Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 02/24/2026 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 1 and 5 has /have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-10 are pending in the application. An action on the merits for claims 1-10 are as follow.
The previous Objection to the Specification and 112 (b) Claim Rejections are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the specification and the claims with no new matter added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation the information “the metal wire” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. (JP 2009 218173 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, MURAKAMI et al. discloses a sheet-shaped heat generator (see Title) comprising a pseudo sheet structure comprising a plurality of metal wires (electric heating wires 13, Abstract, Figs 1-8) arranged at an interval (Figs 2-3), the metal wires each comprising a core comprising a first metal (core wire 10, Abstract, Fig 4) and a metal film provided on an exterior of the core (a base plating layer 11, a black-color plating layer 12, [0021-0022], Fig 4), the metal film comprising a second metal (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]; this black plating layer 12… black nickel electroplating, black electroless nickel plating, black chrome plating, chromate plating, black ternary alloy plating, and black rhodium plating are desirable, [0022]) different from the first metal (core wire 10 is preferably made of a tungsten wire, a molybdenum wire, or a nichrome wire, [0020]), wherein
a volume resistivity of the first metal at 25 degrees C is in a range from 1.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm] (core wire 10 is preferably made of a tungsten wire, a molybdenum wire, or a nichrome wire having a high electrical resistance, [0020]),
a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]).
the metal film comprising the second metal is formed on an outermost surface of the metal wire (11and 12 is formed on an outermost surface of 13, Fig 4), and
the second metal comprises, as a main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of gold, platinum, palladium, silver, and copper (layer 11… is preferably nickel, chromium, gold, or silver, [0021]).
MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that a volume resistivity of the first metal is in a range from 11.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm], and a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a volume resistivity of the first metal is in a range from 11.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm], and a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more, since such a configurations of the volume resistivity of the first metal and the standard electrode potential of the second metal are depends on the temperature range, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0023, 0029 and 0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. and further teaching of a volume resistivity of the first metal is in a range from 11.0 x 10-5 [Ω.cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω.cm], and a standard electrode potential of the second metal is +0.34 V or more; because MURAKAMI et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent structure capable of stably enhancing electric conductivity of an electric heating wire during operation.
Claim 2, wherein the interval between the metal wires is in a range from 0.3 mm to 30 mm (a plurality of heating wires 13 arranged parallel to one another, [0029], Fig 5). MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that the interval between the metal wires is in a range from 0.3 mm to 30 mm; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange an interval between the metal wires, since such a configuration would have involved a mere change in interval; a change in interval is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0036]).
Claim 3, wherein a diameter of each of the metal wires is in a range from 5 μm to 150 μm (The smaller the diameter of the heating wire 13, the more transparent the window glass for a vehicle becomes (the heating wire does not get in the way), which is preferable, [0030]). MURAKAMI et al. do not explicitly disclose that a diameter of each of the metal wires is in a range from 5 μm to 150 μm; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange an diameter of the metal wires, since such a configurations would have involved a mere change in diameter; a change in diameter is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237; also, applicant has not disclosed that this kind of design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (see Spec. [0028]).
Claim 5, wherein the second metal comprises, as the main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of silver and gold (11 is preferably… gold, or silver, [0021]).
Claim 7, wherein the sheet-shaped heat generator is usable for reducing adhesion of snow and ice on a surface (effective to attach a heater element to the glass and apply electricity as needed to evaporate and remove water droplets and ice with heat, [0002]).
Claim 8, A heat generating device comprising:
the sheet-shaped heat generator according to claim 1; and electrodes (electrode part 17, Abstract; electrode part 17 is composed of a pair of conductive metal strips 15, 16 sandwiching a plurality of heating wires 13, [0026]).
Claim 9, wherein the second metal of the metal wires is brought into contact with the electrodes in use (see Fig 4).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Rose (US 2019/0380387 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, MURAKAMI et al. discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim 4.
Rose teaches Claim 4, wherein the first metal (heating coil is constructed of single wire, [0078]. Note: “the first metal” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already) comprises, as a main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, stainless steel, and iron-nickel (constructed out of any conductive material such as… stainless steel, nickel, titanium, [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. and further teaching of Claim 4; because Rose teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent heating coil is constructed of single wire and may be constructed out of stainless steel suitable to vaporize substances applied directly to the heating coil at regulated temperatures.
Claims 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of HAGIWARA et al. (JP 2018 039226 A).
Regarding Claims 6 and 10, MURAKAMI et al. discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 6 and 10.
HAGIWARA et al. teach a sheet-shaped heat generator (see Title), and Claim 6, wherein the sheet-shaped heat generator comprises an adhesive agent layer (an adhesive layer 40, [0022], Figs 1-2) and the pseudo sheet structure is in contact with the adhesive agent layer (40 arranged between the substrate 20 and the heating element 30, [0022], Figs 1-2. Note: “the pseudo sheet structure” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already). Claim 10, wherein the metal wires are fixed to the electrodes using the adhesive agent layer in use (32 are fixed to electrodes 42 using 40 in use, [0109], Fig 4. Note: “the metal wires”, and “the electrodes” taught by MURAKAMI et al. already).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify MURAKAMI et al. and further teaching of 6 and 10; because HAGIWARA et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent ice and snow attachment prevention sheet that has a high light transmittance, and allows the ice and snow dissolved with a heating element to slide down with ease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The same prior art used under the Non-Final Rejection been able to cover all the limitations of the amended claims.
A. The applicant's argument on Remarks, namely “Murakami fails to teach, the metal film comprising the second metal is formed on an outermost surface of the metal wire, and the second metal comprises, as a main component, at least one metal selected from the group consisting of gold, platinum, palladium, silver, and copper, as required by claim 1”, and “As disclosed in paragraph [0023] of the present application, when the volume resistivity RMI of the first metal is 1.0 x 10-s [!!·cm] or more, heat generation is promoted while preventing overheating, even for applications requiring a large output. When the volume resistivity RMI is 5.0 x 10-4 [!!·cm] or less, resistance between electrodes is reduced, preventing excessive resistance increases even when the electrode distance is increased for large-area applications such as signs or signboards. Further, as disclosed in paragraph [0029] of the present application, the claimed configuration suppresses abnormal heat generation during attachment to electrodes and reduces formation of oxide films on the metal wire surfaces over time, thereby reducing secondary abnormalities associated with oxidation”.
The examiner’s response: MURAKAMI et al. teach exactly a sheet-shaped heat generator as claimed, fully discloses all the recited limitations of Claim 1 as set forth in this office action shown above; in specification paragraph [0023] mentioned: “The volume resistivity RM1 of the first metal is in a range from 1.0 x 10-5 [Ω cm] to 5.0 x 10-4 [Ω cm], preferably in a range from 3.0 x 10-5 [Ω cm] to 1 .5 x 10-4 [n-cm], more preferably in a range from 4.0 x 10-5 [Ω cm) to 9.0 x 10-5 [Ω cm]”; however, it is unclear 1. what kind of output is “a large output”? 2. what kind of application is “large-area applications such as signs or signboards”? Paragraph [0029] mentioned: “The standard electrode potential EM2 of the second metal is +0.34 V or more, preferably +0.5 V or more, more preferably +0.7 V or more, further preferably +1.0 V or more. An upper limit of the standard electrode potential EM2 of the second metal is +2.0 V or less, more preferably +1.6 V or less… the sheet-shaped heat generator 10 is attached to the electrode. In addition, the formation of an oxide film on the surfaces of the metal wires 22 with time can be reduced”; however, it is unclear 1. how long this “time” are in order to form an oxide film? And 2. how to arrange the sheet-shaped heat generator 10 to attach to an electrode? Clearly, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the volume resistivity of the first metal at 25 degrees C and the standard electrode potential of the second metal at 25 degrees C are design choice as claimed. Also, during “examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. Because the applicant has the opportunity to amend claims during prosecution, giving a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation will reduce the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Yamamoto, 740 F.2d 1569, 1571 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989)”. “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention” (MPEP 2173.01(I)). Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761