DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/14/25, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Popo et al. (Pub No. US 2020/0264897 A1) [0120] lines 1-14, [0121] lines 1-7, [0147] lines 1-13, [0157] lines 1-5 and [0158] lines 1-7 that shows the specifics of a PXE template that is filled out with a JSON object of an OTTR constructor for the virtual system requirements that can include specific location/position fields including both physical and logical location/position identifier in an environment viewed as including MAC address information in the PXE template where the teachings of Tarves Col. 5 lines 1-8, Col. 6 lines 44-50, Col. 7 lines 34-45 and claims 21 shows the specifics of configuration information for a server/node in a data center and information of the data center where the server belongs where configuration information can include host name/address viewed as type of node position type information and data center identifier information and the teachings of Juang [0033] lines 4-17, [0034] lines 7-10, [0036] lines 5-20, [0039] lines 1-16, [0040] lines 1-12 and [0042] lines 1-6 that shows the specifics of the embedded script, that can be an iPXE script, within the remote disk image including configuration information used to configure/set the server from the mounted remote disk image where it is seen that the embedded script is included in the boot firmware that is put in the bootable disk image that is built before it is connected to the BMC and where that embedded script is latter read and thus viewed as extracted from the image to configure target server according to contained configuration information where configuration information can contain at least MAC address associated with target server and thus together can be viewed as teachings the specifics of embedding an iPXE script in a remote disk image, where the PXE is associated with a template that is filled out with virtual system requirements that can include specific location/position fields including both physical and logical location/position identifier in an environment where the requirements are seen in Juang and Tarves that can include server/node position/location in a data center where that generated script is later extracted and read from the image and used to boot and configure the server according to the information in the script.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0147335 A1), in view of McLoughlin et al. (Pub. No. US 2007/0276916 A1), in view of Popo et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0264897 A1)and further in view of Tarves, Jr et al. (Patent No. US 9,183,097 B2).
As to claim 1, 6 and 7, Howard discloses a server apparatus, comprising: at least one memory configured to store program code (Juang [0063] lines 6-12); and
electronic circuitry including at least one processor, the at least one processor being configured to read and operate according to the program code, the electronic circuitry configured to (Juang [0063] lines 6-12):
receive, via a network from a server management apparatus connected to the server apparatus, a command to mount a remote disk image of a remote disk, the remote disk image generated by the server management apparatus in which an iPXE script is embedded in the remote disk image during generation of the remote disk image (Juang [0033] lines 4-17, [0034] lines 7-10, [0035] lines 1-3, [0036] lines 5-20, [0039] lines 1-16 and [0040] lines 1-12 and [0042] lines 1-6; which shows the ability for a management/deployment sever, that can receive commands/instructions over a network associated to generating a disk image, viewed as a remote disk image as remote from server to be mounted to, and associated firmware and script, where the script can be an iPXE script, where the script is embedded in the firmware that is put inside the generated disk image as part of its creation);
mount, in response to reception of the command, the remote disk image on a circuit board of the server apparatus (Juang [0034] lines 7-10, [0036] lines 5-20 and [0040] lines 8-12; which shows being able to mount the remote disk image onto the baseboard management controller, viewed as the circuit board of the circuit apparatus, of the target server responsive to commands/instructions data received to generate the remote image for the target server apparatus);
extract the iPXE script embedded in the mounted remote disk image, the iPXE script including configuration information and identifier information of the server apparatus, the identifier information includes at least one of a serial number and a MAC address of the server apparatus (Juang [0034] lines 7-10, [0036] lines 5-20, [0039] lines 1-16, [0040] lines 1-12 and [0042] lines 1-6; which show that the boot firmware including the script, which can be an iPXE script, is read/extracted and used to boot up the target server based on its information thus the information is viewed as being extracted where the boot firmware and thus associate script is used to configure the associated target server and thus viewed as including type of configuration that including identification information that is able to find NIC that matches the MAC address found by the deployment server of the target server, thus viewed as type of identifier information of the server apparatus includes its MAC address information of the server apparatus/target server viewed as the type of identifier information including in configuration information for the server);
boot the server apparatus in accordance with the iPXE script extracted from the remote disk image (Juang [0034] lines 7-10, [0036] lines 5-20, and [0042] lines 1-6; which show that the boot firmware including the script, that can be an iPXE script, is read/extracted and used to boot up the target server based on its information where the bootable firmware is part of the created bootable disk image that is mounted to the target server/server apparatus ); and
set, in accordance with the iPXE script extracted from the remote disk image during a PXE booting of the server apparatus, configuration information and identifier information of the server apparatus based on the configuration information and the identifier information included in the iPXE script (Juang [0033] lines 4-17, [0034] lines 7-10, [0036] lines 5-20, and [0042] lines 1-6; which show as part of the boot up of the target server using the boot firmware, that the script, viewed as including an iPXE script, that is embedded in the boot firmware is used to configure the target server according to its information, viewed as including configuration information where the configuration information of the script is specifically seen to configure the IP address for the server thus showing the ability to set/configure the server apparatus based on the script inside the firmware that is seen a specifically setting/configuring the IP address with the server viewed as the identifier/configuration information of the target server, where the specific details of the set configuration information are seen specifically in the teachings of Tarves below).
Juang does not specifically disclose the specifics of the remote disk image of a remote disk stored at the server management apparatus.
However, McLoughlin discloses the specifics of the remote disk image of a remote disk stored at the server management apparatus (McLoughlin [0022] lines 1-6; which shows the specifics of the disk image being generated based on associated/target specific/underlying disk viewed as type of disk stored on the device, which in light of the specific teachings of Juang of the server management apparatus and the creation of the remote disk above can be viewed together as being able to generate the remote disk image of the remote disk stored at the server management apparatus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of McLoughlin showing the creation of a specific disk image into the disk image creation and deployment of Juang for the purpose of increasing the protection of the data stored on the actual disk of the server by creating the specific image of the disk that is to be used by others so the data on the actual disk is protected, as taught by McLoughlin [0022] lines 4-12.
Juang as modified by McLoughlin do not specifically disclose the iPXE script generated by filling a pre-defined template of the iPXE information based on node information that includes positional information.
However, Popo discloses the iPXE script generated by filling a pre-defined template of the iPXE information based on node information that includes positional information (Popo [0120] lines 1-14, [0121] lines 1-7, [0147] lines 1-13, [0157] lines 1-5, [0158] lines 1-7 and [0205] lines 13-19; that shows the specifics of a PXE template that is filled out with a JSON object of an OTTR constructor for the virtual system requirements that can include specific location/position fields including both physical and logical location/position identifier in an environment viewed as including MAC address information in the PXE template and used to generate a script for booting virtual machine/image over a network, viewed as a type of iPXE script).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Popo showing the specifics of generating a script by filling out PXE template with information, into the iPXE script generation of Juang as modified by McLoughlin for the purpose of increasing ease of user control by allowing for generation according to user preferences through the use of template kickstart installation, as taught by Popo [0147] lines 1-13 and [0158] lines 1-7.
Juang as modified by McLoughlin and Popo do not specifically disclose the specifics of that node information that includes positional information of a node in a data center; and the configuration information including information of the data center to which the server apparatus belongs.
However, Tarves disclose the specifics of that node information that includes positional information of a node in a data center; and the configuration information including information of the data center to which the server apparatus belongs (Tarves Col. 5 lines 1-8, Col. 6 lines 44-50, Col. 7 lines 34-45 and claims 21; which shows that file configuration information for a particular server can include further identifier information including specific data center associated with the particular server/host/node in a data center and host address information, viewed as position/location information, and in light of the teachings of Juang above showing how the script including configuration information and identifying information of the server apparatus and Popo showing the specifics template filled with configuration information that includes address/location/position information of server that can be both physical and logical position/location information can together be viewed as showing the specifics of node information that includes positional information of a node in a data center and the configuration information including information of the data center to which the server apparatus belongs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Tarves showing the specifics of detailed configuration file information for the server including data associated data center identifier information, into the ability to set up and configure a server according to a script with configuration information of Juang as modified by McLoughlin and Popo for the purpose of increasing the details for use in configuration files for configuring server based on specific identifying information available to more accurately configure server according to more detailed information, as taught by Tarver Col. 7 lines 13-45.
As to claim 2, Juang discloses the electronic circuitry further configured to: send, to the server management apparatus, a request to distribute an OS (Operating System) to be installed on the server apparatus using the identifier information set to the server apparatus (Juang [0032] lines 3-9, [0038] lines 4-5 and [0039] lines 1-16; which shows a controlled process by an administrator that is able to provide request to the deployment/management server apparatus for deployment/distributing of images including a live OS to be deployed/installed on a target server based on received identifier information, viewed as IP address, slot and port information for the target server); and
install the OS distributed from the server management apparatus to the server apparatus in response to the request (Juang [0032] lines 3-9, [0038] lines 4-5, [0039] lines 1-16 and [0043] lines 1-4; which shows the boot up/install of the OS associated with the distributed information image from the deployment/management server to the target server in response to the receive request/commands/instructions).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juang, McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0208021 A1).
As to claim 3, Juang as modified by McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves do not specifically disclose wherein installing installs the OS to the server apparatus by running an installation procedure distributed along with the OS from the server management apparatus.
However, Yang discloses wherein installing installs the OS to the server apparatus by running an installation procedure distributed along with the OS from the server management apparatus (Yang [0132] lines 8-14; which shows being able to distribute/transmit the image file of the mini OS/the OS and send installation instructions, viewed as installation procedure, along with the OS information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yang showing the ability to send installation procedure instructions along with the OS to be installed into the sending OS information for deployment of Juang as modified by McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves for the purpose of increasing consistency by increasing control over action for the installation of information as taught by Yang [0131] lines 1-9 and [0132] lines 8-14.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juang, McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0348836 A1)
As to claim 4, Juang as modified by McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves do not specifically disclose wherein the server apparatus is booted triggered by a command issued from the server management apparatus to turn on power of the server apparatus.
However, Huang discloses wherein the server apparatus is booted triggered by a command issued from the server management apparatus to turn on power of the server apparatus (Huang [0007] lines 1-11; which shows that the sever system/apparatus is booted up in response to receiving a command to power on, where the specifics of a server management apparatus is seen specifically disclosed above in the teachings of Juang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang showing the specifics of a power on command for booting a server into the mounting and booting a sever in the teachings of Juang as modified by McLoughlin, Popo and Tarves for the purpose of increasing direct control of installing sever by further including specific commands for trigger powering up and boot up of the server, as taught by Huang [0007] lines 1-11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADFORD F WHEATON/Examiner, Art Unit 2193