DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims are newly amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 7/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under the Non-Final have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the reference below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey (US Pub.: 2016/0236178).
Chiffey describes a catalyst (abstract) used as a SCR catalyst (para. 6) coated on a substrate (para. 11). The SCR includes an oxidation component (para. 25), which includes a Pt component disposed on a support material (para. 8). The support is a substrate (para. 11). The Pt is disposed on the support and therefore, the catalyst of Chiffey does not include an inorganic oxide carrier that is not part of the substrate itself. The Pt has a mean crystallite size of 10-35nm (para. 19, 108, 109). The Pt loading in the first washcoat is from 5-300 g/ft3 (para. 163), which ranges from 0.0114-0.68 g/L.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.”
As to Claim 2, Chiffey teaches that the Pt in the washcoat is from 0.2 to 15wt% (para. 162).
As to Claims 4 and 5, Chiffey teaches that the catalyst can include copper-CHA (para. 149, 198).
As to Claim 6, Chiffey teaches that the catalyst can include Pt (para. 48) and Pd (para. 49, 50).
As to Claim 7, Chiffey teaches that the first composition can include Pt directly supported on a support (para. 44) and that the first composition can “consist essentially of” particles of Pt (para. 44). Therefore, in some embodiments, the first composition can include just Pt as the noble metal component.
As to Claim 11, Chiffey teaches that the catalyst can optionally include a second composition that can include platinum metals (para. 95).
As to Claims 12 and 14, Chiffey teaches that the catalyst can alternatively include just a first composition (para. 44). The first composition includes just a Pt metal disposed on the support (para. 44).
As to Claim 17, Chiffey teaches that the vehicle can be a diesel-run vehicle (para. 290) and the system can employ an ammonia reducing agent (para. 271, 270).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 6921261.
JP ‘261 describe an SCR catalyst that contains a precious metal (abstract). The precious metal has an average particle size of 30-120nm (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ noble metals within a size range of 30-120nm, as taught by JP ‘261 for use with the SCR of Chiffey because this would lead to expected and predictable results.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baba (WO 2014/192219).
Chiffey explains that the refractory metal oxide contains a cerium oxide component (para. 121, 123, 136), but the reference does not explain that the cerium oxide component is a layer.
Baba describes an oxidizing catalytic component (see “abstract”, layer (2)) combined with a catalytic reduction component (“abstract”, layer (3)). The catalytic reduction component is used to reduce NOx (abstract, para. 1) and contains a Pt catalytic component (abstract, para. 1). Baba explains that the oxygen catalyst material is in the form of a layer (see “inorganic chemistry”, “preferred composition”, para. 1).
The oxidizing feature oxidizes HC and CO (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1), while the other catalytic component is used to reduce NOx (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ cerium oxide as a layer, as taught by Baba for use with Chiffey because it is known to lead to predictable and expected results.
As to Claims 10, 13, 15 and16, Baba describes an oxidizing catalytic component (see “abstract”, layer (2)) combined with a catalytic reduction component (“abstract”, layer (3)). The catalytic reduction component is used to reduce NOx (abstract, para. 1) and contains a Pt catalytic component (abstract, para. 1). Baba explains that the oxygen catalyst material is in the form of a layer (see “inorganic chemistry”, “preferred composition”, para. 1).
The oxidizing feature oxidizes HC and CO (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1), while the other catalytic component is used to reduce NOx (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1).
In the structure, Baba teaches that the catalyst includes a support layer (1), followed by a lower catalyst layer (2), which includes the oxidation catalyst (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1), followed by the SCR layer (3) (abstract, “Novelty”, para. 1 and see Fig. 2). The OSC unit is in the lower catalyst layer (2), which sits between the support layer and the SCR layer (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the OCR layer in the middle layer of the oxidation catalyst and under the SCR and above the substate, as taught by Baba for use with Chiffey because this would lead to predictable and expected results.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey and Baba as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Voss (US Pub.: 2004/0219077).
The reference does not describe including zirconia with the ceria.
Voss describes a catalyst material (abstract) comprising ceria (para. 38). Voss explains that zirconia can be used to stabilize ceria against thermal degradation (para. 39) because ceria is known to lose surface area and a reduction in catalytic efficiency upon prolonged exposure to high temperatures (para. 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize ceria with zirconia, as taught by Voss for use with the ceria of Chiffey and Baba because zirconia is known to stabilize ceria from thermal degradation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 19, 2026