DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 16 – 27 are pending. Claims 1 – 15 and 28 – 30 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
The claim set is objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite a reservoir/pouch and then in some instances recited the pouch/reservoir. Claim limitations need to be consistent throughout. Further examples are washing/cleaning applicator means and sponge/applicator means. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the reservoir or pouch is flexible or collapsible as the sole means of dispensing the agent/material from the reservoir/pouch” in lines 14 – 15. The limitation, however, does not find support in the specification. The specification explicitly teaches “it is possible in some embodiments that, additionally or alternatively, a control button is provided to release or help release said agent”. Applicant is advised to show support for “sole means” or to cancel the limitation as it constitutes new matter.
Claims 17 – 27 are further rejected as dependents of rejected claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearman (U. S. Patent No. 1,217,054) in view of Anderson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0072961 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Pearson teaches a closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), in use, secured by way of a hand grip portion (6; Fig. 2) to a removable sponge or washing/cleaning applicator means (B; Fig. 2), said reservoir/ pouch (A) being exposed above the hand grip portion (6) for squeezing by hand and having an exposed or external inlet (4) for receiving a cleansing or washing or treatment agent or material and at least one outlet nozzle or valve (valve, 8) on a bottom wall of the pouch/reservoir (A) through which said agent/material be dispensed onto the sponge/applicator means (lines 43 – 65), said inlet (4) being spaced or remote from the at least one outlet nozzle or valve (8; Fig. 2), wherein the reservoir/pouch (A) is secured to the hand grip portion (6) having a hand grip skirt (20) projecting outwardly from the reservoir/pouch (A), which surrounds and holds or secures the sponge/applicator means (B) inserted upwardly in a downwardly open recess or well-formed in the hand grip portion (lines 43 – 65) with the bottom wall of the pouch/reservoir (A), said recess or well (where plate, 13 is inserted; Fig. 2) matching dimensions of the sponge/applicator means (B) and having upper and side walling for tightly receiving, gripping, encapsulating and retaining the sponge or washing/cleaning applicator means while covering the at least one outlet nozzle or valve (Fig. 2), and in which the reservoir or pouch (A) is flexible or collapsible on squeezing by hand (Fig. 2), and, wherein, in use, the hand grip portion is squeezable with the reservoir pouch to dispense the cleaning or washing or treatment agent/material from the reservoir/pouch (lines 43 – 65) from said at least one outlet nozzle or valve into the recess or well and spread out through said sponge/applicator means (lines 43 – 65).
Pearson does not explicitly teach the reservoir or pouch is flexible or collapsible as the sole means of dispensing the agent/material from the reservoir/pouch.
Anderson, however, teaches the reservoir or pouch (14) is flexible or collapsible as the sole means of dispensing the agent/material from the reservoir/pouch (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservoir/pouch of Pearman to further the reservoir or pouch is flexible or collapsible as the sole means of dispensing the agent/material from the reservoir/pouch, as taught by Anderson, to provide a simple and each to manufacture cleaning device.
Regarding Claim 17, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the sponge/applicator means (B) is removably securable in the hand grip portion (A; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the recess/well (where pate, 13 is inserted; Fig. 2) is located on an underside of the hand grip portion (A; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the inlet (4) is located on an upper part of the reservoir/pouch (A; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein said at least one outlet nozzle or valve (8) is on a lower part of the reservoir/pouch (A) adjacent the sponge/applicator means, in use (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 21, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the reservoir/pouch (A) is bonded or moulded to the hand grip portion (6; the components are molded in one piece; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the reservoir/pouch (A) is manufactured as an integral one part unit or as a two part assembly (Fig. 1) (separate reservoir/pouch and hand grip parts) said reservoir/pouch, being replaceable on the hand grip portion (A; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 23, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein the sponge/applicator means (B) is removable from the hand grip portion (A) to allow replacement when worn out or dirty or is permanently bonded thereto (lines 43 – 65).
Regarding Claim 24, Pearson, as modified, teaches the reservoir/pouch as claimed in claim 16 as discussed above.
Pearman does not explicitly teach the hand grip portion is made from silicone or other plastics/elastomeric materials.
Anderson, however, teaches the reservoir or pouch (Fig. 1) wherein the hand grip portion is made from silicone or other plastics/elastomeric materials (Abstract – squeezable container).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservoir/pouch of Pearman to further include the hand grip portion is made from silicone or other plastics/elastomeric materials, as taught by Anderson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 25, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein, in use, the reservoir/pouch (A) being connected to an upper surface of a sponge/applicator means (B; Fig. 1) and, preferably, further characterized in that in the reservoir/pouch is bonded to said upper surface (the limitation is being examined as optional, as thus not required).
Regarding Claim 26, Pearson, as modified, teaches the closed reservoir or pouch (A; Fig. 2), wherein- the reservoir/pouch -is refillable with washing/cleansing/treatment agent or material (lines 43 – 65).
Regarding Claim 27, Pearson, as modified, teaches the reservoir/pouch as claimed in claim 16 as discussed above.
Pearman does not explicitly teach the reservoir or pouch wherein it is of a substantial size (30% to 100% the volume of the sponge/applicator means) and/or spans (30% to 100%) substantially an upper surface of the sponge/applicator means.
Anderson, however, teaches the reservoir or pouch (Fig. 1) wherein it is of a substantial size (30% to 100% the volume of the sponge/applicator means) (Fig. 1) and/or spans (30% to 100%) substantially an upper surface of the sponge/applicator means (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservoir/pouch of Pearman to further include the reservoir or pouch wherein it is of a substantial size (30% to 100% the volume of the sponge/applicator means) and/or spans (30% to 100%) substantially an upper surface of the sponge/applicator means, as taught by Anderson, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 with respect to rejection to claims 16 – 27 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and they are persuasive, therefore the rejection has been withdrawn; however, after further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Pearman.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723