DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 9/17/2025 has been fully considered. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn, claim 13 is new and claims 1-13 are pending.
A new non-final rejection is being made due to Yamashima not disclosing the lithium dendrite detector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashima et al (US 2020/0067145 A1) in view of Endo et al (US 2020/0067145 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashima discloses a secondary battery (paragraph [0047]) comprising:
a positive electrode (cathode; paragraph [0047]) and a negative electrode (anode; paragraph [0047]);
a battery case configured to accommodate the positive electrode and the negative electrode (outer package coating the cathode, the anode and a separator except for a cathode terminal; paragraph [0047]); and a sensor unit where the installation position of the sensor unit is not limited (paragraph [0062]).
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the sensor unit only at a tab of the positive electrode at a side of the battery case.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the sensor unit to be only at a tab of the positive electrode at a side of the battery case because doing so detects the desired property only at a tab of the positive electrode at a side of the battery case.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising a lithium dendrite detector configured for detecting lithium dendrite.
However, Endo discloses a secondary battery comprising a lithium dendrite detector configured for detecting lithium dendrite (lithium deposition sensor; paragraph [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Yamashima to include the lithium deposition sensor of Endo in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the lithium deposition sensor allows for an endotherm to be detected achieving high reliability (paragraphs [0009] and [0012] of Endo).
Regarding claim 13, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the sensor unit directly attached to the battery case only at the positive electrode.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the sensor unit to be directly attached to the battery case only at the positive electrode because doing so detects the desired property at a position directly attached to the battery case only at the positive electrode.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising a lithium dendrite detector configured for detecting lithium dendrite.
However, Endo discloses a secondary battery comprising a lithium dendrite detector configured for detecting lithium dendrite (lithium deposition sensor; paragraph [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Yamashima to include the lithium deposition sensor of Endo in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the lithium deposition sensor allows for an endotherm to be detected achieving high reliability (paragraphs [0009] and [0012] of Endo).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashima et al (US 2020/0067145 A1) in view of Endo et al (US 2020/0067145 A1) in further view of Unno (US 2019/0348721 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the lithium dendrite detector comprising a magnetic sensor provided on a tab area of only the tab of the positive electrode in the battery case.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising the lithium dendrite detector comprising a magnetic sensor provided on a tab area of only the tab of the positive electrode in the battery case (one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an eddy current displacement sensor and wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery; paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
The eddy current displacement sensor is a displacement sensor using eddy current formation to sense displacement where the eddy currents are formed by moving or changing magnetic fields.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Yamashima and Endo to include the eddy current displacement sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the required sensor, such as an eddy current displacement sensor, allows for the amount of displacement to not exceed a certain threshold allowing for charging and discharge current to be controlled (paragraph [0055] of Unno).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 2 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the magnetic sensor mounted to detect a variation in the magnetic field generated between the negative electrode and only the tab area of the positive electrode.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising the magnetic sensor mounted to detect a variation in the magnetic field generated between the negative electrode and the tab area of the positive electrode (one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an eddy current displacement sensor and wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery; paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
The eddy current displacement sensor is a displacement sensor using eddy current formation to sense displacement where the eddy currents are formed by moving or changing magnetic fields.
Since the eddy current displacement sensor detects displacement of eddy currents dur to moving or changing magnetic fields, it would inherently be capable of detecting a variation in the magnetic field generated between the negative electrode and only the tab area of the positive electrode
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Yamashima and Endo to include the eddy current displacement sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the required sensor, such as an eddy current displacement sensor, allows for the amount of displacement to not exceed a certain threshold allowing for charging and discharge current to be controlled (paragraph [0055] of Unno).
Regarding claim 4, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 2 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the magnetic sensor detecting magnetic fields generated based on current flowing from an over-coated portion of the only the tab area of the positive electrode to the negative electrode.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising the magnetic sensor detecting magnetic fields generated based on current flowing from an over-coated portion of the only the tab area of the positive electrode to the negative electrode (one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an eddy current displacement sensor and wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery; paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
The eddy current displacement sensor is a displacement sensor using eddy current formation to sense displacement where the eddy currents are formed by moving or changing magnetic fields.
Since the eddy current displacement sensor detects displacement of eddy currents dur to moving or changing magnetic fields, it would inherently be capable of detecting magnetic fields generated based on current flowing from an over-coated portion of only the tab area of the positive electrode to the negative electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Yamashima and Endo to include the eddy current displacement sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the required sensor, such as an eddy current displacement sensor, allows for the amount of displacement to not exceed a certain threshold allowing for charging and discharge current to be controlled (paragraph [0055] of Unno).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 2 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the lithium dendrite detector comprising a deformation detection sensor provided at a tab area of the tab of the positive electrode in the battery case.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising the lithium dendrite detector comprising a deformation detection sensor provided at a tab area of the tab of the positive electrode in the battery case (one or more sensors comprises a strain detection type pressure sensor wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery (and formed on a side of the battery case which is in contact with the positive electrode; paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell of Yamashima and Endo to include the strain detection type pressure sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the strain detection type pressure sensor allows for deterioration in a secondary battery to be detected (paragraph [0056] of Unno).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 5 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the deformation detection sensor being a strain gauge.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising the deformation detection sensor being a strain gauge (one or more sensors comprises a strain detection type pressure sensor wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery (and formed on a side of the battery case which is in contact with the positive electrode; paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell of Yamashima and Endo to include the strain detection type pressure sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the strain detection type pressure sensor allows for deterioration in a secondary battery to be detected (paragraph [0056] of Unno).
Regarding claim 7, Yamashima and Endo disclose the secondary battery of claim 6 as noted above.
Yamashima does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the strain gauge formed on a side of a surface of the battery case.
However, Unno discloses a secondary battery comprising t the strain gauge formed on a side of a surface of the battery case (one or more sensors comprises a strain detection type pressure sensor wherein the one or more sensors are disposed inside the secondary battery (and formed on a side of the battery case which is in contact with the positive electrode; paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell of Yamashima and Endo to include the strain detection type pressure sensor of Unno in the sensor unit of Yamashima because having the strain detection type pressure sensor allows for deterioration in a secondary battery to be detected (paragraph [0056] of Unno).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashima et al (US 2020/0067145 A1) in view of Endo et al (US 2020/0067145 A1) in further view of Unno (US 2019/0348721 A1) in further view of Ueda et al (US 2013/0260214 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashima, Endo and Unno discloser the secondary battery of claim 5 as noted above.
Yamashima, Endo and Unno do not disclose the secondary battery comprising the battery case being a flexible pouch.
However, Ueda discloses a secondary battery comprising the battery case being a flexible pouch (thin battery including an electrode group comprising a pouch-like housing accommodating the electrode group and wherein the housing is formed of a highly flexible film with excellent flex resistance; paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery Yamashima, Endo and Unno to substitute the battery case of Yamashima for the pouch-like housing of Ueda for because having a housing made of a highly flexible film with excellent flex resistance improves sealing reliability of the thin battery and makes it possible to store the battery for a long time (paragraph [0033] of Ueda).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 9/17/2025, with respect to the 102 rejection of Yamashima has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection have been noted above.
Applicants argue that Yamashima does not disclose a lithium dendrite detector.
This argument is persuasive as Yamashima does not disclose a lithium dendrite detector. However, new grounds of rejection are noted above.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the eddy displacement sensor is not a magnetic sensor.
The eddy current displacement sensor is a displacement sensor using eddy current formation to sense displacement where the eddy currents are formed by moving or changing magnetic fields and is considered to be a magnetic sensor.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785