DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions & Status of Claims
Claims 4 and 5 are examined of which claim 4 was amended in Applicant’s reply.
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 April 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art
(mass%)
C
0.0001 – 0.15
0.1 or less
Si
0.30 – 2.0
0.2 – 1
Mn
0.1 – 15
0.2 – 2
P
0.01 – 0.040
See below
Ni
5 – 30
3 – 15
S
0.0001 – 0.1
0.005 or less
Cr
16 – 25
13 – 20
Mo
5 or less
5 or less
Al
0.005 or less
0.005 or less
Ca
0.0030 or less
0.0001 – 0.01
Mg
0.0010 or less
0.0001 – 0.01
O
0.0010 – 0.0060
0.0005 – 0.01
N
0.0001 – 0.5
0.01 – 0.05
Cu, REM, B, Ti, Nb, V, W, Co, Sn
Claim 5: at least any one of
Cu: 0.1 – 4.0, REM 0.00001 – 0.0030,
B: 0.0001 – 0.0050, Ti: 0.01 – 0.50,
Nb: 0.01 – 0.50, V: 0.01 – 1.00,
W: 0.01 – 1.00, Co: 0.01 – 1.00 and
Sn: 0.01 – 1.00
Nb: 0.05 – 1
Fe +
impurities
Balance
Balance
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015074807 A and its English machine translation (JP’807) as evidenced by WO 2020/004595 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2021/0273232 A1 of Nagata (US’232).
Regarding claims 4-5, JP 2015074807 A and its English machine translation (JP’807) teaches {abstract, [0001], [0022]-[0038]} “a stainless steel excellent in surface quality” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Regarding the recited limitation of “the number of inclusions with a maximum equivalent circle diameter of 5 µm or more is 0.5 inclusions/mm2 or less” of instant claim 4, the prior art teaches {abstract, claims 1-6} “non-metallic inclusion contained in the stainless steel contains one or more kind of MgO, MgO·Al2O3 and CaO – SiO2 – MgO – Al2O3 -based oxide, the non-metallic inclusion having a length of 5 μm or more is 100 or less per any 1 cm and MgO·Al2O3 in the non-metallic inclusion is 50% or less by the number ratio” thereby reading on the instant limitations.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding the stainless steel foil and the thickness of the foil being “0.010 mm or more and 0.2 mm or less” of instant claim 4. However, MPEP provides that with regard to the shape, merely changing the shape/size/proportion of a prior art product would not be sufficient to distinguish from that prior art product as it has been held that changing the shape/size/proportion would require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV). Therefore, making the specific thickness as claimed in the instant claims would require only ordinary skill in the art since thickness modification using rolling is well known in the art of steel making.
Regarding the amended limitation of P: 0.01 mass% or more and 0.040 mass% or less of claim 4, the prior art JP’807 does not explicitly teach the presence of P as recited in the instant claim. However, the prior art JP’807 teaches that its steel other than the recited compositional constituents and ranges, the steel has {abstract, claims 1, 6} “the balance Fe with inevitable impurities”. In the same field of endeavor of stainless steel with inclusions, WO 2020/004595 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2021/0273232 A1 of Nagata (US’232) teaches “[0072] P (phosphorus) is an impurity element and an element obstructing the manufacturability and weldability, so the content should be as small as possible. For keeping the manufacturability or weldability from falling, the upper limit of the content is made 0.050%. From the viewpoint of the manufacturability or weldability, the content should be as small as possible. The upper limit may be preferably made 0.040%, more preferably 0.030%. Further, excessive reduction leads to an increase in the refining costs, so the lower limit of the content of P may be made 0.005%. More preferably, considering the manufacturing costs, it may be made 0.010%.” As the prior art JP’807 teaches that its steel other than the recited compositional constituents and ranges, the steel has {abstract, claims 1, 6} “the balance Fe with inevitable impurities”, one would expect the steel of JP’807 to have P in a range of 0.050 or less as US’232 teaches that P is an impurity element encountered during the manufacturing and is encountered in a range pf 0.050% or less.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the recited P amount, please see how the prior art reads on the instant range.
Regarding the arguments directed to the thickness, it is agreed that the prior art is silent regarding the stainless steel foil and the thickness of the foil being “0.010 mm or more and 0.2 mm or less” of instant claim 4. However, MPEP provides that with regard to the shape, merely changing the shape/size/proportion of a prior art product would not be sufficient to distinguish from that prior art product as it has been held that changing the shape/size/proportion would require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV). Therefore, making the specific thickness as claimed in the instant claims would require only ordinary skill in the art since thickness modification using rolling is well known in the art of steel making.
As noted above, the prior art renders the instant claims obvious. If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2145. Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. See MPEP § 2145 I.
Conclusion
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733