DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 17-20, 22, 23, and 37 in the reply filed on 4/30/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a 371 application and Groups I-III lack unity of invention, as provided in previous office action mailed on 1/2/26.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 109904394 A, hereinafter Li) in view of Iguchi et al. (JP 2019-114346 A, hereinafter Iguchi, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 17. Li teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising (P6):
(a) a cathode (P6);
(b) an anode (P6), wherein said anode comprises a composition comprising:
(i) a core material (Fig. 1, item 11) comprising a metal microparticle, wherein said metal comprises Si (P3); and
(iii) a solid electrolyte interface ("SEI") comprising:
(A) a LiF shell-layer (item 12) encapsulating said lithium alloy; and
(B) a polymeric layer (item 13) on top of said LiF shell-layer (18); and
(c) an organic electrolyte solution (P6 & 7) comprising an electrolyte (P6) and an organic solvent (P7).
Li does not explicitly teach a lithium alloy of said metal on a surface of said core material and the electrolyte being a lithium salt.
The invention of Iguchi encompasses lithium ion secondary battery. Iguchi teaches the electrolyte being a lithium salt (para. 18-22).
In view of Iguchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Li to employ a lithium salt, since using a well known electrolyte is within purview of one skill in the art.
Instant application discloses that a lithium alloy of said metal on a surface of said core material is formed when current is applied to the mixture of anode material (claim 26).
Li in view of Iguchi also apply current to the mixture of anode material (Li, P9 & Iguchi, para. 68-70). Since Li in view of Iguchi and the claimed battery employ substantially similar materials and manufacturing process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (an initial coulombic efficiency (iCE) of said anode is greater than 90%, a cycling coulombic efficiency (cCE) of said anode is greater than 99%, or anode retains at least 90% of initial capacity after 200 deep galvanostatic charge/discharge cycles) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Li in view of Iguchi. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Re Claims 18-20. Li in view of Iguchi does not expressly disclose an initial coulombic efficiency, a cycling coulombic efficiency, or a capacity retention rate after 200 cycles.
However, since Li in view of Iguchi and the claimed battery employ substantially similar materials and manufacturing process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (an initial coulombic efficiency (iCE) of said anode is greater than 90%, a cycling coulombic efficiency (cCE) of said anode is greater than 99%, or anode retains at least 90% of initial capacity after 200 deep galvanostatic charge/discharge cycles) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Li in view of Iguchi.
Re Claim 22. The combination teaches wherein said lithium salt comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) (Iguchi, para. 18-22).
Re Claim 23. The combination teaches wherein said organic electrolyte solution comprises a solvent that has a reduction potential of about 0.3 V or less at room temperature (P7, tetrahydrofuran).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 37: The prior art, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach that the amount of metal-oxide on the surface of said core material is less than 10% by weight.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/13/2026