DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status Summary
This is a non-final office action in response to remarks filed on 6 January 2026. Claims 16 and 28-30 are amended. No additional claims are canceled or added. Claims 16-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 6-8, filed 6 January 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 16-30 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made incorporating newly discovered prior art Pazhyannur et al. (US 20080243999) as the primary prior art.
Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the amendment clarifying that the invitations to the second UE and the third-party are sent directly and examiner relies upon the newly discovered prior art to teach this.
Additionally, examiner notes that independent claim 27 was not amended to include a direct invitation although applicant’s remarks (remarks page 6: “The other independent claims recite corresponding features”) imply that it should have been amended in the same manner as the other independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazhyannur et al. (US 20080243999), hereinafter referred to as “Paz”, in view of Shah et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0413234).
Regarding claim 16, Paz disclosed a method for an active call handover (see Paz Fig. 8B #850 “Request to transfer call from user terminal 102” | [0043]: “Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.”), comprising:
receiving, at a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Shah combination below), a handover request to transfer an active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), which is currently active between a first user equipment (UE) and a third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8A, [0061]: “…Similar to signal flow diagram 500, signal flow diagram 800 begins when a local user starts up a multimedia session with remote party 142...”; [0062]: “In response to the user of user terminal 102 initiating the call, user terminal 102 conveys (808), to IMS core network 112, a session invitation, preferably a SIP INVITE, intended for remote party 142. The session invitation is routed to SIP server 120 and the SIP server forwards (810) the session invitation to remote party 142. When the remote party accepts the session invitation, a voice session is then set up (812) in accordance with well-known techniques, and CSCF 114, and in particular the S-CSCF, informs (814) AES server 124 that a call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142...”; [0063]: “In response to being informed that a voice call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142, AES server 124 then informs (816) user terminal 101 of the call, preferably by conveying a VOICE SESSION ACTIVE message to user terminal 101 that informs of an active voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142…”; [0064]: “At some point during the multimedia session, a user, for example, the user of user terminals 101 and 102, may decide (820) to pull the active application ensemble to a third user terminal 103…”), from the first UE to a second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”);
sending, by the MNO (see Shah combination below) and in response to receiving the handover request, a first invitation message directly to the second UE and a second invitation message directly to the third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”); and
transferring the active call from the first UE to the second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the received handover request, sent invitations, and call transfer are performed by “a mobile network operator (MNO)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 17, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 16, wherein the first UE uses a first communication profile of a user for communication over a mobile network (see Paz [0040]: “At least one memory device 404 further stores a profile for each user subscribed to the services of communication system 100. Each profile includes a list of user terminals registered by that user, for example, an identifier associated with each such device. For example, a profile of a user associated with user terminal 101 may further include identifiers associated with each of user terminals 102-105. The profile may further include a list of communication devices that the user has permission to access…In another embodiment of the present invention, the profiles of the users may be maintained in subscriber profile database 116 and may be downloaded from the subscriber profile database and stored by AES server 124 whenever needed.” | Shah para 0015: “In the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.”), and wherein the second UE uses a second communication profile of the user for communication over the mobile network (see Paz [0040]: “At least one memory device 404 further stores a profile for each user subscribed to the services of communication system 100. Each profile includes a list of user terminals registered by that user, for example, an identifier associated with each such device. For example, a profile of a user associated with user terminal 101 may further include identifiers associated with each of user terminals 102-105. The profile may further include a list of communication devices that the user has permission to access…In another embodiment of the present invention, the profiles of the users may be maintained in subscriber profile database 116 and may be downloaded from the subscriber profile database and stored by AES server 124 whenever needed.” | Shah para 0018: “The eSIM Local Profile Assistant (LPA) on the personal vehicle 106 may download the ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL from the SIM provisioning platform (e.g., SM-DP+) of the MNO after the activation of the secondary subscription is successful. The ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL may be installed on the personal vehicle 106 so long as the user 102 maintains the secondary subscription with the MNO.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further describe details about the multiple user profiles used within the communications network. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 18, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 17, wherein the first communication profile and the second communication profile have a same telephone number (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”; [0027]: multiple user terminals (e.g., terminals 101-105 in Fig. 1) are associated with the same user | Shah para 0014: “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” | para 0018: “The eSIM Local Profile Assistant (LPA) on the personal vehicle 106 may download the ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL from the SIM provisioning platform (e.g., SM-DP+) of the MNO after the activation of the secondary subscription is successful. The ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL may be installed on the personal vehicle 106 so long as the user 102 maintains the secondary subscription with the MNO.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify that the user can share the same phone number among multiple devices. Doing so would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 19, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 17, wherein each of the first communication profile (see Shah para 0009: systems and methods are directed to managing embedded SIM profiles for connected devices | 0015: “In the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” | Fig. 3 #310 SIM in UE device) and the second communication profile is an eSIM profile of the user (see Shah para 0009: systems and methods are directed to managing embedded SIM profiles for connected devices | para 0018: “The eSIM Local Profile Assistant (LPA) on the personal vehicle 106 may download the ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL from the SIM provisioning platform (e.g., SM-DP+) of the MNO after the activation of the secondary subscription is successful. The ICCID.sub.SEC_PERSONAL may be installed on the personal vehicle 106 so long as the user 102 maintains the secondary subscription with the MNO.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to clarify that eSIM profiles are used in the communications system, thereby enabling the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 20, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 16, wherein the handover request to transfer the active call is sent by either the first UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”) or the second UE to the MNO (see Shah combination below).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the handover request is sent to “the MNO”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 21, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 16, further including: sending, by the MNO (see Shah combination below), a termination message to the first UE (see Paz Fig. 8B #858 “disconnect call” message is sent from AES server 124 to user terminal 102; Fig. 8A illustrates first establishing a voice session with user terminal 102 and Fig. 8B illustrates transferring the voice session to user terminal 103).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the termination message is sent by “the MNO”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 22, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 16, wherein the first UE and the second UE are selected from the group consisting of a mobile terminal (see Shah Fig. 1B mobile phone #104), a communication module (see Shah Fig. 1B mobile phone #104; Fig. 3 #310 device includes SIM and a variety of other communication-related hardware and modules), a communication module of a vehicle (see Shah Fig. 1B vehicles #106, #110; para 0018: “The eSIM Local Profile Assistant (LPA) on the personal vehicle 106”), and a vehicle (see Shah Fig. 1B vehicles #106, #110).
In light of Paz’ explanation that “…Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home…” (see Paz [0043]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to clarify the details of the devices involved in a communication session handover, e.g. from office to mobile phone to car’s communication system, and that a user could use the vehicle’s hands-free communication system instead of their mobile phone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 23, Paz-Shah disclosed the method of claim 16, wherein the at least one of: first UE and the second UE is a mobile terminal (see Shah Fig. 1B mobile phone #104 | para 0016: “the user 102 may wish to extend connectivity to a personal vehicle 106. ”), and the other of: the first UE and the second UE is a vehicle (see Shah Fig. 1B vehicles #106, #110 | para 0016: “the user 102 may wish to extend connectivity to a personal vehicle 106. ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 26, Paz disclosed a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Paz Fig. 3 #304, [0009]: UE memory | Fig. 4 #404, [0010]: AES server memory) comprising instructions which, when executed on one or more processors (see Paz Fig. 3 #302, [0009]: UE processor | Fig. 4 #402, [0010]: AES server processor), cause the one or more processors to perform the method of claim 16 (Examiner notes that the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated in its entirety into this limitation; see the detailed explanations provided in the rejection of claim 16 above | Claim 16 is taught by a combination of Paz and Shah. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).).
Regarding claim 27, Paz disclosed a server (see Paz Fig. 1 #124 AES server is part of communication system infrastructure 110) of a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Shah combination below), comprising one or more processors (see Paz Fig. 3 #302, [0009]: UE processor | Fig. 4 #402, [0010]: AES server processor) configured to:
receive a handover request to transfer an active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), which is currently active between a first user equipment (UE) and a third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8A, [0061]: “…Similar to signal flow diagram 500, signal flow diagram 800 begins when a local user starts up a multimedia session with remote party 142...”; [0062]: “In response to the user of user terminal 102 initiating the call, user terminal 102 conveys (808), to IMS core network 112, a session invitation, preferably a SIP INVITE, intended for remote party 142. The session invitation is routed to SIP server 120 and the SIP server forwards (810) the session invitation to remote party 142. When the remote party accepts the session invitation, a voice session is then set up (812) in accordance with well-known techniques, and CSCF 114, and in particular the S-CSCF, informs (814) AES server 124 that a call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142...”; [0063]: “In response to being informed that a voice call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142, AES server 124 then informs (816) user terminal 101 of the call, preferably by conveying a VOICE SESSION ACTIVE message to user terminal 101 that informs of an active voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142…”; [0064]: “At some point during the multimedia session, a user, for example, the user of user terminals 101 and 102, may decide (820) to pull the active application ensemble to a third user terminal 103…”), from the first UE to a second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…” | [0043]: “Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.”);
send, in response to receiving the handover request, a first invitation message to the second UE and a second invitation message to the third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”); and
transfer the active call from the first UE to the second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the server is “of a mobile network operator (MNO)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 28, Paz disclosed a user equipment (UE) (see Paz Fig. 1 #101-105 multiple UEs), comprising one or more processors (see Paz Fig. 3 #302, [0009]: UE processor | Fig. 4 #402, [0010]: AES server processor) configured to:
send, to a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Shah combination below), a handover request to transfer an active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), which is currently active between the UE and a third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8A, [0061]: “…Similar to signal flow diagram 500, signal flow diagram 800 begins when a local user starts up a multimedia session with remote party 142...”; [0062]: “In response to the user of user terminal 102 initiating the call, user terminal 102 conveys (808), to IMS core network 112, a session invitation, preferably a SIP INVITE, intended for remote party 142. The session invitation is routed to SIP server 120 and the SIP server forwards (810) the session invitation to remote party 142. When the remote party accepts the session invitation, a voice session is then set up (812) in accordance with well-known techniques, and CSCF 114, and in particular the S-CSCF, informs (814) AES server 124 that a call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142...”; [0063]: “In response to being informed that a voice call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142, AES server 124 then informs (816) user terminal 101 of the call, preferably by conveying a VOICE SESSION ACTIVE message to user terminal 101 that informs of an active voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142…”; [0064]: “At some point during the multimedia session, a user, for example, the user of user terminals 101 and 102, may decide (820) to pull the active application ensemble to a third user terminal 103…”), from the UE to another UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…” | [0043]: “Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.”); and
terminate the active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”) after (see Paz Fig. 8B #858 termination occurs after invitations are sent in #852, #854) the MNO (see Shah combination below) has sent, in response to receiving the handover request, a first invitation message directly to the other UE and a second invitation message directly to the third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the handover request and invitations are sent to/by “a mobile network operator (MNO)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Regarding claim 29, Paz disclosed a user equipment (UE) (see Paz Fig. 1 #101-105 multiple UEs), comprising one or more processors (see Paz Fig. 3 #302, [0009]: UE processor | Fig. 4 #402, [0010]: AES server processor) configured to:
receive, directly (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”) from a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Shah combination below), a first invitation message (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”) to transfer an active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), which is currently active between another UE and a third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8A, [0061]: “…Similar to signal flow diagram 500, signal flow diagram 800 begins when a local user starts up a multimedia session with remote party 142...”; [0062]: “In response to the user of user terminal 102 initiating the call, user terminal 102 conveys (808), to IMS core network 112, a session invitation, preferably a SIP INVITE, intended for remote party 142. The session invitation is routed to SIP server 120 and the SIP server forwards (810) the session invitation to remote party 142. When the remote party accepts the session invitation, a voice session is then set up (812) in accordance with well-known techniques, and CSCF 114, and in particular the S-CSCF, informs (814) AES server 124 that a call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142...”; [0063]: “In response to being informed that a voice call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142, AES server 124 then informs (816) user terminal 101 of the call, preferably by conveying a VOICE SESSION ACTIVE message to user terminal 101 that informs of an active voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142…”; [0064]: “At some point during the multimedia session, a user, for example, the user of user terminals 101 and 102, may decide (820) to pull the active application ensemble to a third user terminal 103…”), from the other UE to the UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…” | [0043]: “Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.”); and
enable the active call (see Paz Fig. 8B #856 voice session setup between user terminal 103 and remote party 142; [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”) after (see Paz Fig. 8B #856 session setup occurs after invitations #852, #854 are sent) the MNO (see Shah combination below) has sent, in response to receiving a handover request (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), the first invitation message and a second invitation message directly to the third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the invitation message to transfer an active call is received from “a mobile network operator (MNO)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
With respect to claim 30, the claim contains the limitations, substantially as claimed, as described in claims 27 an 28 above. Paz disclosed, as recited in claim 30: A system (see Paz Fig. 1 #100 system), comprising:
a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Shah combination below) server (see Paz Fig. 1 #124 AES server is part of communication system infrastructure 110) configured to:
receive a handover request to transfer an active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”), which is currently active between a first user equipment (UE) and a third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8A, [0061]: “…Similar to signal flow diagram 500, signal flow diagram 800 begins when a local user starts up a multimedia session with remote party 142...”; [0062]: “In response to the user of user terminal 102 initiating the call, user terminal 102 conveys (808), to IMS core network 112, a session invitation, preferably a SIP INVITE, intended for remote party 142. The session invitation is routed to SIP server 120 and the SIP server forwards (810) the session invitation to remote party 142. When the remote party accepts the session invitation, a voice session is then set up (812) in accordance with well-known techniques, and CSCF 114, and in particular the S-CSCF, informs (814) AES server 124 that a call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142...”; [0063]: “In response to being informed that a voice call has been set up between user terminal 102 and remote party 142, AES server 124 then informs (816) user terminal 101 of the call, preferably by conveying a VOICE SESSION ACTIVE message to user terminal 101 that informs of an active voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142…”; [0064]: “At some point during the multimedia session, a user, for example, the user of user terminals 101 and 102, may decide (820) to pull the active application ensemble to a third user terminal 103…”), from the first UE to a second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…” | [0043]: “Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.”);
send, in response to receiving the handover request, a first invitation message directly to the second UE and a second invitation message directly to the third-party device (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques…”); and
transfer the active call from the first UE to the second UE (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”); and
the first UE (see Paz Fig. 1 #101-105 multiple UEs) configured to:
send, the handover request (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103…”) to the MNO (see Shah combination below), and
terminate the active call (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”) after (see Paz Fig. 8B #858 termination occurs after invitations are sent in #852, #854) the MNO (see Shah combination below) has sent, in response to receiving the handover request, the first invitation message and the second invitation message (see Paz Fig. 8B, [0070]: “…AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.”).
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the server is of “a mobile network operator (MNO)” and that the handover request and invitations are sent to/by the MNO.
Paz did not explicitly disclose that the received handover request, sent invitations, and call transfer are performed by “a mobile network operator (MNO)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Paz’s AES server would be implemented by a mobile network operator in light of Paz’ explanations that:
“…When executing voice applications, user terminals 101-105 may communicate with infrastructure 110 via any air interface that supports voice sessions, such as a second generation (2G), 2.5G, or 3G wireless link, for example, a GSM, CDMA, GPRS, CDMA 2000, or UMTS wireless link, or a conventional wireline link.” (see Paz [0032]),
“Infrastructure 110 is an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)-based system and includes an IMS core network 112…” ([0033]),
“Infrastructure 110 further includes multiple application servers, and in particular an AES server 124 and a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server 120 that comprises a SIP application server 122. Each of SIP server 120 and AES server 124 is coupled to IMS core network 112, and in particular to Call Session Control Function (CSCF) 114 and is further coupled to a subscriber profile database 116, such as a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a User Profile Service Function (UPSF). SIP servers are well known in the art and will not be described in greater detail herein. AES server 124 is a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) entity that hosts and executes services and can operate in a number of modes, such as a SIP User Agent terminating function. AES server 124 further includes or is in communication with a conference bridge platform that includes a conference bridge that may be utilized by the AES server to set up a conference call.” (see Paz [0034]),
“Communication system 100 then allows the user to collectively transfer the ensemble from a source terminal or terminals to a target terminal or terminals, for example, from voice and data terminals to other voice and data terminals or to a single user terminal such as a voice/data terminal, for example, a smartphone or a PDA with wireless voice capabilities. Communication system 100 further allows the user to selectively transfer applications of the ensemble, such as transferring only the voice session from the voice terminal to another voice or voice/data terminal…Further, in order to clarify the principles of the present invention, it is sometimes assumed herein that a multimedia communication session involving an application ensemble is set up between a local user utilizing the one or more of user terminals 101-105 and a remote party 142 via an external network 140 (or the remote party may, instead, utilize any one or more of access networks 130, 132, and 134) and that the local user then may transfer, copy, or suspend and resume the locally-executed ensemble. Thus, communication system 100 provides the local user with a simple and seamless ability to take the multimedia communication session with him or her when changing locations, for example, when leaving an office and continuing the session in his/her car or at his/her home. In order to facilitate the management of an application ensemble, communication system 100 further provides an AES server 124 that operates in infrastructure 110 and that manages a transfer of an application ensemble, or a portion of an ensemble, from one or more of source user terminals to one or more target user terminals.” (see Paz [0043]), and
“In addition, based on the received ensemble information elements, AES client 306 of user terminal 103 determines that the ensemble included a voice session between user terminal 102 and remote party 142. AES client 306 of user terminal 103 conveys (850), to AES server 124, a request that the voice session be transferred to user terminal 103. In response to receiving the request, AES Server 124 invites (852, 854) each of user terminal 103 and remote party 142 to a voice communication session, preferably by conveying a SIP INVITE message to each of the user terminal and the remote party and a voice session is then set up (856) in accordance with well known techniques. AES server 124 further instructs (858) user terminal 102 to disconnect the call, in response to which the user terminal disconnects the call and closes the voice application. Signal flow diagram 800 then ends.” (see Paz [0070])
However in a related art, Shah disclosed “in the example scenario of FIG. 1A, a user 102 has an account or billing plan that includes a primary line or subscription (referred to herein as primary subscription) with an operator of the wireless communication network 100 (MNO). In configurations, the primary subscription is for a smartphone 104 and has a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), MSISDN.sub.PRIMARY, instantiated on ICCID.sub.PRIMARY.” (see Shah para 0015). “A MNO may provide differentiated experience for the customer based on the rate plan the customer selects to activate. For example, an MNO may offer various pricing tiers for adding a secondary line and/or a shared line on the account” (see Shah para 0014). “The billing system 108 may provision the PLAN_PER on the MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL, which allows the user 102 to access services of the wireless communication network 100 from the personal vehicle 106, while also accessing services of the wireless communication network 100 from the smartphone 104. The MSISDN.sub.SEC-PERSONAL is added as the secondary subscription, e.g., a second line, to the user's billing account within the billing system 108” (see Shah para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz and Shah to further clarify the role of the MNO. Clarifying Paz’s communication system with Shah’s MNO would enable the user to access services of the wireless communication network from the personal vehicle as well as the wireless device (see Shah para 0018).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paz-Shah as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ravichandran (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0373027), hereinafter referred to as “Ravi”.
Regarding claim 24, Paz-Shah disclosed the invention, substantially as claimed, as described in the method of claim 16 above, but did not explicitly disclose “wherein, if a timeout period of at least one of: the handover request, the first invitation message, and the second invitation message expires, the active call handover is aborted and the active call is restored between the first UE and the third-party”.
However in a related art, Ravi disclosed:
wherein, if a timeout period of at least one of: the handover request, the first invitation message, and the second invitation message expires, the active call handover is aborted and the active call is restored between the first UE and the third-party (see Ravi para 0044, Fig. 3A: #308: awaiting acknowledgement of invitation SIP: 180 Ringing; Fig. 3B #322: Indicating trying transfer (SIP : NOTIFY : 100 TRYING) | para 0045: waiting for the user to accept the communications session invitation; examiner notes that since waiting for acknowledgement occurs before a call transfer takes place, that this also indicates that a call transfer process is aborted if there is no acknowledgement. It would have been well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that waiting for acknowledgement or acceptance will eventually timeout and the existing connection continues).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz-Shah and Ravi to further clarify when to end the transfer process. Modifying Paz’s transfer process conditions with Ravi’s transfer process conditions would clarify the conditions under which a transfer process occurs. Incorporating Ravi’s teachings would ensure a seamless transfer (see Ravi [0014]) and ensure the transfer is authorized (see Ravi [0036]).
Regarding claim 25, Paz-Shah disclosed the invention, substantially as claimed, as described in the method of claim 16 above, but did not explicitly disclose “wherein, if an error in at least one of: the handover request, the first invitation message, and the second invitation message occurs, the active call handover is aborted and the active call is restored between the first UE and the second UE”.
However in a related art, Ravi disclosed:
wherein, if an error in at least one of: the handover request, the first invitation message, and the second invitation message occurs, the active call handover is aborted and the active call is restored between the first UE and the second UE (see Ravi para 0036, Fig. 2 #204 SIP : 401 Unauthorized message; call system sends a message that additional information is needed for the UE to be able to register with the call system; examiner interprets a SIP 401 unauthorized message as an example of an error | para 0049: confirming that the second UE is registered and/or eligible to have the session transferred; examiner notes that since authorization/confirmation is required for a call transfer to take place, that this also indicates that a call transfer process is aborted if there is no authorization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paz-Shah and Ravi to further clarify when to end the transfer process. Modifying Paz’s transfer process conditions with Ravi’s transfer process conditions would clarify the conditions under which a transfer process occurs. Incorporating Ravi’s teachings would ensure a seamless transfer (see Ravi [0014]) and ensure the transfer is authorized (see Ravi [0036]).
Conclusion
/ANGELA WIDHALM DE RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2443