DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed on 9/18/2026.
Claims 16, 19 and 32 have been amended.
Claims 1-15, 21 and 22 have been cancelled.
Claim 33 is newly added.
Claims 16-20, 23-26, and 31-33 are currently pending, 27-30 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The rejection to claim 32 under §112(b) is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on page 6 of 10 with respect to the rejection of claim 32 under §112(b), the examiner would like to extend his apologies for the typographical error regarding the word “dimensioned”. However, the word “dimensioned” and the phrase “of a size” used in the context of “such that no wrinkles or cracks occur during the rolling” is synonymous with each other and has no effect on the indefiniteness of the claim language. It is still unclear how the act of dimensioning, or sizing, which is a description of an observation, has on the act of cutting or shaping or trimming. If the applicant means to cut out the imperfections, or some other kind of physical manipulation, then the applicant needs to phrase that more clearly in the claim.
Regard the argument on pages 6 and 7 of 10 with respect to the §103 rejection of claims 16 and 21,
In the instant case the applicant argues that KABURAGI is not acting on a single sheet, the examiner disagrees with this assertion. It is the position of the examiner that each individual sheet is being pressed while configured in a stack.
As to the argument that KABURAGI does not disclose a calender, the applicant is arguing against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The applicant argues on page 8 of 10 regarding claim 19 that the calendaring of THIEBOLT is performed on an active admixture and therefore the blanks worked by THIEBOLT do not have an uncoated region.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The use of calendaring in THIEBOLT is applied to the blanks taught by CHO and while the examiner neither agrees nor disagrees with the assertion that SHIMIZU raises concerns (teaching away), that the application of calendaring disclosed by THIEBOLT applied to the blanks disclosed by CHO could cause wrinkling, the applicant is reminded that SHIMIZU is not relied on for the rejection of the instant claim 19 that is being discussed and THIEBOLT is not teaching away from this type of aplication. It is also the position of the office that the calendaring disclosed by THIEBOLT when applied to the method disclosed by CHO only has to meet the “reasonable expectation of success” requirement for a prima facia case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143.02 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 32, it is unclear how something can be “of a size” such that no wrinkles or cracks can occur. For examination purposes the claim will be interpreted as “sized for rolling.”
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the newly added limitations in claims 16, 19, 32 and 33 for a “single sheet”, it is the position of the office that this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claims. The limitation is interpreted as “each single sheet in the stack.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20, 23-24, 26 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20020182490 A1, CHO et al. provided in the IDS dated 6/22/2023 in view of US 6582545 B1, THIEBOLT et al. and further in view of US 20210028496 A1, KABURAGI et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/24/2022
Regarding claims 16, 31 and 33. CHO discloses a method for producing an electrode [abstract] for an energy storage cell, comprising:
coating [0025] a carrier material with an active material to form a coated carrier material comprising the electrode;
[0024] processing the carrier material in order to produce at least one single sheet, which the reference calls an electrode plate; and
adjusting a porosity of the electrode on the single sheet (using a pressure roll [0041])
CHO does not disclose pressing the single sheet using a pressing die applying pressing force perpendicular to a surface of the coated carrier material;
rolling the coated carrier material along a first direction along a plane of the single sheet; and
rolling the coated carrier material along a second direction along the plane of the single sheet, wherein
the rolling along the first direction and the rolling along the second direction are each performed using a calender separately from the pressing, and wherein
the first direction is different from and offset with respect to the second direction in the plane of the single sheet.
THIEBOLT [title] discloses A Process For Fabrication Of Low Basis Weight Electrode Active Blanks where,
THIEBOLT [col 1 lines 54-67] disclose “an improved process for providing blanks or plates of electrode active material wherein the tape made by the prior art process is subsequently calendared in a secondary rolling step, substantially orthogonal (meeting the limitations of claim 31) to the direction at which the first calendaring step occurred or at a second direction, opposite the first. This secondary calendaring step yields an electrode admixture having a surface area greater than that which is provided by the prior art method having the active material calendared in only one direction, regardless of the number of sequentially reduced gaps the material is run through. The resulting calendared electrode admixture is useful for constructing electrodes for both primary and secondary electrochemical cells.” [sic]
CHO modified by THIEBOLT does not disclose adjusting the porosity by also pressing the single sheet using a pressing die applying pressing force perpendicular to a surface of the coated carrier material, wherein the rolling is performed using a calender separately from the pressing.
KABURAGI [title] discloses A Battery Manufacturing Method
KABURAGI [0110] discloses adjusting the porosity by also pressing the single sheet using a pressing die called a pressing part (120) in figure 8 depicted below applying pressing force perpendicular to a surface of the coated carrier material, wherein the rolling is performed using a calender separately from the pressing.
This pressing of the single sheet disclosed by KABURAGI could also be applied before the rolling disclosed by THIEBOLT reading on claim 33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have calendared or rolled the electrode sheets in two different directions disclosed by THIEBOLT in order to yield an electrode admixture having a surface area greater than that which is provided by having the active material calendared in only one direction.
It also would have been obvious to this person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the press disclosed by KABURAGI to further adjust the porosity of the cell film disclosed by CHO.
Regarding claim 17. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the processing comprises:
[0042] processing the carrier material by cutting out or trimming by thermal or mechanical cutting by stamping.
Regarding claim 18. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein
the carrier material is coated only in regions of the carrier material [0025] to form coated regions of the carrier material, and wherein the processing further comprises:
processing the carrier material along the coated regions [0026] (i.e., the material continues to be processed).
Regarding claim 19. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16, comprising: [0025-0026] forming an uncoated lead region (which the reference calls a “non-coated projection portion”) of the carrier material during the processing of the carrier material, such that the uncoated lead region is present on the single sheet during the pressing of the single sheet and during the rolling along the first direction and the rolling along the second direction.
Regarding claim 20. Modified CHO discloses the [0041-0042] The method according to claim 16, comprising: shaping a lead region (stamping out) after the adjustment of the porosity (press rolled).
Regarding claim 23. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16.
KABURAGI [0109] discloses a method of moving the single sheets (20) by suction pads (111) which the reference calls suction heads.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have used the suction heads disclosed by KABURAGI in the method of making an electrode disclosed by modified CHO.
Regarding claim 24. Modified CHO discloses the annotated figure 2E below depicts the method according to claim 16, comprising: [0056] moving or transporting the single sheets transport films.
Regarding claim 26. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16.
Modified CHO does not disclose the method comprising:
coating the single sheet by a method selected from at least one of the following:
lamination, adhesive bonding, masking, extrusion, dry coating, wet coating, or direct wet coating.
KABURAGI [0088] discloses the method comprising coating a single sheet by masking which is a well-known and widely used method in the art as of the filing date.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the method of masking disclosed by KABURAGI in the method of making an electrode disclosed by modified CHO as a common practice widely used in the art as of the filing date.
Regarding claim 32. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the processing the carrier material further comprises processing the carrier material to produce the at least one single sheet such that in the annotated figure depicted below:
Modified CHO [0055] discloses the at least one single sheet has a maximum of one at least partially uncoated edge forming an uncoated region (in the circled area marked with an S) and
wherein the method comprises forming the uncoated region being dimensioned such that no wrinkles or cracks occur during the rolling.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20020182490 A1, CHO et al. provided in the IDS dated 6/22/2023 in view of US 6582545 B1, THIEBOLT et al. in view of US 20210028496 A1, KABURAGI et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/24/2022. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US 20100330267 A1, SHIMIZU et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/24/2022..
Regarding claim 25. Modified CHO discloses the method according to claim 16.
Modified CHO does not disclose a method comprising: recutting the single sheet after the adjustment of the porosity.
SHIMIZU [title] discloses a Method for Producing Electrode Plate for Battery where it is disclosed that
SHIMIZU [0037] “cutting the electrode plate precursor that has been rolled to obtain plural strips of electrode plates having a desired width. Thereby, the number of steps can be decreased, and the efficiency of producing electrode plates for batteries can be improved”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have cut the electrode plate after having been rolled to the desired porosity thereby decreasing the number of steps and improving efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727