DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Arguments filed December 9, 2025.
Claims 16-18, 20, 21, and 24-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references do not disclose assigning the secret only as part of a software update or only during or after a switch to the second mode. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Switching to the second algorithm and using the second key is assigning a different one of the plurality of secrets (from the first to the second key) to a different function and this only occurs during the switch.
Paragraph [0090] of Ekberg discloses embed keys into the device, or alternatively the keys could be generated inside the device itself. Demonstrating keys in the device, or generating keys in the device as known alternatives. Accordingly the combination of Riordan and Ekberg disclose the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20, 21, 24-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2002/0116624 to Riordan et al. (hereinafter “Riordan”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0067336 to Rieger et al. (hereinafter “Rieger”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0114220 to Ekberg (hereinafter “Ekberg”).
As to Claim 16, Riordan discloses a communication device for a [vehicle], the communication device comprising:
a communication unit comprising a secure hardware memory storing a plurality of secrets (Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a secret first key is located within the first cryptographic algorithm. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8) and at least one secure interface configured to communicate with an external [vehicle] server, wherein the at least one secure interface is secured via symmetric encryption or a process of post-quantum cryptography, and wherein the communication unit is configured to establish a communication link between the [vehicle] and an external [vehicle] server (Paragraph [0029] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system of FIG. 1 with an interface 9 to an external system or network 10. Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a first cryptographic algorithm means 2, which can be the Rijndael algorithm (symmetric), for enabling the cryptographic operations);
exchange data in a cryptographically secured manner with a first cryptographic protection between the [vehicle] and the external [vehicle] server in a first mode (Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations); and
switch to a second mode;
[assign different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions] is performed only as part of a software update or only during or after a switch to the second mode (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Switching to the second algorithm and using the second key is assigning a different one of the plurality of secrets (from the first to the second key) to a different function and this only occurs during the switch);
[generate at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions]; and
exchange data, [using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions], in a cryptographically secured manner with the second cryptographic protection between the [vehicle] and the external [vehicle] server in the second mode (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations)
wherein the first and second modes differ in a type of cryptographic securing of the data, wherein a binary value corresponding to one of the first and second modes in which the communication unit is currently being operated is stored in the secure hardware memory (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one), and
wherein the binary value in the secured hardware memory [is only changeable once] (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one. The first algorithm is recognized as broken and as such will not be used again).
Riordan does not explicitly disclose vehicle and is only changeable once.
However, Rieger discloses this. Paragraph [0017] of Rieger discloses the device may be used in an automotive environment, e.g., in a vehicle or car. Paragraph [0073] of Rieger discloses this can be achieved, e.g., via an electronic fuse that may be blown by a manufacturer or a customer. Blowing the electronic fuse is an irreversible action and thereafter the device is operational to conduct only the selected one of the cryptographic algorithms or the selected set of cryptographic algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the encryption mode changing system as disclosed by Riordan, with using one time fuses as disclosed by Rieger. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Riordan and Rieger are directed toward encryption systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Riordan’s cryptographic systems would be improved by Rieger’s techniques by increasing security.
Riordan does not explicitly disclose assign different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions and generate at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions and using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions.
However, Ekberg discloses this. Paragraph [0090] of Ekberg discloses different keys could be provided for different functions, e.g. one key or set of asymmetric keys for encryption/decryption and another key or set of asymmetric keys for signatures. Alternatively the keys could be generated inside the device itself.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the encryption system as disclosed by Riordan, with using different keys for different functions as disclosed by Ekberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Riordan and Ekberg are directed toward encryption systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0042] of Ekberg discloses in some cases the same key may be used for all of these functions or different keys can be provided for different functions. The two methods are known alternatives of each other.
As to Claim 17, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the communication device of claim 16, wherein the first cryptographic protection of the first mode comprises asymmetric cryptographic protection of the data, and the second cryptographic protection of the second mode comprises symmetric cryptographic protection or protection by post-quantum cryptography (Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses if the first cryptographic algorithm is not symmetric, then a special protocol or two separate input lines 2a--one for enciphering and one for deciphering--would make sure that the right algorithm is used. Accordingly, Riordan discloses the first cryptographic being asymmetric. Paragraph [0016] of Riordan discloses algorithm could be broken and should not be used any more. Instead a more conservative algorithm preferably Triple DES (a symmetric algorithm) should be used).
As to Claim 18, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the communication device of claim 16 wherein the secured hardware memory is a write-once memory (Paragraph [0073] of Rieger discloses this can be achieved, e.g., via an electronic fuse that may be blown by a manufacturer or a customer. Blowing the electronic fuse is an irreversible action and thereafter the device is operational to conduct only the selected one of the cryptographic algorithms or the selected set of cryptographic algorithms).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
As to Claim 20, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the communication device of claim 16, wherein the binary value is changeable from the external vehicle server by a cryptographically secured command, wherein protection of the command is configured via a symmetric cryptographic process (Paragraph [0083] of Rieger discloses an interface may be provided by the device 101 for a manufacturer or customer to communicate with. It is noted that such configuration or re-configuration is preferably protected by at least one security mechanism. For example, a communication with the selection unit 104 for configuration or re-configuration purposes may be subject to an encryption itself and/or an authentication to allow only preset entities to conduct the (re-)configuration. Paragraph [0004] of Rieger discloses Known cryptographic approaches are, e.g., Public Key Cryptography (PKC), Symmetric Key Cryptography (SKC) and/or Hashing Algorithms (HA)).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
As to Claim 21, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the communication device of claim 20, wherein the protection and encryption of the cryptographically secured command employs at least one secret stored in the communication unit (Paragraph [0083] of Rieger discloses an interface may be provided by the device 101 for a manufacturer or customer to communicate with. It is noted that such configuration or re-configuration is preferably protected by at least one security mechanism. For example, a communication with the selection unit 104 for configuration or re-configuration purposes may be subject to an encryption itself and/or an authentication to allow only preset entities to conduct the (re-)configuration. Paragraph [0004] of Rieger discloses Known cryptographic approaches are, e.g., Public Key Cryptography (PKC), Symmetric Key Cryptography (SKC) and/or Hashing Algorithms (HA)).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
As to Claim 24, Riordan discloses a method for securing communication between a [vehicle] and an external [vehicle] server, the method comprising:
storing, in a secure hardware memory of a communication unit of the vehicle, a plurality of secrets (Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a secret first key is located within the first cryptographic algorithm. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8);
establishing, by the communication unit of the vehicle, a communication link between the [vehicle] and the external [vehicle] server (Paragraph [0029] of Riordan discloses an interface 9 to an external system or network 10);
exchanging data in a cryptographically secured manner with a first cryptographic protection between the vehicle and the external vehicle server in a first mode
(Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations); and
switching the communication unit from operating in the first mode to operating in a second mode based on a binary value stored in a secured memory of the communication unit, wherein the binary value [is only changeable once] (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8)
[assigning different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions] is performed only as part of a software update or only during or after a switch to the second mode (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Switching to the second algorithm and using the second key is assigning a different one of the plurality of secrets (from the first to the second key) to a different function and this only occurs during the switch);
[generating at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions]; and
exchanging data, [using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions], in a cryptographically secured manner via at least one secure interface of the communication unit with the second cryptographic protection between the vehicle and the vehicle external server in the second mode (Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations), wherein the the at least one secure interface is secured via symmetric encryption or a process of post-quantum cryptography (Paragraph [0029] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system of FIG. 1 with an interface 9 to an external system or network 10. Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a first cryptographic algorithm means 2, which can be the Rijndael algorithm (symmetric), for enabling the cryptographic operations),
wherein the first and second cryptographic protection are different types of cryptographic securing of the data (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one).
Riordan does not explicitly disclose vehicle and is only changeable once.
However, Rieger discloses this. Paragraph [0017] of Rieger discloses the device may be used in an automotive environment, e.g., in a vehicle or car. Paragraph [0073] of Rieger discloses this can be achieved, e.g., via an electronic fuse that may be blown by a manufacturer or a customer. Blowing the electronic fuse is an irreversible action and thereafter the device is operational to conduct only the selected one of the cryptographic algorithms or the selected set of cryptographic algorithms.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
Riordan does not explicitly disclose assigning different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions and generate at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions and using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions.
However, Ekberg discloses this. Paragraph [0090] of Ekberg discloses different keys could be provided for different functions, e.g. one key or set of asymmetric keys for encryption/decryption and another key or set of asymmetric keys for signatures. Alternatively the keys could be generated inside the device itself.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
As to Claim 25, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the method of claim 24, wherein first cryptographic protection of the first mode comprises asymmetric cryptographic protection and the second cryptographic protection of the second mode comprises symmetric cryptographic protection or protection by post-quantum cryptography (Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses if the first cryptographic algorithm is not symmetric, then a special protocol or two separate input lines 2a--one for enciphering and one for deciphering--would make sure that the right algorithm is used. Accordingly, Riordan discloses the first cryptographic being asymmetric. Paragraph [0016] of Riordan discloses algorithm could be broken and should not be used any more. Instead a more conservative algorithm preferably Triple DES (a symmetric algorithm) should be used).
As to Claim 26, Riordan discloses a method for securing communication between a [vehicle] and an external [vehicle] server, the method comprising:
storing, in a secure hardware memory of a communication unit of the vehicle, a plurality of secrets (Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a secret first key is located within the first cryptographic algorithm. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8);
establishing, by the communication unit of the vehicle, a communication link between the [vehicle] and the external [vehicle] server (Paragraph [0029] of Riordan discloses an interface 9 to an external system or network 10);
exchanging data in a cryptographically secured manner with a first cryptographic protection between the vehicle and the external vehicle server in a first mode (Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations); and
switching the communication unit from operating in the first mode to operating in the second mode based on a binary value stored in a secured memory of the communication unit, wherein the binary value [is only changeable once] (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8)
[assigning different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions] is performed only as part of a software update or only during or after a switch to the second mode (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses triggers a switching means 7 to stop the ciphering by the first cryptographic algorithm means 2. A continued cryptographic operation can be enabled by switching to a second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means 8. Switching to the second algorithm and using the second key is assigning a different one of the plurality of secrets (from the first to the second key) to a different function and this only occurs during the switch);
[generating at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions]; and
exchanging data, [using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions], in a cryptographically secured manner via at least one secure interface of the communication unit with the second cryptographic protection between the vehicle and the vehicle external server in the second mode (Paragraph [0021] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system includes input/output means for receiving input streams and sending output streams wherein said input streams are transformed to said output streams by cryptographic operations), wherein the at least one secure interface is secured via symmetric encryption or a process of post-quantum cryptography (Paragraph [0029] of Riordan discloses the cryptographic system of FIG. 1 with an interface 9 to an external system or network 10. Paragraph [0025] of Riordan discloses a first cryptographic algorithm means 2, which can be the Rijndael algorithm (symmetric), for enabling the cryptographic operations), and
wherein the first and second cryptographic protection are different types of cryptographic securing of the data (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one).
[wherein changing of the binary value and the switching from the first one of the two modes to the second one of the two modes is triggered via a symmetrically secured message of the external vehicle server].
Riordan does not explicitly disclose vehicle and is only changeable once and wherein changing of the binary value and the switching from the first one of the two modes to the second one of the two modes is triggered via a symmetrically secured message of the external vehicle server.
However, Rieger discloses this. Paragraph [0017] of Rieger discloses the device may be used in an automotive environment, e.g., in a vehicle or car. Paragraph [0073] of Rieger discloses this can be achieved, e.g., via an electronic fuse that may be blown by a manufacturer or a customer. Blowing the electronic fuse is an irreversible action and thereafter the device is operational to conduct only the selected one of the cryptographic algorithms or the selected set of cryptographic algorithms. Paragraph [0083] of Rieger discloses an interface may be provided by the device 101 for a manufacturer or customer to communicate with. It is noted that such configuration or re-configuration is preferably protected by at least one security mechanism. For example, a communication with the selection unit 104 for configuration or re-configuration purposes may be subject to an encryption itself and/or an authentication to allow only preset entities to conduct the (re-)configuration. Paragraph [0004] of Rieger discloses Known cryptographic approaches are, e.g., Public Key Cryptography (PKC), Symmetric Key Cryptography (SKC) and/or Hashing Algorithms (HA).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
Riordan does not explicitly disclose assigning different ones of the plurality of secrets to different functions for a second cryptographic protection, wherein the assignment of the different ones of the plurality of secrets to the different functions and generate at least one key from one of the assigned different ones of the plurality of secrets for at least one of the different functions and using the generated at least one key with the at least one of the different functions.
However, Ekberg discloses this. Paragraph [0090] of Ekberg discloses different keys could be provided for different functions, e.g. one key or set of asymmetric keys for encryption/decryption and another key or set of asymmetric keys for signatures. Alternatively the keys could be generated inside the device itself.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 16.
As to Claim 27, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the method of claim 24, wherein when switching from the first mode to the second mode, functions and protocols used in the first mode are deactivated or replaced by functions and protocols for the second mode (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one).
As to Claim 28, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the method of claim 24, further comprising: switching off services and applications that cannot be sufficiently secured in the second mode (Paragraph [0018] of Riordan discloses the embedded cryptographic system can switch itself off or switch from the possibly broken first algorithm to a secure second one).
As to Claim 30, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the method of claim 24, wherein transmission of the software update is protected via symmetric cryptographic protection or protected by post-quantum cryptography (Paragraph [0016] of Riordan discloses algorithm could be broken and should not be used any more. Instead a more conservative algorithm preferably Triple DES (a symmetric algorithm) should be used).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg and further in view of US Pub. No. 2015/0319151 to Chastain et al. (hereinafter “Chastain”) .
As to Claim 29, Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg discloses the method of claim 24, further comprising: generating, when switching from the first mode to the second mode, post-quantum cryptographic keys from at least one of the plurality of secrets stored in the secure hardware memory of the communication unit and [a master key securely stored in the external vehicle server], wherein the plurality of secrets are stored in the secured hardware memory when the communication unit is manufactured (Paragraph [0026] of Riordan discloses the secret second key is located within the second cryptographic algorithm means, Paragraph [0070] of Rieger discloses The hardware security module may comprise at least one (e.g., secure) memory. The memory may be used to store secret information, e.g., at least one key. Paragraph [0082] of Rieger discloses the selection unit 104 can be permanently set by a manufacturer. Paragraph [0090] of Ekberg discloses different keys could be provided for different functions, e.g. one key or set of asymmetric keys for encryption/decryption and another key or set of asymmetric keys for signatures. Alternatively the keys could be generated inside the device itself.).
Riordan-Rieger-Ekberg do not explicitly disclose generating using a master key securely stored in the external vehicle server.
However, Chastain discloses this. Paragraph [0027] of Chastain discloses obtaining, by a remote management server, a master key, and obtaining, by the remote management server, derivation data associated with an end user device. The method can include applying, by the remote management server, a one-way function to the master key and the derivation data to generate a derived encryption key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the encryption system as disclosed by Riordan, with generating using a master key and device data as disclosed by Chastain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Riordan and Chastain are directed toward encryption systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Riordan’s encryption security would be improved by Chastain’s techniques.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499