)) of Applicant’s formulae (1) and (7). However, Ogawa et al. does not explicitly disclose a dopant as recited in Claim 1.
Hatakeyama et al. discloses the following (thermally activated delayed fluorescent) light-emitting material for use in the light-emitting layer (comprising host and dopant materials) of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with high efficiency and long lifetime (Abstract; [0161]-[0162], [0165]):
(page 299) (light emitting dopant) with a ΔEST = 0.02 eV and capable of achieving high efficiency and deep blue color ([0564]-[0565]) such that Y4 = B, X4 = N-Ar4 (with Ar4 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl), v = 0, x = 1, R42 = diarylamino group having 12 carbon atoms (diphenylamino), and rings C-E = aromatic hydrocarbon ring having 6 carbon atoms (benzene) of Applicant’s formula (4) as a partial structure; v = w = z = 0, x = y = 1, R42 = diarylamino group having 12 carbon atoms (diphenylamino), Y4 = B, X4 = N-Ar4 (with Ar4 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl)), rings F-J = aromatic hydrocarbon ring having 6 carbon atoms (benzene) of Applicant’s formula (5); l = 1, R6 = diarylamino group having 12 carbon atoms (diphenylamino), m = k = 0, and X6 = N-Ar6 (with Ar6 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl)) of Applicant’s formula (6). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound (1-1) as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. (as dopant material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hatakeyama et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high efficiency and long lifetime.
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1) as applied above and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 10-2015-0105201).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2021/0143340 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/198844 A1 (herein referred to as “Ogawa et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2020/0190115 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/212169 A1 (herein referred to as “Hatakeyama et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2015-0105201 (herein referred to as “Lee et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device of Claim 1 as shown above. Ogawa et al. discloses at least one of a plurality of light-emitting layers comprises its host materials and dopant material (Abstract; [0032]). However, Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. does not explicitly disclose a first host of Applicant’s formula (2).
Lee et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 109) (first host) such that d = 0 or 1, L2 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl), Ar2 = hydrogen, e = 0 or 1, and R2 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) of Applicant’s formula (2). Lee et al. discloses its inventive compounds as fluorescent host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device ([0159]-[0160], [0170], [0179]); the use results in a device with excellent luminous efficiency and color purity ([0001]). It would have been obvious to incorporate 1 as disclosed by Lee et al. (above) into any one of the other plurality of the light-emitting layers in the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. (as host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Lee et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with excellent luminous efficiency and color purity.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786