DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 4-17 are now pending in that un-elected claims 7-14 are still existed and is requested to be cancelled.
An OA on the merits of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 15-17 as following:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
whether or not the recites “an electrode substrate” (claim 1, line 3) as same as that in claim 1, line 1?
Further, the phrase:” an electrode substrate including a current collector layer and an electrode mixture layer formed on one surface or two surfaces of the current collector layer, so as to define a coated part and a non- coated part of the electrode substrate;” (claim 1, lines 3-5) directed to a workpiece and should be rewritten in the preamble instead of in the body of the claim. Since, the above directed toa work piece is/are not structure elements of the claimed apparatus and do not further limit the claimed “apparatus”.
In formulate the rejection on the merits the Examiner only base on the apparatus and its structural elements and claims will be rejected accordingly and reasonably.
“the first induction heating unit” (claim 5, line 3); “the second induction heating unit” (claim 5, line 6) lack of antecedent basis for these. Note that the base claim 1 recites “a first induction heater” and “a second induction heater” which do not agree with what cited in claim 5.
Similar to claim 5 above applied to claim 6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 15-17 as best understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120288756) in view of Cho et al (KR 20170075844).
Kim discloses the claimed apparatus for rolling an electrode substrate (see Fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a first induction heater 30 configured to induction-heat the electrode substrate 111 moving along a machine direction s100 (see Figs. 1);
an electrode roller 40 disposed after the first induction heater 30 along the machine direction s100, the electrode roller configured to roll the first induction-heated electrode substrate 111; and
wherein the first induction heater 30 is configured to induction-heat a partial region of the coated part 116 of the electrode substrate and an entire region of the non-coated part 117 of the electrode substrate which are located at two sides based on a boundary line of the coated part and the non-coated part of the electrode substrate (see Fig. 2), and
the Kim does not explicitly teach regarding,
“a second induction heater disposed after the electrode roller along the machine direction, the second induction heater configured to induction-heat the rolled electrode substrate, wherein the second induction heater is configured to induction-heat a partial region of the coated part which is located at one side based on the boundary line of the coated part and the non- coated part of the electrode substrate”. Regarding to this, the Cho et al teaches the claimed above a second induction heater 40 (40-1 or 40-2) disposed after the electrode roller 20 along the machine direction (as down stream direction left to right), and wherein the second induction heater is configured to induction-heat a partial region of the coated part which is located at one side based on the boundary line of the coated part and the non- coated part of the electrode substrate (see Fig. 2a, respectively). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the Cho’s teaching of a second induction heater 40 (40-1 or 40-2) in replace of the conventional dryer heater 50 of the Kim in order to obtain the rolling apparatus with very little effort of modification by utilizing the known and available elements facilitate operation would result. The motivation for the combination can be found in either reference since they are in same endeavor field of invention.
The Kim /Cho as modified above further discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, wherein the first and second induction heating units 30 and 40 are configured to induction-heat a region including a boundary line of a coated part and a non-coated part of the electrode substrate, respectively is functionally intended use which is met by the modified Kim /Cho above, since no further structure elements existed in claim 2.
Similar to claim 2 applied to claim 4 because only functional intended used existed in claim 4, Thus, the modified Kim/Cho above meet all the structure cited in claim 4 above.
Claim 4, wherein the first induction heating unit is configured to induction-heat a partial region of a coated part of the electrode substrate and an entire region of a non-coated part of the electrode substrate which are located at two sides based on a boundary line of the coated part and the non-coated part of the electrode substrate, and wherein the second induction heating unit is configured to induction-heat the coated part and the non-coated part, based on the boundary line of the coated part and the non-coated part of the electrode substrate.
As applied to claims 5-6, noting that the Cho discloses the broadly claimed a heat plates as show in Cho Fig. 3 in term of 40-1 and 40-2, respectively).
As per newly added claim 15, since, claim 15 is another version of claim 1 but in broader aspect (see Fig. 1 of the Kim as modified by Fig. 3 of the Cho and the discussion under claim 1 above).
Claim 16 is also rejected as same as that set forth in claim 4 above.
As per claim 16, directed to the operation range of the heating plates (e.g., the first and the second plates) is therefore not inventive features when departing from the modified Kim/Cho reference and common general knowledge without exercising any inventive skills.
Conclusion
/MINH N TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729
mt