DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a means capable of modifying the distance of a coil from the face of the product that is closest to it” in claim 7.
“a means” (claim 7) is interpreted as “This means 21 for example comprises a worm whose longitudinal axis is perpendicular to the face 1fs of the product and a nut fixed on the coil with which the worm cooperates. Thus, the position of the coil is adjusted by rotating the worm. The means 21 can also be a rack, a linear motor, a jack” (para.0029 and 0053 of instant publication application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “said inductor comprising coils having surfaces which extend over planes which are substantially parallel to each other” The term “substantially parallel" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially parallel”, therefore applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable.
Claim 4 recites “the relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable so as to modify the distance between two substantially parallel surfaces on which the coils extend while keeping the product substantially centered between the coils on opposite sides of the central space.” The term “substantially parallel surfaces" and “substantially centered” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially parallel surfaces" and “substantially centered”, therefore applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable.
Claim 11 recites “a substantially homogeneous transverse temperature profile”. The term “substantially homogeneous transverse temperature profile " is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially homogeneous transverse temperature profile”, therefore applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H04-054194 in view of Ross (US 2002/0148830) and Welch et al. (US 6107613).
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘194 discloses “an Inductor” (on page 26, induction ripening device) intended to heat “a flat product” (fig.5, 1) by transverse flow induction, “said product having an upper face” (5 has an upper face) and “a lower face” (5 has a lower face), “said inductor comprising coils” (8 and 9) having surfaces (each 8 and 9 having surfaces) which extend over planes (imaginary planes at upper 8 and 9 and lower 8 and 9) which are substantially parallel to each other, and “a thickness” (each inductor 8 and 9 has a thickness portion of the inductor) “in a direction perpendicular to these planes” (the thickness is in perpendicular direction with respect the imaginary planes), “the inductor also comprising a central space” (a space between the coils 8 and 9) between the coils that is intended to receive “the product” (1),
wherein “on each side of a central space, a first coil and a second coil are disposed” (8 and 9 on each side of central space. The central space refers to the space between top coils and bottom coils) , “a first coil and a second coil are disposed, such that two coils are disposed on a first side of the central space” (a first coil 8 and a second coil 9 are disposed such that two coils 8 and 9 are disposed on a first side (i.e., a top side) of the central space) and “two coils are disposed on a second side of the central space opposite the first” (another coils 8 and 9 disposed on the bottom side of the central space).
JP’194 is silent regarding characterized in that the first coil on each side of the central space, a coil closest to the face of the product and is spaced apart therefrom by a first distance on that side, and the second coil on each side is disposed at a distance from the face of the product that is at least equal to the first distance on that side plus the thickness of the first coil on that side, and wherein a relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable such that the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) all coincident, (ii) all distinct, or (iii) some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the planes.
Ross teaches characterized “characterized in that the first coil on each side of the central space” (the first coil 82b on upper side, another first coil 82c on lower side), “a coil closest to the face of the product and is spaced apart therefrom by a first distance on that side” (a coil 82b closest to the upper face of the product 16 and is spaced apart therefrom by a first distance on that side), and “the second coil on each side is disposed at a distance from the face of the product that is at least equal to the first distance on that side plus the thickness of the first coil on that side” (the second coil 82a or 82d is disposed at a distance from the face of the product that is at least equal to the first distance on that side plus the thickness of the first coil on that side). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’194 with Ross, by re-arranged JP’194 coils configuration according to Ross coil’s configuration, to provide improved heating efficiency (para.006-0007) based on shape and/or size and/or desired heating profile of a workpiece as taught by Ross.
Welch et al. teaches “a relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable” (coils 46, 48, 50 and 52 with respect to each other is adjustable. The coils are adjustable in horizontal direction and vertical direction (see fig.2, arrows 76, 78, 86, 88, 84, 82, 72 and 74) represent the direction movement). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’194 with Welch et al., by adding Welch et al.’s manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-64, in particular at lines 42-43 and Col.4 at lines 58-63) to JP’194 coil device, to permit movement to a desired position for the improved heating of the workpiece (col.3 at lines 40-43) as taught by Welch et al.
The combination of modified ‘194 and Welch would meet the claim limitations of “a relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable such that the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) all coincident, (ii) all distinct, or (iii) some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the planes” because JP’914, fig.5 shows the relative positions of coil with respect to each other is adjustable and modified ‘194 teaches stacked coils on top and bottom sides of the workpiece. Welch et al. teaches coils (46, 48, 50 and 52) are adjustable relative to each other in horizontal and vertical directions (arrows 76, 78, 86, 88, 84, 82, 72 and 74) with manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-43, in particular at lines 42-43, i.e., manual adjuster (64, 66, 68, 70, 56, 58, 60 and 62)) at desired locations (col.4 at lines 42-64, i.e., The subject invention provides for inductor adjustment for achieving independent width of each turn and/or turn spacing. Although linear actuators have been shown that can implement preselected recipe positioning or automated positioning, the invention can also be implemented with manual adjustment of the inductor turn positions).
Thus, the Welch et al.’s can be used to adjust modified ‘194 coils at desired positions such that modified ‘194’s the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) all coincident, (ii) all distinct, or (iii) some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the plane because modified ‘194 having the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes (Ross, fig.8 shows coils 82a, 82b, 82c and 82d) all coincident. Since, Welch et al.’s teaches the coils position can be manually adjustable in horizontal and vertical directions. Then, the stacked coils (as shown in Ross, fig.8) as implemented in JP’194 coil system can be move in any desired locations such as the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) “all coincident” (example: coils are all coincident when all remain at the same stacked position, as shown in Ross, fig.8), (ii) “all distinct” (example: Welch et al., the invention can also be implemented with manual adjustment of the inductor turn positions. This suggest that one of upper coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slight toward right at a smaller spacing and another upper coil of modified JP’194 can be moved toward right at a larger spacing; one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slightly toward left at a smaller spacing and another one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slightly toward left at a larger spacing), or (iii) “some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the plane” (example: one of upper coil of modified JP’194 can be stationary. Another one of upper coil modified JP’194 can be moved toward right; One of lower coil of modified JP’194 stationary and another one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved toward left). See MPEP 2143, (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’194 with Welch et al., by adding Welch et al.’s manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-64, in particular at lines 42-43 and Col.4 at lines 58-63) to JP’194 coil device, to permit movement to a desired position for the improved heating of the workpiece (col.3 at lines 40-43) as taught by Welch et al.
Regarding claim 2, modified JP ‘194 discloses “the coils having a central axis perpendicular to the surfaces” (fig.8 of Ross teaches the coils having a central axis perpendicular to the horizontal surfaces of the coils), wherein “the relative position of the coils, with respect to each other, is adjustable” (JP’914, fig.5 shows the relative positions of coil with respect to each other is adjustable. Welch et al. teaches the manual adjuster that is capable of moving relative position of coils with respect to each other) “so that the central axes of the coils are all coincident” (fig.8 of Ross teaches the coils with all central axes coincident), so that the central axes of the coils are all distinct or so that some are coincident and others are distinct in a direction parallel to said surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, modified JP ‘194 discloses “the relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable based on the width of the product” (JP ‘194, on page 38, If the gap G between the homogenizing coil 3 the heated material 1 is small, temperature gradually rises to the homogeneous state a. If the gap G is small, the temperature increases slowly. When the gap G is in the proper homogenizing position, it becomes homogeneous state b. If the gap G is large, temperature gradually decreases to homogeneous state c. Therefore, by adjusting the gap G appropriately, the desired homogeneous heating state can be achieved. The uniform heating coil 3 is designed to suit the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1, or the uniform heating temperature. The heat equalization coil 3 can be adjusted according to the specifications of the width, thickness, material, etc. of the material to be heated 1 or the heat equalization temperature. Examiner noted that when the gap G is small, the relative position of the coils is adjustable so as to modify the distance of the coils from the face of the product that is closest to them. Examiner noted that Welch et al. teaches the manual adjuster that is capable of moving relative position of coils with respect to each other based on product size because user can visually determine the size of product to manually adjust the coil toward or away from the product to accommodate the product) and/or based on the length of the product.
Regarding claim 4, modified JP ‘194 discloses “the relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable so as to modify the distance between two substantially parallel surfaces on which the coils extend” (JP ‘194, fig. 8 the reference teaches that the gap G between coils 8-8 and 9-9 is adjustable. Welch et al. teaches the manual adjuster that is capable of moving relative position of coils with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 5, modified JP ‘194 discloses “the relative position of the coils is adjustable so as to modify the distance of the coils from the face of the product that is closest to them” (JP ‘194, on page 38, When the heated material 1 enters the temperature rise zone by the temperature rise coil 2, the temperature is raised as shown in Figure 4. Next, it enters the heat equalization zone with the heat balance coil 3. If the gap G between the homogenizing coil 3 the heated material 1 is small, temperature gradually rises to the homogeneous state a. If the gap G is small, the temperature increases slowly. When the gap G is in the proper homogenizing position, it becomes homogeneous state b. If the gap G is large, temperature gradually decreases to homogeneous state c. Therefore, by adjusting the cap G appropriately, the desired homogeneous heating state can be achieved. The uniform heating coil 3 is designed to suit the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1, or the uniform heating temperature. The heat equalization coil 3 can be adjusted according to the specifications of the width, thickness, material, etc. of the material to be heated 1 or the heat equalization temperature. Examiner noted that when the gap G is small, the relative position of the coils is adjustable so as to modify the distance of the coils from the face of the product that is closest to them. Welch et al. teaches the manual adjuster that is capable of moving relative position of coils with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 6, modified JP ‘194 discloses “Installation” (JP ‘194, fig.5) “for transverse flow induction heating of a product comprising at least one inductor according to 1” (as set forth in claim 1 above) and at least one power source (JP ‘194, 6) electrically connected to “said inductor” (JP ‘194, 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 7, modified JP ‘194 discloses wherein “the inductor comprises a means capable of modifying the distance of a coil from the face of the product that is closest to it” (JP ‘194, on pages 12, i.e., adjustment movement shaft 2 The upper end of the adjusting axis 20 is the feed torsion adjuster. Attached to the beam member 15a of the support frame 15 via the structure 21 … Torsion adjustment mechanism 21 is a servo motor not shown … this will cause the adjustable displacement axis 20 in the direction of its axis. Welch et al. also teaches the manual adjuster that is capable of moving relative position of coils with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 8, modified JP ‘194 discloses “the inductor comprises means (JP ‘194, on pages 12, i.e., adjustment movement shaft 2 The upper end of the adjusting axis 20 is the feed torsion adjuster. Attached to the beam member 15a of the support frame 15 via the structure 21 … Torsion adjustment mechanism 21 is a servo motor not shown … this will cause the adjustable displacement axis 20 in the direction of its axis) “capable of modifying the relative position of a first coil with respect to a second coil based on the width of the product and/or based on the length of the product” (JP ‘194, on page 38, When the heated material 1 enters the temperature rise zone by the temperature rise coil 2, the temperature is raised as shown in Figure 4. Next, it enters the heat equalization zone with the heat balance coil 3. If the gap G between the homogenizing coil 3 the heated material 1 is small, temperature gradually rises to the homogeneous state a. If the gap G is small, the temperature increases slowly. When the gap G is in the proper homogenizing position, it becomes homogeneous state b. If the gap G is large, temperature gradually decreases to homogeneous state c. Therefore, by adjusting the cap G appropriately, the desired homogeneous heating state can be achieved. The uniform heating coil 3 is designed to suit the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1, or the uniform heating temperature. The heat equalization coil 3 can be adjusted according to the specifications of the width, thickness, material, etc. of the material to be heated 1 or the heat equalization temperature. Examiner noted that the relative position between coil and the product can be adjusted based on the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(1) Applicant argues “substantially centered … Claim 4 recites adjustment of the spacing between opposed coil surfaces while keeping the product substantially centered between the coils. Paragraph [0016] expressly relates centering to substantially equal distances between the product and the first coil on each side. Figures 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0052] and [0055] identify the corresponding distances from the respective product faces. Thus, the reference is geometric: the product remains approximately midway between the opposed first coils as the air gap is adjusted. The term does not depend on an operator's subjective preference. The Office Action's premise that the Specification supplies no standard overlooks this express relationship” on page 5 of remark.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because [0016], [0052] and [0055] the specification merely discusses about substantially parallel surfaces on which the coils extend. However, these paragraphs do not provide a standard, for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially parallel”, therefore the applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable. Examiner suggest removing “substantially” to overcome 35 USC 112b rejections.
(2) Applicant argues “Substantially homogeneous transverse temperature profile … Claim 11 identifies both the relevant temperature distribution and the location at which it is assessed: the transverse profile of the product at the outlet of the second inductor. Paragraph [0027] expressly describes a two-inductor example in which the entering product has colder edges the first inductor preferentially heats one edge, and the second preferentially heats the other to obtain a homogeneous output temperature. The disclosed reference is temperature uniformity across the product width, achieved by compensating the edge-to-center temperature differences. Figure 14 and paragraph [0073] provide a further, four-inductor illustration of that principle. The plotted transverse profiles distinguish the initial edge deficits and intermediate asymmetric heating from the substantially level final profile. Applicant does not rely on Figure 14 as depicting a two-inductor installation; paragraph [0027] separately supplies that example. Together, these disclosures provide an objective thermal comparison for the term of degree, consistent with MPEP § 2173.05(b), subsection I. "Substantially homogeneous" denotes approximate transverse uniformity in this disclosed context, rather than any profile an operator might consider desirable” on pages 5-6 of remark.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because [0073] discuss about the change in the transverse temperature of a product … The relative position of the coils of the final inductor is such as to promote slightly greater heating of the edge located to the right of the diagram so as to obtain a homogeneous temperature profile of the product. However, the above paragraph does not provide a standard, for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially homogeneous temperature profile”, therefore the applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable. Examiner suggest deleting “substantially” to overcome 35 USC 112b rejections.
(3) Applicant argues “substantially parallel … [0007] and [0015] … ” on page 6 of remark.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because the above paragraphs do not provide a standard, for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, the specification does not define or supply some standard for the term “substantially parallel”, therefore the applicant has not disclosed a range of acceptable deviation or how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what amount of deviation is acceptable. Examiner suggest deleting “substantially” to overcome 35 USC 112b rejections.
(4) Applicant argues “35 USC 103 … The office Action identifies elements 82b and 82c as the first coils and elements 82a and 82d as the second coils … alignment of the depicted leg cross-sections does not establish coincidence of the central axes of the respective coils … Applicant does not contend that Ross lacks coils or overlapping coil arrangements elsewhere” on page 7 of remark.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because 82a-82d coils are overlapped arrangement. See annotated fig.8 below:
(5) Applicant argues “Welch discloses adjustment of individual inductor turns 46, 48, 50, and 52 within a channel coil, including horizontal and vertical adjustment and manual positioning. See Welch, Figure 2; column 3, lines 25-64; column 4, lines 1-29 and 58-63. Applicant therefore does not dispute the general availability of adjustable supports. The Office Action goes further, however, by positing that the modified coils can be shifted by selected amounts to yield all coincident axes, all distinct axes, or a mixture. See Office Action, pages 10-12. Its starting premise, that Ross Figure 8
establishes coincident central axes of four coils, is not established by that sectional depiction of conductor legs” on page 8 of remark.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because examiner does not only rely Welch et al. to teach “all coincident axes, all distinct axes, or a mixture”. Welch et al.’s coils (46, 48, 50 and 52) are manual adjuster, user can manually adjust these coils to desired positions. Welch et al. teaches coils (46, 48, 50 and 52) are adjustable relative to each other in horizontal and vertical directions (arrows 76, 78, 86, 88, 84, 82, 72 and 74) with manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-43, in particular at lines 42-43, i.e., manual adjuster (64, 66, 68, 70, 56, 58, 60 and 62)) at desired locations (col.4 at lines 42-64, i.e., The subject invention provides for inductor adjustment for achieving independent width of each turn and/or turn spacing. The combination of modified ‘194 and Welch would meet the claim limitations of “a relative position of the coils with respect to each other is adjustable such that the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) all coincident, (ii) all distinct, or (iii) some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the planes” because JP’914, fig.5 shows the relative positions of coil with respect to each other is adjustable and modified ‘194 teaches stacked coils on top and bottom sides of the workpiece. Welch et al. teaches coils (46, 48, 50 and 52) are adjustable relative to each other in horizontal and vertical directions (arrows 76, 78, 86, 88, 84, 82, 72 and 74) with manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-43, in particular at lines 42-43, i.e., manual adjuster (64, 66, 68, 70, 56, 58, 60 and 62)) at desired locations (col.4 at lines 42-64, i.e., The subject invention provides for inductor adjustment for achieving independent width of each turn and/or turn spacing. Although linear actuators have been shown that can implement preselected recipe positioning or automated positioning, the invention can also be implemented with manual adjustment of the inductor turn positions).
Thus, the Welch et al.’s can be used to adjust modified ‘194 coils at desired positions such that modified ‘194’s the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) all coincident, (ii) all distinct, or (iii) some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the plane because modified ‘194 having the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes (Ross, fig.8 shows coils 82a, 82b, 82c and 82d) all coincident. Since, Welch et al.’s teaches the coils position can be manually adjustable in horizontal and vertical directions. Then, the stacked coils (as shown in Ross, fig.8) as implemented in JP’194 coil system can be move in any desired locations such as the central axes of the coils perpendicular to the planes are selectively (i) “all coincident” (example: coils are all coincident when all remain at the same stacked position, as shown in Ross, fig.8), (ii) “all distinct” (example: Welch et al., the invention can also be implemented with manual adjustment of the inductor turn positions. This suggest that one of upper coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slight toward right at a smaller spacing and another upper coil of modified JP’194 can be moved toward right at a larger spacing; one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slightly toward left at a smaller spacing and another one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved slightly toward left at a larger spacing), or (iii) “some coincident and others distinct in a direction parallel to the plane” (example: one of upper coil of modified JP’194 can be stationary. Another one of upper coil modified JP’194 can be moved toward right; One of lower coil of modified JP’194 stationary and another one of lower coil of modified JP’194 can be moved toward left). See MPEP 2143, (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify JP’194 with Welch et al., by adding Welch et al.’s manual adjuster (Col.3 at lines 25-64, in particular at lines 42-43 and Col.4 at lines 58-63) to JP’194 coil device, to permit movement to a desired position for the improved heating of the workpiece (col.3 at lines 40-43) as taught by Welch et al.
(7) With respect to claim 8, JP ‘194 teaches the features of adjust gap between coils to achieve homogenous heating state. (JP ‘194, on page 38, When the heated material 1 enters the temperature rise zone by the temperature rise coil 2, the temperature is raised as shown in Figure 4. Next, it enters the heat equalization zone with the heat balance coil 3. If the gap G between the homogenizing coil 3 the heated material 1 is small, temperature gradually rises to the homogeneous state a. If the gap G is small, the temperature increases slowly. When the gap G is in the proper homogenizing position, it becomes homogeneous state b. If the gap G is large, temperature gradually decreases to homogeneous state c. Therefore, by adjusting the cap G appropriately, the desired homogeneous heating state can be achieved. The uniform heating coil 3 is designed to suit the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1, or the uniform heating temperature. The heat equalization coil 3 can be adjusted according to the specifications of the width, thickness, material, etc. of the material to be heated 1 or the heat equalization temperature. Examiner noted that the relative position between coil and the product can be adjusted based on the specifications of the sheet width, thickness, and material of the material to be heated 1).
(6) Applicant argues “Claim 9 … they do not establish that he sources have different maximum capacities … Claim 10 … Claim 11” on pages 10-12 of remark.
In response, examiner agrees with applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-11 that first and second power sources being independently controllable and having different maximum power capacities is not taught by Guastini. Thus, rejections with respect to claims 9-11 are withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761