DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the May 11th, 2026 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The
text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior
Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received on May 11th, 2026:
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20-21 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 16 are amended. Claim 21 is newly added.
Claim 1 is amended to specify that the sealing tool comprises an inner and outer inclined surface configured to face inner and outer portions of the second sealing part extending from inner and outer sides of the central surface, respectively, with the inner and outer inclined surfaces each being inclined; and describes that the outer inclined surface extends away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool.
Claim 16 is amended to remove the limitations describing structural evidence of being heat-sealed. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 16-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Support for the amendment is found in applicant’s disclosure including the originally filed specification and drawings.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as described below:
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (U.S. Pat. No. 20130029214 A1) in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 101428458 B1). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (U.S. Pat. No. 20130029214 A1) in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 101428458 B1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20160096417 A). The rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 11th, 2026 have been fully considered as further described below:5. Applicant presents arguments to Claim 1 as amended. Applicant argues that Tamura and Park do not teach or suggest both inner and outer inclined surfaces of the sealing tool configured to face inner and outer portions of the second sealing part, respectively (see pg. 7 of the “Remarks”). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant further suggests that Tamura teaches away from using a sealing tool having an inclined outer surface, citing [0015]-[0017] of Tamura as support (see pgs. 8-9 of the “Remarks”).
"The test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art, and all teachings in the prior art must be considered to the extent that they are in analogous arts. Where the teachings of two or more prior art references conflict, the examiner must weigh the power of each reference to suggest solutions to one of ordinary skill in the art, considering the degree to which one reference might accurately discredit another. In re Young, 927 F.2d 588, 18 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1991)" (see MPEP 2143.01.II).
“Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006)” (emphasis in original) (see MPEP 2143.01).
The new grounds of rejection relies upon Tamura modified by Han et al. and Jong Kim et al. to further teach a sealing tool comprising an inclined surface configured to face an outer sealing part. Han et al. and Jong Kim et al. have a more recent publication date than primary reference Tamura; therefore, a skilled artisan would consider the newer information to be worthwhile to explore despite the misgivings of the prior art, in consideration of the technological advancements and new discoveries in the field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to prevent the risk of the manufacturing process due to interference or friction with the external device in an outer inclined, unsealed region (Han et al., [0020]), and to allow the inner adhesive layer to be pushed more naturally to an outer direction so that a sufficient adhesive layer is formed on an outer side of the sealing portion (Jong Kim et al., [0086]). Further, a skilled artisan may consider the beneficial effects disclosed in Han et al. and Jong Kim et al. in relation to modifying the sealing surface of the sealing tool to provide an outer inclined sealing part to outweigh the benefits of Tamura in relation to rather providing an outer sealing part that it is thinner than an inner sealing part. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Regarding Claim 16, applicant argues that Kim does not suggest inclining the outer surface of its sealing part using contact from a sealing tool; and Tamura and Park do not teach or suggest producing an inclined outer surface of a battery case sealing part that has been sealed by contact with a sealing surface of a sealing tool (see pgs. 9-10 of the “Remarks”). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 16 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Cited Prior Art
Previously Cited Tamura (U.S. Pat. No. 20130029214 A1) ("Tamura ")
Previously Cited Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 101428458 B1) (“Park et al.”)
Previously Cited Hong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20160096417 A) (“Hong et al.”)
Han et al. (KR Pat. No. 20160130588 A) (“Han et al.”) (equivalent KR Pat. No. 101843824 B1 is used for citation purposes)
Jong Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20150137742 A) (“Jong Kim et al.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[AltContent: textbox (Figs. 5A-5B (Tamura))]
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (U.S. Pat. No. 20130029214 A1) in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 101428458 B1), Han et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20160130588 A), and Jong Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20150137742 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tamura teaches a device for manufacturing a battery cell comprising:
a sealing tool (laminate forming die (501, 502)) configured to form a sealing part (sealed portion) on an outer peripheral surface of a battery case (laminate case (201)) in which an electrode assembly (10) is mounted (Fig. 5A, para. 62-64), the sealing part comprises portions analogous to a first sealing part (corresponding to a central surface) and a second sealing part (corresponding to the inclined surface) (see annotated Fig. 5A and 5B),
the sealing tool comprises a sealing surface (501f, 502f) configured to be brought into contact with the outer peripheral surface of the battery case (Fig. 5A, para. 64),
the sealing surface of the sealing tool comprises a central surface configured to face the first sealing part and an inner inclined surface configured to face an inner portion of the inner second sealing part extending from an inner side of the central surface (see annotated Fig. 5A-5B). The inner inclined surface of the sealing tool is inclined by an acute angle relative to the central surface of the sealing surface of the sealing tool (Fig. 5A-5B). Regarding the use of drawings as prior art, “the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977)” (see MPEP 2125(II)). Although Tamura is silent to a specific inclination angle of the sealing tool and does not disclose that the figures are to scale, it is clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inclination angle is an acute angle less than 90 degrees.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 4 (Park et al.))]
Tamura does not teach the sealing surface of the sealing tool comprising an outer inclined surface configured to face an outer portion of the second sealing part extending from an outer side of the central surface; the outer inclined surface inclined by an acute angle, and configured to extend along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool and not in contact with the electrode assembly.
As shown in annotated Figure 4, Park et al. teaches a secondary battery comprising a sealing tool (70) including an analogous central surface configured to face an equivalent first sealing part (para. 9-10, Fig. 4); an inclined inner and outer second sealing part extending from both sides of the central surface and is formed by pressing the sealing tool (70) (para. 12, 68, Fig. 4). Park et al. teaches benefits of said configuration such as providing a strong sealing strength and excellent sealing performance to the pouch type secondary battery (Park et al., para. 10).
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 4 (Han et al.))]
Han et al. teaches a sealing tool (battery cell sealing apparatus 500) comprising guide bars 200 protruding from an outside portion of the sealing portion 145 of the sealing blocks 300 away from the electrode assembly ([0043]). The guide bars control a height or inclination angle of the inclined unsealed region (equivalent to an outer second sealing portion) where the electrode terminals may be formed ([0045]-[0047], Fig. 4). The sealing device allows the unsealing region to be adjustable in height ([0014]); since the height of the unsealed region is adjustable by the guide bars in the sealing blocks, the risk of the manufacturing process due to interference or friction with the external device in the unsealed region can be prevented ([0020]).
Jong Kim et al. teaches a sealing surface of a sealing tool comprising an outer inclined surface configured to face outer portions of a sealing part and inclined by an acute angle relative to a central surface; the outer inclined surface of the sealing surface of the sealing tool (jig configured to seal the pouch case forming a sealing part, [0018]) is configured to extend along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly 110 with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool and is not in contact with the electrode assembly ([0023], Fig. 9). Jong Kim et al. teaches that the inclinations formed on the pressing surfaces of the sealing tool allow the inner adhesive layer to be pushed more naturally to an outer direction so that a sufficient adhesive layer is formed on an outer side of the [AltContent: textbox (Fig. 9 (Jong Kim et al.))]
sealing portion ([0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell manufacturing method of Tamura wherein an inclined outer portion of a second sealing part extends from an outer side of a central surface in a direction away from the electrode assembly as taught by Park et al.; and to configure the sealing tool be in contact with the outer portion of the second sealing part to control the inclination angle of the outer portion of a sealing part as taught by Han et al.; and to further modify the sealing tool to include an outer inclined surface (inclined by an acute angle relative to a central surface) configured to face an outer portion of a sealing part extending along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool and is not in contact with the electrode assembly as taught by Jong Kim et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification by: Park et al. to provide a strong sealing strength and excellent sealing performance to the pouch type secondary battery (Park et al., para. 10); Han et al. to prevent the risk of the manufacturing process due to interference or friction with the external device in the unsealed region (Han et al., [0020]); and Jong Kim et al. to allow the inner adhesive layer to be pushed more naturally to an outer direction so that a sufficient adhesive layer is formed on an outer side of the sealing portion (Jong Kim et al., [0086]).
Based on the proposed modification and the creative steps employed by a skilled artisan, Tamura as modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. provides a sealing surface of the sealing tool comprising an outer inclined surface configured to face outer portions of the second sealing part extending from outer sides of the central surface, inclined by an acute angle, and configured to extend along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool and not in contact with the electrode assembly. As Tamura teaches the sealing tool comprising an equivalent inclined surface facing an inner portion of a second sealing part (in a direction toward the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface), Tamura is modified by the prior art to include a similar configuration in an outer direction (away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface) to provide an outer inclined surface of the sealing tool configured to face an outer second sealing part.
Additionally, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 4 7 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the shape of the sealing tool of Tamura to control the size of the inclination angle as taught by Han et al. and to ensure that the adhesive layer is sufficiently applied as taught by Jong Kim et al. as described above. The results would be expected as all claim limitations are disclosed by the prior art and can be reasonably combined to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As described in Claim 1, Tamura teaches the inclined surface extending from the central surface in a width direction of the sealing tool as indicated in annotated Fig. 5A. Tamura is modified by Park et al. to include an inclined surface configured to extend along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly with respect to the central surface and is not in contact with the electrode assembly; it would be obvious to further modify the sealing tool of Tamura to include an inclined surface at said outer second sealing part in view of Han et al. and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 1. Therefore, it would be obvious to further modify the inclined surface of the sealing tool facing the outer second sealing portion to extend from the central surface in a width direction of the sealing tool. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 3, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1, Tamura teaches the part in which is sealed (sealing part) located on an outer peripheral surface of the battery cell through which an electrode lead (extending from electrode tab (15)) passes and protrudes toward an outside of the battery case from the electrode assembly; the tab or lead portion includes a resin (32) or film located on upper and lower parts of the electrode lead, respectively, (Fig. 5A, para 44).
Regarding Claim 5, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As shown in the annotated Fig. 5A and 5B, Tamura teaches the device is configured such that in use, the central surface and the first sealing part, and the inclined surface and the second sealing part are sequentially brought into contact with each other (Fig. 5A-5B). It would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the modified outer second sealing part and inclined surface of the sealing tool as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the shape of the sealing tool of Tamura corresponding to the outer second sealing part to control the size of the inclination angle and provide a uniform pressing force on both second sealing parts (outer and inner) to improve the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 6, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 5A and 5B, Tamura teaches that the device is configured such that in use, while the central surface is brought into contact with the first sealing part, the second sealing part is inclined or bent along an inclination angle of the inclined surface (para. 55, Fig. 5A-5B). It would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the modified outer second sealing part and inclined surface of the sealing tool as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above to control the size of the inclination angle and provide a uniform pressing force on both second sealing parts (outer and inner) to improve the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 7, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Tamura teaches the sealing surface (501f, 502f) configured to form a heat-sealing part between the sealing part and the lead film (32) (para. 43,62; Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding Claim 8, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 7 above. As shown in the annotated Fig. 5A and Fig. 5B, Tamura teaches portions analogous to a heat-sealing part including a first heat-sealing part corresponding to the central surface and a second heat-sealing part corresponding to the inclined surface; the central surface is configured to form a first heat-sealing part between the first sealing part and the lead film, and the inclined surface is configured to form the second heat-sealing part between the second sealing part and the lead film (para. 62, Fig. 5A-5B). It would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the modified outer second sealing part and inclined surface of the sealing tool as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above to control the size of the inclination angle and provide a uniform pressing force on both second sealing parts (outer and inner) to improve the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 1 (Tamura))]
Regarding Claim 9, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 8 above. Tamura teaches the battery case being made of a layer or film including an inner layer (921, 922) and outer layer (923) (para. 4, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 9 above. As shown in Fig. 5B, Tamura teaches the device configured such that in use, a first material contained in the inner layer of the first sealing part is heated and pressed in which the first material would be eluted in a direction away from the pressing force of the central surface (Fig. 5A-5B, para. 62).
Regarding Claim 11, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Tamura teaches the inclined surface including integrated heaters configured to heat seal the first material together with the inner layer of the second sealing part (para. 62, Fig. 5A-5B). It would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the modified outer second sealing part and inclined surface of the sealing tool as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above to provide a uniform pressing force on both second sealing parts (outer and inner) to improve the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 12, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above. Tamura teaches the first material forming an inner layer of the first sealing part and second sealing part and is contained in the second heat-sealing part (para. 69, Fig. 5A-5B). When performing the described modification by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 1, it would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the outer second sealing part to provide uniform adhesion at both second sealing parts (outer and inner) further improving the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 13, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 11 above. Tamura teaches the device configured such that in use, an inner polypropylene layer analogous to a first material would be eluted to a first length based on a boundary line formed between the central surface and the inclined surface during heat sealing (para. 74). When performing the described modification by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 1, it would be obvious for said configuration to apply at the outer inclined surface to provide uniform adhesion at both second sealing parts (outer and inner) further improving the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 14, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 13 above. Tamura teaches that the inclined surface of the sealing tool is used to form the second sealing part comprising the first material, the width of the first length formed by the eluted first material would correspond to the width of the inclined surface; therefore, the device is configured such that in use, the width of the inclined surface would be slightly greater than or equal to the width of the first length (Fig. 5A-5B). When performing the described modification by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 1, it would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the outer second sealing part to provide uniform adhesion at both second sealing parts (outer and inner) further improving the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 15, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Tamura teaches that the sealing tool includes a first sealing tool (501) configured to press an upper of the battery case part (201) and a second sealing tool (502) configured to press a lower part of the battery case (Fig. 5A, para. 106). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 16, Tamura teaches a battery cell comprising an electrode assembly (910) and a battery case (920) in which the electrode assembly is mounted within (para. 4, Fig. 1). A sealing part is formed on an outer peripheral surface of the battery case and comprises a first sealing part and second sealing part, wherein the second sealing part is inclined or bent to an inclination angle with respect to the first sealing part (para. 68, annotated Fig. 5A-5B). The second sealing part corresponds to a heat-sealing part formed by the sealing surface (501f) (para. 43;62, Fig. 5A-5B). As shown in Fig. 5B, Tamura teaches the first material contained in the inner layer of the first sealing part being pressed and heated by the central surface and in turn, the first material would be eluted in a direction away from the pressing force of the central surface in which the flat part would be heat-sealed together with the first material to form the heat-sealing part (Fig. 5A-5B, para. 4-5). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tamura to provide a laminate case battery with improved sealing reliability and stable quality (para. 8).
Tamara does not teach wherein the second sealing part is located away from the electrode assembly with respect to the first sealing part and is bent relative to an outer direction away from the electrode assembly, the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle not being in contact with the electrode assembly; and wherein a first material contained in the first sealing part is eluted in a direction away from the first sealing part toward the second sealing part.
As shown in annotated Figure 4, Park et al. teaches an analogous second sealing part located away from the electrode assembly with respect to the first sealing part in which is bent upward relative to an outer direction away from the electrode assembly (10) with respect to the first sealing part; the second sealing part is bent to the inclination angle and is not in contact with the electrode assembly (para. 10-12, Fig. 4). A first material (inner sealant layer (69)) is contained in the first sealing part and is discharged or eluted to an outer side of the electrode assembly corresponding to a direction away from the first sealing part toward the second sealing part, wherein the eluted material is partially below the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle (para. 12, Fig. 4). Park et al. teaches benefits of said configuration such as providing a strong sealing strength and excellent sealing performance to the pouch type secondary battery (Park et al., para. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery cell of Tamara by Park et al. to include a second sealing part located away from the electrode assembly with respect to the first sealing part and is bent relative to an outer direction away from the electrode assembly; the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle not being in contact with the electrode assembly; and wherein a first material contained in the first sealing part is eluted in a direction away from the first sealing part toward the second sealing part, wherein the eluted material is partially below the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide a strong sealing strength and excellent sealing performance to the pouch type secondary battery (Park et al., para. 10).
Tamara et al. does not teach wherein an outer surface of the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle is sealed by contact with a sealing surface of a sealing tool.
Han et al. teaches a sealing tool (battery cell sealing apparatus 500) comprising guide bars 200 protruding from an outside portion of the sealing portion 145 of the sealing blocks 300 away from the electrode assembly ([0043]). The guide bars control a height or inclination angle of the inclined unsealed region (equivalent to an outer second sealing portion) where the electrode terminals may be formed ([0045]-[0047], Fig. 4). The sealing device allows the unsealing region to be adjustable in height ([0014]); since the height of the unsealed region is adjustable by the guide bars in the sealing blocks, the risk of the manufacturing process due to interference or friction with the external device in the unsealed region can be prevented ([0020]).
Jong Kim et al. teaches a sealing surface of a sealing tool comprising an outer inclined surface configured to face outer portions of a sealing part and inclined by an acute angle relative to a central surface; the outer inclined surface of the sealing surface of the sealing tool (jig configured to seal the pouch case forming a sealing part, [0018]) is configured to extend along an outer direction of the sealing part away from the electrode assembly 110 with respect to the central surface of the sealing tool and is not in contact with the electrode assembly ([0023], Fig. 9). Jong Kim et al. teaches that the inclinations formed on the pressing surfaces of the sealing tool allow the inner adhesive layer to be pushed more naturally to an outer direction so that a sufficient adhesive layer is formed on an outer side of the sealing portion ([0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell manufacturing method of Tamura wherein an outer surface of a sealing part bent to an inclination angle is in contact with a sealing surface of a sealing tool as taught by Han et al.; in which the surface of the sealing tool is inclined and configured to face the outer surface of the sealing part bent to the inclination angle as taught by Jong Kim et al. As Jong Kim teaches that the inner adhesive layer is pushed or eluted in an outer direction and Park et al. teaches that the adhesive material elutes below an outer surface of the second sealing part bent to the inclination angle (as modified above), one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the outer surface of the second sealing part bent by the inclination angle to also be sealed by contact with the sealing surface of a sealing tool and the eluted adhesive there between. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a strong sealing strength and excellent sealing performance to the pouch type secondary battery (Park et al., para. 10), prevent the risk of the manufacturing process due to interference or friction with the external device in the unsealed region (Han et al., [0020]), and to allow the inner adhesive layer to be pushed more naturally to an outer direction so that a sufficient adhesive layer is formed on an outer side of the sealing portion (Jong Kim et al., [0086]).
Regarding Claim 17, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. Tamura teaches the sealing part (501, 502) located on an outer peripheral surface of the battery cell through which an electrode lead (electrode tab (15)) passes and protrudes toward an outside of the battery case from the electrode assembly; the tab or lead portion includes a resin (32) or film located on upper and lower parts of the electrode lead, respectively, (Fig. 5A, para 44). When performing the described modification by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 16, it would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the outer second sealing part to provide uniform adhesion at both second sealing parts (outer and inner) further improving the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 18, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 17 above. Tamura teaches the second sealing part (502) comprising an inclined part corresponding to a second heat-sealing part (para. 62, Fig. 5B). When a pressing force and heat is applied by the inclined surface of the sealing tool, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the second sealing part to include a flat part formed by the elution of the first material as indicated in the annotated Fig. 5B, in which the heat-sealing part is formed between the flat part and the lead film (para. 62, Fig. 5B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tamura to provide a laminate case battery with improved sealing reliability and stable quality (para. 8). When performing the described modification by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. as applied to Claim 17, it would be obvious to adopt said configuration for the outer second sealing part to provide uniform adhesion at both second sealing parts (outer and inner) further improving the seal strength. Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 20, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. As applied above, Tamura teaches the first material contained in the heat-sealing part (para. 62, Fig. 5A-5B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tamura to provide a laminate case battery with improved sealing reliability and stable quality (para. 8).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (U.S. Pat. No. 20130029214 A1) in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 101428458 B1), Han et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20160130588 A), and Jong Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20150137742 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20160096417 A).
Regarding Claim 21, Tamura is modified by Park et al., Han et al., and Jong Kim et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1, Tamura teaches that the inclined surface of the sealing surface of the sealing tool is inclined by an acute angle.
Tamura does not teach that the acute angle is 5 degrees to 50 degrees.
Hong et al. teaches a pouch type secondary battery in which a sealing tool (pressing jig) is pressed against an outer surface of the pouch forming an acute inclination angle of 45 degrees (para. 4-5, 34). The sealing devices provides reduced sealing failure due to geometric causes and improved watertightness and airtightness (para. 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing surface of the sealing tool of Tamura by Hong et al. to include an acute angle of 45 degrees, within the claimed range of 5 to 50 degrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide reduced sealing failure due to geometric causes and improved watertightness and airtightness as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729