DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 2 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the interpretations of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants assert that Min fails to disclose the newly added features of claim 2. However, Hase teaches these features as detailed below. As such, the claims would have been rendered obvious as detailed below.
Thus, this action is hereby FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0257205) in view of In view of South Korea Patent Document (KR10-0892908), copy attached Machine translation cited, hereafter, Min as evidenced by Arkema Pebax Elastomer Family, retrieved 9.17.2025, Published: https://www.arkema.com/usa/en/product-range/technicalpolymers/pebax-product-family/ (Year: 2025), hereafter Arkema.
Regarding claim 2.
Hase discloses:
A cord-shaped heater, comprising:
a conductive wire(5a);
an insulating layer(5b) formed of a resin (5b being a resin, see Hase Abstract, that 5b is formed of a resin) on an outer periphery of the conductive wire(5a); and
a heat fusion layer (7) formed on an outer periphery of the insulation layer (7 on outter periphery of 5b) so that the heat fusion layer is in contact with the outer periphery of the insulation layer(7 being in contact with outside of 5b), wherein
Hase does not discloses:
the heat fusion layer is a polyamide-based thermoplastic elastomer.
Hase does not discloses:
the heat fusion layer is polyamide-based thermoplastic elastomer.
Min discloses:
polyamide-based thermoplastic elastomer.(See Fig 7, 7, and abstract), disclosing that7 may be made of Pibax (Pebax) of Arkema. Min discloses that 7 provides the benefit of of providing excellent heat resistance, insulation and hardening resistance over other materials.
Arkema discloses that Pebax is a thermoplastic elastomer consisting of polyamide. As such, it would have been obvious to modify Hase by using the cladding material of Min for the obvious benefit of providing the benefits taught by Min. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Hase to include the outer layer of Min to obtain the obvious benefit. Thus, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 4. Hase Fig. 4 discloses:
A sheet-shaped heater, wherein the cord-shaped heater(10) according to claim 2 is arranged on a substrate(11).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898