DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 07/08/26.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the Drawings and the Specification as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/08/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/08/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 2 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/08/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/08/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 10-2015-0105201) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/08/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2021/0143340 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/198844 A1 (herein referred to as “Ogawa et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Regarding Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, and 12, Ogawa et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (1), anode (2), hole-injecting layer (3), hole-transporting layer (4), light-emitting layer (5), electron-transporting layer (6), and cathode (7) (Fig. 1; [0053]); at least one of a plurality of light-emitting layers comprises a first host of formula (1), a second host of formula (2), and dopant material (Abstract; [0032]). The weight proportion of the first host is from 20-60%, including 40-50% ([0051]). Dopant materials include fluorescent materials, including thermally activated delayed fluorescence materials at 0.1-20 wt% (including 1-10 wt%) relative to the weight of host materials ([0072]). Ogawa et al. discloses the following embodiments for the first and second hosts, respectively:
(page 5) (second host) such that f = 1, Z3 = formula (3a) (with h = i = 0 and ring A = formula (3b) (with j = 0 and L31 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl))), L3 = substituted aromatic heterocyclic group having 3 carbon atoms (substituted triazinylene), g = 1, and Ar3 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 carbon atoms (biphenyl) of Applicant’s formula (3) and
(page 29) (first host) such that a = b = 0, Ar1 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 carbon atoms (biphenyl), and Y1 = N-Ar1 (with Ar1 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl)) of Applicant’s formulae (1) and (7). However, Ogawa et al. does not explicitly disclose a dopant as recited in Claim 1.
Hatakeyama et al. discloses the following (thermally activated delayed fluorescent) light-emitting material for use in the light-emitting layer (comprising host and dopant materials) of an organic EL device as dopant material, the use of which results in an “excellent” device (Abstract; [0045]-[0046], [0117], [0119]):
(page 5) (light emitting dopant) such that v = x = 0, X4 = N-Ar4 (with Ar4 = phenyl), and rings C-E = aromatic hydrocarbon ring having 6 carbon atoms (benzene) of Applicant’s formula (4). It would have been obvious to incorporate Compound (1-401) as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. (as dopant material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hatakeyama et al. which teaches viable dopant materials for the light-emitting layer, the use of which results in an excellent organic EL device.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, it is the position of the Office that the light-emitting dopant as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. (above) would inherently read on the ΔEST energy as recited in the claim. Evidence is provided by the fact that Compound (1-401) is exactly identical to the Applicant’s preferred embodiment Compound 4-2 (see page 84 of the present national phase publication).
11. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274 A1) as applied above and in further view of Nagao et al. (US 2014/0070204 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2021/0143340 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/198844 A1 (herein referred to as “Ogawa et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device of Claim 1 as shown above. Ogawa et al. discloses that the device comprises (optionally) a plurality of light-emitting layers, at least one of which comprises its inventive composition ([0032]); the composition comprising the first and second host materials may be combined with another host material ([0050]). However, Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. does not explicitly disclose a compound of Applicant’s general formula (2) as recited in the claim.
Nagao et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 41) (first host) such that d = 0 or 1, e = 0, Ar2 = hydrogen, and L2 = substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (substituted phenyl) of Applicant’s formula (2). Nagao et al. discloses its inventive compounds as hole-transporting host materials in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with enhanced luminance efficiency ([0079]). It would have been obvious to incorporate Compound [198] as disclosed by Nagao et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. (as additional host material in the light-emitting layer). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Nagao et al., which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with enhanced luminance efficiency.
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2018/198844 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2018/212169 A1) and Nagao et al. (US 2014/0070204 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2021/0143340 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/198844 A1 (herein referred to as “Ogawa et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2020/0190115 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2018/212169 A1 (herein referred to as “Hatakeyama et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Ogawa et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (1), anode (2), hole-injecting layer (3), hole-transporting layer (4), light-emitting layer (5), electron-transporting layer (6), and cathode (7) (Fig. 1; [0053]); at least one of a plurality of light-emitting layers comprises a first host of formula (1), a second host of formula (2), and dopant material (Abstract; [0032]). The weight proportion of the first host is from 20-60%, including 40-50% ([0051]). Dopant materials include fluorescent materials, including thermally activated delayed fluorescence materials at 0.1-20 wt% (including 1-10 wt%) relative to the weight of host materials ([0072]). Ogawa et al. discloses that the device comprises (optionally) a plurality of light-emitting layers, at least one of which comprises its inventive composition ([0032]); the composition comprising the first and second host materials may be combined with another host material ([0050]). Ogawa et al. discloses the following embodiment as the second host:
(page 5) (second host) such that f = 1, Z3 = formula (3a) (with h = i = 0 and ring A = formula (3b) (with j = 0 and L31 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl))), L3 = substituted aromatic heterocyclic group having 3 carbon atoms (substituted triazinylene), g = 1, and Ar3 = unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 carbon atoms (biphenyl) of Applicant’s formula (3). However, Ogawa et al. does not explicitly disclose 1) the recited dopant nor 2) a first host of Applicant’s general formula (2).
Regarding point 1, Hatakeyama et al. discloses the following (thermally activated delayed fluorescent) light-emitting material for use in the light-emitting layer (comprising host and dopant materials) of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with high efficiency and long lifetime (Abstract; [0161]-[0162], [0165]):
(page 299) (light emitting dopant) with a ΔEST = 0.02 eV and capable of achieving high efficiency and deep blue color ([0564]-[0565]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound (1-1) as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. (as dopant material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hatakeyama et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high efficiency and long lifetime. However, Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. does not explicitly disclose a first host of Applicant’s general formula (2).
Regarding point 2, Nagao et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 41) (first host) such that d = 0 or 1, e = 0, Ar2 = hydrogen, and L2 = substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms (substituted phenyl) of Applicant’s formula (2). Nagao et al. discloses its inventive compounds as hole-transporting host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with enhanced luminance efficiency ([0079]). It would have been obvious to incorporate Compound [198] as disclosed by Nagao et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ogawa et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. (as additional host material in the light-emitting layer). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Nagao et al., which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with enhanced luminance efficiency.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-19 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786