DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 19 and 20 in the reply filed on 7/30/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 23, 26-28, 30, 33, 35, 37, 41, 49 and 50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/30/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: for Figure 4, reference number 20 is mentioned at page 7 line 27. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
on page 7, line 31 reference numeral 10 is used to designate both the gas cylinder and the flow rate controller; however, it appears the flow rate controller should be designated 12
on page 10, lines 27-28 list out reference numerals 37, 38 and 39; however, the reference numerals do not appear to match up with what is depicted in Fig. 25
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, it is noted that in claim 1, there are two limitations that are being interpreted under the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set forth above. These limitations are the two “means for” limitations in lines 7-8 and lines 12-13. For each, it is noted that the means for introducing a reductant or oxidant into the medium in the first chamber or into the regeneration solution in the second chamber are being treated as a pipe or tubing to convey the reductant or oxidant as depicted in Fig. 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR101559480 B1 to Choi et al., with reference to the machine translation provided with the Restriction Requirement mailed 6/23/25, hereinafter referred to as “CHOI”.
Regarding claim 1, CHOI teaches a system for decreasing an amount of ions in a liquid medium (see generally CHOI at Abstract), comprising:
a first chamber that comprises the medium, a plurality of conductive porous particles and a catalyst in conductive contact with the particles (see CHOI at ⁋17 and ⁋18 teaching the porous carbon also having a catalyst on the carbon skeleton support; see also CHOI at ⁋54 teaching the carbon being granular activated carbon, i.e. GAC; see also CHOI at Fig. 1 depicting a column that comprises the first chamber)
with the catalyst capable of catalyzing an oxidation reaction upon exposure to a reductant in the medium and/or a reduction reaction upon exposure to an oxidant in the medium as claimed (see CHOI at Abstract and ⁋19 teaching the introduction of hydrogen gas to decompose the anions and so capable of acting as claimed); and
means for introducing said reductant or said oxidant into the medium in said first chamber (see CHOI at Fig. 1 depicting a column having a lower inlet tube that would be attached to other tubing to allow for the flowing of the H2 gas into the column; see also CHOI at ¶19 teaching the use of various fluid reducing agents which would be connected by pipes/conduits for introducing the reducing agents to the saturated material).
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 6, it is noted that claim 1 merely requires the catalyst being capable of catalyzing an oxidation or reduction reaction as claimed (see rejection of claim 1 above). As such, the further limitations of claims 2, 4 and 6, as currently presented, are being treated as just further requiring the capability of catalyzing a gas phase reduction or oxidation reaction, and so met by the teachings of CHOI as set forth above with respect to the rejection of claim 1 which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, CHOI teaches the system wherein the surface of the conductive porous particles comprises a functional group, said functional group capable of enhancing selectivity of the particles towards specific ions (see CHOI at ¶23-¶24 teaching the modification of the carbon surface with cationic surfactants having various functional groups; see also CHOI at ¶17 and ¶38 teaching the improvement in ion selectivity and adsorption capacity).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, CHOI teaches the system wherein the catalyst is physically attached to the conductive porous particles (see CHOI at ¶18) so as to read on claims 19 and 20 as set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI in view of US Pat. No. 7,374,693 to Rutberg et al., (hereinafter referred to as “RUTBERG”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, while CHOI teaches the use of wide array of metal particles as a catalyst on the porous carbon particles (see CHOI at ¶7 and ¶18), CHOI fails to teach the conductive porous particles comprising a pseudocapacitive material wherein the pseudocapacitive material is a transition metal oxide or sulfide as claimed.
However, RUTBERG teaches it is known to use metal oxides including iron oxide, cobalt oxide, nickel oxides, or manganese oxide and further including platinum or palladium as a noble metal as a catalyst material on an activated carbon carrier (see RUTBERG at col. 1 lines 62-67 teaching the presence of transition metal oxides such as manganese oxide or iron oxide as the pseudocapacitive material in addition to platinum or palladium as the catalytic material). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that the catalyst of CHOI could be any known catalyst material. Furthermore, RUTBERG teaches a catalyst that is known to be used on activated carbon and would be reasonably expected to help catalyze the desired reaction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the mixed catalyst of RUTBERG in the system of CHOI so as to have the activated carbon with a noble metal catalyst and, in addition, a transition metal oxide as claimed.
Conclusion
/BRYAN D. RIPA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794