DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-15, 20, 22-25 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (US 2019/0067595) (Jang) and further in view of Lee et al (Mater. Res. Express (5) 076201, 2018) (Lee).
In reference to claims 1, 12-13, 20, 22-25 and 29-33, Jang teaches a device comprising an anode, a cathode, a light emitting layer, a hole transport layer, an optional hole blocking layer, a first electron transport layer, a second electron transport layer between the first electron transport layer and the cathode, an electron blocking layer, a hole injecting layer, and an electron injection layer (Jang [0004], [0009]; [0121]; [0443]) wherein the first electron transport layer comprises a compound of formula 1 (Jang [0009]) such as the compound 1-5 (Jang [0258]) and the second electron transport layer comprises a compound of formula 3 as shown below and an n-dopant.
Given that Jang discloses the device structure that encompasses the presently claimed device, including wherein the first electron transport layer comprises the compounds of formula 1 and the second electron transport layer comprises the compounds of formula 3, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device structure, which is both disclosed by Jang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Jang does not require that the electron transport layer does not comprise a metal dopant, Jang also does not teach or even suggest that such a metal dopant must be present. The ordinarily skilled artisan, given the teachings of Jang would have found it immediately obvious not to have added additional features not required by Jang.
Jang is silent with respect to the thickness of the electron transport layers.
However, such an optimization is routine in the art.
With respect to the difference, Lee teaches, in analogous art, the effects of the thickness of the electron transport layer in sample OLED devices. Lee concludes that varying the thickness of the electron transport layer from thinner than the hole transport layer(s) to thicker than the hole transport layer(s) results in reductions in driving voltage by improving charge balance and concentrating recombination in the emission layer (Lee abstract, conclusion).
In light of the motivation of using thicker electron transport layers as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the thicker electron transport as described by Lee in order to improve driving voltage by optimizing the layer thickness and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Jang in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the relative layer thicknesses as presently claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary electron transport layer thickness taught by Jang in view of Lee, including over the presently claimed relative thicknesses, in order to optimize charge balance and recombination in the emission layer.
For Claim 1: Reads on an anode, and a cathode, an emitting layer, the first electron transport layer reads on a first layer, the second electron transport layer reads on a third layer, the compound of formula 1-5 reads on formula B1 wherein R4 and R5 are each phenyl, R1 is phenyl, R2 is biphenyl, X1, X2 and X3 are each N, LA is a single bond, the compound of formula 3 reads on an azole and the layer thickness as claimed.
For Claim 12: Reads on phenyl.
For Claim 13: Reads on phenyl.
For Claim 20: Reads on wherein one of X1, X2 and X3 is a nitrogen atom.
For Claim 22: Reads on wherein X1, X2 and X3 are each N.
For Claim 23: Reads on wherein R1 and R2 are phenyl or biphenyl.
For Claim 24: Reads on wherein R1 and R2 are phenyl or biphenyl.
For Claim 25: Reads on wherein R1 and R2 are phenyl or biphenyl.
For Claim 29: Reads on unsubstituted.
For Claim 30: Reads on the distances as claimed.
For Claim 31: Reads on 100 nm or more.
For Claim 32: Reads on wherein the emitting layer and transport layer are in contact.
For Claim 33: Reads on wherein the optional hole blocking layer is a second layer.
In reference to claims 14-15, Jang in view of Lee teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Jang further teaches that the phenyl groups on the fluorene can be fused to form a spiro ring (Jang [0016]).
Jang discloses the compound that encompasses the presently claimed compounds, including the formation of a spiro ring. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Jang are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Jang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al (US 2014/0239273) (Mizutani) and further in view of Lee et al (Mater. Res. Express (5) 076201, 2018) (Lee).
In reference to claim 21, Jang in view of Lee teaches the device as described above for claim 1.
Jang does not specifically teach that the electron transport layer can include a pyridine instead of a triazine compound.
With respect to the difference, Ahn teaches, in analogous art, materials of formula 1 that overlaps with the formula 1 of Jang for use in an organic electroluminescent device including compound C-79 . Ahn further teaches that the use of these materials imparts low driving voltage, high luminous and power efficiency and long lifetime (Ahn [0009] [0044]).
In light of the motivation of using C-79 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the c-79 as described by Ahn in order to impart low driving voltage, high luminous and power efficiency and long lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786