DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Group 1 in the reply filed on 10/28/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). The statement that the inventions are of related subject matter does not point out the errors and therefore a mere statement of no burden is therefore insufficient in pointing out the errors.
3. Claims 4-8 and 16-20 and 22 are withdrawn as being directed toward non elected subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/24/2022, 2/14/2024, 5/10/2024 and 8/7/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2004/0054059 A1) to Parker et al (hereinafter Parker).
Parker is directed toward polymer latex drag reducing agents. Parker discloses at paragraph [0060] the composition contains latex particles. Parker discloses at paragraph [0079] the composition includes a cationic surfactant. Parker discloses at paragraph [0033] the particles are dispersed into an aqueous medium, which would be the continuous phase. Parker discloses at paragraph [0109] the use of a cetyltrimethylammonium chloride cationic surfactant. Parker discloses at paragraph [0040] the use of a nonionic surfactant. Parker discloses each and every element of claims 1-2 and 11-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 3-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2004/0054059 A1) to Parker et al (hereinafter Parker) in view of the teachings of (US 2019/0256761 A1) to Milligan (hereinafter Milligan).
Parker is directed toward polymer latex drag reducing agents. Parker discloses at paragraph [0060] the composition contains latex particles. Parker discloses at paragraph [0079] the composition includes a cationic surfactant. Parker discloses at paragraph [0033] the particles are dispersed into an aqueous medium, which would be continuous. Parker discloses at paragraph [0109] the use of a cetyltrimethylammonium chloride cationic surfactant. Parker discloses at paragraph [0040] the use of a nonionic surfactant.
Milligan is directed toward polymer latex drag reducing agents. Parker and Milligan are both directed toward polymer latex drag reducing agents and therefore are analogous art. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0006] the use of drag reducing agents. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0016] the monomer may include a monomer of 2-ethylhexyl methacrylate, which reads on Applicants elected species. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0017] the water may be used as the continuous phase. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0020] the composition may include non-ionic secondary alcohol ethoxylates, which reads on Applicants elected species. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0027] the molecular weight of the latex polymer may be at least about 1×10.sup.6 g/mol, which reads on Applicants molecular weight range. Milligan teaches at paragraph [0003] the use of ultrahigh molecular weight polymers of latex have reduced drag and therefore one would be motivated to include those latex polymers.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing based on the disclosure of Parker in view of the teachings of Milligan to include the high molecular weight latex polymers of Milligan into the composition of Parker, to reduce drag, that forms a prime facie case of obviousness on claims 3-9 and 15.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766