DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 8/6/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-13 and 15-25 are pending. Claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 14 are cancelled. Claims 16-23 are withdrawn. Claim 25 is new. Claim 1 is amended. No new matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes that claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the limitations of previous claim 8. The cited art does not teach that the electrical contacts are in the PCB.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. NETTENSTROM et al. discloses that the contact pads on each side of the PCB are connected by vias, 820A and 820B (Paragraphs [0071] and [0072]). Thus, the contacts are in the PCB, as well as on the surface of the PCB.
Applicant argues that LI does not teach or suggest a PCB that is arranged as a thermal barrier. LI describes a circuit board assembly that includes a heat insulation chamber in addition to a PCB. Thus, the PCB is separate from, and does not include the heat insulation cotton.
Claim 9 does not indicate how the PCB acts as a thermal barrier. Thus, simply having any material that provides any resistance at all to the passage of heat meets the limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 requires that the PCB is arranged as a thermal barrier. This is indefinite because the recited functional limitation does not have a corresponding structure for performing said function. Thus, it is unclear if the material of the PCB allows the PCB to act as a thermal barrier, or if there is some other structure that performs this function. The meets and bounds of claim 9 is therefore unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
______________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of NETTENSTROM et al. (US 2019/0046745)
With respect to claims 1 and 2, AMPOLINI et al. discloses an aerosol delivery device (Abstract) comprising an electrical power source, 110, such as a battery (Paragraphs [0086], [0091]); a heating chamber (inside 103) (Paragraph [0094]; Figure 1) operable to heat an aerosol substrate to generate an aerosol (Paragraph [0095]); a first control circuitry, 106, configured to control a supply of electrical power from the power source to the heating chamber (Paragraphs [0086], [0089]-[0091]); a housing, 101 and 103 (Paragraphs [0079], [0086], [0087]; Figure 1) comprising a mouth end, at 128 (Paragraph [0088]) and an opposing end, at 112 (Paragraph [0086]) . The electrical power source, heating chamber and first control circuitry are arranged within the internal volume of the housing (such as in a single unitary body) (Paragraph [0079]; Figure 1) and the heating chamber is arranged between the first control circuitry and the mouth end and the first control circuitry being arranged between the heating chamber and power source. AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the PCB comprises electrical contacts for connections to the electrical power source and electrical contacts to the heating chamber (Paragraphs [0126], [0127]).
The mouth end, heating chamber first control circuitry and power source are arranged along a common line (as required by claim 2) (Figure 1, annotated below)
[AltContent: textbox (PCB transverse to common line)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Power source)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Control circuitry )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mouth end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Heating chamber)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Common line )][AltContent: connector]
AMPOLINI et al. discloses the PCB has a surface wherein the first electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a first electrical contact for the heating chamber and a second electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a second contact for the heating chamber (Paragraph [0126]; Figure 5a).
AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the power source is in direct contact with the first contact. NETTENSTROM et al. discloses that the first electrical contact is in direct contact with the pins of the power source (Paragraph [0074], [0079]; Figure 1, 9 and 10a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a direct contact between the first electrical contact of AMPOLINI et al. and the power source, as taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that these components can be connected in the shortest path, thereby reducing the amount of wiring needed.
NETTENSTROM et al. discloses that the contact pads on each side of the PCB are connected by vias, 820A and 820B (Paragraphs [0071] and [0072]). Thus, the contacts are in the PCB, as well as on the surface of the PCB.
With respect to claim 4, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the first control circuitry comprises a PCB (Paragraph [0086]) arranged transverse to the common line (See annotated figure 1, above).
With respect to claim 7, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the PCB is a double sided PCB, as claimed.
NETTENSTROM et al. discloses a vaporizer (Abstract; Title) having a PCB control unit (Paragraph [0026]). The PCB is a double sided PCB with electrical contacts to the power source arranged on one side thereof and electrical contacts arranged on the other side for the heater (Paragraphs [0071], [0072]; Figures 8A and 8B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the PCB of AMPOLINI et al. in the manner taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that the heater and power source can be connected in the shortest path thereby reducing the amount of wiring needed.
With respect to claim 10, AMPOLINI et al. discloses a frame for the heating chamber (e.g., 644, 675) in which the heating chamber rests (Paragraphs [0130], [0134]; Figure 6). The power source, 410, is held by a power source frame, 424 and 411 (Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], [0120]; Figure 4).
With respect to claim 11, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the control circuitry is supported between the frames. NETTENSTROM et al. shows that the battery is supported in a frame and the PCB is between the heater and frame (Figures 1 and 9).
[AltContent: textbox (PCB area)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Battery frame components)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide battery frame components in AMPOLINI et al., as taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that the battery does not move around during use.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of NETTENSTROM et al. (US 2019/0046745) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of LI et al. (US 2015/0208730).
With respect to claim 9, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the PCB is arranged as a thermal barrier.
LI et al. discloses that the circuit board includes a heat insulation chamber to serve as a heat buffer thus reducing the effects of heat on the power supply (Paragraph [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a heat insulation chamber in the circuit board of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by LI et al. so that the effects of heat from the heat chamber can be reduced on the power supply.
__________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of NETTENSTROM et al. (US 2019/0046745) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of BOWEN et al. (US 2018/0043114).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the first circuitry supports a higher power than the second circuitry and that the two circuitries communicated via logical signaling.
BOWEN et al. discloses a vaporizer and its control (Abstract; Title). The vaporizer includes an identifier therein and may be part of a PCB (Paragraph [0116]). The identifier is read by the vaporizer body controller (Paragraphs [0056], [0057]) so that pertinent information about the cartridge can be determined. The identifier is an RFID component that is passive and does not have its own power source (Paragraph [0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a passive RFID on a printed circuit board (as required by claim 13) as the second control circuitry of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by BOWEN et al. so that the vaporizer body can determine various information about the cartridge.
BOWEN et al. further discloses that the communication is performed by logic reading and writing (Paragraph [0086]).
Moreover, given that the passive RFID does not have a power source, the second PCB supports a lower power than the first PCB
With respect to claim 15, AMPOLINI et al. shows the second control circuitry is arranged along a bottom side of the heating chamber (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 24, AMPOLINI et al. discloses the PCB has a surface wherein the first electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a first electrical contact for the heating chamber and a second electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a second contact for the heating chamber (Paragraph [0126]; Figure 5a).
AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the first circuitry supports a higher power than the second circuitry and that the two circuitries communicated via logical signaling.
BOWEN et al. discloses a vaporizer and its control (Abstract; Title). The vaporizer includes an identifier therein and may be part of a PCB (Paragraph [0116]). The identifier is read by the vaporizer body controller (Paragraphs [0056], [0057]) so that pertinent information about the cartridge can be determined. The identifier is an RFID component that is passive and does not have its own power source (Paragraph [0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a passive RFID on a printed circuit board (as required by claim 13) as the second control circuitry of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by BOWEN et al. so that the vaporizer body can determine various information about the cartridge.
BOWEN et al. further discloses that the communication is performed by logic reading and writing (Paragraph [0086]).
Moreover, given that the passive RFID does not have a power source, the second PCB supports a lower power than the first PCB
___________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of NETTENSTROM et al. (US 2019/0046745) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of GALLOWAY et al (US 2016/0050974)
With respect to claim 25, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the first and second power source electrical contacts, and the first and second heater electrical contacts are in a row. GALLOWAY et al discloses an aerosol generating system (Abstract) with electrical connectors. The circuit board is provides with a plurality of aligned contacts, with a plurality of them in a row (Figure 9; Paragraphs [0023], [0099], [0100]). The contacts connect to a plurality of devices of the electronic vaporizer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the electrical contacts (e.g.,. first and second heater and first and second battery contacts) aligned on the circuit board of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by GALLOWAY et al so that they can be tested sequentially.
The courts have generally held that mere rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious if operation of the device would not have been modified. See, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144, 04, VI, C. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to align the contacts of AMPOLINI et al. on the circuit board, either independently of the teachings of GALLOWAY et al, or in light of, as a matter of design choice or so that they are easily sequentially tested.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745