DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 09/08/26 (hereinafter Response), including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claim 1 has been amended and claim 6 has been cancelled, while all other claims are maintained as previously presented in the application. Applicant’s amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 USC § 103 (details below) and claims 1-5 and 7-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see [ ‘Remarks’, pages 5-8], filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 and 7-18 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, but in view of amendments and upon further consideration-----are not found persuasive (details below).
In view of arguments [“Remark”, pages 5-7], the applicant contends that the rejection made for claims 1-5 and 7-18 under 35 USC § 103 are deficient and that the claimed features are not taught or aligned or suggested, or applied in a manner that attempted to make up for addressing the deficiency of claims 1-5 and 7-18 have been fully considered, but were not found persuasive for this reason:
The subject matter of claim 1 is rendered obvious by the combination of Nees in view of Wu because Nees and Wu’s references each/or in combination disclose the fundamental lift device mechanism relied upon by the examiner, such as a rotating shaft driven by a motor that rotates the lifting shaft on its own rotating axis. Specially, each reference or in combination teaches a mechanical coupling configured to transmit rotational force, a motor or equivalent drive source, and a drive shaft operably connected to the drive components that allows the mechanism to move up and down. Moreover, when considered in combination, the references collectively reinforce the presence of these features, as both documents describe conventional mechanical power-transfer arrangements that inherently include a motor, a coupling interference, and a rotational shaft. Accordingly, the cited art- alone or in combination- reasonably teaches or suggests the claimed limitations of mechanical coupling, motor, and drive shaft etc.
In view of amendment, the applicant now submits to introduce a new limitation to claim 1: “the at least one lift linkage is brought into direct mechanical coupling and contact with the lifting shaft, wherein the lift linkage has a hook-shaped profile in a vicinity of the coupling to the lifting shaft, and is arranged so that the hook-shaped profile is in contact in a top end-of- travel position of the lift linkage with an interior surface on an exterior surface of the lifting shaft to support the lift linkage on the lifting shaft; however, in view of further consideration, they are not found persuasive. The applicant argues that the requirement of “direct coupling” and “a hook-shaped profile” in a vicinity of the coupling are not explicitly taught by the cited references. In view of amendment and upon further consideration, it was discovered that Nee in view of Wu and further in view of Hirotaka expressly teaches those features where at least one lift linkage is brought into direct mechanical coupling and contact with the lifting shaft [see fig. 5 and [0028-0029], wherein the lift linkage has a hook-shaped profile (hook, groove 40 and hook profile 39 of Herotaka) in a vicinity of the coupling to the lifting shaft (38 of Herotaka). See para. 0028-0029 of Herotaka for more detail. Under MPEP §2141.01(a), the modified Nees in view of Herotaka is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the applicant because the claimed invention requires direct mechanical connection and hook shaped profile. The modified Nees in view of Herotaka provides a well-known direct connection and hook shaped profile similar to the claimed invention which is known to the cited art and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine locking mechanism to the lift device to achieve a predictable improvements in system operation, consistent with KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), which hold that combining familiar elements according to known methods is obvious when the combination yields no more than predictable results and also consistent with MPEP §2143.02.
For these reasons, the limitations of claims 1-5 and 7-18 do not distinguish from the current art of record e.g., over Nees in view of Wu and further in view of Herotaka (details below).
Accordingly, claims 1-5 and 7-18 are rendered obvious and pending in the application. See, a new ground(s) of claim rejection under 35 U.S.C §103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nees Daniel (DE 102014100865 A1; hereinafter, “Nees”) in view of Wu Yaohua (CN 203714557 U; hereinafter, “Wu”) and further in view of Terada Hirotaka (JP 2008-296805 A; hereinafter, “Hirotaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Nees teaches: a lift device (4, fig. 1-4) of a tugger train trailer (fig. 1-4) for raising and lowering a cargo carried in the tugger train trailer [0003], wherein
the lift device (4) comprises at least one lift linkage (vertical rails 12a, 12b or 13a, 13b, [abstract, line 9-11]) which raises and lowers the cargo (fig. 1) is coupled in an articulated manner [‘abstract’ teaches that two vertical rails (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b) spaced apart from one another and the webs (6, 7) of the transport device (4) each adjoin one end of the longitudinal member (5) and have a coupling section (6a, 7a); and is connected to 13a, 13b; thus, coupled in an articulated manner; also, ‘Abstract’ teaches: “two vertical rails (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b) spaced apart from one another in the transverse direction of the vehicle”; note that: transverse direction is the vertical direction of vertical rails and space apart being done on the longitude direction of the vehicle].
Nees teaches shaft (equivalent to longitudinal member 5), lift linkage and the cargo but fails to explicitly teach that a lifting shaft is driven by a drive motor so as to rotate around an axis of rotation and the lift linkage which raise and lowers the cargo is coupled in an articulated manner at a distance from the axis of rotation of the lifting shaft; however,
Wu, in another lift device similar to Nees teaches that a lifting shaft (transmission shaft 4-5, fig. 1 and [0032]) is driven by a drive motor (A, annotated fig. 1 below, [0032]) so as to rotate around an axis of rotation (BB', annotated fig. 1 below), and the lift linkage (via 1-2 and 3 [0029]) which raises and lowers the cargo (another cargo of Wu, [0053]) is coupled in an articulated manner at a distance from the axis of rotation (BB') of the lifting shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a lifting shaft of Wu to replace the longitudinal member of Nees and configure a new machine design that are driven by a drive motor that is mounted so as to rotate around its axis of rotation wherein the lift linkage which raise and lowers the cargo is coupled to it in an articulated manner at a distance from the axis of rotation of the lifting shaft as taught by Wu into the invention of Nees with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize the lifting mechanism that constitutes a mechanical coupling in such that the drive motor can be free of any load condition on the top end of travel position, thereby enhancing mechanical lifting efficiency by distributing balanced load driven by a drive motor in order to improve durability, reliability and reduce manufacturing cost [ see’ abstract’ of Wu]. Such a modification which includes motor, drive shaft, mechanical coupling, linkage mechanism represents a predictable use of known prior art elements according to their established functions that facilitate secure, releasable connections, and the combination yields no unexpected results.
Nees as modified above teaches a lift device, at least one lift linkage where a lifting shaft is driven by a drive motor so as to rotate around an axis of rotation and the lift linkage which raise and lowers the cargo is coupled in an articulated manner at a distance from the axis of rotation of the lifting shaft. An argument is made that the modified Nees in view of Wu failed to teach in such that when articulated - the at least one lift linkage is brought into direct mechanical coupling and contact with the lifting shaft, wherein the lift linkage has a hook-shaped profile in a vicinity of the coupling to the lifting shaft, and is arranged so that the hook-shaped profile is in contact in a top end-of- travel position of the lift linkage with an interior surface on an exterior surface of the lifting shaft to support the lift linkage on the lifting shaft; however,
Hirotaka in another “Lifting device for automobile maintenance” similar to Nees teaches that when articulated - the at least one lift linkage (“cover unit” 30, [0028-0029]) is brought into direct (via two locking members and hook groove 40; [0029, line 7-8], fig. 5) mechanical coupling and contact (via” two locking members”; [0029, line 7-8]) with the lifting shaft (“engagement support shaft” 38; [0028-0029]), wherein the lift linkage (30, fig. 5) has a hook-shaped profile (hooked pieces 39; [0028]) in a vicinity of the coupling (fig. 5) to the lifting shaft (38), and is arranged so that the hook-shaped profile (39) is in contact (at hook groove 40; [0029]) in a top end-of- travel position (fig. 5) of the lift linkage (30, fig. 5) with an interior surface on an exterior surface of the lifting shaft (38) to support the lift linkage (30) on the lifting shaft (38; [para. 0029 teaches that the hook groove 40 is arranged so as to be engaged with and disengaged from an inside projection part (equivalent to interior surface on an exterior surface) of the support shaft 38; also, para. 0049 teaches: “the support shaft 38 of the roller 32 approaches the hook piece 39 and is engaged with the hook groove 40. Thereafter, the preceding cover unit 30 escapes from the relay rail 35 and maintains a horizontal posture, and the rollers 31 to 33 thereof can travel on the upper in 36a and the 36b”]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a lifting shaft of Wu to replace the longitudinal member of Nees and configure a new machine design that are driven by a drive motor, in such that at least one lift linkage is brought into direct mechanical coupling and contact with the lifting shaft, wherein the lift linkage has a hook-shaped profile in a vicinity of the coupling to the lifting shaft, and is arranged so that the hook-shaped profile is in contact in a top end-of- travel position of the lift linkage with an interior surface on an exterior surface of the lifting shaft to support the lift linkage on the lifting shaft as taught by Hirotaka into the invention of the modified Nees with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize the lifting mechanism that constitutes a mechanical coupling in such that the drive motor can be free of any load condition on the top end of travel position, thereby enhancing mechanical lifting efficiency by distributing balanced load driven by a drive motor in order to improve durability, reliability and reduce manufacturing cost. The motivation to combine the teaching of Herotaka into the invention of Nees arises from the shared objective of enabling vertical lift movement, provided with hook shaped locking mechanism and secure attachment in dynamic lifting environments. Such a modification which includes lift linkage, direct mechanical coupling, and a hooked shape locking profile in a vicinity of driving shaft represents a predictable use of known prior art elements according to their established functions that facilitate secure, releasable connections, and the combination yields no unexpected results. Accordingly, claim 1 is rendered obvious and remains pending in the application.
Annotated fig. 1 of Wu
Regarding claim 2, Nees as modified above further teaches that the lift device (4), wherein the lift device has at least two lift linkages (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b, claim 1) which are located at a distance (space apart, ‘abstract’, line 3) from one another in the longitudinal direction of the lifting shaft (“transmission shaft” 4-5 of Wu; [‘Abstract’ of Nees teaches: “two vertical rails (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b) spaced apart from one another in the transverse direction of the vehicle”]).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Nees as modified above further teaches that the lift linkage is coupled in an articulated manner [‘abstract’ teaches: “two vertical rails (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b) spaced apart from one another in the transverse direction of the vehicle, and the webs (6, 7) of the transport device (4) each adjoin one end of the longitudinal member (5) and have a coupling section (6a, 7a)”; and is connected to mast profile 13a, 13b, thus coupled in an articulated manner] , but fails to explicitly teach that the lifting linkage is coupled to a crank arm device located non-rotationally on the lifting shaft.
Wu teaches that the lifting linkage (3) is coupled to a crank arm device (4-7) located non-rotationally (fixed [0037, line 221-223] on the lifting shaft (4-5; [para. 0012 teaches that “the one end of the crank arm 7 is hinged to the jacking base, and the other end is hinged to the lifting linkage 3: para. 0037 further teaches that lifting shaft 4-5 is hinged on the seated self-aligning bearing 4-6, and a crank arm (4-7) is fixed at the end; it should be noted that ‘fixed’ at the end is being interpretated as non-rotational crank]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a lifting linkage arm that is coupled in to a crank arm device, located non-rotationally on the lifting shaft as taught by Wu into the invention of Nees with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize the lifting structural design which improve the mechanical properties of the crank hinge shaft and can transmit a larger torque, thereby being able to lift heavier goods [para. 0037 of Wu.]
Regarding claim 4, Nees as modified above further teaches the crank arm device (4-7 of Wu); but fails to disclose that has two crank discs located at an axial distance from each other on the lifting shaft, and between which the lift linkage is located.
Wu teaches: the crank arm device has two crank discs (transfers bars, [‘abstract’]) located at an axial distance [annotated fig. 1 above where two crank discs ( C and C') are at axial distance] from each other on the lifting shaft (4-5), and between which the lift linkage is located [‘abstract’ teaches: “the transmission cranks, and transfers bars connected with the transmission crank hinge shafts; the other ends of the transfer bars are connected with the jack-up transfer bars”, thus crank discs are positioned where the lift linkage is located.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a crank arm device that has two crank discs located at an axial distance from each other on the lifting shaft and between which the lift linkage is located as taught by Wu into the invention of Nees with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously optimize the transmission crank mechanism which affects the efficiency and accuracy of the motion transfer. A well-designed transmission system with optimized crank discs that can reduce mechanical strain, improve durability, reliability, and reduced manufacturing cost [“abstract” of Wu].
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 3, Nees as modified above doesn’t appear to explicitly teach that the lift linkage is coupled in an articulated manner to a fastening pin oriented parallel to the axis of rotation on the crank arm device; however,
Wu teaches that the lift linkage is coupled in an articulated manner [para. 0020] to a fastening pin (D, annotated fig. 1 of Wu above) oriented parallel to the axis of rotation on the crank arm device [ Para 0020 teaches: “the lifting connecting rod adopts a straight plate shape; one end of the lifting crank hinged to the lifting connecting rod adopts a shift fork structure (articulated manner) for clamping the lifting connecting rod”; also annotated fig. 1 above shows pin D is oriented parallel to the axis of rotation on the crank arm device.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a crank arm device that has crank pin oriented parallel to the axis of rotation on the crank arm as taught by Wu into the invention of Nees with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously enhance the performance of the transmission hinge mechanism, minimize friction and wear, ensure optimal load distribution, thereby increase reliability and reduce manufacturing cost. [‘abstract’ of Wu].
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 1, the modified Nees fails to disclose that the drive motor is in an operative connection by a transmission with the lifting shaft; however,
Wu teaches the drive motor (A) is in an operative connection by a transmission with the lifting shaft (4-5, fig. 4, [ ‘abstract’ teaches: “transmission mechanism connecting the motor with a transmission shaft,”; note that transmission shaft is the lifting shaft]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nees to incorporate the teaching of Wu and obtain the design of lifting mechanism by connecting motor drive to the transmission mechanism in order to advantageously enhance efficiency into the performance of the transmission system, so as to achieve smoother lifting motions, maximized output and reduced manufacturing cost [‘abstract’ of Wu].
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, the modified Nees doesn’t appear to disclose the top end-of-travel position, a dead center interlock is provided between the lift linkage and the lifting shaft; however,
Wu teaches that the top end-of-travel position, a dead center (‘lifting upper seat”; [claim 1]) interlock is provided between the lift linkage and the lifting shaft [claim 1 teaches that “the lifting device for the heavy-load shuttle plate is characterized in that a copper sleeve is installed in the circular hole of the lifting upper seat”; also, see claim 2 of Wu; note that ‘lifting upper seat” is being interpreted as dead center and a copper sleeve is provided to interlock between the lift linkage and the lift shaft; also para. 0013 teaches: “when the lifting transmission rod (lifting shaft) drives the lifting crank, the lifting upper seat moves vertically (a dead center) along the guide shaft”; thus, top end-of-travel position, and a dead center interlock is provided between the lift linkage and the lifting shaft.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nees to incorporate the teaching of Wu and provide a dead end interlock at the top end-of-travel position between the lift linkage and the lifting shaft in order to advantageously enhance safety, prevent overextension and improve precision during up-lifting which in turn will improve reliability and reduce manufacturing cost [Abstract of Wu].
Regarding claim 11, Nees as modified above further teaches that a sensor device is operatively connected with the lifting shaft (“lifting shaft of Wu) [ see claim 22 where Nees teaches: “the steering device of the axle frame has an electric drive which can be controlled in accordance with a sensor which detects the steering position of the steering device (L1) of the first axle frame (3)”.]
Regarding claim 12, Nees as modified above further teaches that the lifting shaft (4-5 of Wu) is provided with a mechanical interface (“Cam Discs”; [claim 20]) to which a hand tool (“a tool”; [claim 20]) can be applied for the manual actuation (“height-adjustable”; [claim 20]) of the lifting shaft [ Claim 20 teaches that the tugger train trailer is characterized in that the steering device has cam disc (S) coupled to the traction means. It should be noted that Cam Discs are being interpretated as a mechanical interface which can be operated by hand or through mechanical force using a tool, where the user manually rotates or adjusts the cam to control the lifting motion; also, para. 011 teaches: “the transport device can advantageously be height-adjustable compared to the chassis”, thus height-adjustable is ensured when lifting shaft is provided with a mechanical interface to which a hand tool can be applied.]
Regarding claim 13, Nees as modified above further teaches a tugger train trailer with a chassis (1), which has two axle modules (2,3, claim 1) located at a distance (space apart, [claim 1]) from each other in a longitudinal direction [ claim 1, line 3] of the vehicle, and between which cargo being carried is located (via fork 16, fig.2), wherein the tugger train trailer is provided with a lift device (4) [see para. 0001 and claim 1].
Regarding claim 14, depending on claim 13, Nees as modified above further teaches that the tugger train trailer has a bridge frame (6, 7, fig. 4) connecting the axle modules (2, 3, [‘abstract’]) which has vertical supports (1-1, fig. 4) located on the axle module (2,3) and a longitudinal beam (beam of 5, fig. 4) connecting the vertical supports (10, 11, fig. 4) wherein the lifting shaft (4-5 of Wu) of the lift device (1) is rotationally mounted on the longitudinal beam.
Regarding claim 15, Nees as modified above further teaches that the tugger train trailer has a transport device (fork 16, fig.2), to receive the cargo, wherein the transport device is located between (fig. 2) the axle modules (2,3) and can be raised and lowered with respect to the axle modules (2,3) by the lift device (4) , and wherein the lift linkage (12a, 12b or 13a, 13b) of the lift device (4) is operatively connected with the transport device (16, [ See claim 23 and, also claim 5, 9 and fig. 2.])
Regarding claim 16, Nees as modified above further teaches that the transport device (16, fig.2), is located on the axle modules (2, 3) by respective vertical guides (lifting unit H, fig. 4, [claim 4]) so that the transport device can be raised and lowered [0014].
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 15, Nees as modified above further teaches that the transport device has a platform to drive on dollies that have rollers, wherein the dollies are supported on the platform with rollers [see annotated fig. 2 below where there is a taper portion on the transport device 16, thus forming a platform to drive on dollies that have rollers upon contact with the floor.]
Annotated fig. 2 of Nees
Regarding claim 18, Nees as modified above further teaches that the transport device has positioning forks to receive the cargo [Claim 9 teaches: “tugger train trailer, characterized in that at least one fork (16) can be fastened to the longitudinal member”; also see fig. 2 where plurality of positioning members 16 forming a fork to receive the cargo.]
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nees in view of Wu, in view of Hirotaka and further in view of Zhang Ke (CN104591046 A; hereinafter, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 9, Nees as modified above includes all the limitations of claim 1 including lifting shaft, but doesn’t appear to explicitly teach that the lifting shaft is in the form of a spline shaft or an involute spline shaft; however,
Zhang in another pallet fork clamping machine similar to Nees teaches: “spline shaft 7 are symmetrically arranged between the two side plates of the frame 1”; see ‘abstract’ and para 0021 and fig. 2 of Zhang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the modified Nees from claim 1 above to incorporate the teaching of Zhang and provide spline shaft into the lifting mechanism in order to advantageously enhance efficient torque transmission and easy to control and operate reliably and stably [“abstract” of Zhang].
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 9, Nees as modified above doesn’t appear to explicitly teach that the crank arm device is provided with a hub profile that interacts in a complementary manner with the spline shaft or involute spline shaft; however,
Zhang, in another lifting device similar to Nees teaches that the crank arm device (2) is provided with a hub profile (spline-shaped sleeve 12, fig. 2; [0013, 0016, 0017) that interacts in a complementary manner with the spline shaft (7) or involute spline shaft [“Abstract” teaches: “a spline shaft is arranged between the two side plates (2) of the machine frame”; note that: shown in fig. 2, the two side plates are being interpretated as a ‘crank arm device’ as disclosed by the ‘abstract’; also, para. 0025 further teaches: “when the movable plates 2 move closer to the inside to a certain position, the spline sleeve 12 engages with the spline on the spline shaft 7, and the rotation of the first drive motor 10 drives the spline shaft 7 to rotate”; it should be noted that the crank arm device 2, featuring a spline-shaped sleeve 12, engages with the spline shaft 7 in a way that corresponds to the hub profile of the crank arm. This interaction ensures a complementary connection with the spline shaft, facilitating smooth rotational movement, thus hub profile that interacts in a complementary manner with the spline shaft.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the modified Nees to incorporate the teaching of Zhang and provide the crank arm device with a hub profile that interacts in a complementary manner with the spline shaft in order to advantageously enhance stability with improved torque transmission and operates reliably and stably [‘abstract’ of Zhang].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP-2808068-B2 to Oda discloses: the hook 28a as a hook provided at the tip of each flat belt 28 is locked in hook hole 92a. Each hook 28a is provided with a claw 28b for retaining elastically rotating. At the same time, the hook receiving plates 92 on both ends are hooked and locked on the hooks 28a of the flat belt 28 forming a pair. When flat belt 28 is hooked in hook hole 92a, the work of checking flat belt 28 for torsion or the like can be omitted.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
September 24, 2026