DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 08/24/2022 are accepted.
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority to Provisional Application 62/983,077 filed on 02/28/2020 and is also a 371 of PCT/US2021/019338 filed on 02/24/2021.
Amendment and Claim Status
In the reply filed on 04/17/2026, Applicant amended claims 1-4, 7 and 13 and canceled claims 8-11, 16 and 18-19. Claims 4-6, 12-15 and 17 were previously withdrawn by the Examiner as not being encompassed by the elected group.
Claims 1-7, 12-15 and 17 are currently pending.
Claims 4-6, 12-15 and 17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites “the recombinant Fibcd1 fragment of claim 1, wherein said fragment comprises residues 241-457 of SEQ ID NO: 2, or an ortholog thereof.” Claim 1 recites “… fragment (i) comprises a fibrinogen-related domain consisting of residues 241-457 of Fibcd1 of SEQ ID NO: 2, or an ortholog thereof …” Thus, claim 3 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends because claim 1 already requires the fragment to comprise residues 241-457 of SEQ ID NO: 2, or an ortholog thereof.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandes et al. (US 20020168716 A1, 11/14/2002) (Of Record).
Regarding claims 1 - 3, Fernandes et al. disclose novel amino acid sequences for mammalian polypeptides that have sequence similarity to human microfibril-associated glycoprotein 4 (MAG4) (See entire document, Abstract). Fernandes et al. disclose SEQ ID NO: 26 which shares 100% sequence identity with residues 241-457 of the Fibcd1 fragment of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and lacks N-terminal residues 1-175 of instant SEQ ID NO: 2. As shown below in the alignment, Qy represents instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and Db represents SEQ ID NO: 26 of Fernandes et al.
Fernandes et al. further disclose fusion of a 6x His tag and T7 epitope to a protein for protein analysis via Western blotting (Paragraph [0459]). The T7 epitope reads on a label and an epitope tag.
Fernandes et al. do not disclose a Fibcd1 fragment that has a length of at least 270 amino acid residues.
However, as discussed above, Fernandes et al. do disclose SEQ ID NO. 26 which is 269 amino acids in length and further the fusion of a 6x His tag and T7 epitope for protein analysis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fused SEQ ID NO. 26 with a 6x His tag and a T7 epitope motivated by the desire to analyze the protein and the addition of the 6x His tag and T7 epitope would create a protein with a length of at least 270 amino acid residues as the 6x His tag is 6 histidines in length and the T7 epitope is an 11 amino acid polypeptide sequence. Additionally, SEQ ID NO. 26 of Fernandes et al. with the addition of the 6x His tag and T7 epitope would still be less than 400 amino acid residues in length.
Regarding claim 7, Fernandes et al. disclose the proteins of the invention, and derivatives, fragments, analogs and homologs thereof, can be incorporated into pharmaceutical compositions suitable for administration (Paragraph [0236]). Further, such compositions comprise the protein and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Paragraph [0236]).
USC § 103 - Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued on Pages 2-3 that claim 1, as-amended, recites the fragment “has a length of at least 270 amino acid residues, wherein the fragment further comprises ubiquitination …” However, claim 1, as amended, does not recite “further comprises,” it simply states “has a length of at least 270 amino acid residues, wherein the fragment comprises ubiquitination …” Thus, the prior art of record, being Fernandes et al., still reads on the claims as-amended.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/A.T.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653