Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 07/09/2026 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claim 1 has /have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-10 are pending in the application. An action on the merits of claims 1-10 are as follow.
The previous 112 (b) Claim Rejections are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the claims with no new matter added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. (JP 2009 218173 A) in view of Krichtafovitch et al. (US 2005/0116166 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, MURAKAMI et al. discloses a sheet-shaped heat generator (see Title) comprising a pseudo sheet structure comprising a plurality of metal wires (electric heating wires 13, Abstract, Figs 1-8) arranged at an interval (Figs 2-3), the metal wires each comprising a core comprising a first metal (core wire 10, Abstract, Fig 4) and a metal film provided on an exterior of the core (a base plating layer 11, a black-color plating layer 12, [0021-0022], Fig 4), the metal film comprising a second metal (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]; this black plating layer 12… black nickel electroplating, black electroless nickel plating, black chrome plating, chromate plating, black ternary alloy plating, and black rhodium plating are desirable, [0022]) different from the first metal (core wire 10 is preferably made of a tungsten wire, a molybdenum wire, or a nichrome wire, [0020]), wherein
a volume resistivity of the first metal at 25 degrees C is in a range from 1.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm] (core wire 10 is preferably made of a tungsten wire, a molybdenum wire, or a nichrome wire having a high electrical resistance, [0020]),
a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]), and
the second metal comprises, as a main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of gold, platinum, palladium, silver, and copper (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]).
MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that “a volume resistivity of the first metal is in a range from 11.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm], and a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more”; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a volume resistivity of the first metal is in a range from 11.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm], and a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more, since such a configurations of the volume resistivity of the first metal and the standard electrode potential of the second metal are depends on the temperature range, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0023, 0029 and 0038]).
MURAKAMI et al. discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the metal film comprising the second metal defines an outermost surface of each of the plurality of metal wires,
Krichtafovitch et al. teach the metal wires (an electrode 800, [0125], Fig 8) each comprising a core comprising a first metal (a solid inner core 801, [0125], Fig 8) and a metal film provided on an exterior of the core (an outer layer 802… is plated silver, [0125], Fig 8. Note: “the second metal comprises silver” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already), the metal film comprising the second metal defines an outermost surface of each of the plurality of metal wires (802 defines an outermost surface of 801, Fig 8. Note: “each of the plurality of metal wires” and “the metal film comprising the second metal” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. with Krichtafovitch et al.’s further teaching of the metal film comprising the second metal defines an outermost surface of each of the plurality of metal wires; because Krichtafovitch et al. teach this kind of arrangement involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 2, wherein the interval between the metal wires is in a range from 0.3 mm to 30 mm (a plurality of heating wires 13 arranged parallel to one another, [0029], Fig 5). MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that the interval between the metal wires is in a range from 0.3 mm to 30 mm; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange an interval between the metal wires, since such a configuration would have involved a mere change in interval; a change in interval is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0036]).
Claim 3, wherein a diameter of each of the metal wires is in a range from 5 μm to 150 μm (The smaller the diameter of the heating wire 13, the more transparent the window glass for a vehicle becomes (the heating wire does not get in the way), which is preferable, [0030]). MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that a diameter of each of the metal wires is in a range from 5 μm to 150 μm; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange an diameter of the metal wires, since such a configurations would have involved a mere change in diameter; a change in diameter is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0028]).
Claim 5, wherein the second metal comprises, as the main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of silver and gold (an outer layer 802… is plated silver, [0125], Fig 8, taught by Krichtafovitch et al.).
Claim 7, wherein the sheet-shaped heat generator is usable for reducing adhesion of snow and ice on a surface (effective to attach a heater element to the glass and apply electricity as needed to evaporate and remove water droplets and ice with heat, [0002]).
Claim 8, A heat generating device comprising:
the sheet-shaped heat generator according to claim 1; and electrodes (electrode part 17, Abstract; electrode part 17 is composed of a pair of conductive metal strips 15, 16 sandwiching a plurality of heating wires 13, [0026]).
Claim 9, wherein the second metal of the metal wires is brought into contact with the electrodes in use (see Fig 4).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. shown above, further in view of Rose (US 2019/0380387 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim 4.
Rose teaches Claim 4, wherein the first metal (heating coil is constructed of single wire, [0078]. Note: “the first metal” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already) comprises, as a main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, stainless steel, and iron-nickel (constructed out of any conductive material such as… stainless steel, nickel, titanium, [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. with Rose’s further teaching of Claim 4; because Rose teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent heating coil is constructed of single wire and may be constructed out of stainless steel suitable to vaporize substances applied directly to the heating coil at regulated temperatures.
Claims 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. shown above, further in view of HAGIWARA et al. (JP 2018 039226 A).
Regarding Claims 6 and 10, MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 6 and 10.
HAGIWARA et al. teach a sheet-shaped heat generator (see Title), and Claim 6, wherein the sheet-shaped heat generator comprises an adhesive agent layer (an adhesive layer 40, [0022], Figs 1-2) and the pseudo sheet structure is in contact with the adhesive agent layer (40 arranged between the substrate 20 and the heating element 30, [0022], Figs 1-2. Note: “the pseudo sheet structure” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already). Claim 10, wherein the metal wires are fixed to the electrodes using the adhesive agent layer in use (32 are fixed to electrodes 42 using 40 in use, [0109], Fig 4. Note: “the metal wires”, and “the electrodes” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. in view of Krichtafovitch et al. with HAGIWARA et al.’s further teaching of 6 and 10; because HAGIWARA et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent ice and snow attachment prevention sheet that has a high light transmittance, and allows the ice and snow dissolved with a heating element to slide down with ease.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KUANGYUE CHEN whose telephone number is 571/272-8224. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761