DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US 2017/0013884).
Claims 1, 6, 11, 14, and 15. Dai et al. discloses an electronic cigarette 10 comprising a proximal cylindrical housing section 14 containing a liquid storage chamber 36 ([0028]; [0033]; Figure 1). The liquid reservoir 32 may be a collapsible liquid reservoir 32 and may resemble a bladder that is made of a plastic, a little or non-elastic thin film, or any type of material that is collapsible and may hold liquid or a solid tube with an inside sliding plug. The liquid reservoir 32 may be enlarged when filled with a desired liquid to be vaporized. As liquid is drawn from the reservoir, the liquid reservoir 32 may collapse and shrink (level of liquid within the reservoir is variable) ([0042]; Figure 1). Dai et al. discloses liquid reservoir 32 having walls made of a plastic, a little or non-elastic thin film, or any type of material that is collapsible and may hold liquid, where the walls are arranged along different axes along the wall ([0042]; Figure 1).
Claims 2, 7, and 12. Dai et al. discloses that the electronic cigarette 10 comprises a liquid transport device 26 (wick) connected to the opening of the liquid reservoir 32 ([0032]-[0033]; Figure 1 showing resilient walls of the liquid storage chamber 36 on each side of the liquid transport device 26 (wick)).
Claims 5 and 10. Dai et al. discloses liquid reservoir 32 having non-equal spacing between the walls (Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that in Dai, the liquid reservoir 32 is a collapsible bladder that collapses as liquid is drawn from the reservoir. Dai teaches that the reservoir does not contain gases so the liquid stays at a constant pressure. Applicant asserts that Dai does not teach “wherein a level of the liquid within the cartomizer is variable”. Examiner disagrees, since the specification does not provide a specific definition for “a level of the liquid” and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a level of liquid” is “an amount of liquid” in the reservoir. The claims do not require that the reservoir contains both liquid and a gas where the interface between the liquid and gas is defined as “the level”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747