Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Parent claim 1 with the closed term “consisting of” does not allow constituents other than the microglass fiber and heat-fusible binder fiber. That is, the named elements make up 100% by weight of the claimed pasting mat. However, claim 12 reciting a range of 60% by weight or more allows unnamed elements and thus fails to further limit the parent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0247036 to Siters et al., in view of WO 2019/198500 to Kiyama (English equivalent US 2021/0036290 used for citation).
Regarding claims 1-5, Siters et al. teaches a nonwoven fiber mat (pasting mat) for lead acid batteries ([0050]; [0052]; [0064]; [0069]) consisting of a glass fiber having an average diameter in the micron range at, for example, about 80 to about 99 weight percent and a binder at, for example, about 1 to about 20 weight percent, wherein the thickness of the mat is about 200 microns to about 700 microns ([0060-66]). Furthermore, Siters et al. teaches that the thin mat has a tensile strength of, e.g. 2.6 lbs./in (about 14.2 N/10mm2) (Table 16).
Siters et al. does not expressly teach that the binder is a heat-fusible binder fiber.
Kiyama teaches a porous body of lead acid batteries that corresponds to the claimed pasting mat ([0001-4]) and teaches that the porous body comprises a glass fiber having an average diameter in the micrometer range, i.e. a microglass fiber ([0017]; [0063]; [0064]), and a sheath-core type binder fiber that is heat-fusible (abstract; [0066]; [0068]; [0071-73]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a heat-fusible binder fiber in place of the binder in Siters et al., because Kiyama teaches when the porous body is used as a membrane of a battery separator, the sheath or melting component of the core/sheath type binder fiber stays in the periphery of the core so an increase in the electrical resistance due to clog-up of pores of the porous body is inhibited, while the core remains in a fibrous state in the porous body so that a strong three-dimensional network structure can be formed, which leads to an increase in strength ([0070]). Although the prior arts do not expressly teach the claimed thickness and bonding strength under the specific conditions per claims 1-4 and the claimed tensile strength per claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed properties because the prior arts render obvious the claimed pasting mat consisting of the same fibers and the properties are expected to follow the same composition.
Regarding claim 6, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber is an organic fiber having a core/sheath structure with a sheath of, e.g. polyesters or polyolefins having a melting point of lower than 200°C, which may be amorphous or crystalline ([0072-74]).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber has a fineness of 2.2 dtex (Example 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kiyama teaches that the sheath-core type binder fiber or heat-fusible binder fiber is contained in an amount of 10 to 80 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the porous body ([0109]). This range overlaps with the taught range of Siters et al. ([0066]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Siters et al. teaches that the microglass fiber has an average diameter of, for example, less than 0.5 micron or less than 0.6 micron ([0050]; [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art pasting mat based on Siters et al. and Kiyama would have contained the microglass fiber and the heat-fusible binder fiber in a total amount of 100% by weight (Siters [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, the prior arts render obvious a lead acid battery comprising the pasting mat for lead acid batteries according to claim 1 (Siters [0050]; [0060-66]; Kiyama [0001])
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siters et al. and Kiyama as applied to claim 1 above, in view of JP 2002-75433 to Hisama et al. (machine translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 8, Siters et al. does not expressly teach that the porous body or pasting mat for use as a separator is a wound body wound with a pressure of 5 kPa or more applied.
Hisama et al. also relates to a separator mainly made of nonwoven glass fiber and teaches that rolls of glass mat separators 9 and 10 are provided as a wound body (Fig. 1; [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have turned the fiber mats of Siters et al. into a wound body as demonstrated by Hisama et al. so that the rolls of material are arranged in a machine for further lead acid battery plate manufacturing (Fig. 1; [0016]). The skilled artisan would have applied pressure to form the wound body and obtained expected results of a desired tightness in the wound body by adjusting the applied pressure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/557,181 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, besides “consisting of” and “comprising”, the only difference in the claims is that the thickness in the conflicting claim 1 is 0.02 mm or more and less than 0.1 mm, where the upper end point of 0.1 mm is the same as the lower limit of the present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 17/801,504 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the “separator for valve-regulated lead acid batteries” of the copending application reads on the claimed “pasting mat for lead acid batteries” of the present application, where the differences include the term “comprising” in the conflicting claim 1, the lower limit of the thickness range in the conflicting claim 1 being the same as the upper limit of the counterpart of the present application, and the bonding strength ranges overlapping.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant narrowed claim 1 with the term “consisting of” and, in response, the Examiner has applied a new ground of rejection, where Siters teaches a fiber mat that corresponds to the claimed pasting mat consisting of a microglass fiber and a binder and Kiyama demonstrates using a core/sheath structured heat-fusible binder fiber. The resulting fiber mat would have exhibited the claimed properties as the prior art composition is met.
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725