DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 07/03/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant has canceled claims 7, 8, 18, and 22.
Regarding the Drawing, the amended drawings for Figures 17 and 18, and the applicant’s remarks for Figures 11, 12, and 15 overcome the objection.
Regarding the Specification, the amended specification overcome the objection.
Regarding the 35 USC 112(b), the amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection.
Regarding 35 USC 103, applicant’s amendments respect to the rejections of claims 1-17, 19-21 have overcome the 35 USC 103 rejection. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection is made in view of Claim 1 because the amended claim incorporates a single unit. The previous set of claims did not incorporate the use of the wrist strap and the electronic body to form a single unit.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20190282169 A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN 208144999 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic device (electronic device – element 200 and 300; Figures 2 and 3; Paragraph 0031, FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic drawing of an electronic device 300 for healthcare, in accordance with one example embodiment. FIG. 3 is described in combination with FIG. 2), comprising:
a pressing component (1st driving unit – element 212 and 2nd driving unit – element 213; Paragraph 0029); and
a pressure sensor (sensor assembly – element 206);
the pressing component (1st driving unit – element 212 and 2nd driving unit – element 213; Paragraph 0029) comprises an electromagnetic driving component (Paragraph 0031-0032; [Examiner’s note, the electromagnetic driving component is comprised of the magnet 301 and coil 302.]) and a pressure bearing component (moving element – element 304), and the pressure bearing component is configured to move under an electromagnetic force of the electromagnetic driving component (Paragraph 0029, a second driving unit 213 that drives the sensor assembly 206 to move in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the wrist surface 205 in order to keep a certain distance between the skin and the sensor assembly 206 when doing contactless scan and drives the sensor assembly 206 to contact and press against the wrist skin when sensing blood pressure pulsation and photoplethysmography waveform; Paragraph 0033, two or more sets of the magnet and coil 301a/302a and 301b/302b dispose at two sides of the moving element 304 in order to provide pushing/pulling force at the two sides of the moving element 304 for enhancing movement control and improving stability);
wherein the pressure sensor is disposed on the pressure bearing component, and the pressure sensor is located on a surface of the pressure bearing component and that faces a measurement body part of a user (Figure 3);
wherein the pressure bearing component is configured to be driven by the electromagnetic driving component to press the pressure sensor on the measurement body part, and the pressure sensor (Paragraph 0033, two or more sets of the magnet and coil 301a/302a and 301b/302b dispose at two sides of the moving element 304 in order to provide pushing/pulling force at the two sides of the moving element 304 for enhancing movement control and improving stability; Paragraphs 0049-0050; Figures 6A-B) is configured to detect a pulse wave signal of the measurement body part (Paragraph 0042, FIG. 5 shows a top view of the sensor assembly 206 used in the electronic device 200 (FIG. 2), in accordance with an example embodiment. FIG. 5 is described in combination with FIG. 2; Paragraph 0047, During the measurements of the absolute pressure readings, the arterial pressure pulse waveform and the blood volume pulse waveform, a hold-down force applied to the sensor assembly 206 for pressing against the skin surface is controlled based on the measured pulse waveforms of the first and second sensors 506a and 506b);
Chen is silent on wherein the electronic device comprises a wrist strap and an electronic body, wherein the wrist strap is integrated with the electronic body to form a single unit, and wherein the pressing component is disposed in the wrist strap or the electronic body; and wherein a mounting cavity that faces the measurement body part is disposed in the wrist strap, and wherein at least a portion of the pressing component is disposed in the mounting cavity. Another embodiment from Chen teaches wherein the electronic device comprises a wrist strap (Chen | wristband – element 1001) and an electronic body (Chen | moveable frame – element 1000), wherein the wrist strap is integrated with the electronic body to form a single unit (Chen | Figure 10A-B),
Chen is silent in teaching the pressing component is disposed in the wrist strap or the electronic body; and wherein a mounting cavity that faces the measurement body part is disposed in the wrist strap, and wherein at least a portion of the pressing component is disposed in the mounting cavity;
Xu teaches pressing component is disposed in the wrist strap or the electronic body (Xu | Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; the pressing component is the movable end of electromagnetic force component (603) which is disposed in the electronic body, which is inner cylinder element 606.]); a mounting cavity that faces the measurement body part is disposed in the wrist strap (Xu | Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; [Examiner’s note, the mounting cavity is identified within Annotated Figure 1.]), and wherein at least a portion of the pressing component is disposed in the mounting cavity (Xu | cylinder – element 606; Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; [Examiner’s note, one skilled in the art can determine that annotated figure 1 of Xu’s Figure 6 illustrates the pressing component is disposed in the mounting cavity.]).
Annotated Figure 1 | This figure is Xu’s Figure 6, which is annotated to highlight the following components: electronic body, wrist strap, mounting cavity, pressing component, and the sensor.
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the mounting cavity from Xu because the mounting cavity enables the internal components to deploy the sensor to the user's wrist for measurement and retract it upon completion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried other mounting cavities, shown in Xu, as it would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the pressure bearing component is located on a side of the pressure sensor that is away from the measurement body part (Chen | Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein, when the pressure sensor is pressed on the measurement body part by the pressure bearing component, a movement direction of the pressure bearing component is from the electromagnetic driving component towards the measurement body part (Chen | Paragraph 0029, a second driving unit 213 that drives the sensor assembly 206 to move in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the wrist surface 205 in order to keep a certain distance between the skin and the sensor assembly 206 when doing contactless scan and drives the sensor assembly 206 to contact and press against the wrist skin when sensing blood pressure pulsation and photoplethysmography waveform; Paragraph 0033, two or more sets of the magnet and coil 301a/302a and 301b/302b dispose at two sides of the moving element 304 in order to provide pushing/pulling force at the two sides of the moving element 304 for enhancing movement control and improving stability).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the pressure bearing component is slidably connected to an inner wall (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0040; [Examiner’s note, the pressure bearing component (304) is connected to the inner walls (guide walls – element 311 and 312) through the gear series (310).]).
Chen in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose of a mounting cavity within Chen’s Figure 3. Xu teaches an inner wall of the mounting cavity (Xu | cylinder – element 606; Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; [Examiner’s note, refer to Annotated Figure 1 for a detailed breakdown of Figure 6 from Xu.]). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the mounting cavity from Xu because the mounting cavity enables the internal components to deploy the sensor to the user's wrist for measurement and retract it upon completion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried other mounting cavities, shown in Xu, as it would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success in integrating a space within a device that allows for connections to other elements in less intrusive manners.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, further comprising at least one sliding component (Chen | gear series – element 310), wherein the sliding component is connected between the pressure bearing component and the inner wall (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0040; [Examiner’s note, the pressure bearing component (304) is connected to the inner walls (guide walls – element 311 and 312) through the gear series (310).]), so that the pressure bearing component is slidably connected to the inner wall (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0040; [Examiner’s note, the inner wall are the guide walls (311 and 312)).
Chen in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose of a mounting cavity within Chen’s Figure 3. Xu teaches an inner wall of the mounting cavity (Xu | cylinder – element 606; Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; [Examiner’s note, refer to Annotated Figure 1 for a detailed breakdown of Figure 6 from Xu.]). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the mounting cavity from Xu because the mounting cavity enables the internal components to deploy the sensor to the user's wrist for measurement and retract it upon completion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried other mounting cavities, shown in Xu, as it would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success in integrating a space within a device that allows for connections to other elements in less intrusive manners..
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein there are a plurality of sliding components (gear series – element 310), and the plurality of sliding components are disposed in different directions on a peripheral side of the pressure bearing component (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0040, the second driving unit 213 includes a controller 308 for controlling the rotation of a gear (not shown in FIG. 3) or a gear series 310a and 310b to rotate towards or away from the wrist surface 205, so as to enable the sensor assembly 206, which couples to the gear or gear series 310a and 310b, to move towards and press the wrist surface 205, as shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the pressure bearing component is not driven by the electromagnetic driving component to press the pressure sensor on the measurement body part (Chen | 1st driving unit – element 212 and 2nd driving unit – element 213; Figure 3; Paragraph 0029; [Examiner’s note, the driving unit is the gears as shown in Figure 3. The controller causes the gears to move the sensor assembly towards or away from the user’s wrist.]), the pressure sensor is even with a surface of the wrist strap that faces the measurement body part (Chen | Figures 6A-B).
Figures 6A-B from Chen does not explicitly illustrate the pressure sensor is even with a surface of the wrist strap that faces the measurement body part; one skilled in the art’s would infer the pressure sensor is even with a surface of the wrist strap that faces the measurement body part. Xu teaches the pressure sensor is even with a surface of the wrist strap that faces the measurement body part (Xu | Figure 6). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the pressure sensor being even with the surface of the wrist strap because this ensures a strong contact with the surface of the user’s wrist to collect their blood pressure readings (Xu | Page 2 Paragraph 13 to Page 3 Paragraph 1).
Claims 4-6, 12-16, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20190282169 A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN 208144999 U) and Huang (US 20030212335 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein one of the electromagnetic driving component and the pressure bearing component comprises an electromagnet (Chen | Paragraph 0032, When a current flows through the coil 302a, an electromagnetic force is generated between the magnet 301a and the coil 302a to enable the coil 302a, together with the moving element 304, to move toward or away from the magnet 301a along the guiding rail 303).
Chen in view of Xu is silent in teaching wherein the other comprises wherein magnetic poles of the electromagnet and magnetic poles of the magnet are disposed opposite to each other; another embodiment of Chen teaches wherein magnetic poles of the electromagnet and magnetic poles of the magnet are disposed opposite to each other (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0032, the elastic unit 307 has one end that is fixed to the magnet 301a and the other end is coupled to the moving element 304. Under a combined effect of the electromagnetic force and the restoring force, the guiding unit 314 could guide the sensor assembly 206 to move toward and stay steadily at a target position when the current flows through the coils 302a; [Examiner’s note, magnets 301a and 301b are disposed opposite to each other.]).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of magnetic poles from another embodiment of Chen because the magnetic poles allows for the sensor assembly to either move towards or away from the user’s wrist. This process ensures a reduction in the sensor shifting and improves the stability of the sensor assembly to receive a more accurate read of the arterial pulse from the user’s wrist (Chen | Paragraph 0028, the pressure sensor needs to fine-tune the measuring position by sensing pressure pulse signals at multiple positions surround the identified measuring position and determine a more accurate position based on the sensed pressure pulse signal; Paragraphs 0033, 0065).
Though Chen does teach of a magnet, but that magnetic is not part of the pressure bearing component. Therefore, Chen in view of Xu also silent in teaching a magnet; wherein magnetic poles of the electromagnet and magnetic poles of the magnet are disposed opposite to each other; wherein the electromagnet has an adjustable polarity, so that when poles of the electromagnet and poles of the magnet repel each other, the pressure sensor is pressed on the measurement body part, and when poles of the electromagnet and poles of the magnet attract each other, the pressure sensor leaves the measurement body part;
Additionally, Huang teaches and wherein the other comprises a magnet (Huang | permanent magnet – element 354; [Examiner’s note, the pressure bearing component from Huang is the magnet.]); wherein the electromagnet has an adjustable polarity, so that when poles of the electromagnet and poles of the magnet repel each other, the pressure sensor is pressed on the measurement body part, and when poles of the electromagnet and poles of the magnet attract each other, the pressure sensor leaves the measurement body part (Huang | magnetic inductive transducer – element 352; Figure 9; Paragraph 0017, 0053; [Examiner’s note, figure 9 uses an electromagnetic translational actuator functions by using an electromagnet. The device consists of a wire coil (356) wrapped around a magnetic core (354). When an electric current is passed through the coil, it generates a magnetic field, turning the entire assembly into a temporary magnet. This field then interacts with a component, like a movable iron rod, to produce the linear motion. When activating the electromagnet, the actuator can push or pull a component along a straight path.]).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the electromagnet from Huang because the use of electromagnets having adjustable polarity allows the pressure sensor to press into and retract from the user’s body and allows for a more accurate reading of the arterial pulse (Huang | Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 4. Another embodiment of Chen teaches wherein the pressure bearing component is fixedly connected to the pressure sensor or is detachably connected to the pressure sensor (Chen | Figures 10A-B; Paragraph 0059-0060; [Examiner’s note, the pressure bearing component is withing the portable device (1003) and the pressure sensor is within the moveable frame (1004). Additionally, the claim comprises multiple limitations; however, only one of the two alternatives needs to be supported by the prior art]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the electromagnet comprises a magnetic core (Chen | magnet core – element 301) and a coil (Chen | coil 302) wound around an outer peripheral side of the magnetic core (Chen | Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 11. Chen in view of Xu is silent in teaching each sliding component of the plurality of sliding components comprises a first pulley disposed on a side wall of the pressure bearing component and a slide rail disposed on the inner wall of the mounting cavity, wherein the first pulley and the slide rail are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the first pulley can slide along the slide rail, so that the pressure bearing component is slidably connected to the inner wall of the mounting cavity;
Huang teaches wherein each sliding component of the plurality of sliding components (Huang | elements 420, 422, and 424; [Examiner’s note, all three elements depict a sliding component within the wrist fixture.]) comprises a first pulley (Huang | rotator – element 411) disposed on a side wall of the pressure bearing component (Huang | Figures 13-15; Paragraph 0061, pressure applicators 202 are mounted at the outer end 458 of finger 412 for directly applying an external force to pulse reference point 16; [Examiner’s note, the location of the rotator is on a side of the pressure applicator (pressure bearing component).]) and a slide rail (Huang | header – element 408) disposed on the inner wall of the mounting cavity (Huang | upper portion – element 406), wherein the first pulley and the slide rail are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the first pulley can slide along the slide rail, so that the pressure bearing component is slidably connected to the inner wall of the mounting cavity (Huang | Figures 13-15; Paragraph 0061, A rotator 411 forms a portion of header 410 and/or extension bar 408 and facilitates selective angulation of header 410 relative to upper portion 406 and wrist 18. Finally, finger(s) 412 is slidably extendable from the header 410 for placing sensor array 204 at reference point 16. As further shown in FIG. 13, pressure applicators 202 are mounted at the outer end 458 of finger 412 for directly applying an external force to pulse reference point 16).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the sliding components from Huang because slidably component allows for custom readjustment on the patient, which allows the wrist feature allows for the electronic body to capture optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Huang | Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches, the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein a limiting part is disposed at an opening, and wherein the limiting part is correspondingly disposed outside the first pulley in a pressing direction (Chen | Figure 3; Paragraph 0040, gear or gear series 310a and 310b are coupled between two guide walls 311 and 312 to prevent the sensor assembly 206 from tilting while pressing the sensor assembly 206 to the wrist surface).
Chen in view of Xu ang Huang is silent in teaching the opening of the mounting cavity; Xu teaches the opening of the mounting cavity (Xu | cylinder – element 606; Figure 6; Page 4 Paragraph 3; [Examiner’s note, refer to Annotated Figure 1 for a detailed breakdown of Figure 6 from Xu.]). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the mounting cavity from Xu because the mounting cavity enables the internal components to deploy the sensor to the user's wrist for measurement and retract it upon completion. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried other mounting cavities, shown in Xu, as it would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success in integrating a space within a device that allows for connections to other elements in less intrusive manners.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 12. Chen is silent on wherein a guide component is further disposed between the pressure bearing component and the electromagnetic driving component, wherein a first guide groove corresponding to the guide component is further disposed in the electromagnetic driving component, wherein a first end of the guide component is connected to a magnet, and wherein a second end of the guide component passes through the first guide groove and is configured to move in an extension direction of the first guide groove;
Huang discloses wherein further disposed between the pressure bearing component (Huang | permanent magnet – element 354) and the electromagnetic driving component (Huang | magnetic induction from surrounding coil – element 356), wherein corresponding to the guide component is further disposed in the electromagnetic driving component, wherein a first end of the guide component is connected to a magnet (Huang | Paragraph 0053, computing device 106 for actuating pressure applicator 202, magnetic inductive transducer 352 generates vertical movements, to move tip 206 away from or toward vessel 34, through its magnetic fields and interaction between permanent magnet 354 and the magnetic induction from surrounding coil 356).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the guide component from Huang because slidably component allows for custom readjustment on the patient, which allows the wrist feature allows for the electronic body to capture optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Huang | Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Additionally, another embodiment from Huang teaches a guide component (Huang | force translation system – element 289); a first guide groove (Huang | plate – element 292); wherein a second end of the guide component passes through the first guide groove and is configured to move in an extension direction of the first guide groove (Huang | Figure 7; Paragraph 0049, three electrical pressure applicators 202 are connected to single sensor pressure array 288 through a force translation system 289 comprising a set of three plates 290 (one for each probe 210, 212, 214) with hinges 294 pivotally connecting plates 290 together. Pivot devices 292 (e.g., balls, cylinder, etc.) are interposed between each plate 290 and each pressure applicator 202 to assist in transmitting force between pressure applicator 202 and single sensor array 288 through force translation plates 290. Pivot devices 292 and hinged plates 290 act together to translate forces between pressure applicators 202 and single sensor array 288 without causing a stress concentration on the single substrate construction of array 288 when a differential pattern of pressure is applied through pressure applicators 202).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu and Huang to incorporate the teachings from another embodiment of Huang’s because the guide components within the wrist feature allows for the electronic body to capture optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Huang | Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 10. Chen is silent on the sliding component comprises a second pulley, a connection arm, and a second guide groove, wherein the second guide groove and the mounting cavity are fastened relative to each other, and wherein an extension direction of the second guide groove is staggered with a pressing direction of the electromagnetic driving component; and wherein a first end of the connection arm is hinged with the pressure bearing component, wherein the second pulley is disposed at a second end of the connection arm, and wherein the second pulley can slide in the second guide groove, so that the connection arm drives the pressure bearing component to move in the pressing direction;
Huang teaches the sliding component (Huang | hinges – element 294) comprises a second pulley (Huang | pivot device – element 292), a connection arm (Huang | connecting plate – element 290), and a second guide groove (Huang | connecting plate – element 290). By broadest reasonable interpretation, the connecting plate serves as both a connection arm and a second guide groove. In Figure 7, there are a plurality of pivot devices (can be a pulley based on Paragraph 0049: Pivot devices 292 (e.g., balls, cylinder, etc.)), and connecting plates, wherein the second guide groove and the mounting cavity are fastened relative to each other, and wherein an extension direction of the second guide groove is staggered with a pressing direction of the electromagnetic driving component (Huang | Figure 7); and
wherein a first end of the connection arm is hinged with the pressure bearing component, wherein the second pulley is disposed at a second end of the connection arm, and wherein the second pulley can slide in the second guide groove, so that the connection arm drives the pressure bearing component to move in the pressing direction (Huang | Paragraph 0049, each of three electrical pressure applicators 202 are connected to single sensor pressure array 288 through a force translation system 289 comprising a set of three plates 290 (one for each probe 210, 212, 214) with hinges 294 pivotally connecting plates 290 together. Pivot devices 292 (e.g., balls, cylinder, etc.) are interposed between each plate 290 and each pressure applicator 202 to assist in transmitting force between pressure applicator 202 and single sensor array 288 through force translation plates 290. Pivot devices 292 and hinged plates 290 act together to translate forces between pressure applicators 202 and single sensor array 288 without causing a stress concentration on the single substrate construction of array 288 when a differential pattern of pressure is applied through pressure applicators 202).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the guide components, guide groove, sliding component, connection arm from Huang because those components allows for custom readjustment on the patient, which allows the wrist feature allows for the electronic body to capture optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Huang | Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 15. Chen in view of Xu is silent on the second guide groove is located in the mounting cavity or formed into a second cavity with a connecting component between the second cavity and the mounting cavity; Huang teaches wherein the second guide groove is located in the mounting cavity or formed into a second cavity with a connecting component between the second cavity and the mounting cavity (Huang | Figure 7; [Examiner’s note, the second guide groove is located within the mounting cavity and there is a second cavity based on Figure 7.]).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the guide groove components from Huang because the second guide groove allows for the electronic body to capture optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Xu and Huang teaches the electronic device according to claim 19. Chen is silent in teaching a display, wherein the display is electrically connected to the processor and is configured to display the blood pressure value; Huang teaches a display (Huang | video display monitor – element 122), wherein the display is electrically connected to the processor (Huang | Figure 2; Paragraph 0033, Communication link 108 (e.g., electrical cable) electrically and mechanically couples diagnostic instrument 102 to computing device 106, including microprocessor 107, while communication interface 130 establishes electrical communication between computing device 106, input device 120, mouse 124 and video display monitor 122).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the diagnostic instrument from Huang because the display allows to display optimal pulse pressure mapping, which provides medical staff with the data they need for an accurate diagnosis (Paragraph 0038, The magnitudes of adaptive analog inputs of electrical charge or current can be adequately adjusted individually for each of pressure applicators 202 for each of probes 210, 212, 214 (according to the measured data on the pulse pressure 230 displayed on the graphic and video display monitor 122) to achieve an optimal pulse pressure mapping result for medical diagnosis; Paragraph 0040, probes 210, 212, 214 are firmly pressed onto skin 30 (and tissue 32) across the wrist arterial pulsing region 16 of the patient. Stiff fixture panel 200, carried by flexible cuff 140, removably secures probes 210, 212, 214 against the patient's wrist 10 (FIG. 3); Paragraph 0059, a wrist fixture of the present invention can be substituted for removable cuff 104 to facilitate a more stable placement of probes 210, 212, 214 against vessel 34. This wrist fixture is described in association with FIGS. 13, 14 and 15, with each arrangement comprising substantially the same structure in each Figure, except for a focal point from which pressure is generated by the wrist fixture for application against vessel 34 at reference point 16.).
Annotated Figure 2 | Identifying the plurality of mounting cavities within the Probe Set (286) of Figure 7.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190282169 A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN 208144999 U) and Tal et al. (US 20180184923 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1. Chen in view of Xu is silent in teaching the wrist strap is a metal wrist strap or a fluoro rubber wrist strap. Tal teaches wherein the wrist strap is a metal wrist strap or a fluoro rubber wrist strap (Tal Paragraph 0053 and 0099). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the device from Tal since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 19, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1. Chen in view of Xu is silent in teaching a processor, wherein the processor is configured to measure a blood pressure value of the user based on the detected pulse wave signal; Tal teaches a processor (Tal | control unit/processor – element 92), wherein the processor is configured to measure a blood pressure value of the user (Tal | Paragraph 0077) based on the detected pulse wave signal (Tal | Paragraph 0077, 0090-0091).
One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of the processor is configured to measure a blood pressure value of the user based on the detected pulse wave signal device from Tal because the use of pulse wave signals offers a non-invasive, continuous blood pressure monitoring, providing a more complete picture of a person's cardiovascular health during daily activities compared to intermittent, cuff-based measurements (Tal | Paragraph 0008).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190282169 A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN 208144999 U) and Just et al. (US 20170119314 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen in view of Xu teaches the electronic device according to claim 19. Chen is silent in teaching a wireless communication module, wherein the wireless communication module is electrically connected to the processor, and wherein the wireless communication module is configured to transmit information related to the blood pressure value; Just teaches a wireless communication module, wherein the wireless communication module (Just | analysis platform – element 210) is electrically connected to the processor, and wherein the wireless communication module is configured to transmit information related to the blood pressure value (Just | Figure 20; Paragraph 0155, An analysis platform 210 may be within a wearable device (e.g., monitoring devices) or may be part of a remote system in wireless or wired communication with the wearable device. An analysis platform 210 may analyze vital sign data (such as heart rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, etc.) in context of the user's activity data (cadence, speed, acceleration, position, etc.) to assess a health or fitness status of the person, such as a health or fitness score). One having an ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic device of Chen in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of a wireless communication from Just because the data collected and wireless sent to the user’s device provides insight the user’s overall health and fitness (Just | Paragraph 0115, An analysis platform 210 may analyze vital sign data (such as heart rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, etc.) in context of the user's activity data (cadence, speed, acceleration, position, etc.) to assess a health or fitness status of the person, such as a health or fitness score).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRISTI DIVINA GOMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791