DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s response filed 8 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended, claim 4 has been canceled, and claims 1-3 and 5 remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsui et al. (US 2020/0044249, hereinafter “Natsui”), in view of Nakajima et al. (US 6,346,348; hereinafter “Nakajima”) and Inagaki et al. (JP 2002-203552 A; hereinafter “Inagaki”; listed in the IDS filed 9 October 2025; using the submitted English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Natsui teaches a positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, including:
a lithium-transition metal composite oxide (see [0041]-[0056]), wherein
the lithium-transition metal composite oxide is represented by general formula LixMnyNizMe2-x-y-zOaFb wherein 1 ≤ x ≤ 1.2, 0.4 ≤ y ≤ 0.7, 0.277 ≤ z ≤ 0.4, 0 < b ≤ 0.2, 1.9 ≤ a + b ≤ 2.1, and Me is at least one element selected from Al, Ti, Ge, Nb, Sr, Mg, Si, P, and Sb (see [0041]-[0056] – Natsui’s formula of LixMey-OαQβ wherein 1.05 ≤ x ≤ 1.4, 0.6 ≤ y ≤ 0.95, 1.33 ≤ α < 2, and 0 < β ≤ 0.67 overlaps with the claimed invention using Li1.05Mn0.4Ni0.4Ti0.15O1.9F0.1, wherein Me is Mn, Ni, and Ti (see [0044]-[0048]), and Q is F, for example).
Natsui is silent to wherein the oxide has a BET specific surface area of 1m2/g or more and 4 m2/g or less, and has an average pore size of 100 nm or less.
Nakajima teaches a specific surface area preferably in the range of 0.5-6.0 m2/g as determined by a BET's adsorption method using a nitrogen gas. If the BET specific surface area falls below the above-specified range, the excessively small specific surface area of the positive electrode material may lower the charge-discharge reactivity thereof. On the other hand, if the BET specific surface area goes beyond the above-specified range, the positive electrode material, because of its excessively high reactivity, may be caused to partly dissolve into an electrolyte solution (see 2:37-53). Therefore, the BET specific surface area is also a result effective variable.
In view of Nakajima’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the oxide of Natsui to include wherein the oxide has a BET specific surface area of 1m2/g or more and 4 m2/g or less, as taught by Nakajima, because the BET specific area is a result effective variable (see 2:37-53), and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
The combination of Natsui and Nakajima is silent to wherein the active material has an average pore size of 100 nm or less.
Inagaki teaches a positive electrode active material (see [0029]) using particles in which 80% or more of the pore volume has a pore diameter of 1 nm to 100 nm, or in which the average pore diameter is in the range of 3 to 30 nm. By utilizing this range, the positive electrode active material is smoothly and sufficiently impregnated with the electrolyte, making it difficult for the material to enter an overcharged state and effectively suppressing gas generation (see [0029]).
In view of Inagaki’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the oxide of the combination of Natasui and Nakajima to include wherein the oxide has an average pore size of about 3 to 30 nm, as taught by Inagaki, because the positive electrode active material is smoothly and sufficiently impregnated with the electrolyte, making it difficult for the material to enter an overcharged state and effectively suppressing gas generation (see [0029]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Natsui, Nakajima, and Inagaki teaches wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide has an average pore size of 50 nm or less (Sohn: about 10 nm to about 1000 nm; see [0007] and [0013]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Natsui, Nakajima, and Inagaki teaches wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide has a BET specific surface area of 3 m2/g or more and 4 m2/g or less (Nakajima: - the BET specific area is a result effective variable (see 2:37-53), and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Natsui, Nakajima, and Inagaki teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode including the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above);
a negative electrode (Natsui: see [0134]); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte (Natsui: see [0134] and [0144]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Natsui teaches away from amended independent claim 1 that now excludes Co from the lithium composite oxide.
The Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive. Natsui clearly teaches that the lithium composite oxide according to the first embodiment is represented by LixMey-OαQβ, where Me may be one or two or more elements selected from the group consisting of Mn, Co, Ni, Fe, Cu, V, Nb, Mo, Ti, Cr, Zr, Zn, Na, K, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Ag, Ru, W, B, Si, P, and Al (see [0042]-[0044]).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 28 August 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735