Status of Application
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 4/7/2026 have been acknowledged. Claims 1-11 and 13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0247036 to Siters et al., in view of WO 2019/198500 to Kiyama (English equivalent US 2021/0036290 used for citation).
Regarding claims 1-5, Siters et al. teaches a nonwoven fiber mat (pasting mat) for lead acid batteries ([0050]; [0052]; [0064]; [0069]) consisting of a glass fiber having an average diameter in the micron range at, for example, about 80 to about 99 weight percent and a binder at, for example, about 1 to about 20 weight percent, wherein the thickness of the mat is about 200 microns to about 700 microns ([0060-66]). Furthermore, Siters et al. teaches that the thin mat has a tensile strength of, e.g. 2.6 lbs./in (about 14.2 N/10mm2) (Table 16).
Siters et al. does not expressly teach that the binder is a heat-fusible binder fiber.
Kiyama teaches a porous body of lead acid batteries that corresponds to the claimed pasting mat ([0001-4]) and teaches that the porous body comprises a glass fiber having an average diameter in the micrometer range, i.e. a microglass fiber ([0017]; [0063]; [0064]), and a sheath-core type binder fiber that is heat-fusible (abstract; [0066]; [0068]; [0071-73]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a heat-fusible binder fiber in place of the binder in Siters et al., because Kiyama teaches when the porous body is used as a membrane of a battery separator, the sheath or melting component of the core/sheath type binder fiber stays in the periphery of the core so an increase in the electrical resistance due to clog-up of pores of the porous body is inhibited, while the core remains in a fibrous state in the porous body so that a strong three-dimensional network structure can be formed, which leads to an increase in strength ([0070]). Although the prior arts do not expressly teach the claimed thickness and bonding strength under the specific conditions per claims 1-4 and the claimed tensile strength per claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed properties because the prior arts render obvious the claimed pasting mat consisting of the same fibers and the properties are expected to follow the same composition.
Regarding claim 6, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber is an organic fiber having a core/sheath structure with a sheath of, e.g. polyesters or polyolefins having a melting point of lower than 200°C, which may be amorphous or crystalline ([0072-74]).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber has a fineness of 2.2 dtex (Example 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber is contained in an amount of 10 to 80 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the porous body ([0109]). This range overlaps with the taught range of Siters et al. ([0066]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Siters et al. teaches that the microglass fiber has an average diameter of, for example, less than 0.5 micron or less than 0.6 micron ([0050]; [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, the prior arts render obvious a lead acid battery comprising the pasting mat for lead acid batteries according to claim 1 (Siters [0050]; [0060-66]; Kiyama [0001])
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siters et al. and Kiyama as applied to claim 1 above, in view of JP 2002-75433 to Hisama et al. (machine translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 8, Siters et al. does not expressly teach that the porous body or pasting mat for use as a separator is a wound body wound with a pressure of 5 kPa or more applied.
Hisama et al. also relates to a separator mainly made of nonwoven glass fiber and teaches that rolls of glass mat separators 9 and 10 are provided as a wound body (Fig. 1; [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have turned the fiber mats of Siters et al. into a wound body as demonstrated by Hisama et al. so that the rolls of material are arranged in a machine for further lead acid battery plate manufacturing (Fig. 1; [0016]). The skilled artisan would have applied pressure to form the wound body and obtained expected results of a desired tightness in the wound body by adjusting the applied pressure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/557,181 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, besides “consisting of” and “comprising”, the only difference in the claims is that the thickness in the conflicting claim 1 is 0.02 mm or more and less than 0.1 mm, where the upper end point of 0.1 mm is the same as the lower limit of the present claim 1. The reference application renders obvious the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11 of copending Application No. 17/801,504 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the “separator for valve-regulated lead acid batteries” and “heat-fusible organic fiber” of claim 1 of the copending application reads on the claimed “pasting mat for lead acid batteries” and “heat-fusible binder fiber” of the present claim 1, respectively, where differences include the term “comprising” vs. “consisting of”, the lower limit of the thickness range in the conflicting claim 1 being the same as the upper limit of the counterpart of the present application, and the bonding strength ranges overlapping. The conflicting claim 1 also includes limitation of the present claim 6. The ranges of claims 2, 3, 6, and 8 in the conflicting application overlap with those in claims 2, 3, 7, and 9 of the present application, respectively. Claims 4, 7, 9, and 11 of the conflicting application match claims 5, 8, 11, and 13 of the present application, respectively. The reference application renders obvious the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued on Pages 6-7 of the remarks that, firstly, Siters does not disclose “a heat-fusible binder fiber” required by claim 1 and, secondly, paragraph [0066] of Siters allows ingredients other than the glass fibers and the binder and discloses embodiments having no binder.
While the Examiner acknowledges the first point, the Siters clearly supports a composition consisting of the glass fibers and the binder, making up 100 weight percent of the composition in paragraphs [0060-66]. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have been limited by the certain examples pointed out by Applicant per the second point.
Applicant continued to argue on Page 8 and summarized on Page 9 that Kiyama teaches a wet papermaking process using the sheath-core type binder fiber and there is no suggestion or motivation in the art to use such binder in Siters’ manufacturing process. Applicant asserted that modification of the references would require a complete change in the manufacturing process used in Siters et al. and it would seem that such a modification would produce a product not suitable for its intended purposes, or could be considered to change the principle of operation of the Siters et al. reference.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant pointed to Example 1 of Siters and argued that it was not a wet papermaking process and involves drying at 60 to 65°C ([0082]). However, that Example essentially describes a wet papermaking process, involving transferring a suspension to a sheet mold above a mesh screen and allowing it to drain and deposit a thin mat of material, which is then dried. As the rejection of claim 1 explains, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Kiyama’s sheath-core type binder fiber as the binder in the Siters’ composition, so that the sheath or melting component of the core/sheath type binder fiber stays in the periphery of the core so an increase in the electrical resistance due to clog-up of pores of the porous body is inhibited, while the core remains in a fibrous state in the porous body so that a strong three-dimensional network structure can be formed, which leads to an increase in strength ([0070]). Once incorporated, the skilled artisan would have adjusted the drying temperature to obtain the benefits of such binder. As a result, modification of the references would require, essentially, a swap of the binder and adjusting the drying step accordingly. The product would have been suitable for its intended purpose as a separator mat and there would not have been a change in the principle of operation of the Siters reference as argued by Applicant.
Therefore, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725