DETAILED ACTION
Examiner notes
The claim listing filed 10/3/2025 is an incomplete listing of the claims. Claim set filed 5/19/2025 includes claim 24, while also cancelling claim 14. As such, claim 14 remains cancelled, while claim 24 remains pending. Please make appropriate corrections to the claims.
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 10/3/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-24 are pending. Claims 3, 5 and 14 are cancelled. Claims 16-23 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 9 and 14 are amended. No new matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the limitations of previous claims 3 and 5 have been incorporated into claim 1. Ampolini fails to teach or suggest claim 1, as amended. The electrical contacts, 5106a, 5106b, 6106c and 531 are not included on a PCB of the control component 106 (allegedly corresponding to the “first control circuitry). Rather, Ampolini merely teaches that these contacts are located at a distal end of the base unit, 524, of power unit 401, not on a PCB of the control component.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The base unit comprises the PCB, 5106, (Abstract; Paragraph [0125]) and it is the PCB that includes the plurality of electrical contacts. Specifically, the PCB includes a first battery contact and each heater contact (Paragraph [0126]). The second battery contact is positioned on the PCB as well (Paragraph [0127]). Thus, the electrical contacts are explicitly disclosed as being located on the PCB, which is on the base unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030).
With respect to claims 1 and 2, AMPOLINI et al. discloses an aerosol delivery device (Abstract) comprising an electrical power source, 110, such as a battery (Paragraphs [0086], [0091]); a heating chamber (inside 103) (Paragraph [0094]; Figure 1) operable to heat an aerosol substrate to generate an aerosol (Paragraph [0095]); a first control circuitry, 106, configured to control a supply of electrical power from the power source to the heating chamber (Paragraphs [0086], [0089]-[0091]); a housing, 101 and 103 (Paragraphs [0079], [0086], [0087]; Figure 1) comprising a mouth end, at 128 (Paragraph [0088]) and an opposing end, at 112 (Paragraph [0086]) . The electrical power source, heating chamber and first control circuitry are arranged within the internal volume of the housing (such as in a single unitary body) (Paragraph [0079]; Figure 1) and the heating chamber is arranged between the first control circuitry and the mouth end and the first control circuitry being arranged between the heating chamber and power source. AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the PCB comprises electrical contacts for connections to the electrical power source and electrical contacts to the heating chamber (Paragraphs [0126], [0127]).
The mouth end, heating chamber first control circuitry and power source are arranged along a common line (as required by claim 2) (Figure 1, annotated below)
[AltContent: textbox (PCB transverse to common line)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Power source)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Control circuitry )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mouth end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Heating chamber)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Common line )][AltContent: connector]
With respect to claim 4, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the first control circuitry comprises a PCB (Paragraph [0086]) arranged transverse to the common line (See annotated figure 1, above).
With respect to claim 6, AMPOLINI et al. discloses the PCB has a surface wherein the first electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a first electrical contact for the heating chamber and a second electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a second contact for the heating chamber (Paragraph [0126]; Figure 5a).
With respect to claim 10, AMPOLINI et al. discloses a frame for the heating chamber (e.g., 644, 675) in which the heating chamber rests (Paragraphs [0130], [0134]; Figure 6). The power source, 410, is held by a power source frame, 424 and 411 (Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], [0120]; Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
______________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of NETTENSTROM et al. (US 2019/0046745).
With respect to claim 7, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the PCB is a double sided PCB, as claimed.
NETTENSTROM et al. discloses a vaporizer (Abstract; Title) having a PCB control unit (Paragraph [0026]). The PCB is a double sided PCB with electrical contacts to the power source arranged on one side thereof and electrical contacts arranged on the other side for the heater (Paragraphs [0071], [0072]; Figures 8A and 8B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the PCB of AMPOLINI et al. in the manner taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that the heater and power source can be connected in the shortest path thereby reducing the amount of wiring needed.
With respect to claim 8, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the power source is in direct contact with the first contact. NETTENSTROM et al. discloses that the first electrical contact is in direct contact with the pins of the power source (Paragraph [0074], [0079]; Figure 1, 9 and 10a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a direct contact between the first electrical contact of AMPOLINI et al. and the power source, as taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that these components can be connected in the shortest path, thereby reducing the amount of wiring needed.
With respect to claim 11, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the control circuitry is supported between the frames. NETTENSTROM et al. shows that the battery is supported in a frame and the PCB is between the heater and frame (Figures 1 and 9).
[AltContent: textbox (PCB area)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Battery frame components)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide battery frame components in AMPOLINI et al., as taught by NETTENSTROM et al. so that the battery does not move around during use.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of LI et al. (US 2015/0208730).
With respect to claim 9, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the PCB is arranged as a thermal barrier.
LI et al. discloses that the circuit board includes a heat insulation chamber to serve as a heat buffer thus reducing the effects of heat on the power supply (Paragraph [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a heat insulation chamber in the circuit board of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by LI et al. so that the effects of heat from the heat chamber can be reduced on the power supply.
__________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0331030) in view of BOWEN et al. (US 2018/0043114).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the first circuitry supports a higher power than the second circuitry and that the two circuitries communicated via logical signaling.
BOWEN et al. discloses a vaporizer and its control (Abstract; Title). The vaporizer includes an identifier therein and may be part of a PCB (Paragraph [0116]). The identifier is read by the vaporizer body controller (Paragraphs [0056], [0057]) so that pertinent information about the cartridge can be determined. The identifier is an RFID component that is passive and does not have its own power source (Paragraph [0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a passive RFID on a printed circuit board (as required by claim 13) as the second control circuitry of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by BOWEN et al. so that the vaporizer body can determine various information about the cartridge.
BOWEN et al. further discloses that the communication is performed by logic reading and writing (Paragraph [0086]).
Moreover, given that the passive RFID does not have a power source, the second PCB supports a lower power than the first PCB
With respect to claim 15, AMPOLINI et al. shows the second control circuitry is arranged along a bottom side of the heating chamber (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 24, AMPOLINI et al. discloses the PCB has a surface wherein the first electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a first electrical contact for the heating chamber and a second electrical contact for the power source is adjacent to a second contact for the heating chamber (Paragraph [0126]; Figure 5a).
AMPOLINI et al. does not explicitly disclose that the first circuitry supports a higher power than the second circuitry and that the two circuitries communicated via logical signaling.
BOWEN et al. discloses a vaporizer and its control (Abstract; Title). The vaporizer includes an identifier therein and may be part of a PCB (Paragraph [0116]). The identifier is read by the vaporizer body controller (Paragraphs [0056], [0057]) so that pertinent information about the cartridge can be determined. The identifier is an RFID component that is passive and does not have its own power source (Paragraph [0069]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a passive RFID on a printed circuit board (as required by claim 13) as the second control circuitry of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by BOWEN et al. so that the vaporizer body can determine various information about the cartridge.
BOWEN et al. further discloses that the communication is performed by logic reading and writing (Paragraph [0086]).
Moreover, given that the passive RFID does not have a power source, the second PCB supports a lower power than the first PCB
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745