DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that in Krasovitsky, the value of the current cannot be determined by the skilled artisan because the nominal capacity is unclear although the current at C rate is mentioned and the current density cannot be determined by the skilled artisan because the electrode area is unclear even in view of the additional disclosures of Tables 1 and 2 at paragraph [0045] thereof. Applicant respectfully submits that there is no manner whereby a skilled artisan considering the relied upon disclosures of Krasovitsky could derive that a current density of the first current being set to 1.0 mA/cm² or lower within the device of the primary reference, Li.
However, Krasovitsky teaches a first current I1 having a current density of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower charge rates (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 mA/cm2 or less. That is, the current density disclosed by Krasovitsky being a range that extends to 0 overlaps with the claimed current density range extending to 0. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a current density of C/80 or lower, which may be close to a current density of 0 mA/cm2, in order to provide a low initial I1 because low initial formation currents enhance electrolyte wetting of the electrodes surface due to the potential between the battery poles; applying small currents, at least initially, achieves high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Applicant submits that Li discloses a lithium-metal secondary battery, while Krasovitsky discloses a lithium-ion battery, which is understood by the general skill in the art to function at different levels and requires completely different configuration from lithium-metal secondary batteries. Applicant further submits that the application of the charging method disclosed by Krasovitsky does not apply to Li due to the structural difference.
However, although Li discloses a lithium-metal battery and Krasovitsky discloses a lithium-ion battery, both battery types comprise of an electrolyte wherein wetting of the electrode surface occurs. Furthermore, Krasovitsky specifically discloses a charging current with low current density in order to provide a low initial I1 because low initial formation currents enhance electrolyte wetting of the electrodes surface due to the potential between the battery poles; applying small currents, at least initially, achieves high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the low current density disclosed by Krasovitsky to the charging method of Li.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US-20200020989-A1), and in further view of Krasovitsky (US-20180198161-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a charging and discharging method (see e.g., Li; [0012], [0187]) for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, the battery including
a positive electrode (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding cathode), a negative electrode including a negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Li; [0013], [0015], regarding anode and anode current collector), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (see e.g., Li; [0013], [0015], regarding solid electrolyte which is nonaqueous), in which a lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charge (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding “lithium metal precipitation-dissolution reaction”, [0015], [0069], “a lithium metal is precipitated on an anode current collecting foil-side surface of the solid electrolyte layer to form a roughness coating layer which is a part of an anode active material layer and which is composed of the lithium metal”), and the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte during discharge (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding “lithium metal precipitation-dissolution reaction”, [0121] “the anode active material layer 13 may dissolve and disappear in the secondary battery 100 before being initially charged or after being absolutely discharged”),
the method comprising: a charging step (see e.g., Li; [0069], [0079], regarding a first charging and second charging, [0168], [0184], regarding first and second charging example); and a discharging step performed after the charging step (see e.g., Li; [0187] regarding discharging performed after charging), wherein the charging step includes a first step of performing a constant-current charging (see e.g., Li; [0069], [0168] regarding first charging, [0169] regarding constant current) at a first current I1, and a second step of performing a constant-current charging at a second current I2 larger that the first current I1 (see e.g., Li; [0079]-[0080]), after the first step (see e.g., Li; [0079]).
Li does not explicitly disclose the first current I1 has a current density of 1.0 mA/cm2 or less, and in the discharging step, an amount of electricity corresponding to 20% or more and 80% or less of a full charge amount is discharged.
However, Krasovitsky teaches a first current I1 having a current density of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower charge rates (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 mA/cm2 or less. Krasovitsky also teaches a discharging step wherein 30-80% of a full charge amount is discharged (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0045]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20-80%. Krasovitsky is further analogous art because Krasovitsky discloses a charging and discharging method including multiple charging steps (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0043]-[0044], table 1 regarding increasing the C-rate thereby increasing the charging current after the first initial low current charging step, and regarding the step to step embodiment such that the charging current is constant). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first charging current I1 disclosed by Li to be less than C/60 or lower or C/80 or lower as disclosed by Krasovitsky, and to have modified the discharging step to be 30-80% of a full charge amount as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a low initial I1 because low initial formation currents enhance electrolyte wetting of the electrodes surface due to the potential between the battery poles; applying small currents, at least initially, achieves high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the discharging step to be 30-80% of a full charge amount to increase the cycling lifetime of the lithium battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein in the first step, the constant-current charging is performed at the first current I1 of 0.1 C or less. However, Krasovitsky teaches a first current I1 having a current density of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower charge rates (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mA/cm2 or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first charging current I1 disclosed by Li to be less than C/60 or lower or C/80 or lower as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a low initial I1 because low initial formation currents enhance electrolyte wetting of the electrodes surface due to the potential between the battery poles; applying small currents, at least initially, achieves high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein in the first step, an amount of electricity corresponding to 9.48% of a total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step is charge (see e.g., Li; [0196], regarding example 2 first charging, [0197], regarding fully charging to 100% SOC in the second charging), which overlaps with the claimed 5% or more and 15% or less of a total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step is charged.
Regarding claim 4, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Li discloses the second current I2 is larger than the first current I1, (see e.g., Li; [0079]). Li also discloses the second charging current density is not particularly limited, as long as it is larger than the first current density , from the viewpoint of reducing the battery charging time (see e.g., Li; [0080]). Li also discloses in table 2 that I2 may be 4 mA/cm2 at 0° C and 2 mA/cm2 at -20 (see e.g., Li; table 2) using one method (see e.g., Li; [0082]). In summary, Li discloses that I2 is not limited as long as it is greater than I1, so for example 1 which discloses I1=2.2 mA/cm2, I2 may be in a range of I2>2.2 mAh/cm2, which overlaps with the claimed range of 4.0 mA/cm2 or less. I2 is only selected to be 8.7 mA/cm2 in this particular example in order to reduce charging time without causing a short circuit as explained in [0082], but this does not limit the applicable current densities as shown in table 2 and [0080].
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging step includes a third step of performing a constant-current charging at a third current I3, after the second step, and the third current I3 is larger than the second current I2, and has a current density of 4.0 mA/cm2 or more.
However, Krasovitsky teaches wherein a charging step includes a third step of performing a constant-current charging at a third current I3, after the second step, the second current l2 is larger than the first current I1 and the third current I3 is larger than the second current l2 (see e.g., [0044], table 1 regarding step-like current increases provided in five steps to which current I3 would correspond to the later step increases such as steps 3-5 and current l2 would correspond to step 2 while current l1 corresponds to step 1 such that I2 is larger than the first current I1 and I3 is larger than l2). Krasovitsky describes in the later charging steps that the current may go up to 0.5 C or up to 1 C as in table 1 instead of disclosing the charging current in units of mA/cm2 for charging density. However, when Krasovitsky is applied to Li in terms of providing a third current I3 that is larger than the second current I2, the current density of the newly applied I3 may be at least greater than 8.7 mA/cm2 based on examples 1 and 2 of Li (see e.g., Li; [0184], [0197]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging method disclosed by Li by providing a third charging current I3, after the second step, that is larger than the second current I2 and greater than 4.0 mA/cm2 as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 4, wherein in the second step, the constant-current charging is performed at the second current I2 being larger than the first current I1 (see e.g., Li; [0169] regarding first charging current I1 being 2.2 mA/cm2 and [0184] second charging current I2 being 8.7 mA/cm2, [0080] regarding I2>I1).
Li does not provide the charging current in terms of C, so Li does not explicitly disclose I2 is 0.4 C or less. However, Krasovitsky provides a table (see e.g., Krasovitsky; table 1) wherein a corresponding second charging step (step 2) has a charging rate of 0.033 to 0.05 C, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.4 C or less.
Similarly, Li does not explicitly disclose a third step wherein the constant-current charging is performed at the third current I3 being larger than the second current I2, and 0.4 C or more. However, Krasovitsky discloses multiple charging steps of which any subsequent step after the 2nd charging step may correspond to a third charging step (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]). For example, Krasovitsky discloses in table 1 charging steps 4 or 5 that may correspond to a third charging current I3, wherein the charging current is larger than the second current I2, and the current I3 is 0.1 to 0.5 C, or 0.5 to 1 C (see e.g., Krasovitsky; table 1), which both overlap with the claimed range of 0.4 C or more. Krasovitsky notes that table 1 is a non-limiting example, and that charging steps may be broken down into whatever number of charging steps is needed (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]). Therefore, Krasovitsky may modify Li by adding just one additional charging current I3. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to have the second charging current I2 of 0.4 C or less, and a third charging current I3 larger than the second current I2 and 0.4 C or more as disclosed by Krasovitsky to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 4, wherein in the first step, the constant-current charging is performed such that an amount of charged electricity in the first step is 4.74% in example 1 (see e.g., Li; [0169]) and 9.48% in example 2 (see e.g., Li; [0196]) which overlaps with the claimed range of 15% or less of a total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step.
Li does not explicitly disclose in the second step, the constant-current charging is performed such that a summed amount of charged electricity in the first step and the second step becomes 50% or less of the total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step. However, Krasovitsky teaches intermediate charging steps such as in the example of table 1, wherein a charging step 2 is 0.0125 C to 0.033 C in a time limit of 0.2 to 5 hours such that the charge range is 0.66-25%; adding the charge ranges of step 1 and step 2 in this example yields a charge range of 0.91-41.5% which overlaps with the claimed range of 50% or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second charging step disclosed by Li such that the constant-current charging is performed such that a summed amount of charged electricity in the first step and the second step becomes 50% or less of the total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose a preliminary charging step of performing a constant-current charging at a current I0 having a current density of 0.5 mA/cm2 or less, before the charging step performed first time. However, Krasovitsky discloses that charging steps may be broken into any number of smaller steps (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]) such that there may be an initial forming current of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower initial charge rate prior to the first charging step, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 C or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging method disclosed by Li by providing an initial forming current I0 having a charging rate of C/80 or less disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 7. As disclosed above regarding claim 7, Krasovitsky modified Li to teach a preliminary charging step, wherein the constant-current charging is performed at the current I0 of C/80 or less (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05 C or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging method disclosed by Li by providing an initial forming current I0 having a charging rate of C/80 or less disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Li teaches wherein the positive electrode may include LiNix Co1-x O2 (0<x<1) (see e.g., Li; [0124]), which overlaps with the claimed layered rock-salt type crystal structure, which includes a composite oxide containing lithium and nickel, and the composite oxide is represented by a general formula (1): LiaNibM1.bO2, and in the general formula (1), 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.2 and 0.65 ≤ b ≤ 1 are satisfied and M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Co, Mn, Al, Ti, Fe, Nb, B, Mg, Ca, Sr, Zr, and W.
Regarding claim 10, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode current collector is a copper foil (see e.g., Li; [0167]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Li teaches a charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising:
a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery includes a positive electrode (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding cathode), a negative electrode including a negative electrode current collector (see e.g., Li; [0013], [0015], regarding anode and anode current collector), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (see e.g., Li; [0013], [0015], regarding solid electrolyte which is nonaqueous), in which a lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charge (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding “lithium metal precipitation-dissolution reaction”, [0015], [0069], “a lithium metal is precipitated on an anode current collecting foil-side surface of the solid electrolyte layer to form a roughness coating layer which is a part of an anode active material layer and which is composed of the lithium metal”), and the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte during discharge (see e.g., Li; [0013], regarding “lithium metal precipitation-dissolution reaction”, [0121] “the anode active material layer 13 may dissolve and disappear in the secondary battery 100 before being initially charged or after being absolutely discharged”),
Li further teaches a charging step (see e.g., Li; [0069], [0079], regarding a first charging and second charging, [0168], [0184], regarding first and second charging example); and a discharging step performed after the charging step (see e.g., Li; [0187] regarding discharging performed after charging), wherein the charging step includes a first step of performing a constant-current charging (see e.g., Li; [0069], [0168] regarding first charging, [0169] regarding constant current) at a first current I1, and a second step of performing a constant-current charging at a second current I2 larger that the first current I1 (see e.g., Li; [0079]-[0080]), after the first step (see e.g., Li; [0079]).
Li does not explicitly disclose the first current I1 has a current density of 1.0 mA/cm2 or less, and in the discharging step, an amount of electricity corresponding to 20% or more and 80% or less of a full charge amount is discharged.
However, Krasovitsky teaches a first current I1 having a current density of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower charge rates (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 mA/cm2 or less. Krasovitsky also teaches a discharging step wherein 30-80% of a full charge amount is discharged (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0045]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20-80%. Krasovitsky is further analogous art because Krasovitsky discloses a charging and discharging method including multiple charging steps (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0043]-[0044], table 1 regarding increasing the C-rate thereby increasing the charging current after the first initial low current charging step, and regarding the step to step embodiment such that the charging current is constant). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first charging current I1 disclosed by Li to be less than C/60 or lower or C/80 or lower as disclosed by Krasovitsky, and to have modified the discharging step to be 30-80% of a full charge amount as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a low initial I1 because low initial formation currents enhance electrolyte wetting of the electrodes surface due to the potential between the battery poles; applying small currents, at least initially, achieves high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the discharging step to be 30-80% of a full charge amount to increase the cycling lifetime of the lithium battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0028]).
In this system, while Li does not explicitly disclose a charging and discharging apparatus and the charging and discharging apparatus includes a charging control unit, and a discharging control unit, wherein the apparatus is with the control units directs the charging steps, it is understood that an apparatus of some sort must be utilized to achieve the method disclosed by Li. As such, Krasovitsky teaches a charging and discharging apparatus with charging control and discharging control units (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0036], fig. 1 regarding charge/discharge system 100 controlled by controller 105). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a charging/discharging control unit disclosed by Krasovitsky into the system of charging disclosed by Li such that formation processes may be optimized (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0036]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 11. Modified Li also teaches the charging control unit as above regarding claim 11.
Li also teaches wherein in the first constant-current charging of example 2, an amount of electricity corresponding to 9.48% of SOC was reached (see e.g., Li; [0196]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5% or more and 15% or less of a total amount of electricity to be charged is charged.
Regarding claim 13, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 11. Modified Li also teaches the charging control unit as above regarding claim 11.
Li discloses the second current I2 is larger than the first current I1, (see e.g., Li; [0079]). Li also discloses the second charging current density is not particularly limited, as long as it is larger than the first current density , from the viewpoint of reducing the battery charging time (see e.g., Li; [0080]). Li also discloses in table 2 that I2 may be 4 mA/cm2 at 0° C and 2 mA/cm2 at -20 (see e.g., Li; table 2) using one method (see e.g., Li; [0082]). In summary, Li discloses that I2 is not limited as long as it is greater than I1, so for example 1 which discloses I1=2.2 mA/cm2, I2 may be in a range of I2>2.2 mAh/cm2, which overlaps with the claimed range of 4.0 mA/cm2 or less. I2 is only selected to be 8.7 mA/cm2 in this particular example in order to reduce charging time without causing a short circuit as explained in [0082], but this does not limit the applicable current densities as shown in table 2 and [0080].
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging step includes a third step of performing a constant-current charging at a third current I3, after the second step, and the third current I3 is larger than the second current I2, and has a current density of 4.0 mA/cm2 or more.
However, Krasovitsky teaches wherein a charging step includes a third step of performing a constant-current charging at a third current I3, after the second step, the second current l2 is larger than the first current I1 and the third current I3 is larger than the second current l2 (see e.g., [0044], table 1 regarding step-like current increases provided in five steps to which current I3 would correspond to the later step increases such as steps 3-5 and current l2 would correspond to step 2 while current l1 corresponds to step 1 such that I2 is larger than the first current I1 and I3 is larger than l2). Krasovitsky describes in the later charging steps that the current may go up to 0.5 C or up to 1 C as in table 1 instead of disclosing the charging current in units of mA/cm2 for charging density. However, when Krasovitsky is applied to Li in terms of providing a third current I3 that is larger than the second current I2, the current density of the newly applied I3 may be at least greater than 8.7 mA/cm2 based on examples 1 and 2 of Li (see e.g., Li; [0184], [0197]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging method disclosed by Li by providing a third charging current I3, after the second step, that is larger than the second current I2 and greater than 4.0 mA/cm2 as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee teaches the charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 13. Modified Li also teaches the charging control unit as above regarding claim 11.
Li also teaches an amount of charged electricity reaches a first threshold value in the first constant-current charging (see e.g., Li; [0169] regarding example 1 wherein a first charging reaches 4.74% of SOC), which overlaps with the claimed range of 15% or less of a total amount of electricity to be charged, the first constant-current charging is ended to start the second constant-current charging (see e.g., Li; [0184]).
Li does not explicitly disclose the second threshold value is an amount of charged electricity corresponding to 50% or less of the total amount of electricity to be charged.
However, Krasovitsky teaches intermediate charging steps such as in the example of table 1, wherein a charging step 2 is 0.0125 C to 0.033 C in a time limit of 0.2 to 5 hours such that the charge range is 0.66-25%; adding the charge ranges of step 1 and step 2 in this example yields a charge range of 0.91-41.5% which overlaps with the claimed threshold range of 50% or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second charging step disclosed by Li such that the constant-current charging is performed such that a summed amount of charged electricity in the first step and the second step becomes 50% or less of the total amount of electricity to be charged in the charging step. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Li does not explicitly disclose when the amount of charged electricity reaches a second threshold value in the second constant-current charging, the second constant-current charging is ended to start the third constant-current charging. However, Krasovitsky discloses that charging steps may have a third constant-current charging step which starts after the second constant-current charging step ends (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044], table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging steps disclosed by Li by providing a third constant-current charging step after the second charging step ends disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 11. Modified Li also teaches the charging control unit as above regarding claim 11.
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the constant-current charging is performed at a current I0 having a current density of 0.5 mA/cm2 or less, before the first constant-current charging performed first time. However, Krasovitsky discloses that charging steps may be broken into any number of smaller steps (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]) such that there may be an initial forming current of C/60, C/70, C/80 or lower initial charge rate prior to the first charging step, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 C or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging method disclosed by Li by providing an initial forming current I0 having a charging rate of C/80 or less disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve high potential difference between the positive and negative terminals and enhances the wetting process (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging method for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 7.
Li does not explicitly disclose a preliminary discharging step of, after the preliminary charging step and before the charging step performed first time, performing discharging such that the amount of electricity corresponding to 20% or more and 80% or less of the full charge amount is discharged.
However, Krasovitsky teaches multiple charging and discharging step cycles (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044], table 1), wherein one of the early cycles may correspond to a preliminary discharging step after the preliminary charging step and before the charging step performed first, performing discharging such that the amount of electricity is 30%-80% of maximal cell capacity in each cycle (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0045]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 20% or more and 80% or less of the full charge amount is discharged. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Li by providing a preliminary discharging step after the preliminary charging step and before the charging step performed first time which performs discharging such that the amount of electricity corresponding to 30% or more and 80% or less of the full charge amount is discharged as disclosed by Krasovitsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Li teaches the charging and discharging system for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 15. Modified Li also teaches the charging control unit as above regarding claim 11.
Li does not explicitly disclose an amount of electricity corresponding to 20% or more and 80% or less of the full charge amount is discharged after the constant-current charging is performed at the current I0 and before the first constant current charge is performed first time.
However, Krasovitsky teaches multiple cycles of charging and discharging between 30-80% of maximal cell capacity (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0045]) which overlaps with the claimed range of 20% or more and 80% or less of the full charge amount. Krasovitsky also teaches that the multiple cycles of charging and discharging may be organized such that the specific discharging cycle occurs after the constant-current charging performed at current I0 and before the first constant current charge as mentioned above regarding claim 15 (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0044], table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging and discharging disclosed by Li such that the discharging is performed at 30-80% of maximal cell capacity after the constant-current charging is performed at the current I0 and before the first constant current charge is performed first time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to extend a cycling life time of a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Krasovitsky; [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728