Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments: On page 5 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Nayeb in view of Huawei in further view of Panasonic does not teach the amended claim 7 as recited :” A terminal comprising :a receiver that receives, in frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, multiple downlink control information (DCJs) scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that overlap in time and correspond to different control resource set (CORESET) groups, respectively; and a processor that selects, for each frequency domain of the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCIs.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 7 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is used that does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. Applicant has amended the claim to recite “ receives, in frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, selects, for each frequency domain of the frequency domains, a DCI.” An updated search was conducted and a new reference is applied as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svedman et al. (US
2023/0076897) (hereafter “Svedman”) view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #96bis; R1-1904190;
Panasonic; "On multi-TRP enhancements for NR MIMO in Rel. 16"; Xi'an, China, April 8-12, 2019 (13
pages) (hereafter “Panasonic”).
Regarding claim 7, A terminal comprising: a receiver the receives (Svedman, Fig. 1B, Ref. 120), in a frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, that receives multiple downlink control information (DCI).
Svedman [0158]; In some cases, if the UE successfully receives multiple DCIs,
Svedman [0249]; DCI duplication may be enabled for a cell or for a BWP by configuration, e.g. by
an RRC parameter in the PDCCH-Config IE, such as in Table 11.
scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that overlap in time and correspond to different control resource set (CORESET) groups, respectively.
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process.
Svedman Fig. 4 [0172]; In some cases, PDCCH resources are multiplexed in time (TDMed), e.g. in partly overlapping or non-overlapping sets of symbols in a slot. In some cases, the TDMed PDCCH resources are associated (through the corresponding CORESETs) with different TCI states IDs, which may correspond to different TRPs or beams. TDM of two PDCCH resources is illustrated in FIG. 4.
and a processor (Svedman, Fig. 1B, Ref. 118) that selects DCI, for each frequency
domain of the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCI.
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process, the UE could discard all DCIs but one, since they would be invalid or inconsistent. A remaining valid DCI could be determined to be valid after the other DCIs have been discarded as invalid.
Svedman, Fig. 9 [0310]; FIG. 9 is an illustration of the case that two PDCCH indicate that same PDSCH
but different PUCCH resources, for the special case that the PDCCH, PDSCH and PUCCH are in the same
BWP (e.g. also same carrier). In other cases, the UE may select one or a subset of the PUCCH
resources indicated by the DCIs in the DCI set. This UE selection of one or a subset of the DCIs, whose
content the UE will follow, may be based on a set of criteria.
Svedman does not teach different control resource set (CORESET) groups.
Panasonic teaches different control resource set (CORESET) groups. (Panasonic, page 12, Proposal 8,
Proposal 8: To support multiple PDCCH based multi-TRP/panel transmission with intra-cell (same
cell ID) and inter-cell (different Cell IDs) by using separate CORESET for each TRP, common channels
should be transmitted only using a single CORESET that is transmitted only from a single TRP that can
be assigned as a primary or master TRP. )
( Note: according to spec [0069]; Note that as used herein, the following may be replaced with one
another: the CDM group, the group, the CORESET, the PDSCH, a codeword, the antenna port group
(for example, a DMRS port group), a reference signal group, a CORESET group, and the like. The
antenna group and the TRP may be replaced with each other. As such the teachings of Panasonic meet
the claim when taken in light of the specification. )
Svedman and Panasonic are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
in the same field of endeavor, multiple TRP transmission with scheduling plurality of PDSCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Svedman in the manner described above to define the coordination of the
plurality of PDSCH in a CORESET group (CORESET) to show the overlapping area of PDSCH.
Regarding claim 9, A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving, in a frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, that receives multiple downlink control information (DCI).
Svedman [0158]; In some cases, if the UE successfully receives multiple DCIs,
Svedman [0249]; DCI duplication may be enabled for a cell or for a BWP by configuration, e.g. by
an RRC parameter in the PDCCH-Config IE, such as in Table 11.
scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that overlap in time and correspond to different control resource set (CORESET) groups, respectively.
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process.
Svedman Fig. 4 [0172]; In some cases, PDCCH resources are multiplexed in time (TDMed), e.g. in partly overlapping or non-overlapping sets of symbols in a slot. In some cases, the TDMed PDCCH resources are associated (through the corresponding CORESETs) with different TCI states IDs, which may correspond to different TRPs or beams. TDM of two PDCCH resources is illustrated in FIG. 4.
and a processor (Svedman, Fig. 1B, Ref. 118) that selects DCI, for each frequency
domain of the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCI.
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process, the UE could discard all DCIs but one, since they would be invalid or inconsistent. A remaining valid DCI could be determined to be valid after the other DCIs have been discarded as invalid.
Svedman, Fig. 9 [0310]; FIG. 9 is an illustration of the case that two PDCCH indicate that same PDSCH
but different PUCCH resources, for the special case that the PDCCH, PDSCH and PUCCH are in the same
BWP (e.g. also same carrier). In other cases, the UE may select one or a subset of the PUCCH
resources indicated by the DCIs in the DCI set. This UE selection of one or a subset of the DCIs, whose
content the UE will follow, may be based on a set of criteria.
Svedman does not teach different control resource set (CORESET) groups.
Panasonic teaches different control resource set (CORESET) groups. (Panasonic, page 12, Proposal 8,
Proposal 8: To support multiple PDCCH based multi-TRP/panel transmission with intra-cell (same
cell ID) and inter-cell (different Cell IDs) by using separate CORESET for each TRP, common channels
should be transmitted only using a single CORESET that is transmitted only from a single TRP that can
be assigned as a primary or master TRP. )
( Note: according to spec [0069]; Note that as used herein, the following may be replaced with one
another: the CDM group, the group, the CORESET, the PDSCH, a codeword, the antenna port group
(for example, a DMRS port group), a reference signal group, a CORESET group, and the like. The
antenna group and the TRP may be replaced with each other. As such the teachings of Panasonic meet
the claim when taken in light of the specification. )
Svedman and Panasonic are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
in the same field of endeavor, multiple TRP transmission with scheduling plurality of PDSCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Svedman in the manner described above to define the coordination of the
plurality of PDSCH in a CORESET group (CORESET) to show the overlapping area of PDSCH.
Regarding claim 11, A system (Svedman, Fig. 1) comprising a terminal (Svedman, Fig. 1, Ref. 102) and a base station (Svedman, Fig. 1, Ref 114a), wherein the base station (Svedman, Fig. 1, Ref 114a), comprises:
a transmitter (Svedman, Fig. 1, Ref 114a) that transmits multiple downlink control information (DCI),
Svemdan [0031]; By way of example, the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station (BTS)
[0158] It is significant to be able to schedule a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission, also in some cases in which a DCI is repeated.
scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that overlap in time and correspond to different control resource set (CORESET) groups, respectively,
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process.
Svedman Fig. 4 [0172]; In some cases, PDCCH resources are multiplexed in time (TDMed), e.g. in partly overlapping or non-overlapping sets of symbols in a slot. In some cases, the TDMed PDCCH resources are associated (through the corresponding CORESETs) with different TCI states IDs, which may correspond to different TRPs or beams. TDM of two PDCCH resources is illustrated in FIG. 4.
And the terminal comprises :a receiver (Svedman, Fig. 1B, Ref. 120) that receives
in a frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, that receives multiple DCIs.
Svedman [0158]; In some cases, if the UE successfully receives multiple DCIs,
Svedman [0249]; DCI duplication may be enabled for a cell or for a BWP by configuration, e.g. by
an RRC parameter in the PDCCH-Config IE, such as in Table 11.
and a processor (Svedman, Fig. 1B, Ref. 118) that selects DCI, for each frequency
domain of the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCI.
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process, the UE could discard all DCIs but one, since they would be invalid or inconsistent. A remaining valid DCI could be determined to be valid after the other DCIs have been discarded as invalid.
Svedman, Fig. 9 [0310]; FIG. 9 is an illustration of the case that two PDCCH indicate that same PDSCH
but different PUCCH resources, for the special case that the PDCCH, PDSCH and PUCCH are in the same
BWP (e.g. also same carrier). In other cases, the UE may select one or a subset of the PUCCH
resources indicated by the DCIs in the DCI set. This UE selection of one or a subset of the DCIs, whose
content the UE will follow, may be based on a set of criteria.
Svedman does not teach different control resource set (CORESET) groups.
Panasonic teaches different control resource set (CORESET) groups. (Panasonic, page 12, Proposal 8,
Proposal 8: To support multiple PDCCH based multi-TRP/panel transmission with intra-cell (same
cell ID) and inter-cell (different Cell IDs) by using separate CORESET for each TRP, common channels
should be transmitted only using a single CORESET that is transmitted only from a single TRP that can
be assigned as a primary or master TRP. )
( Note: according to spec [0069]; Note that as used herein, the following may be replaced with one
another: the CDM group, the group, the CORESET, the PDSCH, a codeword, the antenna port group
(for example, a DMRS port group), a reference signal group, a CORESET group, and the like. The
antenna group and the TRP may be replaced with each other. As such the teachings of Panasonic meet
the claim when taken in light of the specification. )
Svedman and Panasonic are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
in the same field of endeavor, multiple TRP transmission with scheduling plurality of PDSCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Svedman in the manner described above to define the coordination of the
plurality of PDSCH in a CORESET group (CORESET) to show the overlapping area of PDSCH.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svedman in view of Nayeb
et al. (US 2011/0243066 A1) (hereafter “Nayeb”) in further view of Panasonic.
Regarding claim 10, A base station (Svedman, Fig. 1, Ref. 114 (a)) comprising: a processor ( Svedman, Fig. 1F, Ref. 91) that schedules a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that overlap in time and correspond to different control resource set (CORESET) groups, respectively;
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process.
Svedman Fig. 4 [0172]; In some cases, PDCCH resources are multiplexed in time (TDMed), e.g. in partly overlapping or non-overlapping sets of symbols in a slot. In some cases, the TDMed PDCCH resources are associated (through the corresponding CORESETs) with different TCI states IDs, which may correspond to different TRPs or beams. TDM of two PDCCH resources is illustrated in FIG. 4.
And a transmitter that transmits, in frequency domains configured by higher layer signaling, multiple downlink control information (DCIs) scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs,
Svemdan [0031]; By way of example, the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station (BTS).
Svedman [0158]; In some cases, if the UE successfully receives multiple DCIs (its inherent that the UE is receiving from the base station)
Svedman [0249]; DCI duplication may be enabled for a cell or for a BWP by configuration, e.g. by
an RRC parameter in the PDCCH-Config IE, such as in Table 11.
and, terminal selects, for each frequency domain of the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCIs,
Svedman Fig. 3 [0158]; each DCI scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH overlapping in time on the same HARQ process, the UE could discard all DCIs but one, since they would be invalid or inconsistent. A remaining valid DCI could be determined to be valid after the other DCIs have been discarded as invalid.
Svedman, Fig. 9 [0310]; FIG. 9 is an illustration of the case that two PDCCH indicate that same PDSCH
but different PUCCH resources, for the special case that the PDCCH, PDSCH and PUCCH are in the same
BWP (e.g. also same carrier). In other cases, the UE may select one or a subset of the PUCCH
resources indicated by the DCIs in the DCI set. This UE selection of one or a subset of the DCIs, whose
content the UE will follow, may be based on a set of criteria.
Svedman does not teach after a terminal selects, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCIs, transmits a PDSCH scheduled by the selected DCI.
Nayeb teaches after a terminal selects DCI to use out of the multiple DCI, transmits feedback.
( Nayeb [0175]; If a UE finds multiple reference DCIs for the same subframe, for example using any of the means disclosed above, the UE may be configured to mute any ACK/NACK feedback corresponding to the particular subframe. Alternatively, the UE may be configured to select one of the multiple reference DCIs to use as the reference DCI for the subframe by selecting the reference DCI randomly from among the multiple reference DCIs, selecting the DCI received on the PDCCH of a serving cell with a specific index or priority (e.g., CC index/priority, DCI rx), selecting the DCI corresponding to a PDSCH transmission of a serving cell with a specific index or priority (e.g., CC index/priority, PDSCH tx), or selecting the DCI received with a specific characteristic (i.e., using at least one of DCI Characteristics set forth above.)
(Nayeb [0176];If a UE fails to find any reference DCI for a given subframe, the UE may be configured to implement another embodiment disclosed herein, including muting any ACK/NACK feedback corresponding to the subframe or transmitting ACK/NACK feedback on a configured PUCCH resource) (if UE does not find DCI, it mutes the feedback (does not transmit feedback) and if it finds DCI, it may transmit feedback).
transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the selected DCI.
(Nayeb [0150]; While the present embodiments include methods to transmit uplink feedback for downlink transmission(s) and thus mainly refer to a DCI that would typically schedule one or more PDSCH transmission(s), the applicability of the embodiments described herein is not limited to this specific case. For example, a DCI received by a UE which DCI signals (de)activation of a configured assignment such as "SPS release", of a configured grant or of a configured SCell, may also require HARQ ACK/NACK transmission from the UE.)
In view of Nayeb, Svedman is modified such that after a terminal selects, for each frequency domain of
the frequency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCIs, transmits a PDSCH scheduled by the
selected DCI.
Nayeb and Svedman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, selection of a DCI from multiple DCIs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Svedman in the manner described above so that for each freqiuency domain of the
freqiuency domains, a DCI to use out of the multiple DCIs, transmits a PDSCH scheduled by the selected
DCI.
Svedman in view of Nayeb does not teach different control resource set (CORESET) groups.
Panasonic teaches different control resource set (CORESET) groups. (Panasonic, page 12, Proposal 8,
Proposal 8: To support multiple PDCCH based multi-TRP/panel transmission with intra-cell (same
cell ID) and inter-cell (different Cell IDs) by using separate CORESET for each TRP, common channels
should be transmitted only using a single CORESET that is transmitted only from a single TRP that can
be assigned as a primary or master TRP. )
( Note: according to spec [0069]; Note that as used herein, the following may be replaced with one
another: the CDM group, the group, the CORESET, the PDSCH, a codeword, the antenna port group
(for example, a DMRS port group), a reference signal group, a CORESET group, and the like. The
antenna group and the TRP may be replaced with each other.)
Svedman and Panasonic are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
in the same field of endeavor, multiple TRP transmission with scheduling plurality of PDSCH.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Svedman in the manner described above to define the coordination of the
plurality of PDSCH in a CORESET group (CORESET) to show the overlapping area of PDSCH.
Svedman and Panasonic does not teach in frequency domains configured by higher layer
signaling, selects, for each frequency domain of the frequency domains, a DCI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478